"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 3 "The Long Night" - Spoilers post 2 forwa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I've just finished watching.

I've some questions :
    Where did Bran "go" and what was the point if him doing it?
    Is Ghost dead?
    Brienne, Sam and the crazy red-haired wildling too?
    Was that Gilly being dragged away in the crypt?
    Went for a quick flight around to see the scenery
    No
    They all survive, think there's a quick shot round that shows them at the end.
    Gilly is also ok, she's standing to the far right, beside the torch. At least I think that's her.

I spoilered the second answer as I found out from a trailer for next week, so just being cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

Tazzimus wrote: »
    His plot armour was fireproof, obviously :pac:

To be fair, everyone was probably expecting the dragon fire to be the way he dies, so they didn't want to go with that.

And they set it up in the previous episode that dragon fire wasn't guaranteed to affect him. So if shouldn't have been a total surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

ASOT wrote: »
    The NK was made long before the targs were around so I wouldn't say that's it, could be something to do with the cold he emits.

Can ride a dragon, doesn't burn. Of course he's a Targ

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The NK was made long before the targs were around so I wouldn't say that's it, could be something to do with the cold he emits.

He is water based. You need an electric element to affect him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Arghus wrote: »
    Plus, the people giving out about the millitary tactics. Lads c'mon, I think you're watching the wrong show...

Just picking on this small point. This is the same show that gave us Tyrion's stroke of brilliance at the Blackwater with the wildfire. He is currently hand to the main leader of the defence. There's also some of the smartest minds in Westeros in the Castle. They have Dragons. I think it was fair to expect something a little more inventive and sophisticated than sending the Dothraki off to a quick death, putting cavalry in front and the trenches behind them, keeping the dragons largely off the field etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Arghus wrote: »
    Plus, the people giving out about the millitary tactics. Lads c'mon, I think you're watching the wrong show...

Just picking on this small point. This is the same show that gave us Tyrion's stroke of brilliance at the Blackwater with the wildfire. He is currently hand to the main leader of the defence. There's also some of the smartest minds in Westeros in the Castle. They have Dragons. I think it was fair to expect something a little more inventive and sophisticated than sending the Dothraki off to a quick death, putting cavalry in front and the trenches behind them, keeping the dragons largely off the field etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

no.8 wrote: »
    Could see it perfectly fine. Wouldnt be realistic if there were artificial light. This was an intense Epic sweet at night in the depth of winter

Nice one, myself and a lot of others couldn't see it perfectly fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭threeball

Very disappointing episode. After 20 mins you could tell the night king would die in this episode, after 30 mins I knew who was going to kill him. There was no room to manoeuvre. They were literally so backed into a corner so early on the only possible escape was the outcome that came to pass.

We've come to expect more of this programme down through the years but this season it has been falling flat on it's face. There would need to be an epic twist at this stage to take things back on track but you can almost see where it's going already. I know expectations were high but 45mins of battles in a 1hr 10min programme was unwarranted and boring. Hate to say it but the most expensive hour in tv history was also one of the least compelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm very surprised the NK arc ended here. They were at pains to point out how the real battle was the living against the dead and that's over now. Which must leave a lot of political manoeuvring, because there aren't enough fighters left for battling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

PsychoPete wrote: »
    A lot of people here whinging there was no action in the first two episodes so we got a ton of action in this episode, of course people still aren't happy. Rewatched it tonight and could see everything, no problem with the lighting. I don't think Jon could have made passed the White Walkers and all the way to Night King to kill him. I assumed that Night King had the dragon keep Jon at bay while he deals with Bran not knowing Arya would be the one to kill him. I don't get the people getting upset over Arya been the one to kill Night King, its not they didn't give us clues to it

Dont care if it was all set in stone since season 1 its still a ****ing horrible cheesy way to defeat The Night King and his army.

If that was planned since the very start then **** me why even bother let everyone think these guys are so much of a threat and The Night King is such a threat to have him taken out by a poxy dagger wielding 4 foot ninja....

She just about managed to escape in the first place only for help from Beric and The Hound but sneaks by the most mysterious forces in the whole show....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭no.8

To you it was still, to many others it wasn't. Tis show us about much more than just westeros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Hobosan

But sure if those whining remembered that or actually paid attention then what could they whine about? Aryas major storyline for her entire existence has been all about her becoming a clinical assassin, you'd think she was a clumsy oaf the way some are going on.

People's expectations are much too high. We celebrate what is great about Da Vinci's Last Supper and ignore the stickmen in the painting.

The stickmen do not detract from the painting in any way.

(Hang on, I just had a look at the Last Supper and there are no stickmen, but if there were, it would still be a masterpiece)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I'm very surprised the NK arc ended here. They were at pains to point out how the real battle was the living against the dead and that's over now. Which must leave a lot of political manoeuvring, because there aren't enough fighters left for battling.

Of course we think that it’s over.. we don’t fully know that every WW dies and goes away forever with the NK dies, what if another becomes NK north of the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,564 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

lawred2 wrote: »
    So why didn't the flames do anything to him then?

Real terminator 2 stuff

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

He is water based. You need an electric element to affect him.

One Pikachu and he would have been f**ked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭no.8

She just about managed to escape in the first place only for help from Beric and The Hound but sneaks by the most mysterious forces in the whole show....

