Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Mcverrys support for syringe criminal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

bubblypop wrote: »
    This is not a secret. They don't give cash to people to pay off the fines, they pay the court office or Garda station directly, by cheque.
    I was shocked nearly 20 years ago when I first saw it happen.

Also seen this happen , seen the cheques and receipts but it was years ago , dont know if it still happens

As an aside peter mcverry for all the good he does is also responsible for a lot of horrible horrible criminals not getting locked up and then going on to hurt more victims because of these letters and representations to courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ever any stories where these scum junkies hold up or try to rob the wrong person and get the **** bet out of them

Im not a big fan of Peter McVerry and think his attitude towards those of us who work, contribute and make something of our life and maybe live a comfortable lifestyle is disgusting

neris wrote: »
    Ever any stories where these scum junkies hold up or try to rob the wrong person and get the **** bet out of them

Im not a big fan of Peter McVerry and think his attitude towards those of us who work, contribute and make something of our life and maybe live a comfortable lifestyle is disgusting
    Yes, shame on him for only caring about the people whom nobody else cares about, when he should be looking after the comfortable...? Disgusting altogether. So unChristian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

Yes, shame on him for only caring about the people whom nobody else cares about, when he should be looking after the comfortable...? Disgusting altogether. So unChristian.

Its not about no one caring for them its people who expect the state and every one else to look after them while they contribute nothing but fear, criminality and thuggish behaviour. Parts of the city centre are dumps coz of the syringe brigade he supports. As for unchristian I couldnt give a **** about that fairy tale rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

I've never seen Peter McVerry say anything negative about people who work. Can you clarify what you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,021 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I often think this. I'm not Christian but I think McVerry is doing a lot of the things Christians are supposed to do. Jesus would probably approve of McVerry. I can't remember Jesus being big on helping the comfortable or the wealthy. He was more into helping those in need of most help. Makes sense to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I often think this. I'm not Christian but I think McVerry is doing a lot of the things Christians are supposed to do. Jesus would probably approve of McVerry. I can't remember Jesus being big on helping the comfortable or the wealthy. He was more into helping those in need of most help. Makes sense to be fair.

Sticking his opinion in about repossessions been illegal.

And who picks up the bill for that?

The working law abiding citizens.

His support for criminals and law breakers is phenomenal given the love he gets from the media.

Its not about no one caring for them its people who expect the state and every one else to look after them while they contribute nothing but fear, criminality and thuggish behaviour. Parts of the city centre are dumps coz of the syringe brigade he supports. As for unchristian I couldnt give a **** about that fairy tale rubbish.
    But that's a different matter altogether. Often, the expectation and entitlement of these people is childish and morally wrong. Nobody doubts that.

You complained about Fr McVerry caring about these people, and not "comfortable people". Why do you think comfortable people deserve Fr McVerry's attention?

Sticking his opinion in about repossessions been illegal.

And who picks up the bill for that?

The working law abiding citizens.

Banks.

Banks have cost you a LOT more over your lifetime than petty criminals have. That is a fact. Your children and grandchildren will be paying for the bailout we gave the banks.

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    Ummm the OP made drug use central to the thread?

He didn't get a light sentence. Three years with an additional two suspended is standard for a mugging with the threat of violence.

You're just making up a narrative that suits you now, because the points you were trying to make have been successfully rebutted.

No ****en way is 3 years enough.

People live with the mental torment of violent robberies for life.

I bet if you were on the end of someone holding a syringe up to your neck you wouldn’t stand up in court and say ah 3 years is enough the poor chap is only a poor little soul.

Bolox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Banks.

Banks have cost you a LOT more over your lifetime than petty criminals have. That is a fact. Your children and grandchildren will be paying for the bailout we gave the banks.

Ah the banks. Rabble rabble rabble.

Banks.

Ah yeah da banks ay.

Sure look at da banks.

You’re wrong by the way but I’m not getting into trying to explain it to you.

Most of the money is nearly paid back by the banks already except Anglo.

Why am I bothering explaining this.

It's not like its some conspiracy theory.

We paid tens of billions of public money to the banks, much of which cannot be recovered. We adapted 352 billion euro of contingent liabilities, making ourselves a zombie economy, and we will be paying for all of this for generations.

It's not rabble. That's a bewildering understatement of the calamity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

touts wrote: »
    According to their accounts the "Fr Peter McVerry Trust" spend over 70% of their income on wages and salaries for their staff and employ over 300 people. If Fr Peter trusts this lad so much maybe he should give him a job in the office beside him.

not as bad as Rehab with 12 employees on 100k or more

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/cashhit-disability-group-rehab-had-12-staff-who-got-more-than-100000-38090697.html

I see. You prefer to be robbed by people in suits and ties.

I agree with you. I'm sure he gets frustrated on a daily basis but it's hard not to admire him. Nobody else cares about these people enough to devote a life to them and giving them a way out, if they are strong enough to take it.

