Most ballsy thing you ever did?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Did they do that smarmy "You're Welcome" thing as well knowing full well you didn't thank them?

Only if they had a Death Wish I'd say.:pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    Only if they had a Death Wish I'd say.:pac:

Damn right. You don't mess with all 4ft 11in of angry Candie and walk away intact!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I parked at a petrol pump once and realised that the petrol tank pipe entry hole was on the opposite side of the car to the pump.

I took the calculated risk that the hose would extend the whole way across.

It did.

*sunglasses emoji*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

D3V!L wrote: »
    With my right foot hanging off and broken in 4 places I took my crashed motorbike back off a scumbag who wanted to "mind" it for me.

Adrenaline let's you do amazing things !!

Jesus it pains me to know that someone would try rob a bike from someone who just took a bad tumble.

In a similar vein, I took a tumble on a long straight after a corner and tried to wave a car of young fellas down so they didn't run into the bike on the road as it was dark. Was standing out on the road jumping up and down until the last minute but they were flooring it and never spotted me. They hit it, spun out and wrote off the car. Everyone fine, just a bit shook but didn't notice my foot was drenched in blood until the ambulance arrived. Adrenaline's a hell of a drug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Dub Ste

eviltwin wrote: »
    Held the hand of a dead road crash victim. It was a fairly brutal scene and I wanted to run away but he was just a young lad and I kept thinking of his mum and how she wouldn't have wanted her boy to be alone at a time like that.

This is the saddest and most moving thing I've read in a long time.

My eldest brother died in a car crash,died alone, just wish he had someone like you with him.

That was such a wonderful thing to do, I'm sure it brought comfort to his mother and father.........fair play to you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

eviltwin wrote: »
    Held the hand of a dead road crash victim. It was a fairly brutal scene and I wanted to run away but he was just a young lad and I kept thinking of his mum and how she wouldn't have wanted her boy to be alone at a time like that.

Pretty similar to that, but this lad was killed instantly however myself and a Garda administered 6 cycles of CPR

STORY
    A young motorcyclist has been killed and his passenger was seriously injured when his bike crashed into a lamp post.

Gardat Coolock in Dublin are investigating the single vehicle fatal road traffic collision which occurred at Clarehall Dublin 17 at approximately 4.20pm on Monday.

I'm not going to go into detail his injuries, I'm a Military First Responder and despite my and the Guards best efforts there was nothing we could do to save him.

I went to his family home and met his family the evening before the funeral, that was genuinely very tough.

Again not particular details, but one particular night in Lebanon stands out simply because of the lyrics of a James Blunt song 'No Bravery'
    'Tracer lighting up the sky, its another families turn to die'

Gets me every time, its a song I find very hard to listen to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

ifElseThen wrote: »
    Deciding to have a 5th child...Had 2 boys & 2 girls...what was it gonna be....

Twins? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭mr chips

Living in cramped multi-storey accommodation while working abroad as a young fella years ago, my new neighbours turned out to be very fond of the sauce, with loud music and rows until all hours several nights a week. Paper-thin walls between flats didn't help. One night was particularly bad, with a lot of "SHUT YOUR F*****G MOUTH C**T!", thuds and glass smashing, screaming and sobbing which went on until after 3am. Eventually I heard the door of their flat slam and two sets of footsteps staggering away. A short while later, there were a few taps at my door - I opened it to find the female of the couple standing there with blood streaming down her head and arm, a black eye that was already closed and a burst mouth. She said the other two had gone out to try and buy more drink, and asked if she could hide in my place before they got back. The husband's pal had been staying with them - he had a cast on his arm from some sort of wrist injury and what I had heard was him using the cast to beat her up, while the husband lay there yelling at them to stop making so much f*****g noise and let him get to sleep. She got the slashes on her arm as a defensive injury from when he went to smash a bottle on her head.

I let her in and waited to hear if the pair would come back, which they eventually did. After a few minutes of stumping round inside their flat, slamming doors and shouting her name, suddenly there was hammering on my door. Didn't make a peep. The handle was tried a couple of times and I heard the thump of a shoulder trying to force it open, but it held. A minute or two after that, I heard their living room window open - we were four floors up and there was a big wide window ledge and gutter outside, which together were nearly three feet wide. I twigged that one or both of them were going to try to crawl round and break into my place through the (single-glazed) window, which was only a couple of feet along from their one. I had no phone, not even a landline and it was before the days of mobiles. On top of that, myself and the neighbours had the only two occupied flats on that floor or indeed on that side of the building, meaning there was nobody else around. So as quietly as I could, I went and got the biggest thing I might be able to use as a weapon, which was my sweeping brush. I stood inside my window holding that feckin thing like a pike, waiting to see if I was about to push a person off the side of a building to their death. I had loads of thoughts racing through my head about being arrested abroad, being plunged into a foreign legal system, how I'd cope with time in prison, the whole sudden turn my life might be about to take, but I was determined that no f*cker was getting in.

