looks like English,Irish,Math and Wellbeing will be only core JC subjects/programmes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

"wellbeing" is something learned from your family and community not from a doss class in school.
    padd b1975 wrote: »
    Wellbeing as a compulsory subject!!

"Wellbeing" ???
    "Wellbeing" being, at all.
    Let along being a subject.
    Let alone let alone being a compulsory subject.

Oh mein Gott in Himmel. WTF is going on in our schools? Are they really that far out of kilter. No wonder schools are pumping out storms of snowflakes. No wonder kids are clueless and unable to withstand a pebble obstructing their perfect path without flaking out. I didnt know society was gone that far off the rails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Does anyone know what "wellbeing" covers as a subject?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Yes because standardised exams where we memorise a load of crap, splurge it out on a page and then promptly forget for the remainder of our lives is great preparation for a life in the workforce.

Oh no. They might change the pointless system of subjects and exams, HOW HORRIBLE QUICK LETS GET OUR PANTIES IN A COLLECTIVE BUNCH!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Does anyone know what "wellbeing" covers as a subject?
    Here:
    https://www.ncca.ie/media/2487/wellbeingguidelines_forjunior_cycle.pdf

It's a lame name, but seems like a pretty broad and crucial programme. Covers physical health (exercise and nutrition) as well as mental health, social rights & responsibilities, financial planning, etc etc.

I'm sure the naysayers here were picturing some hippy in long flowing robes lighting candles while the kids all lay on the ground with their eyes closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Looks alright to me.

seamus wrote: »
    You see, I'm struggling to think of anything which couldn't/shouldn't be covered as part of another subject.

So CSPE will cover social history topics like world wars and civil rights movements.

Science will cover a wide range of stuff from major leaps in physics, to anthropology, to biology.

See, I don't remember doing anything like that. That's information science. Junior Cert history as far as I recall it involved some prehistory stuff about Neanderthals and the Celts. Then a considerable amount about Europe between the 1200s and 1800s. A brief overview of the American Civil war. Absolutely nothing about WW1 and terrifyingly little about WW2. And nothing about modern history, Irish or otherwise.

I remember almost nothing that I learned in JC history, but I remember plenty of the history that I learned in other subjects.

And it can't be said that I wasn't listening, because I got a B in it.

So this is why I feel that JC history adds very little as a core subject. But perhaps the curriculum has been improved in 20 years.

It's been about 20 years for me as well and i got a B too! But yeah we did all that. Definitely did some ww2 and about how it all got going. Maybe it was school specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭xckjoo

"wellbeing" is something learned from your family and community not from a doss class in school.
    What if your family and community are crap though?
    Here:

It's a lame name, but seems like a pretty broad and crucial programme. Covers physical health (exercise and nutrition) as well as mental health, social rights & responsibilities, financial planning, etc etc.

I'm sure the naysayers here were picturing some hippy in long flowing robes lighting candles while the kids all lay on the ground with their eyes closed.
    Get out of here with your information. There's outrage to be had! :D
    Just following the global trend of dismantling the humanities subjects. No one will be able to question or think critically in the future.
    Totally agree. The atrophy of the humanities is one of the most short sighted flaws of education systems at the moment. We seem to have forgotten we're human and try and treat everything like a binary system. And I'm a complete STEM nerd in background, thinking and work life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BASHIR

You told us a while back you were a history graduate. In any case your intellect as displayed here is fairly weak. Mostly age based ad hominems. I also don’t think that going to university these days is the big deal you think it is.

The generation that brought liberalism to Ireland? Do you think that 23 year olds changed Ireland? Hint - you haven’t had enough time.

While I don't agree with the person you are arguing with here, I don't think age is a factor which stops people contributing to defining moments in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

"Wellbeing" ???

Oh mein Gott in Himmel. WTF is going on in our schools? Are they really that far out of kilter. No wonder schools are pumping out storms of snowflakes. No wonder kids are clueless and unable to withstand a pebble obstructing their perfect path without flaking out. I didnt know society was gone that far off the rails.

Not sure exactly where I stand on it as a subject but it's an indictment of parenting/family life which is very sad.

I'm also torn as to whether History must be a core subject.
    Is it practical to teach history as reference points in other studies for instance mention Archimedes in engineering class or the the concepts fascists or socialist in cultural studies.

I wouldn't particularly care if my daughter couldn't tell me the date the battle of Waterloo happened or exactly when rome fell but to know of them I guess is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Here:

Well the colours and fonts used in that document already point to the hippy attitude.
    All they needed was throw in a few incense stick images to complete the vibe.

Did they get someone in junior cycle to put the damn thing together. :rolleyes:

I do think there is a need to prepare students for normal adult life and the rigors they will face in an ever changing world, but the look of that document already point to a Kum ba yah sing a long.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Here:

So it's a lifeskills course. Wellbeing does sound like a load of bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

BASHIR wrote: »
    I'm also torn as to whether History must be a core subject.
    Is it practical to teach history as reference points in other studies for instance mention Archimedes in engineering class or the the concepts fascists or socialist in cultural studies.

I wouldn't particularly care if my daughter couldn't tell me the date the battle of Waterloo happened or exactly when rome fell but to know of them I guess is important.

To be fair, how the hell are they expected to get to grips with stuff like northern Ireland without history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Lol

You got a chip on your shoulder old man?

Thank f*ck your generation is going to die out soon.

Quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Lol

You got a chip on your shoulder old man?

Thank f*ck your generation is going to die out soon.

Thanks for proving the point with your fabulous reading comprehension, ye feckin thick :)

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair, how the hell are they expected to get to grips with stuff like northern Ireland without history?

