Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

One of my xenons went very pink last night :D

Anyone know good places to get them? Think they should be Phillips D1S.

Does anyone know what the craic is with the Dacia Logan (the estate car) having a 1.1 petrol engine?!

It seems a big car, and that seems a small engine. I know Dacia is a cheapo brand, but I was considering one for my next car (I do big miles, and want some level of reliability, I've already spent 10k on a car and that didn't work out, tried hopping from bangernomics to bangernomics and that was frustrating, so a dacia seems appealing as a result).

I just can't get my head around the Logan, which is a big car, having an engine you'd expect to see in a i10..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

The Logan MCV might be an estate but it's not a "big" car. It'd be similar to a Clio estate. 1.1 is grand in it. You can get the 1.5 diesel in them too iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s actually 1.0! But to be fair it’s 75PS which is comparable to a 1.0 Skoda Fabia estate, which is actually fine to drive.

The Logan isn’t the answer to your car problems though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The suspension in the Logan is prehistoric and the seats are far from comfortable. Two things you don't want when doing big mileage, I'd avoid and your back will thank you for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Kkv you need a car that's comfortable and reliable.

Look at Renault, nissan and 1.5 DCI engine as they're quite good.

Another way would be keep car for 3 to 6 months and change.... This way you won't be in most cases getting into expensive repairs etc...

Don't be loyal to a car as you like it and then put a fortune into it, move it on and get another.

Honestly though you would be best getting as new as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

You really can’t go wrong with a Mk3 (2009+) Megane 1.5dci cheap to buy, cheap to run, reliable, safe and very comfortable.

The Skoda Octavia is also a really dependable cheap to run car the 2009+ model is also a bit nicer than the older basic ones.

If I was looking for a cheap car in the morning to do a lot of driving in I would go with one of the above. The problem with Dacia is they are cheap to buy brand new and in order to be able to produce them so cheap corners were cut on suspension set up, interior quality etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Does anyone know what the craic is with the Dacia Logan (the estate car) having a 1.1 petrol engine?!

It seems a big car, and that seems a small engine. I know Dacia is a cheapo brand, but I was considering one for my next car (I do big miles, and want some level of reliability, I've already spent 10k on a car and that didn't work out, tried hopping from bangernomics to bangernomics and that was frustrating, so a dacia seems appealing as a result).

I just can't get my head around the Logan, which is a big car, having an engine you'd expect to see in a i10..?

Im going to be selling my 1.8 mk1 diesel focus this week. Send me a PM if you want to have a look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

The key challenge with the main "safe" options is getting the best example within your budget.

Any car even the best rep for reliability ones can go wrong.

You want to see that things like timing belts were done on time.....

Whether any known weakspots of the car were sorted. For example if its a Ford 1.8 tdci after around mid 07 - the wet belts give issues. This is far less of an issue if the job was done just last week with paperwork to prove.

I think personally the answer is the nicest, lowest genuine mile Mk 4 Mondeo 2.0 TDCI manual you can get in your budget.

And then mind it well.

Any car CAN give issues though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Get a C5 1.6hdi kkv

To be honest, I don't think I'd ever be spending money on a diesel again. I know a few people, and I myself have had diesels, and it's amazing how the letters DPF have come up in conversation with people, without me myself having to prompt it. Turbo issues seem just as common.

Petrol cars (rightly or wrongly) seem a lot more basic when they go wrong.

I'm still driving a 2007 1.8 petrol Mondeo I got on boards cheaply (about €600 if i recall correctly). I just threw €200 worth of tyres onto it over the weekend. It's NCT is in November and although I'd like to say I'll still be driving the same car, hassle-free, for the next 5 years, I just don't really see it happening.

Hence I'm already starting to mooch around and see what's out there as an alternative. Part of the issue I have is I never really seen anyone in my day-to-day travels. So if the bumpers were hanging off the car and the brakes squealing, with plumes of smoke coming out, it didn't matter. Nowadays I'm starting to see more people in my day-to-day work life, and as a result I need to ensure that my next car is somewhat presentable, too.