Thankfully I heard arguing from the other side of the wall along the lines of "leave it, she's not worth it" etc and eventually heard that window close again. There wasn't much sleep for the rest of the night, all the same. The woman wouldn't hear of going to the police, so I took her to stay with my girlfriend for the weekend to give her a safe place to be (20 year old me wasn't even aware of the existence of women's refuges then).

She went back to him three days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

balls.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭ifElseThen

New Home wrote: »
    Twins? :pac:

Just the one :) Delivered her myself at home at the end of the stairs. Not by choice. That was pretty ballsy and edge of the seat terror :):):)

Was in a situation in school where I started getting bullied kinda suddenly, which was v upsetting, couldn’t really cope.
    It seemed to be escalating and after some of my stuff was taken I picked a fight with one of the ****ers. Bullying eased off afterwards, but unfortunately I didn’t fully learn the lesson, which wa to trust myself and not be afraid to take strong action if something wrong is happening. Learned it eventually though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

ifElseThen wrote: »
    Just the one :) Delivered her myself at home at the end of the stairs. Not by choice. That was pretty ballsy and edge of the seat terror :):):)

More child birth is the worse pain ever agenda.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

What if ifElseThen is the dad and he had to help his partner deliver the baby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Wore a fairly high pair of Valentino heels to my secondary school graduation just two days after tearing all the ligaments from my knee down to and including my ankle.

Stupid thinking back, probably did so much damage :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Long story short. In a part of what youd call the uncivilised world, me and a girl went on an adventure down to some port to get off the beaten track. Stood out like sore thumbs. Very, very ropey looking place.

Got talking to a few locals and went out with some of the fishermen, agreed a token price for the jaunt (not as dodgy as it sounds, even given the place).

All well and good.

Got back into the port and they asked for the token amount...plus another three 0's added on. Argument grew and grew until we were surrounded, quite literally, by about 20 or 30 blokes, a few handy machetes floating around.

Basically, the way it was going, they flat out said they were going to rob us and take everything we had.

Heres the "ballsy" part. I had a machete too. I was raging at this point, pulled out the machete, ready for the inevitable. Stupid? Who knows, it could have ended even worse if I hadn't.

Those moments of pure silence, its just ready to kick off. All of a sudden, out of nowhere, the demeanor of the entire group changed. I didn't really know what was going on anymore.

Turned out that the girl at my back started crying. It was that sight that defused the bloodthirst of it all. The circle of them melted a little, enough that we could both get out of it carefully.

Hightailed it, watching our backs, all the way out the town. It was her tears that saved the day, 100%. Thinking back about it now almost makes me sweat, such a crazy situation to have ended up in, could have gone fatally 20 different ways. I suppose ballsy and stupid can go hand in hand sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭ifElseThen

Ipso wrote: »
    More child birth is the worse pain ever agenda.

I'm the dad. Wife gave birth to 5 completely pain relief free. You and her would get along like a house on fire 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Last year about 10.30pm headed off to bed, about 10 mins later the dog starts barking her head off, get up and look out window and see the interior light of my sisters car on and some chap all in black standing at her car.

I shouted at him and he ran off. Legged it down stairs in my bed clothes, out the door and chased after him.

Caught up with him tin the middle of the road and asked what he was doing at her car. No smell of booze but he was on something. Could see it in his eyes. He was kinda shocked that I chased him

Grabbed him and dragged him into the local petrol station.
    Wanted to keep him pegged in. And asked guys in the station to call the guards.

Held onto his wrists and put into the corner beside the shop counter to pin him in.....kept going on that he'd go back to prison....blah blah blah.....he was sorry....he didn't take anything....give him a chance....blah blah blah

Guards taking ages to arrive, the employees of the petrol station would not get involved. His bird, his mate come and my other sister (who was pregnant) come in.

I'm telling his mate to leave and not to get involved and his bird is pleading for me to let him go.

His mate does leave ....lucky for me. His mate seemed quit sensible.

The guy tells me, he's a knife....look down and there it is in his hand....a red swiss army knife but with no blade showing....again lucky for me. Tell him to put the knife on the counter which he does and I flick it away on the side onto the floor.

I'm thinking him having the knife is in neither of our interest.

Still struggling to keep him pinned in....eventually he breaks loose and gives me a couple of smacks...I run at him at push him back giving him a few smacks and he comes at me again with a few more.

He then legs it out and into a car which pulled in and off they went.

Guards came and took a statement. He was arrested the next day, admitted what he did and bailed. 2 days later was arrested again for breaking into a house.

Moral....should I have chased him?.....no

Have his name....serious drug problem.

Has many convictions for theft, assult, criminal damage.

No idea if there is a case pending.