NBP: National Broadband Plan Announced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Nuphor

Website up (has been password protected for months):

https://www.nationalbroadbandireland.ie/

Speeds on day one similar to Eir/Siri offerings (150mb, 1000mb).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Prof Paul Davis was discussing the NBP in the first segment of Morning Ireland. I'm struggling to think of a single thing he got right.

As just one example: when asked about future-proofing he started talking about "3G, 4G and now 5G" - didn't mention fibre at all.

Paul Davis in no expert on the technology as we heard a few weeks ago on Newstalk with Ivan Yates and Sean Bolger - https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=109962253

This morning's discussion - https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradiowebpage.html#!rii=b9%5F21550894%5F48%5F08%2D05%2D2019%5F

A number of confidential documents related to the tendering process for the National Broadband Plan are due to be published by the Government today.
    A series of confidential documents related to the tendering process for the National Broadband Plan are due to be published by the Government.

The release will include emails from the Department of Public Expenditure, where senior officials are known to have expressed significant concern about the project's value for money.

The Cabinet decision means that some documents relating to the tendering process, which were confidential up to this point, can be released now by the Department of Communications.

The tranche of documents will include emails from officials at the Department of Public Expenditure, who did not believe the proposed State subsidy of nearly €3 billion constituted value for money.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0508/1048091-nbp_documents/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭plodder

Brendan Howlin is on Morning Ireland right now doing his best to scupper it.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭Pique

Nuphor wrote:

Where's the "I'm interested" bit of that page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,978 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

plodder wrote: »
    Brendan Howlin is on Morning Ireland right now doing his best to scupper it.

I was disgusted with Howlin this am.
    All he had to offer was a whole load of implications through questions for which he had no answers.

Congrats to the gov for finally making some form of decision.

I fail to see why it should take another 6 months or so for the contract to be signed.

Heck both parties have had the thing for ages!
    I don't care how long it is, it has been well and truly studied and dissected and they both should be ready to sign immediately.

More unnecessary delay ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

All he had to offer was a whole load of implications through questions for which he had no answers.

I fail to see why it should take another 6 months or so for the contract to be signed.

I don't care how long it is, it has been well and truly studied and dissected and they both should be ready to sign immediately.

I refer you to what the cush said above about FF's stance on this
    Opposing but if in government not unimplimenting

It's just typical adversarial politics unfortunately
    FG would be at the same if FF were in power
    Unhelpful but a fact of our democracy
    Opposition have a thankless task sometimes of trying to find fault with anything
    Only perfect politicians know when to stop
    They don't get elected though because the formula for getting elected is creating noise,even unhelpful noise

The Cush wrote: »
    A number of confidential documents related to the tendering process for the National Broadband Plan are due to be published by the Government today.

They were due to be published this morning but delayed for whatever reason, big black redacting markers out no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭rodge123

Incase brexit goes badly and the goverment decide we haven’t got the money for NBP or so they can announce shovels are in the ground a few weeks before a general election!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭ussjtrunks

My fixed wireless is ok get around 20mb at peak so I can wait for them to get it done hopefully it won’t actually take 5 years to get connected. Fairly sure the nearest fibre to me is Mallow so I’m sure it’ll be a long wait though.

What would be nice is if you could register interest in it and they could prioritize though who will actually sign up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭KOR101

Marlow wrote: »
    Not necessarily. By keeping it to 150 Mbit/s they can actually stick more houses in every cluster and cut cost to a certain level. All the contract calls for is 30 Mbit/s now and 100 Mbit/s going forward. They could even do that on FTTH. Lots of places with sub 100M speeds on FTTH in other countries.

/M
    There would be uproar if a fibre cable is laid to the house and then speeds are limited to 150mbits. Rural FTTH will almost certainly be offered the exact same packages as town and city FTTH. The only reason 150mbits is being mentioned is because that's the slowest existing FTTH package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭S'

Is this the correct map to see if I'll be getting FTTH?
    https://www.dccae.gov.ie/en-ie/communications/topics/Broadband/national-broadband-plan/high-speed-broadband-map/Pages/Interactive-Map.aspx

The map says that my house is in the blue area that has access to "High Spped Broadband" but when I ring up the likes of Eir or Vodafone they say I am too far away from the exchange which is about 1.5km:confused:

