An Taisce Green Schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Panch18

And another thing - which is vitally important

the "science" behind the interaction that methane has with the environment is sketchy to say the very least. In fact some eminent climate change scientists are coming out and saying it is just plain WRONG. And in case you think I am making this up why don't the doubters check out the most recent work of Professor Myles Allen (head of climate change at Oxford's Physic's department no less)

To give you a sample of where the MISTAKE is made in climate change science here is a direct quote:

“We don’t actually need to give up eating meat to stabilise global temperatures,” says Professor Myles Allen who led the study (meat production is a major source of methane). “We just need to stop increasing our collective meat consumption. But we do need to give up dumping CO2 into the atmosphere. Every tonne of CO2 emitted is equivalent to a permanent increase in the methane emission rate. Climate policies could be designed to reflect this.”

“Under current policies, industries that produce methane are managed as though that methane has a permanently worsening effect on the climate,” says Professor Frame. “But this is not the case. Implementing a policy that better reflects the actual impact of different pollutants on global temperatures would give agriculture a fair and reasonable way to manage their emissions and reduce their impact on the environment.”

According to the independent, this initiative states the "vast majority" of Ireland's greenhouse gas emissions comes from agriculture.

The EPA states that just under 30% of greenhouse gasses come from agriculture:

Now the word "vast" is pretty subjective, but the word "majority" is easily defined, it means greater than 50%.

Never let facts get in the way of some good ould propoganda

Balf wrote: »
    I think yours is the most pertinent point.

As the Brexit process is revealing to us, a lot of the food we eat is actually imported. And, as you say, most of the beef produced by Irish farmers is exported to the EU (and most of that to the UK).

I wasn't surprised, but I was disappointed to see that half of all domestically produced field vegetables are grown in Dublin. That's a pretty stark indication of the disconnection between the food we actually need and eat, and the food that Irish farmers produce.

The IFA comments just don't connect to reality. If they want to produce for the domestic market, they need to change the products they produce.

WE produce enough beef and enough dairy products in Ireland to feed over 40 million people, our population is only 4.5m so it stands to reason that the vast majority of our dairy and beef produce is exported. The domestic market is only a small fraction of the total market for farmers.

I agree with you though, I think its fundamentally wrong that Ireland imports so much food. People should be buying locally sourced food first and foremost

Of course avocado and almonds are the new "in thing" Eating them makes the world a greener place, and if people didn't have their avocado's then how could they preach to us farmers from their Ivory Towers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Panch18 wrote: »
    WE produce enough beef and enough dairy products in Ireland to feed over 40 million people, our population is only 4.5m so it stands to reason that the vast majority of our dairy and beef produce is exported. The domestic market is only a small fraction of the total market for farmers.
    I know that kind of statistic can be misread by some as meaning Ireland exports enough food to feed 40 million poeple (I'm not saying by you, as I'm sure you understand it).

Whereas, as you probably know, it only means that we're specialised in producing beef to such an extent that 4.5 million people couldn't possibly have a need for of that single product. But we're actually net food energy importers.

I know a lot of people are shocked and surprised by that, as we think that we've a very productive food industry.
    I agree with you though, I think its fundamentally wrong that Ireland imports so much food. People should be buying locally sourced food first and foremost
    But isn't the point that Irish farmers mostly produce for export. And, as you say, 4.5 million people just don't need all the beef that Irish farmers produce.

They do need spunds and carrots and stuff that could be produced here, but needs to be imported as Irish farmers generally don't grow that kind of stuff.

I know that kind of statistic can be misread by some as meaning Ireland exports enough food to feed 40 million poeple (I'm not saying by you, as I'm sure you understand it).

Whereas, as you probably know, it only means that we're specialised in producing beef to such an extent that 4.5 million people couldn't possibly have a need for of that single product. But we're actually net food energy importers.

I know a lot of people are shocked and surprised by that, as we think that we've a very productive food industry.But isn't the point that Irish farmers mostly produce for export. And, as you say, 4.5 million people just don't need all the beef that Irish farmers produce.

They do need spunds and carrots and stuff that could be produced here, but needs to be imported as Irish farmers generally don't grow that kind of stuff.

We grow plenty of spuds and carrots - the problem is that plenty of the supermarkets will prefer to import food than source it in Ireland. We could grow more than enough "root" veg if we tried, that would be easy.

