Cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

rgodard80a wrote:
    Illegitimate means born out of wedlock, not that the mother cheated. So a DNA test won't tell you that, only a birth cert and marriage cert.

yes but DNA testing will show up if the father is not the father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

Not a wife, but my long term partner had an affair. We broke up around 9 months ago.

The cheating isn't that bad. It's painful, but like everyone said already, the lies are worse.

What hurt me the most is a toss up between two things - knowing that he was too busy shagging her while I was on the brink of death in hospital with sepsis to visit, that hurt.

Or that because I have a mental illness (which has been stable and unmedicated for 4 years), he convinced me I was mentally unwell again and imagining it, to the point where I went to my doctor seeking help. Thankfully she reassured me I wasn't unwell :)

But they hurt an awful lot more than the cheating. Cheating is bad, but the callous, nasty stuff is far worse.

But sure it's grand. These things happen. We've all been through relationships that turned bad, and we all get through them :) i wish the two of them a long, happy relationship because the longer they're happy together, the longer they're not hurting people :)
    best wishes for the future , you seem like a real fighter and you will beat this and find happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

She kept coming back later-and-later each evening and became more aloof than ever. Got up one morning and she was gone. She had moved in with a neighbour and I never saw it coming. She just couldn't stop herself when it came to getting premium brand foods and all manner of interesting toys. I'll never forget Miss Tiddles.

cjmc wrote: »
    I know the type! Blatant blatant lies that she even trips herself up on . Nothing better than lying to me in front of her friends, who all nod and agree even though most, if not all of them know exactly what she’s like. In my case she was narcissistic fcuking psychopath. Good riddance

Narcissistic never gave that word much thought till this happened she love doing things for people and then telling everyone who she had helped etc, shes got on her high horse and said she's staying in the house as [sob sob] she's nowhere to go and half the house is her's[although she never worked since we got married] , her long time lover/c**t won't have anything to do with her as he heard she was with someone else ironic if nothing else.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I was about to propose to my girlfriend when my roommate Joseph barged into the room out of nowhere, tripped, and fell over, breaking a glass table with his face. Totally ruined the mood. Now I don't know Joseph THAT well, don't even remember where he was from, but let's say I put my plans on hold to help him through his injuries.

Joseph had gotten a big glass shard in his eye, making him completely blind in that eye. He was walking around with one of those big cotton pads on his eye for a couple of months. Then suddenly, he disappeared, along with my girlfriend.

Apparently they'd bonded during the time after his injuries, and eloped together, leaving me behind without as much as a note. I tried to track them down, but never could.

In conclusion, if it hadn't been for Joe with his cotton eye, I'd have been married a long time ago. Where did you come from, where did you go? Where did you come from, cotton eye Joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

decky1 wrote: »
    best wishes for the future , you seem like a real fighter and you will beat this and find happiness.

Thank you :) I've already found happiness thankfully. I'm not currently dating or anything like that but I'm very happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,700 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Narcissistic never gave that word much thought till this happened she love doing things for people and then telling everyone who she had helped etc, shes got on her high horse and said she's staying in the house as [sob sob] she's nowhere to go and half the house is her's[although she never worked since we got married] , her long time lover/c**t won't have anything to do with her as he heard she was with someone else ironic if nothing else.:rolleyes:

I know! Acts holier than thou, she’s the bread winner, super mom, house keeper etc and it’s ALL bull**** . She has a cabal around her who spread her bull**** but actually anyone who isn’t related to her have left, and got on with their own lives and don’t have much to do with her now

cjmc wrote: »
    I know! Acts holier than thou, she’s the bread winner, super mom, house keeper etc and it’s ALL bull**** . She has a cabal around her who spread her bull**** but actually anyone who isn’t related to her have left, and got on with their own lives and don’t have much to do with her now

seen a bit of this a few girls who used to call in to her never do now,one in particular used to go out with her to meet this guy and drive his van home for him when he got too drunk, the whole thing is like something out of Dallas,:eek:

I'm suddenly picturing every crying-chair on the Worst Houses/ Flats to Rent thread

anyone else know what this means????????????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

anyone else know what this means????????????:confused:

There's been a particular feature on that thread of houses, with a single, depressing chair left alone in a forlorn, depressing room in a forlorn, depressing house.

Its presume its main use was for people to sit, reflect and cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Surely a small little bit of cheating is OK no?
    I mean would you prefer to be with a fella who doesn't cheat but would bore the hole off you and is as mean as shyte or with a fella who mightn't be shall we say squeaky clean but is great craic!

It's not an either or situation, jaysus. I've been with a few men who didn't cheat and were also great craic ffs :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

I read a book once that referenced a huge DNA study - a lot more children turned out to be illegitimate that you would think. A lot more.

I read most of that in Pat Mustard's voice.

It's not an either or situation, jaysus. I've been with a few men who didn't cheat and were also great craic ffs :pac:

You say you've 'been' with a few men who didn't cheat but were great craic.
    But I take it they're not around now so that doesn't really count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It's still not an either/or situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

You wouldn't have issue with your missus being prone to the odd ride around town because she's good craic? :confused:

Also, if someone bores the "hole off you", you perhaps don't get into a relationship with them in the first place. . .

theteal wrote: »
    You wouldn't have issue with your missus being prone to the odd ride around town because she's good craic? :confused:

Also, if someone bores the "hole off you", you perhaps don't get into a relationship with them in the first place. . .

See there's the difference, you see cheating or playing around as getting 'the ride'.
    Sexy guys with the old touch of charisma could play around/flirt for ages without doing that. But when they do...... wow!

Haha, you're gas. It's totally possible to be with someone who is loyal and great craic and still end up not being compatible!

They're still around, we're friends because friendship worked better for us. They're still great craic and as far as I'm aware they're not cheating on their girlfriends either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

See there's the difference, you see cheating or playing around as getting 'the ride'.
    Sexy guys with the old touch of charisma could play around/flirt for ages without doing that. But when they do...... wow!

Nope, I see cheating as cheating, "the ride" being the top end of the spectrum. I don't see flirting as cheating.

if your serious about your relationship if your married or living with someone , you work hard to give your wife +kids everything most times leaving yourself short and you going through life thinking everything is great then you find out she's cheating on you it will really mess you up inside,you can put on a brave face but in your head it will never go away, it's the lowest of the low, why not finish it if you've 'fell out of love' with your partner it will hurt but nothing like finding out you've been lied to for years.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I have a similar outlook around humans and the mistakes we can make. An ex cheated on me and broke down and confessed. I actually felt sorry for her at the time. She was genuinely remorseful.

We tried to make it work but to be honest the trust was gone so I called it a day.

At least she admitted to it and felt some remorse. The worst ones are the ones who feel entitled to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

if your serious about your relationship if your married or living with someone , you work hard to give your wife +kids everything most times leaving yourself short...

Can't be everyone's cup of tea - otherwise, you'd be a mug! :D

At least she admitted to it and felt some remorse. The worst ones are the ones who feel entitled to it.

yea mine, has'nt taken a feather out of her,all one big game,:(

This is what having no empathy looks like.

ah well 'onwards and upwards' as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

My pal acted delighted when she said she was going on a "girls trip" to London. It gave him a chance to clean out the bank account, credit union account, get all his stuff together and feck off. Straightforward as there was no kids or property. She had a scabby job whereas he was pulling about 30 grand a year more. Her trips to Monart etc dried up when hubby wasnt funding it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I haven’t been hurt by a ‘cheating wife’. Or a cheating wife either.