Scum night of rampage and general lack of appropriate sentencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

This is probably the one area of my life in which I'd be considered very right wing. Scumbags who commit random acts of extreme violence "for the craic" should be jailed indefinitely IMO, they have personality issues which make them highly unlikely to ever not be a danger to innocent members of the public. When people grow out of this sh!t in their early teens, that's one thing. When it persists into adulthood, that's when in my view it becomes more of a fixed personality trait and not something that's likely to change.

As far as I'm concerned, the fact that an attack was committed for literally no reason should be considered an aggravating factor in sentencing. It essentially means that the assailant is, for want of a clinical term, just a straight up nasty person.

I'm a fan of capital punishment in situations like these. Nothing to do with the right or wrong state sponsored killing. Just, nah we don't want you in our society, goodbye. And none of this 20 years on death row. At this stage these lads should be coming out in tins down in C&D.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

dd973 wrote: »
    Our Northern brethren have a certain way of dealing with these sort of f**ks, I'd even pay their Enterprise Train fare.

That's just Criminal gang A beating Criminal gang B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Where is our police force?

I'm seeing more and more they actually do nothing and that's if you see them.

Judge is way too soft.

Gardai spend weeks, sometimes months putting a case together, only to see the judge hand out a joke of a sentence or none at all, can't imagine what it does to their morale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/teenager-sentenced-to-18-months-for-completely-unprovoked-attack-on-mexican-man-914722.html
    A teenager who launched an unprovoked attack on a Mexican national that resulted in the victim losing half of both his front teeth has been jailed for 18 months.

Dublin Circuit Criminal Court heard that Clayton Brennan (aged 19) punched and kicked the man because he “wanted to show himself as a tough man in front of his friends”

Another example, the lad get's 18 months with previous like this
    Brennan, who was 16 years old at the time of the offence, has eight previous convictions. These include an offence of assault causing serious harm at Dame Lane, Dublin, in May of 2016 in which he “glassed an individual”.

He is currently serving a five-year sentence with the final two years suspended for violent disorder, arson and criminal damage. These relate to an incident on August 29, 2016, in which a unit at Oberstown Children Detention Campus was set alight and had to be demolished.

He is due for release in early 2020... no doubt we'll be reading about this knacker again.

It seems we must embrace these darlings with hugs and keep giving them another chance sure they are only doing what they know best.

They will be great contributors to society one day.....

Eh when they are pushing up daisies......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

National Service for the whole lot of them. Although maybe I watch too much TV and its not as tough as its made out to be!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Judge is way too soft.

Who do you think dealt with the victim took statements identified the scumbags tracked them down arrested them interviewed them collated all the information produced a file for the DPPs office ensured witnesses were available for trial fought tooth and nail against the free legal aid solicitor and barrister who tried to poke holes in the case and ultimately prosecuted the case ?

your an idiot if you think this is the gardas fault . but for some people its always the police who are wrong right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    It's a failure of parenting, as the left have cheered on the demise of the traditional family and the role of the father as head of the family, they cannot afford to blame the markets

The left are wrong about everything

Not a leftist myself but worth noting that Karl Marx didn't have much time for lumpen proletariat, funnily enough. He saw them as a tool used by the bourgeois against the normal proletariat. He might have had some kind of point in relation to 21st cent Ireland in regards to the justice system industry.

Seems like the money flowing to judges and their 'free' (sic) legal aid friends is off actual workers' backs alright, whilst the scum march in and out of the court or revolving door of the prisons. So the workers lose every which way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ireland sure does have a particular type of scum, they have no reasoning for their unprovoked attacks, nothing to gain from them and not one bit of remorse. I can respect a guy who robs to feed his family, a gang who rob a bank for their personal gain, but I have no respect for brain dead scum bags who are dressed by their mom and have never worked a day in their lives, who will go out on the streets and punch a tourist in the face for a laugh.
    I'd have no problem if guys like this were taking out by a ghost sniper

1sbsniper1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

And also it's not as if these type of people,who enjoy violence so much, are caught every time they carry out violent acts so they are even worse than the report portrays them as. Must be very dangerous to be in relationships with them as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Judge is way too soft.

Oh was it the local Tidy Towns committee that investigated this matter?
    Gob****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Can someone start a petition to overhaul the justice system in this kip ???

hF9683E27

I'd rather set up a guillotine outside Lenster house, start with it's inhabitants and work from there...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

We need more prison space, that is the core of the problem. However I get the feeling that this entire topic is too much of a hot coal for most politicians to engage with.

I would farm it out to private investment and then lease the property back off them.

I think a lack of state finance is the main reason it is not being done. It is not some middle class conspiracy, like everything else seems to be ….:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Brehons Chair, Rathfarnham oh la la

The underprivileged sob story can’t be used that chap

The Smith family richer than most on boards.ie

I hope the victims sue them personally after the trial too. €11,000 is a complete insult.