You have to remember that a huge amount of items like bananas, oranges, avacado's, pasta, rice, etc etc are imported and these items will always be imported. Irish farmers would feed many times over the Irish population if the Irish people were eating Irish food, which they did in the main until the last 20 years or so. now the amount of non local food that is consumed is huge. So we stick to what we are good at and export it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

gctest50 wrote: »
    That site full of erroneous information ? is it now ?

Thank you, thank you - is that enough?

An Taisce appears to have 66 employees - the Enviromental Educational Unit - some sort of state sponsored scheme? However, when you subtract the 61 on the scheme the core number of An Taisce employees comes back to 5 - i.e it's not some sort of well funded organisation with loads of staff. Anyway, you have reawakened my interest in the organisation and I am going to delve deeper and should I find out anything will post again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Theres something on the IFJ Facebook today about Teagasc pushing veggie options in their staff restaurant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

what are the average annual methane and co2 emissions of a cow?

Also how much land would one cow take up?

What would be the output of vegetables grown on that same portion of land?
    I think yours is the most pertinent point.

As the Brexit process is revealing to us, a lot of the food we eat is actually imported. And, as you say, most of the beef produced by Irish farmers is exported to the EU (and most of that to the UK).

I wasn't surprised, but I was disappointed to see that half of all domestically produced field vegetables are grown in Dublin. That's a pretty stark indication of the disconnection between the food we actually need and eat, and the food that Irish farmers produce.

The IFA comments just don't connect to reality. If they want to produce for the domestic market, they need to change the products they produce.
    Not all land is created equal. At best, and this would be at the upper probable levels, 20% of Irish land would be considered arable land, the type of land necessary to grow a commercial arable crop.

The majority of that land would be located along the east and south coast, unsurprisingly where the majority of arable crops are farmed. Even then, not all the land in the arable areas would be capable of supporting a commercial arable enterprise due to drainage, soil depth, elevation slope, soil type etc etc etc.

Even if the land were suitable for supporting a commercial crop of veg, you then have to get a contract to supply one of the multiples, which requires large areas of a single crop type typically 50, 60 70, 80, 90+ acres of this single crop which will automatically rule out a huge chunk of available area.

And then you have to supply a large quantity of said crop at specified times and within a very small variety, colour, size, shape etc etc etc specification. If you can't supply said quantities, your future contract will be reduced or cancelled. You will also have to supply a percentage of your crop for instore promotions, at your cost. And if you are fortunate to have an excess of in-spec crops, the only market available to you is cattle feed where it is carried along with the large percentage of any given harvest that falls outside the crop specifications.

Been there, seen that, bought the T-shirt. Perhaps, with the obvious expertise that some are claiming, they should branch out and show us yokels how it should be done. I await with anticipation the resultant omnishambles but please, please, please supply photographs for us:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Theres something on the IFJ Facebook today about Teagasc pushing veggie options in their staff restaurant

I refer you to post no 85

We could grow more than enough "root" veg if we tried, that would be easy.
    We probably could. But we don't. If Dublin produces half of our domestic field vegetables, how plentiful do you expect the supply is elsewhere?
    Irish farmers would feed many times over the Irish population
    I think that's a misconception.

Think about your beef example. We export about 540 million kg of beef in a year. Agreed?

You mention a figure of 40 million people. Our exports would give each of those people about 13.5 kg of beef each, or 30 lb per year.

That's two quarter pounder burgers a week, without the Bundy, onions or ketchup.

Well short of what you'd need to be fed. But probably as much beef as you'd want.

Not all land is created equal. At best, and this would be at the upper probable levels, 20% of Irish land would be considered arable land, the type of land necessary to grow a commercial arable crop.

The majority of that land would be located along the east and south coast, unsurprisingly where the majority of arable crops are farmed. Even then, not all the land in the arable areas would be capable of supporting a commercial arable enterprise due to drainage, soil depth, elevation slope, soil type etc etc etc.
    Good points. But, just to be clear, you don't need to convince me of the limitations of Irish agriculture.