Please calm yourself down. Your favourite character didn't kill the night king, that's all you care about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Had a feeling that the white walkers would be defeated in this episode but slightly disappointing in how it happened, They played it safe with characters killed off, not many big names went I was expecting a few anyway!

So the army is now more or less wiped out what happens next ?? 3 episodes to deal with who sits on the iron throne there has to be more twists! And how lucky is Jon Snow in battle should be dead by now !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Thought the suspension of disbelief was way too much at times. The Dothraki ride off into the darkenes....why? A brilliant piece of visuals as the twinkle of their flaming blades is extinguished one by one...but why would they do that?

Jon Snow sitting on a dragon just watching the battle for about 10 minutes...why? The two dragons should have been scorching the dead non-stop for the entire battle.

Bran warged into...what? Some birds? I never really got what was supposed to be happening.

I thought they really overplayed the 'main character is saved in the nick of time' card at so many times during the episode.

First 30 minutes I thought was just really formulaic and poor, a zombie slasher, albeit one with astonishing production values. It it got better after that, but the whole episode was kind of uneven. I actually found the battle overlong and boring at times, but I suppose, given the buildup of the Night King and his army, the battle itself had to be massive.

Anyway, happy the Night King is dead so we can get back to the issue of the Iron Throne. That has always been the more interesting storyline for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

If that was planned since the very start then **** me why even bother let everyone think these guys are so much of a threat and The Night King is such a threat to have him taken out by a poxy dagger wielding 4 foot ninja...

My take is Bran knew what was going to happen but couldn't say anything so it'd play out like it's supposed to. Telling someone may **** that plan and they could lose their chance to defeat the NK.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hulk Hands wrote: »

Tyrion made a point of stating he reacts and commands against what he sees. From a show perspective, the others haven't really shown themselves to be worthy military leaders at all. Jon keeps falling for traps. Davos keeps being left in a position where others cant respond to him. Brienne spent most of those fights up against a wall, only to stop something coming in behind her. Varys managed to find a bunch of children to cower with and Lyanna got the worst reminder possible that she was only a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭threeball

irishfeen wrote: »
    Of course we think that it’s over.. we don’t fully know that every WW dies and goes away forever with the NK dies, what if another becomes NK north of the wall.

The NK was made by the children of the forest. There is no other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

threeball wrote: »
    Very disappointing episode. After 20 mins you could tell the night king would die in this episode, after 30 mins I knew who was going to kill him. There was no room to manoeuvre. They were literally so backed into a corner so early on the only possible escape was the outcome that came to pass.
    Indeed. I was hoping the episode would deliver some sort of twist that would rescue it but it never came. The Night King's victory was shown to be so comprehensive that it became obvious that he was going to die, as the show was never going to wipe out 95% of the cast.

The moment Edd picked up Sam I called him getting stabbed in the back moments later and it didn't improve any from there. Compare this to an episode from one of the first four seasons and it's like night and day. All of the nuance, intrigue and unpredictability has long gone. Instead we are left with plodding, empty spectacle, and to be honest, even as a spectacle it wasn't particularly memorable either.

threeball wrote: »
    The NK was made by the children of the forest. There is no other.

There was though, according to the lore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Man I'm gutted Jorah and Beric got it. I like those heroic, stoic type characters and Lyanna Mormonts demise was hard going. Still surprised at least one bigger head didn't roll tonight.

Despite the cheese I thought it was fcúking epic! Gripping from start to finish. Some great set pieces (any scene with Arja) and some of the music was just outstanding. The Dani and John dragon scenes were cheesy as usual. John must be wearing a +10 cloak of protection wtf?

So winter has come and gone. And what of Tyrion and Sansa! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

lawred2 wrote: »
    So why didn't the flames do anything to him then?

556ca6dc378caf0d670e5d61_white-waker-fire.gif

If a WW can do that, not hard to believe flames would do **** all to the King :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

So did anyone catch the golden snitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

no.8 wrote: »
    Please calm yourself down. Your favourite character didn't kill the night king, that's all you care about

lol nah its not that simple im afraid.

I was massively afraid very early in the series they would build The Night king and his army up into this huge unbeatable force which they did then poof just blow it all away in the most anticlimactic way possible which they did!

Theres a million and one ways they could of finished him off and they picked one of the most pathetic fan service filled ways to do it. I just taught Game of Thrones was better then that?!

The character and story deserves so much better then that ****e seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,534 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Whoever decided it was a good "artistic" choice to make everything dark, hazy and blurry needs a stern talking-to. I spent most of the episode squinting trying to follow what was going on with little joy. It was a chore to watch.

Am I the only one who feels this way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Can ride a dragon, doesn't burn. Of course he's a Targ

He wasn't a Targaryen. The children of the forest made him as an impervious weapon against the first men. Arya stabbed him in the same spot as where the children of the forest stabbed him with the dragonglass to make him the Night King - it was his Achilles's heel. The only reason I know that it's from watching an interview with the producers after the episode. Fairly contrived plot point but feck it, I thought it was a great episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Hobosan

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Whoever decided it was a good "artistic" choice to make everything dark, hazy and blurry needs a stern talking-to. I spent most of the episode squinting trying to follow what was going on with little joy. It was a chore to watch.

Am I the only one who feels this way?
    You're not alone, my dog had the exact same problem.