Hate crime? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭kurtainsider

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Did I not say that people shouldn't be going around doing such things?
    Calm your outrage

I'm not outraged at all. I just find it a bit depressing that there are people like you around who find this kind of nasty mean behaviour funny. It's not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I'm not outraged at all. I just find it a bit depressing that there are people like you around who find this kind of nasty mean behaviour funny. It's not.

It is mean and nasty but if I saw it happen I would probably chuckle to myself and get on with my day. Maybe I'm just a bad guy. I'm sure she will be ok. Try look on the bright side. I mean she got some publicity from it which would have raised her profile and therefore her career.
    I believe she was the first small person at the met gala. Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up.
    Positive mental attitude my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭kurtainsider

It is mean and nasty but if I saw it happen I would probably chuckle to myself and get on with my day. Maybe I'm just a bad guy. I'm sure she will be ok. Try look on the bright side. I mean she got some publicity from it which would have raised her profile and therefore her career.
    I believe she was the first small person at the met gala. Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up.

I'm going to assume that you're a troll and not waste any time on you. Oh - btw you'd never be my friend.

I'm sorry you feel that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Infini

I generally don't like this whole "hate crime" angle I generally despise Identity politics and the toxicity it generates it does nothing but cause more BS and grief, generally prefer to call them out as they are: Feral little scrotes who definately deserve a couple of slaps themselves for attacking other people unprovoked.

It is mean and nasty but if I saw it happen I would probably chuckle to myself and get on with my day. Maybe I'm just a bad guy.
    Yes, if you think bullying and intimidation is worth a chuckle, you probably are just a bad guy.

Do you think the Met were influenced by the Journal article, or perhaps by her appearance at Davos with Christine Lagarde?

Yes, if you think bullying and intimidation is worth a chuckle, you probably are just a bad guy.

Do you think the Met were influenced by the Journal article, or perhaps by her appearance at Davos with Christine Lagarde?

Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up.

Learn to read all of the words pal

Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up.

Learn to read all of the words pal

I read the words all right, which is why I tried to clarify the thinking behind it. It's the same kind of low level intimidation that many victims of bullying and abuse have got for years. According to yourself, the publicity has her labelled as 'minus craic', so why do you think she'd want to bring this publicity onto herself?

She wouldn't want to bring it on herself. But it happened. Sounds like you are more upset about it than she is.
    Are you ok? In real life like. Is everything alright?
    It's just the internet

She wouldn't want to bring it on herself. But it happened. Sounds like you are more upset about it than she is.
    It's just the internet

According to you, she brought the publicity on herself. Why would she choose to do this, knowing well the reaction that would result from the Neanderthals?

And no, it's not just 'the Internet' - it is real life for her and many, many other people - being bullied or intimated or assaulted because of their disability - hate crimes - while some people just chuckle away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Is it still ok to call Pluto a dwarf planet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

"Privileged"
    Please explain

You're not in a position to be victimised, but you're happy to downplay other's responses to victimisation. It's not complicated. A denial I'd expect. Having to explain privilege to you makes me think you're half-assing this mentally. Maybe troll or genuine low IQ.
    Calm your outrage
    It's just the internet

Oh so above the hysteria are we? You can, and should, **** right off with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

What is clear is that Ireland does not have appropriate Legislation to prosecute Hate Crimes. The hate part of the crime is usually not dealt with by the huddle at sentencing and as far as I’m aware assaulting an individual and assaulting an individual because of their sexuality would carry the same tariff and it would be rare the bias crime would have an additional tariff because of the hate/bias element.

Doing a bit of research there appears the majority of hate crimes are easily defined. Sex orientation, race, gender, xenophobia all can be defined universally and no real international argument.

This document explains it well from page 29 http://www.mitramiss.gob.es/oberaxe/ficheros/documentos/ProsecutingHateCrimes.pdf.

If you look at page 34 it describes other characteristics which they admit are not easily agreed. Now when I read the article, my initial thoughts were that it was an over reaction and perhaps diluted other hate crimes. However, According to Emily Logan, Chief Commissioner of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission, states Ireland has a responsibility to ensure that hate crime is not tolerated in society.

She outlined an interpretation of Hate Crime that when you read it makes the quoted article fit in.

“Hate Crime has a real-world, oppressive and damaging effect on those who fall victim to it,” she said.

Hate Crime can cause people to withdraw from society and avoid expressing their identity.

It is clear that if someone who had a genetic condition (which they could do nothing about) was ridiculed in public that made them withdraw from society, then it is a Hate Crime. Now, I believe the ‘nothing they can do about it’ I e a medical condition is the crux. This would mean that an obese person (not hormonal but from pure over eating) who was ridicules in public or beaten in public because of their weight, would not come under Hate Crime.

Infini wrote: »
    I generally don't like this whole "hate crime" angle I generally despise Identity politics and the toxicity it generates it does nothing but cause more BS and grief, generally prefer to call them out as they are: Feral little scrotes who definately deserve a couple of slaps themselves for attacking other people unprovoked.