I'm not under the impression that Irish agriculture produces enough food to feed 40 million people, or anything like that number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

BarryD2 wrote: »
    I'd no more believe what comes from An Bord Bia - quoting from their website, my emphasis:

"Bord Bia was established under An Bord Bia Act 1994 and operates in accordance with the provisions of the Bord Bia Acts and Amendment Acts 1994, 1995, 1996 & 2004 and under the aegis of the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine. The functions of the Board shall be to promote, assist and develop in any manner which the Board considers necessary or desirable the marketing of Irish food and livestock and the production, marketing and consumption of horticultural product"
    I've never yet come across a bias free advertiser. Have you :)

Bord Bia's given remit is to promote high quality locally produced food and support native industries and jobs. Bord Bia employ experts in the area of agriculture, food production and nutrition. And btw that covers all kind of produce whether plant or animal based.

And you have a problem with that?

Since when did An Taisce become a known provider of dietary advice? Why are An Taisce suddenly promoters of food fads? I believe their original remit was aimed at "preserveing and protecting Ireland's natural and built heritage."

Exactly how many climatologists, food scientists or experts are An Taisce employing and when did they take on a role of policing what people are eating?

What is hilarious is they are evidently not advocating for children to reduce or eliminate junk food from their diet. Nooo the kids must reduce / give up a healthy part of a normal diet because some bunch of do gooders tell them to do so!

Shower of wasters imo ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭dmakc

Our media are frustrating. All day today on radio I've heard It misrepresented as farmers wanting to ban an entire resource pack due to it encouraging children to debate "meatless Monday" potential. Nothing else. I see facebook comments from the usual saying there's no mention of vegan in the resource pack. General consensus implies farmers should shut up as Monday is one day a week.

We only want the propaganda taken out of it. IFA openly support the green school initiative, but not the brainwashing.

It asks kids to go and make vegan dishes at home to bring in and share. It explicitly takes aim at both dairy and meat. Also encourages "cruelty-free" products. Even has a tick-the-box checklist which although subtle, implies failure if you fail gain vegan traits. Why can't anyone in the media actually read the resource pack before stating what they think it might be, and misrepresent the argument as something it's not. It actually reeks of govegan funding.

Our news media are an awful mix of crooked, lazy or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,370 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

In our school recently they entered an esb competition in the rds. Thers a kid in the class who is coeliac. The kids did a project on it. They learnt about gluten free diets. Tasted a load of gluten free foods against non gluten free ones. A real eye opener for 10/11 year old. They won an award. This is the type of stuff kids should be made aware to under the right supervison. It's a lesson for life done properly

gozunda wrote: »
    Bord Bia's given remit is to promote high quality locally produced food and support native industries and jobs..
    ? Not how they see their role.

Their priority is supplying the rest of the world, not serving the domestic market.

https://www.bordbia.ie/corporate/governance/pages/aboutbordbia.aspx

"The role of Bord Bia, the Irish Food Board, is to act as a link between Irish food, drink and horticulture suppliers and existing and potential customers throughout the world. Our objective is to develop markets for Irish suppliers and to bring the taste of Irish food to more tables world-wide.

With its headquarters in Dublin, Bord Bia has a network of overseas offices in Amsterdam, Dusseldorf, London, Madrid, Milan, Moscow, New York, Paris, Shanghai and Stockholm."
    dmakc wrote: »
    We only want the propaganda taken out of it. IFA openly support the green school initiative, but not the brainwashing.
    In fairness, IFA don't do much to take out the traditional propaganda about Irish agriculture, some of which is in evidence on this thread.

Not much point in an export oriented farm sector pretending it cares about local supply, when they aren't really interested in serving the local customer.

? Not how they see their role.Their priority is supplying the rest of the world, not serving the domestic market.
    https://www.bordbia.ie/corporate/governance/pages/aboutbordbia.aspx
    "The role of Bord Bia, the Irish Food Board, is to act as a link between Irish food, drink and horticulture suppliers and existing and potential customers throughout the world. Our objective is to develop markets for Irish suppliers and to bring the taste of Irish food to more tables world-wide.With its headquarters in Dublin, Bord Bia has a network of overseas offices in Amsterdam, Dusseldorf, London, Madrid, Milan, Moscow, New York, Paris, Shanghai and Stockholm."
    In fairness, IFA don't do much to take out the traditional propaganda about Irish agriculture, some of which is in evidence on this thread.
    Not much point in an export oriented farm sector pretending it cares about local supply, when they aren't really interested in serving the local customer.