As much as I hate to benchmark against the American justice system, we need a three strikes rule in this country.

It seems as though vast majority of crime is committed by a select group of repeat offenders who should be quite easy to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

3 strikes and you get a vasectomy.
    Let start with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

inforfun wrote: »
    3 strikes and you get a vasectomy.
    Let start with that.

I like your thinking but I think a vasectomy is reversible, I think we can do better than that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

El_Bee wrote: »
    • Difficult home life
    • Difficult upbringing
    • Substance abuse issues
    • Bright young men
    • Promising footballers (yes that has been used in court)
    • Battling Addictions
    • Lost their way
    • Fell in with the wrong crowd
    • Learning difficulties
    • Struggling to turn their lives around
    • They feel genuine remorse (honest)
    there's a point where people snap, and take to the streets, I hope for the sake of these judges and lawyers, it's not too violent when the time comes (I actually don't).

Sure the lad he bet up doesn't even play gaa

I hope the victims sue them personally after the trial too. €11,000 is a complete insult.

As much as I hate to benchmark against the American justice system, we need a three strikes rule in this country.

It seems as though vast majority of crime is committed by a select group of repeat offenders who should be quite easy to deal with.

You should be able to sue judges, if someone cracks you across the head and it turns out he has 50+ convictions then the judiciary has failed in their duty of care to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

jon1981 wrote: »
    I like your thinking but I think a vasectomy is reversible, I think we can do better than that ;)

How about, three strikes and you start having maximum tariffs applied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

sentences in this country do not prevent crime. Should be minimum sentences for 10 /15 years for crimes like this

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Who do you think dealt with the victim took statements identified the scumbags tracked them down arrested them interviewed them collated all the information produced a file for the DPPs office ensured witnesses were available for trial fought tooth and nail against the free legal aid solicitor and barrister who tried to poke holes in the case and ultimately prosecuted the case ?

your an idiot if you think this is the gardas fault . but for some people its always the police who are wrong right ?

I see sh1t go down daily in the city and Gardai do nothing that's even if you see one.

I don't like the way you are calling me an idiot by the way.....

Where did I say they were wrong, there are none out so I find your childish comments laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

Theres a big field up in north county dublin that they should all be piled into. We paid over the odds for it years ago might aswell get some use out of it even if it means bunging a few million more to build the thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

jon1981 wrote: »

It was only a start....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭bigroad

Yea that's the site that has cost them 50m.and now they have decided to give it over for housing.
    It had to be that site and no other .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

sentences in this country do not prevent crime. Should be minimum sentences for 10 /15 years for crimes like this

Sentences are not made to act as a deterrent. The primary reason why people commit crimes is because they believe they will not get caught. The purpose of a sentence is to keep the criminal off the street to prevent them from committing their crime again.

I have always been in favour of hard labour for criminals. They're useless to society when "outside" so may as well get free labour out of them while they're serving their far too lenient sentences.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Mod

Edgware don't post in this thread again

Don't want to see anymore name calling or personal abuse.

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

Sentences are not made to act as a deterrent. The primary reason why people commit crimes is because they believe they will not get caught. The purpose of a sentence is to keep the criminal off the street to prevent them from committing their crime again.

I have always been in favour of hard labour for criminals. They're useless to society when "outside" so may as well get free labour out of them while they're serving their far too lenient sentences.

and in years to come or even on a day the little fcukers will be claiming "work" related injuries and some judge will gladly dish out thousands in comp. I agree with you on the labour part rather then letting them laze about in a cell all day but where personal injuries etc & the courts are concerned I dont trust them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

El_Bee wrote: »
    You should be able to sue judges, if someone cracks you across the head and it turns out he has 50+ convictions then the judiciary has failed in their duty of care to society.

That's actually quite an interesting topic for further debate,to which I would add having judges directly elected by the population at large.

http://www.echo.ie/news/article/teen-shouting-profanities-after-concert-gets-one-month-suspended-sentence

In this particular case,it is surely worth discussing whether Judge McNamara could reasonably have applied a custodial sentence based upon the facts in the public domain.

I would equally suggest that the interests of Justice were not particularly well served by exchanges such as....
    She asked Walsh how his Leaving Cert had gone. Walsh said it had gone well and added that he wants to study IT.

A common denominator in many such cases,particularly when perpetrated by provenly violent young males,is the request for a Probation Report,often part of a series of identical such documents,all compiled with the intention of mitigating the chances of the recipient recieving a Custodial Sentence.

Whilst it is de rigeur to rant against the Legal Profession,and Judiciary,it is often forgotten that the "Probation Service" now encompasses many different Professions,each entitled to a Fee for their services rendered....;)

Ireland has never in it's history had a better educated,well informed and comfortable young population,so when elements of it,as typified in this case,decide to go rogue,it cannot be from a position of ignorance.

Meanwhile,if I were hiring for a position in I.T. I'd be closely vetting any Job Applicants ! :(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)