My issue with this kind of response, which is common in this thread, is that it puts full responsibility on the "scrotes", as if they're some one-off exception to the norm. Punish them and we don't have to concern ourselves further. We can draw a line under the affair and anyone who complains further is just taking it all too seriously, right?

It's obvious that there's a more general problem of prejudice here. Look through the thread and see how many examples there are of people making dwarf jokes. Even after all that's been discussed, there's another one just a few comments ago.

Calling this a "hate crime", whether you think that's OTT or not, is an attempt to put the discussion in the right context- that there's a cultural problem. That we need to look at ourselves and change our attitudes.

Most people are too lazy and privileged to even try.

According to you, she brought the publicity on herself. Why would she choose to do this, knowing well the reaction that would result from the Neanderthals?

And no, it's not just 'the Internet' - it is real life for her and many, many other people - being bullied or intimated or assaulted because of their disability - hate crimes - while some people just chuckle away.

Please highlight where I said she brought this on herself. You either can't read or you just make things up

You're not in a position to be victimised, but you're happy to downplay other's responses to victimisation. It's not complicated. A denial I'd expect. Having to explain privilege to you makes me think you're half-assing this mentally. Maybe troll or genuine low IQ.

Oh so above the hysteria are we? You can, and should, **** right off with this.

Yes I am definitely above the hysteria. I am the majority. You are the minority

Please highlight where I said she brought this on herself. You either can't read or you just make things up
    Perhaps you were too busy chuckling at people being bullied or intimidated to remember the detail. Remember where you said; " I mean she got some publicity from it which would have raised her profile and therefore her career.
    I believe she was the first small person at the met gala. Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up."

Yes I am definitely above the hysteria. I am the majority. You are the minority

Really? Based on what?

And even if you are 'the majority' - so what? Sometimes the majority is wrong. It's not a numbers game, unless and until it comes to an election or a referendum. It's an ethical issue, or really just an issue of basic human decency, which seems to be largely missing from those who react to bullying with a chuckle.

Perhaps you were too busy chuckling at people being bullied or intimidated to remember the detail. Remember where you said; " I mean she got some publicity from it which would have raised her profile and therefore her career.
    I believe she was the first small person at the met gala. Obviously not because of this but all publicity adds up."

Really? Based on what?

And even if you are 'the majority' - so what? Sometimes the majority is wrong. It's not a numbers game, unless and until it comes to an election or a referendum. It's an ethical issue, or really just an issue of basic human decency, which seems to be largely missing from those who react to bullying with a chuckle.

You should stop switching between accounts. Use one.
    Internet outrage mate. It's not worth it.
    Nobody cares

Interesting how when faced with indisputable facts and the abhorrent nature of your own approach, your own response is to go for a personal attack. If you've a problem with my posts or account or anyone's posts or account, feel free to report it.

And no, it's not true to say that 'nobody cares'. Decent people care and manage empathy, instead of chuckling when another person is bullied or intimidated on grounds of their disability.

Nobody cares

"I'm in the majority, therefore if more than one person disagrees with me, they must be the same one person."

Flawless logic here.

Interesting how when faced with indisputable facts and the abhorrent nature of your own approach, your own response is to go for a personal attack. If you've a problem with my posts or account or anyone's posts or account, feel free to report it.

And no, it's not true to say that 'nobody cares'. Decent people care and manage empathy, instead of chuckling when another person is bullied or intimidated on grounds of their disability.

I think you should organise a rally or protest about this

"I'm in the majority, therefore if more than one person disagrees with me, they must be the same one person."

Flawless logic here.

Have a great day

I think you should organise a rally or protest about this
    Why? Do you need more incidents of bullying and intimidation of people with disabilities for you to chuckle at?

Maybe put some kind of highlight reel together

The only thing that is hilarious here is how upset you are getting.
    Relax
    It's not real.
    I think we are best to just leave it here. Il be the bigger man and let you have the last word

Relax
    It's not real.
    I think we are best to just leave it here. Il be the bigger man and let you have the last word
    So have you changed your view that two big lads intimidating a female little person is something to chuckle at?

And again, this is very, very real - real life experience for many people with disabilities and other people.

Relax
    It's not real.

Are you triggered, Blueshoe? :rolleyes:

This is tiresome.

Calling this a "hate crime", whether you think that's OTT or not, is an attempt to put the discussion in the right context- that there's a cultural problem. That we need to look at ourselves and change our attitudes.

Most people are too lazy and privileged to even try.

most people disagree with you for reasons that range across a spectrum

most people would read your last sentence and categorise you as not worth discussing it with and certainly not someone to take lectures from

i bet ye all make wonderful differences to the world with your direct route to nagging and insult whenever you dont get results appealing to ideals.

most people disagree with you for reasons that range across a spectrum

most people would read your last sentence and categorise you as not worth discussing it with and certainly not someone to take lectures from

i bet ye all make wonderful differences to the world with your direct route to nagging and insult whenever you dont get results appealing to ideals.

If I withdraw the generalisation, would you care to address the rest of my comment?