Eh try reading what I wrote again. You obviously missed it the first time.
    Bord Bia's given remit is to promote high quality locally produced food and support native industries and jobs. Bord Bia employ experts in the area of agriculture, food production and nutrition. And btw that covers all kind of produce whether plant or animal based.

And yes they support Irish jobs and business and promote Irish produce- that's what they do throughout the world" including Ireland.

By locally produced - I refer to "Irish" produced foods. Bord Bia promotes Irish food both here and abroad. Understand?

As for the allegation that the
    export oriented farm sector pretending it cares about local supply, when they aren't really interested in serving the local customer
    (sic)

Bullcrap. The domestic market makes up a significant part of all Irish agricultural produce. It is the quality of that product which makes it so valuable as an export.

I note the ususl anti-agricultural propaganda clearly at work tbh.

dmakc wrote: »
    Our media are frustrating. All day today on radio I've heard It misrepresented as farmers wanting to ban an entire resource pack due to it encouraging children to debate "meatless Monday" potential. Nothing else. I see facebook comments from the usual saying there's no mention of vegan in the resource pack. General consensus implies farmers should shut up as Monday is one day a week.

It asks kids to go and make vegan dishes at home to bring in and share. It explicitly takes aim at both dairy and meat. Also encourages "cruelty-free" products. Even has a tick-the-box checklist which although subtle, implies failure if you fail gain vegan traits. Why can't anyone in the media actually read the resource pack before stating what they think it might be, and misrepresent the argument as something it's not. It actually reeks of govegan funding.

Our news media are an awful mix of crooked, lazy or both.

Saw that in the pack and had a good laugh. If you needed any evidence that was put together by a evangelical veganista - you've got it there. Standard vegan used phrase and bizarrely stuck smack bang in the middle of a pack about climate change to be given to young impressionable children.

There was case recently of one the US churches here producing similar type packs for Civics education in Primary schools and quite rightly this was outed and criticised for promoting specific but dubious 'family values'

And yet here we have the same type of thing going on and it's been hand clapped by the media. You're right about the media - they need a kick up the rear end when it comes to rubbish like this tbh.

Here's the tick box questions on climate change

k972u8.png

Remind me what bits of "cruelty free" (as laudable such sentiments may be) have to do with "climate actions"?????

Fecking idiots ...

We probably could. But we don't. If Dublin produces half of our domestic field vegetables, how plentiful do you expect the supply is elsewhere?
    I think that's a misconception.

Think about your beef example. We export about 540 million kg of beef in a year. Agreed?

You mention a figure of 40 million people. Our exports would give each of those people about 13.5 kg of beef each, or 30 lb per year.

That's two quarter pounder burgers a week, without the Bundy, onions or ketchup.

Well short of what you'd need to be fed. But probably as much beef as you'd want.

No we produced 520,000 tons of beef, NOT MILLIONS of tons. We export 470,000 tons of beef, so our 4.5m population require approx 50,000 tons of beef.

So our population of 4.5m requires approx 10% of our beef production, hence approx 90% is exported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,072 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

_Brian wrote: »
    Meat and animal products are really delicious to eat.

Agree, but we are not discussing taste, we are discussing the environmental impact of beef and dairy farming.
    Humans developed as omnivores for that reason. If not we’d still be swinging in the trees.

True to some extent, yet the issue of course is that, there are 7.5 Billion of us on earth and on average we eat much more beef and dairy than ever before per person. Again, we are talking about sustainable food production here.
    They are healthy nutritious foods for humans to consume.

Agree again, But is it sustainable when there are 7.5 billion humans on earth?

Humans have been farming animals as part of a family unit for so long it’s second nature to be surrounded by and care for these animals, consuming their produce is as natural for us omnivores as breathing air. Being a farmer is a true gift and a joy.

Perhaps, but again what about the environmental impact and sustainability?
    It’s our choice and that should be respected.

Em, of course. Much like it will be the consumer who will be choosing how much dairy and beef they will consume. No one will be banning framing but to highlight and educate people on the negative impacts mass beef and dairy farming is having on the country and earth is a good thing.

markodaly wrote: »
    Agree, but we are not discussing taste, we are discussing the environmental impact of beef and dairy farming.