I currently getting 5mb/s over a copper DSL line. What are the chances of being including in the rural rollout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭BArra

Is your house an amber dot but blue surrounding it? Then you are in the NBP area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭S'

BArra wrote: »
    Is your house an amber dot but blue surrounding it? Then you are in the NBP area

Unfortunately not:(
    gR1janj.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭rob808

KOR101 wrote: »
    There would be uproar if a fibre cable is laid to the house and then speeds are limited to 150mbits. Rural FTTH will almost certainly be offered the exact same packages as town and city FTTH. The only reason 150mbits is being mentioned is because that's the slowest existing FTTH package.
    150mb grand plus it FTTH so you always get close to the speed.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

S' wrote: »
    Unfortunately not:(
    gR1janj.png

Per this page:
    Please contact us at Broadband@DCCAE.gov.ie to let us know if you cannot get high speed broadband from the providers in your area. It would be helpful if you could advise the Department of any operators you may have contacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭yomamasflavour

There's an email address on the page, saying to contact them if you're in a blue area but aren't actually getting >30mbs.

BLUE areas - where commercial operators are delivering or have indicated plans to deliver high speed broadband services. Operators are continuing to enhance their services in these areas to improve access to high speed broadband. Please contact us at Broadband@DCCAE.gov.ie to let us know if you cannot get high speed broadband from the providers in your area. It would be helpful if you could advise the Department of any operators you may have contacted.

The map is incorrect in a few places, I had to contact them about the estate I live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

I was delighted to hear Pat Kenny himself debunking the 5g myths earlier saying it would need thousands of extra masts and would be nowhere near what's needed. Someone texted in suggesting Low Earth Orbit satellite and he admitted he knew little about it but suspected the latency would make it pretty useless compared to fibre. There's a journalist who does his own research, I'm very surprised newstalk let him away with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭celticbhoy27

I was delighted to hear Pat Kenny himself debunking the 5g myths earlier saying it would need thousands of extra masts and would be nowhere near what's needed. Someone texted in suggesting Low Earth Orbit satellite and he admitted he knew little about it but suspected the latency would make it pretty useless compared to fibre. There's a journalist who does his own research, I'm very surprised newstalk let him away with that.

Refreshing to hear. Can you imagine the uproar if we went the wireless route. Every single mast would be objected to. This is an excellent solution. Fibre lines on pre existing poles. Aestheticaly zero impact. Government's wasted money on stupid things through the years this isn't one of them imho. Fair play to Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭BarryM

Newstalk's tech guru did a good job this am, based on the information supplied so far.

She says she has a 'conspiracy theory' idea that, existing suppliers of 'bb' whatever it means to them, will be increasing their prices 'cos they will have to provide service to everybody, under the plan. A bit convoluted but I think she interprets the NBP as being a wholesale like network which 'other' suppliers will connect to (at subsidised rates),for providing "last kms" of fibre.

My read of what she is interpreting is she is not correct. She seems to imply that every supplier will be required to respond to a request from an NBP area potential customer for service. I would read it as applying to suppliers already in an NBP amber area, for example, when NBP fibre subsidised backhaul is available, to supply ftth for €100, basic plus usage charges.

I cannot see the likes of Virgin and Sky rushing off to the sticks, away from the leafy suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,162 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

With this new figure of €2.7bn - €3bn to get broadband to every home in Ireland, I was wondering would it not be more cost effective to get it to nearly all of them, and then for the Gov to pay the monthly charge for the really rural houses to buy their own service from private companies?

We have a private company now in the extreme NW providing a service to homes for around €35 ---> €55 per month. Admittedly its not superfast, but its wireless and up to 40meg at this time, which I'm sure will increase over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 trekkypj02

It seems daft, to be honest. There's several premises, just near where my folks live, where the fiber passes them on poles on the road, yet because they are down a short lane they're going to be waiting even longer and be covered by this 'scheme'. And they lose out, while neighbors get it.

Can't say it's surprising, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,013 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

Nuphor wrote: »

https://www.nationalbroadbandireland.ie/

Speeds on day one similar to Eir/Siri offerings (150mb, 1000mb).

Something about McCourt rubs me the wrong way. Why does it require two pictures of his face on the website of a massive infrastructure project?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭funnyname

ussjtrunks wrote: »
    My fixed wireless is ok get around 20mb at peak so I can wait for them to get it done hopefully it won’t actually take 5 years to get connected. Fairly sure the nearest fibre to me is Mallow so I’m sure it’ll be a long wait though.