McVerry is a bright man, too. He could have chosen a very comfortable life in any other career. I don't believe in the mythical Jesus, but I can think of nobody else who lives a life so true to our knowledge of historical Jesus and his philosophy of mercy.

I see. You prefer to be robbed by people in suits and ties.

I haven't been robbed by anyone. I've never had to pay a bank any money I hadn't borrowed or had signed up for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Look it's a good thing that Mcverry is trying to help people in need but the law is the law and personally I don't think he should get involved at that level. We need to take into account the damage done to victims also. Who is writing letters on their behalf? No one. The fact is that our revolving door justice system is creating a society of victims. Perhaps Mcverry might also look to help them too. Wouldn't that be the Christian thing to do ?

I haven't been robbed by anyone. I've never had to pay a bank any money I hadn't borrowed or had signed up for.

Yes, you have. It's called taxes. Your taxes are being used to pay off loans we took out to bail out bankers and this is costing you money every single month.

If you're pissed off about the money we spend on welfare, you should be absolutely outraged by that.

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Look it's a good thing that Mcverry is trying to help people in need but the law is the law and personally I don't think he should get involved at that level. We need to take into account the damage done to victims also. Who is writing letters on their behalf? No one. The fact is that our revolving door justice system is creating a society of victims. Perhaps Mcverry might also look to help them too. Wouldn't that be the Christian thing to do ?

I wonder where people get this apocalyptic view of society from.

I'm a 5"5 woman and I feel safe walking around Dublin at night. When a homeless person asks for money and I say no they usually say "have a good day".

We need to take into account the damage done to victims also. Who is writing letters on their behalf?
    Every victim of a crime has the opportunity to address the court directly, or have a family member speak on their behalf. It is also possible for letters to be handed into court to explain the devastation a crime may have caused to the person, or for expert evidence to be adduced to that effect.

Who is writing letters about the damage done to victims? Expert witnesses, Doctors, Psychiatrists, Psychologists, police among others. It's proper order that victims can have expert opinions included in the proceedings. Just as it is relevant that the criminal is engaging with getting off drugs.

I wonder where people get this apocalyptic view of society from.

I'm a 5"5 woman and I feel safe walking around Dublin at night. When a homeless person asks for money and I say no they usually say "have a good day".

Some people are just easily frightened. America seems very insecure as a nation. They need to be armed to feel better and even then they don't actually feel safe.

If you're afraid of junkies and want to reduce the number of junkies, then you would be in favour of getting junkies off junk. Ignoring the problem and waiting for them to commit crimes so you can lock them up is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,632 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Believe a proper rehab program can be set up? There is multiple.

Coolmine, The Lantern, Keltoi, High Park, At Francis farm Et Al.

Most if not all rehabs are massively ineffective. People go to them multiple times (10 times not unknown) and don't get 'cured.' Those that are based on the AA model are basing their 'therapies' on something that works about 5% of the time.

A good read: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008EKMAC4/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

Igotadose wrote: »
    Most if not all rehabs are massively ineffective. People go to them multiple times (10 times not unknown) and don't get 'cured.' Those that are based on the AA model are basing their 'therapies' on something that works about 5% of the time.

A good read: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008EKMAC4/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

That's because addiction cannot be cured, it has to be managed. Relapse is a feature of the disease that is addiction.

In the same way that if you get cancer once and go into remission it can come back, the same is true with active addiction. The difference is that one attacks your body and the other attacks your mind.

You have to be extremely vigilant not to relapse.

I'm five years sober through AA by the way.

Igotadose wrote: »

I have an alcoholic sibling, in recovery. I'd say recovery after one attempt at rehab is rare, but ten attendances is highly unusual.

The fact that the chances may be stacked against you as an addict should only enhance the physical and moral support that should be offered to those who try to better themselves. This convicted person may not succeed, but you can't just dismiss a serious attempt.

I have an alcoholic sibling, in recovery. I'd say recovery after one attempt at rehab is rare, but ten attendances is highly unusual.

The fact that the chances may be stacked against you as an addict should only enhance the physical and moral support that should be offered to those who try to better themselves. This convicted person may not succeed, but you can't just dismiss a serious attempt.

10 is extremely rare, in fact I think 7 is the highest I've ever heard of.

My brother went through rehab three times, but he'd tell you himself he only went because we made him go (he was a danger to himself and others, between drink driving and suicidal thoughts).

He's three months sober now through an outpatient programme and doing well. Hopefully this is the time that sticks.

From my own experience, his and those of my friends in recovery, it couldn't be clearer to me that no one chooses to become or stay an addict. It's a curse. People trying to get clean and sober should be supported, it makes them much more likely to become useful members of society.

Yes, you have. It's called taxes. Your taxes are being used to pay off loans we took out to bail out bankers and this is costing you money every single month.

If you're pissed off about the money we spend on welfare, you should be absolutely outraged by that.

I've always paid taxes and always will. Before the banks allegedly robbed me and after. I haven't noticed a big drop in my wages due to "bank tax".

It's called the USC.

Which replaced the income levy and the health levy. Which were both around before the banks "robbed" us.