True to some extent, yet the issue of course is that, there are 7.5 Billion of us on earth and on average we eat much more beef and dairy than ever before per person. Again, we are talking about sustainable food production here.

Agree again, But is it sustainable when there are 7.5 billion humans on earth?

Can you tell me what food production methods are sustainable for a population of 7.5 billion? Taking into consideration the huge environmental damage that soya and almonds are already doing to the planet with only a tiny proportion of the population consuming them regularly

Bullcrap. The domestic market makes up a significant part of all Irish agricultural produce. It is the quality of that product which makes it so valuable as an export.

I note the ususl anti-agricultural propaganda clearly at work tbh.
    So Panch is engaged in propaganda when saying
    So our population of 4.5m requires approx 10% of our beef production, hence approx 90% is exported
    I think ye need to agree on what you are trying to say.
    No we produced 520,000 tons of beef, NOT MILLIONS of tons. We export 470,000 tons of beef, so our 4.5m population require approx 50,000 tons of beef.
    You haven't read my post correctly.

I said kg. There's 1000 kg in a metric tonne.

You then skip the pertinent point. Which is that two quarter pounders a week doesn't feed a human.

Irish agriculture doesn't feed 40 million people. But that's the propaganda we're expected to swallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,579 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

What kid considers:
    "I consider my global impact by choosing to buy local food, Fairtrade and (the other stupid part)"

Seems a very targetted intent on the survey to get kids to tick all boxes and act on them - they're kids and this is psychological more than anything else - you need to tick everything and act on it!. Which for most of the options is a good thing but plying your other beliefs into it is a bad thing.

So Panch is engaged in propaganda when sayingI think ye need to agree on what you are trying to say.
    You haven't read my post correctly.

Nope. Wrong. It's what written in your post which comes across as anti agriculture propaganda tbh.

Trying to shift the goalposts lol? I'm sure Panch can answer for himself and his own posts.

Note - I stated that  "The domestic market makes up a significant part of all Irish agricultural produce"

In beef, sheep meat, raw milk - Ireland produces a significant amount for the domestic market to the point Ireland reaches self sufficiency levels in many of these products.

Our soil, climate and topography tends to favour grass growth over most other agricultural cultivation. We produce what we are good at given these conditions.

In fact Ireland has been mooted as topping the US as the country best able to feed It's people.

See
    https://www.bloomberg.com/graphics/2017-food-security/

And yet you decry that "Dublin produces only half of our domestic field vegetables"...

And no you cant have it both ways. Either you are for self sufficiency in food or your not. It would be useful if you could make your mind up on that point ...

Nope. Wrong. It's what written in your post which comes across as anti agriculture propaganda tbh..
    But, sure, I'm only stating plain facts.

Whereas you and Panch are tripping over each other, and you are starting to get incoherent.

In particular, you seem to have trouble acknowledging the export focus of Irish agriculture. Nonsense to talk as if the domestic market is important, when 90% of production is exported.

And Brexit is exposing our dependence on imports.

You may find this uncomfortable. But its just how it is.

But, sure, I'm only stating plain facts.Whereas you and Panch are tripping over each other, and you are starting to get incoherent.In particular, you seem to have trouble acknowledging the export focus of Irish agriculture. Nonsense to talk as if the domestic market is important, when 90% of production is exported.And Brexit is exposing our dependence on imports.You may find this uncomfortable. But its just how it is.

Rubbish written down do not make 'plain facts'

If you can't acknowledge when you are wrong then do not drag in other posters in an attempt to dig your way out.

My point was directed at your various generalised references to domestic supply and also to a lack of self sufficiency in horticultural produce and where I pointed out that in respect of beef, sheep meat, raw milk etc our agricultural sector is largely self sufficient.

That our climate, topography and soils mostly favours the cultivation of grass thereby allowing us to be largely self sufficient in these products and also successfully allows a surplus for export - providing for jobs and supporting the Irish economy. If you don't like these facts tough. That's just how it is.

Its interesting that it takes others to see the value of the Irish agriculture sector that Ireland tops the US as the country best able to feed It's people. But then that doesn't suit the propaganda does it?

https://www.bloomberg.com/graphics/2017-food-security/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

That teachers are suitable to give doetry advice.
    Telling children to cut down on dairy without understanding their needs or giving alternatives is wise.

That meat and dairy production is so damaging to the environment when various studies that view doesn’t properly take carbon sequestration onto soils into consideration.

