Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I'm sure I saw a new A6 TFSI a while back?

Your right I stand corrected you can actually get the new model in petrol just would need to order it, 245bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Yeah...

What the **** does everyone else do to afford nice cars like that and to have the sort of headspace to even think about enjoying them?

My Mazda runs and I can put fuel in it. And it was cheap. And I can still barely afford to feed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Dartz wrote: »
    Yeah...

What the **** does everyone else do to afford nice cars like that and to have the sort of headspace to even think about enjoying them?

My Mazda runs and I can put fuel in it. And it was cheap. And I can still barely afford to feed it.

Become an engineer you make loads of money :pac:

Ah no I definitely couldn’t afford a 70K S5 serious car all the same.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Become an engineer you make loads of money :pac:

Ah no I definitely couldn’t afford a 70K S5 serious car all the same.

That's what they told me.

And my actual retort to that is something not uttured in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Driving out of Dublin port there about 9ish. From about the 3 arena along the liffey and well out towards Lucan I was both side by side and right behind Foxhole Norman (nearly sure it was him). I won't lie I had the window down the whole way :cool: The noise out of that thing is cruel! Not to mention the condition. Top class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭ofcork

Was behind that in cork recently pretty loud alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Driving out of Dublin port there about 9ish. From about the 3 arena along the liffey and well out towards Lucan I was both side by side and right behind Foxhole Norman (nearly sure it was him). I won't lie I had the window down the whole way :cool: The noise out of that thing is cruel! Not to mention the condition. Top class!

It was beautiful before the respray, I can only imagine. I drove it last summer and it is addictive to press the accelerator and here the noise. Same with the start up noise! We were at a show in Killarney and it literally had people turn around and stop in their tracks when they heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

Picked this little jeep up today for arsing around in the mud up the mountains. 2" body lift, all terrain tyres this little yoke will go places a defender would struggle with!

Needs a few little jobs to get it sorted for nct. Horn isn't working, is this an easy fix lads?

46785340554_d5fa952976_c.jpg

That’s class!

Probably a faulty horn switch under the airbag cover.

Finally got around to cleaning the cabin of the RX.

I found receipts from works jobs I did 2 years ago. M&M's and a 2 euro coin. I learned that when you let a dog into a car it'll never, ever, leave.

And that there's specs and spots of rust everywhere on the body where it's been stonechipped.

On the plus side of things I finally figured out why so many of my camera lenses got fungus'd. My CD's in the car got fungus'd too,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Cheers man :D Definitely me alright, was up in Dublin for the weekend with some buddies for a nerd event, we would've been tipping back to the AirBnB at that time after food!

In it's natural habitat :)

47515768771_695e88f9ac_c.jpg

47463077622_a75575ffc5_c.jpg

Great craic messing around with this today, they really can go anywhere. This one had the engine upgraded from the standard 1.3L to a 1.6L, plenty of power in such a light jeep.

How if at all is the drivability and steering effected by the lift? Looks class

Unfortunately Duke it's just a body lift and not a suspension lift which would better for off roading. The body lift allows you to add the big a/t tyres which would otherwise be rubbing off the body. So body lift doesn't really affect handling. It might make it more prone to tipping because of the height increase affecting stability.

Suspension lift would give better ground clearance, less chance of underbody hitting off terrain which happened me a few times today. Downside is that it would affect handling, but better off road. Pros and cons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Cheers man Definitely me alright, was up in Dublin for the weekend with some buddies for a nerd event, we would've been tipping back to the AirBnB at that time after food!

Was gonna beep or cut across ya or something so you'd remember when I'd mention it on here :pac:

Having some hassle trying to get insurance on the Jimny :( Yesterday I just did a temporary transfer from the Beemer over so I rang around today to get insurance on it and I never realised your no claims bonus can only be for one car. Any company I rang then won't give a quote as they want a minimum of 1 year no claims on the car. Any solution or ways around this lads as I know there's a good few on here with daily and weekend cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Wailin wrote: »
    Having some hassle trying to get insurance on the Jimny :( Yesterday I just did a temporary transfer from the Beemer over so I rang around today to get insurance on it and I never realised your no claims bonus can only be for one car. Any company I rang then won't give a quote as they want a minimum of 1 year no claims on the car. Any solution or ways around this lads as I know there's a good few on here with daily and weekend cars?

Could possibly get a classic policy, check out what autoline have to say, failing that - a good 3rd party extension jobby.

Car has to be 25+ for classic policy doesn't it?

Nope, some even accepted from 10 y/o.

Give em a buzz, you might end up a very happy camper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Lads, a bit weird one.
    My car payments always go up at around 28th. It's 2nd today and they still haven't taken money. I know, it fell on weekend, but surely it's Tuesday and still nothing.
    I wonder if it's still stalled tomorrow, who would I contact? Dealership or VW bank, if it's even possible.

It's 20 years unfortunately:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Lads, a bit weird one.
    My car payments always go up at around 28th. It's 2nd today and they still haven't taken money. I know, it fell on weekend, but surely it's Tuesday and still nothing.
    I wonder if it's still stalled tomorrow, who would I contact? Dealership or VW bank, if it's even possible.
    Nothing to do with the dealership, your loan is with the bank (in this case VW bank)

Contact them with any queries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Normally if a payment date falls on the weekend it's taken before the weekend. That's how it happened for me in the past, it was never after the weekend.

It's 20 years unfortunately:(

Feck, :(

You may sell it on to a family member so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Normally if a payment date falls on the weekend it's taken before the weekend. That's how it happened for me in the past, it was never after the weekend.

That's what usually happens. This time it's weird. I am a bit ocd when it comes to money and finances. I'll wait till tomorrow and then contact me bank.

I think 15 is really about the upper limit for classic cover, with Autoline.

@Wailin, who have you tried for classic cover? Try Autoline, however they mightn't cover the Jimny as you're a new customer/its so new/and its your only car with them. If you had the space, buy a cheap early 90s Micra or similar, insure it as a classic and add the Jimny to the policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

When I was organising final payment it went out a few days after the normal direct debit date. Give them (VW Bank) a call, your bank may have stopped it for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

@Wallin, I was looking at a mk1(2002) TT last year and I was quoted classic insurance on this as I had another car as a daily. I believe it was Carole Nash who quoted. I didn't get the car in the end so the memory of who I used to quote is vague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Autoline are 15 years but that tends to be on German stuff moreso.