What would be nice is if you could register interest in it and they could prioritize though who will actually sign up

We're in the same situation but I hope we get fibre sooner rather than later as there will come a point for the wireless operators where they are better off closing down than continuing to lose customers to the NBI and losing too much money. Unless there is plan to subsidise the FWA operators until the full rollout is completed.

BarryM wrote: »
    Newstalk's tech guru did a good job this am, based on the information supplied so far.

She says she has a 'conspiracy theory' idea that, existing suppliers of 'bb' whatever it means to them, will be increasing their prices 'cos they will have to provide service to everybody, under the plan. A bit convoluted but I think she interprets the NBP as being a wholesale like network which 'other' suppliers will connect to (at subsidised rates),for providing "last kms" of fibre.

My read of what she is interpreting is she is not correct. She seems to imply that every supplier will be required to respond to a request from an NBP area potential customer for service. I would read it as applying to suppliers already in an NBP amber area, for example, when NBP fibre subsidised backhaul is available, to supply ftth for €100, basic plus usage charges.

I cannot see the likes of Virgin and Sky rushing off to the sticks, away from the leafy suburbs.

LOL tech guru. Another clown.

Here is the letter from Robert Watt to Mark Griffin. There are several redactions but the general gist is that the Government seems to bear the risk while McCourt et al get the profits.

https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/govieassets/8580/6136c9e4240f496eaadb6b6cb19405c3.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

NIMAN wrote:
    We have a private company now in the extreme NW providing a service to homes for around €35 ---> €55 per month. Admittedly its not superfast, but its wireless and up to 40meg at this time, which I'm sure will increase over time.

Ha ! wireless speed decreases as you add more users, it's a bandaid on an amputated arm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭KOR101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

I am concerned over this plan for a few reasons:

- there seems to be an idea that Eir telephone poles will be used to route cable. If so, this is daft as the standard of telephone poles is poor overall. There's been a lack of maintenance, little investment since Telecom Eireann left - the poles on our road for example are rotting, covered in ivy and subject to not infrequent damage due to storms, branches and trees. Never mind tractor hedge cutters which often nip the telephone wire. Many consumers have abandoned landlines in favour of mobile deals and the pole network has deteriorated. By contrast ESB networks maintain their poles and cut back trees and so on.

- We'd have a village nearby which Eir have served (cherry picked). So whilst we're in an orange area, there's no immediate incentive to get us connected as Eir have hoovered up about 70% of the local population. Can't see Eir being bothered to go up the side roads though. I fear we'd be better off in the arse end of nowhere, a part of the country where Eir have absolutely no interest. The imperative will be to connect these up first.

- I don't like the idea that essentially the people getting this contract seem to be some form of venture capitalists. I'd rather see an actual communications business involved or a semi state working in a similar area like ESB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

BarryD2 wrote: »
    I am concerned over this plan for a few reasons:

- there seems to be an idea that Eir telephone poles will be used to route cable. If so, this is daft as the standard of telephone poles is poor overall. There's been a lack of maintenance, little investment since Telecom Eireann left - the poles on our road for example are rotting, covered in ivy and subject to not infrequent damage due to storms, branches and trees. Never mind tractor hedge cutters which often nip the telephone wire. Many consumers have abandoned landlines in favour of mobile deals and the pole network has deteriorated. By contrast ESB networks maintain their poles and cut back trees and so on.

- We'd have a village nearby which Eir have served (cherry picked). So whilst we're in an orange area, there's no immediate incentive to get us connected as Eir have hoovered up about 70% of the local population. Can't see Eir being bothered to go up the side roads though. I fear we'd be better off in the arse end of nowhere, a part of the country where Eir have absolutely no interest. The imperative will be to connect these up first.

- I don't like the idea that essentially the people getting this contract seem to be some form of venture capitalists. I'd rather see an actual communications business involved or a semi state working in a similar area like ESB.

What? Eir have nothing to do with this.

Eir are split into 2 different companies, open eir maintain the network, they do not sell broadband. They have trimmed hedges and replaced poles anywhere that have ran their own fibre. It will be the same for this.

Eir who sell broadband like any other telecoms will be able to sell broadband on this new network