I’m all for eating more fruit and veg, we eat 5-7 a day consistently. But not at the expense of meat and dairy which are essential in a healthy balanced diet.

I don't think you know what evidence based means. The information they provided is evidence based, the people providing the information don't need to be experts in every specific field they deliver a lesson on. Primary school teachers have been teaching basic dietary guidelines for decades, and most of it was absolutely not evidence based (food pyramid etc). They are educators who deliver a curriculum which is devised by experts in various fields and disseminated by trained teachers, that's their job. They don't need to be astrophysics.exoerts to teach about the basics of the solar system or physicians to teach kids about the importance of washing their hands but that stuff is all part of early childhood education practices.

As for the rest. Meat and dairy are NOT essential parts of any diet. They are useful in correct amounts but they are far from essential, especially dairy.

Literally billions of people on earth survive and thrive with little to no meet and/or dairy in their diets.

If you're going to talk about things being evidence based at least don't say blatantly factually inaccurate things in the same breath.

I say this as someone who is an active advocate for mixed agricultural systems and the environmental benefits of animal husbandry for improvements in soil fertility and increases in food security who happens to rather enjoy meat and dairy.

The reality is that we are unnecessarily eating far mor meat and dairy than we need to or really should be in most of the developed world, for both environmental and health regards, and it wouldn't hurt anyone in the developed world to have a day off the meat and dairy once a week, infact it would be a benefit to most people. The idea that not eating meat or dairy for one day a week will drive untold swaths of people into malnourishment and anemia being portrayed in this thread is utter lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Isnt there a thing that potatoes and milk have the perfect amount of vitamins,minerals,protein,energy etc.

Simply put,making potato waffles and chips are what is bad for you jot the actual potato. Same with chicken,chicken burger isnt great,chicken fillet is a lot better

I’m
    Not sure what you mean by self interested?

As in once, your back pocket is protected, then you are happy. In other words its self interested, regardless of the consequences.
    I think beef is too cheap, cheap products loose their value.

Maybe we are making too much of it so.

I abhor factory farming of animals. Extensive farming of animals would indeed cut supply and raise prices but I would welcome this.

Perhaps, its more environmentally friendly, however. Less carbon output overall.
    If we need protein we should eat more chicken. Its a debate for sure, but the idea we can fee the world with grass-fed feed is well plainly not tenable.
    The result would be a superior product, that costs more. It needs to cost more to reflect its true value on all fronts.

Why can you not charge more?

The world is gone bloody nuts i'll tell you.

A lovely story, but that is what it is, a story to tell people down the pub.
    So anybody who thinks that an Irish person (or any western for that matter) drinking cows milk is somehow doing more damage to the environment than a clown drinking Soya needs their head well and truly tested

Yea, because the evidence states that they (the Soy drinking person) are in fact correct in their beliefs.

So maybe the world has not gone mad, it's just realising that we way we eat is not sustainable.

https://theconversation.com/soy-versus-dairy-whats-the-footprint-of-milk-8498
    Cornell University scientist, David Pimentel, has found it takes about 14 kilo-calories (kcal) of fossil-fuel energy to produce 1kcal of milk protein using conventional milk production. Organically produced milk might require a little less than 10kcal of fossil-fuel energy per kcal.

In comparison, Pimentel’s data suggests that in a conventional soybean production system, one kcal of fossil energy invested produces about 3.2kcal of soybean. For 1kcal of fossil energy invested in organic soybean production, you get an average of 3.8kcal of soybeans. This means it takes between .26 and .31kcal of fossil fuel to make 1kcal of soybeans (contrasted with 10-14kcal to make 1kcal of dairy milk protein).

_104751648_range_chart_640_v2_3x-optimised-nc.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭dmakc

fritzelly wrote: »
    What kid considers:
    "I consider my global impact by choosing to buy local food, Fairtrade and (the other stupid part)"

Seems a very targetted intent on the survey to get kids to tick all boxes and act on them - they're kids and this is psychological more than anything else - you need to tick everything and act on it!. Which for most of the options is a good thing but plying your other beliefs into it is a bad thing.

Exactly. This is the part we should be focusing on here. The framing of the whole resource pack is disgraceful, but even here noa I see people think they merely suggested one day per week of diversity