But I seen the Logan, and thought it looked like a runner. (I actually really, really like the look of the Logan Stepway, though I'd never spend that money on one; they seem new, but they look really good). I also need a car with cruise control, which muddies things further. :rolleyes:

Get a C5 1.6hdi kkv

Ever since I sold it, that yokes been running fine. Typical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Interslice wrote: »
    Im going to be selling my 1.8 mk1 diesel focus this week. Send me a PM if you want to have a look at it.

I would have it ten times over a Logan or any other Dacia..

I need to ensure that my next car is somewhat presentable, too.

But I seen the Logan, and thought it looked like a runner. (I actually really, really like the look of the Logan Stepway

Uh huh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Walking through town this evening a A7 passed by me new model 50 TDI such a cool looking car the dynamic indicators just look so class also I know a lot of people don’t rate them but they really finish off cars compared to the standard indicators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Kkv your driving is ideal for a diesel....

As I said look at 1.5dci Renault as they are very good and you were of course stung and so were others as the cars weren't driven as they should have been.

You bought a car from the era of chapel tax syndrome where absolutely everyone and their granny bought them for chapel tax....

If you get a proper looked after motor it should in most cases be perfect....

Petrol must be breaking your heart on cost of fuel.

Ev such as the i3 would be ideal for you.... Yes yes not fully EV but it has a little generator to charge as you go along if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭roguey

Had my 06 Fiesta in for its second NCT retest today, after failing on just emissions on the original test. Since then I've added dipetane and another fuel additive to the car and driven it for a while. The first retest the results were slightly better, but today the results were much better, it actually passed on the low idle, but failed the high idle by 0.01%, I was fairly sickened when he told me how close it was. I reckon a bit more driving to clean the system and I'll try again next Thursday or Friday and I should be good to go, saving my over 500 on replacing the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That's a sickner. Was he revving it for ages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭roguey

Yeah he said he tried to get it over the line, but just wouldn't. I made sure the engine was good and hot too before going in. Engine temp was recorded at 110c according to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭blade1

If any of you are familiar with the stone wall just on the Waterford side of Youghal Bridge...I was coming home last night around 2:30 and a lorry was after going over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

blade1 wrote: »
    If any of you are familiar with the stone wall just on the Waterford side of Youghal Bridge...I was coming home last night around 2:30 and a lorry was after going over it.

He was drunk (Allegedly).

Was there news on it somewhere?
    There's a bit of a drop into the water there.

Was there news on it somewhere?
    There's a bit of a drop into the water there.

Yeah Paul Byrne of TV3/Virgin Media has it up on Facebook, I know the spot well, did the artic go in?

I couldn't see as the Coast Guard had the road blocked and were diverting any traffic up the road to Ardsallagh(the road up the hill after the bridge coming from Youghal.
    Loads of lights and stuff going on but only for the Coast Guard lad telling me it was a lorry I wouldn't know.
    I live over the road so I'll be passing there again in a little while.

Yikes!

Screenshot-20190506-093200-01.jpg

There is a kink in the road there that in the dark has caught out a few people over the years.

Yikes!

Screenshot-20190506-093200-01.jpg

There is a kink in the road there that in the dark has caught out a few people over the years.

I've lost count of how many times i've travelled that road, but never in my life have i come across something as severe as that, minor stuff yes due to the aforementioned kink, but this is extreme. Needless to say the whole unit is almost certainly a write off.

Is that Limerick?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is that Limerick?

Near Youghal Bridge Co.Waterford,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

CIP4 wrote: »
    Walking through town this evening a A7 passed by me new model 50 TDI such a cool looking car the dynamic indicators just look so class also I know a lot of people don’t rate them but they really finish off cars compared to the standard indicators.

They can be very distracting!

I've lost count of how many times i've travelled that road, but never in my life have i come across something as severe as that, minor stuff yes due to the aforementioned kink, but this is extreme. Needless to say the whole unit is almost certainly a write off.

Just talking to someone there that told me driver was Russian and almost paralytic.
    Didn't know where he was or what happened apparently.
    I suppose there won't be much more about it in terms of punishment.

Just talking to someone there that told me driver was Russian and almost paralytic.
    Didn't know where he was or what happened apparently.
    I suppose there won't be much more about it in terms of punishment.

I’m guessing it was a Wexford registered rig that was ‘movin on’ if you get my drift. They are known for that kind of stuff. He’s in his 50’s so if there is any punishment his career in this country is over