You know what that is true, but can I ask what age you were when you fully understood the conflict?
    I honestly don't think I understood it fully when I was 15 16.
    what I'm trying to get at is, is it possible to incorporate history into other teaching methods/subjects.

I'm just asking questions as I said I'm not convinced either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You know what that is true, but can I ask what age you were when you fully understood the conflict?
    I honestly don't think I understood it fully when I was 15 16.
    what I'm trying to get at is, is it possible to incorporate history into other teaching methods/subjects.

I'm just asking questions as I said I'm not convinced either way.

You know what they say about those who fail to learn from history dont you? It is impossible to learn from history if they dont teach it in school. History is as important a subject as maths or science. I say that as a total science nerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

You’re one strange kid. Very odd.

Not a great product of the existing system.
    Lads, he is a skaterboy, I'd just say see you later boy. He isn't good enough for ye. He might have a pretty face, but his head's up his ar...in space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Pherekydes wrote: »
    They already do that. It's called algebra. :pac:
    Greek. That’s the problem with no history classes.
    Babylonians actually.
    I think it depends on what you call Algebra exactly. From reading a few histories of Algebra different authors define it slightly differently and take any of these cultures as having arrived at it first. Although the common view is Persia.

The Babylonians had numerical methods for computing squares and powers for working with geometry, but they lacked the actual concepts in clear detail.

The Classical Greeks came up with a way of encoding algebraic problems as a geometric problem. They came up with many algebraic questions, but for them they were all "really" geometric problems.

Later Romanised Greeks, especially Diophantus, did begin to pull it out of being a way of dealing with geometry but they were still focused on numbers rather than viewing the equations as things in themselves.

The Brāhmasphuṭasiddhānta in India is on a similar level to Diophantus. Advanced, not concerned solely with shapes, but still viewed equations as something that come up when trying to deal with numbers, rather than things in themselves.

It was the Persian Muhammad ibn Musa al-Khwarizmi that actually first developed a theory of equations as entities in themselves and study their behaviour and properties.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

You told us a while back you were a history graduate. In any case your intellect as displayed here is fairly weak. Mostly age based ad hominems. I also don’t think that going to university these days is the big deal you think it is.

The generation that brought liberalism to Ireland? Do you think that 23 year olds changed Ireland? Hint - you haven’t had enough time.

Why are you lying? I did engineering with a minor in history.

Pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Fourier wrote: »
    ...It was the Persian Muhammad ibn Musa al-Khwarizmi that actually first developed a theory of equations as entities in themselves and studied their behaviour and properties.

"The Compendious Book on Calculation by Completion and Balancing", the Arabic translation of which features al-jabr, or "the reunion of broken parts". Interestingly, for a good while after the word entered English as "algebra", it referred to bone-setting.

Why are you lying? I do engineering with a minor in history.

Pathetic

Do you mind? The adults are chatting. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

"Wellbeing" ???

Oh no, mental health is actually being addressed? This truly is the end of Ireland

You know what they say about those who fail to learn from history dont you? It is impossible to learn from history if they dont teach it in school. History is as important a subject as maths or science. I say that as a total science nerd.

You know what after looking at the curriculum I believe it should be a core subject.
    I think it has changed dramatically from my junior cert days particularly the critical thinking part rather than being a remembering what happened when exercise.

Good talk ;)

You know what after looking at the curriculum I believe it should be a core subject.
    I think it has changed dramatically from my junior cert days particularly the critical thinking part rather than being a remembering what happened when exercise.

Good talk ;)

The mini-discussion about algebra is another example of the sort of thing that would be lost if everyone studied Wellbeing instead of history. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    The mini-discussion about algebra is another example of the sort of thing that would be lost if everyone studied Wellbeing instead of history. :D

Exactly. I hated history when I was in JC combination of bad teacher bad curriculum. Remembering dates and people for no apparent reason other it would be on an exam. But discussing theories and beliefs of historic people/politics is something I would thoroughly enjoy.

TBF I don't have an issue with wellbeing being a subject either :cool:

Exactly. I hated history when I was in JC combination of bad teacher bad curriculum. Remembering dates and people for no apparent reason other it would be on an exam. But discussing theories and beliefs of historic people/politics is something I would thoroughly enjoy.

TBF I don't have an issue with wellbeing being subject either :cool:

Well, you do need a certain amount of what-happened-when-and-where properly to anchor the thing in context, but yeah, history can and should be fun, informative and useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,371 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Think it's a sad mistake removing history as a core subject not just for Irish children.

Think about the amount of foreign nationals making a home in this country. We are now told their children, as well as ours, might never learn a jot of Irish history in school.

I disagree with it. Wrong step.

If anything these days we need to be more aware of history than ever and not just Irish history.

I can not figure out the rationale for taking a step like this.

Look at the situation in the UK where as proven through Brexit discussion in the populace so many don't have a damn clue about their own country's borders - never mind history!

That's the route we want to follow???

Why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Think it's a sad mistake removing history as a core subject not just for Irish children.

Think about the amount of foreign nationals making a home in this country. We are now told their children, as well as ours, might never learn a jot of Irish history.

I disagree with it. Wrong step.

If anything these days we need to be more aware of history than ever and not just Irish history.

I can not figure out the rationale for taking a step like this.

Look at the situation in the UK where as proven through Brexit so many don't have a damn clue about their own country's borders - never mind history!

That's the route we want to follow???

Why?

They don't want children to know our history. Even 20 years ago when I was in school, it seemed more important to learn about the Romans than anything about Irish history. Basically anything that happened after the famine was ignored. Who knows why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

They don't want children to know our history. Even 20 years ago when I was in school, it seemed more important to learn about the Romans than anything about Irish history. Basically anything that happened after the famine was ignored. Who knows why?

Yeah, what have the Romans ever done for us?