Primary School threatens to stop celebrating Christmas/Easter/Patricks Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

El_Bee wrote: »
    I'd be happy to see Communions/Confirmations go, the amount of money that gets spent on them is insane, all the parents have to fork out clothes, limos, parties etc. so they can keep up with the Jones', stupid and pointless.

That's not down to the church though to be fair. Parents don't have to fork out huge sums of money for the day. They choose to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,049 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Think its great idea. Most people don't believe in anything these days anyway. Why bother having Chrsitmas and Easter when nobody believes in it.

December 25th is most boring day of year so be better off Working

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Oh no, no more nativity plays.. the horror.

Honestly, even if it was true who cares. It would be a good trade off for the hours spent waster learning how you are about to eat your lords flesh. However its not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Think its great idea. Most people don't believe in anything these days anyway. Why bother having Chrsitmas and Easter when nobody believes in it.

December 25th is most boring day of year so be better off Working

"Boring" is good unless you're 9! Makes you find your own amusement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

zapitastas wrote: »
    I am sure there are church groups that parents could take their children to in order to organise this stuff. Get up on a Sunday morning and take them

This would sort out the "religious" parents. You want your kids catholic? Bring them to mass or sunday school. You want them to go to confession/first communion/confirmation? Do it yourself in your own time.
    A school should be about education, not indoctrination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Berserker wrote: »
    That's not down to the church though to be fair. Parents don't have to fork out huge sums of money for the day. They choose to do so.

Indeed, In our school the priest suggested robes for the Communion children, the parents, especially of the girls said no way. They wanted to see them all dressed up in their finery. For Confirmation,the kids wear their school uniform to the church ceremony but every child gets a new outfit which they wear to school the next day and they parade into every classroom showing off their style. It's not the Church that's adding to the expense, it's the parents doing what they want to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Indeed, In our school the priest suggested robes for the Communion children, the parents, especially of the girls said no way. They wanted to see them all dressed up in their finery. For Confirmation,the kids wear their school uniform to the church ceremony but every child gets a new outfit which they wear to school the next day and they parade into every classroom showing off their style. It's not the Church that's adding to the expense, it's the parents doing what they want to do.

Sure it's a wedding day fantasy for parents and girls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

RayCun wrote: »
    Ah yes, "Love thy neighbour as thyself - but don't send your kids to school with them"
    It depends who your neighbors are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

meeeeh wrote: »
    It depends who your neighbors are.

And how hot they are.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

damn muslamics and their anti christmasness :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Edgware wrote: »
    Its a disgrace Joe. We will just be finished Lent and they want us to do Ramadan in the interests of bleedin equality.

Or more accurately: Its a disgrace Joe. We will just be finished pretending to give things up for Lent and they want us to pretend to fast for Ramadan in the interests of bleedin equality.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Patrick's day is an odd one, because it's the closest thing we have to a national holiday.

But the others, I could do without having to put the kid through in school. This is the first time he's aware of lent, and he's talking about "being closer to god".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,008 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Rich folks will continue to send their kids to private faith-based schools. Others can send their kid to one of those lowest-rung educate together places.

Idiotic post. ET school places are highly sought after and they provide a high standard of education. I'd rather have my kids educated in a "diverse" environment than one full of the offspring of stuck-up snobs.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,059 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Everyone believes in Christmas (trees, food, presents and booze holiday), Patrick's day (booze holiday) and Easter (chocolate and booze holiday). They're good wholesome secular consumer driven reasons to get pissed now the same way the priests robbed them off the pagans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Idiotic post. ET school places are highly sought after and they provide a high standard of education. I'd rather have my kids educated in a "diverse" environment than one full of the offspring of stuck-up snobs.

Good for you, dude. I’m not religious at all, but I send both my young lads to a private Catholic school. A better quality of education, and more gravitas when starting their career. I’m sure the educate together places are grand, but too much time with that modern ‘my feelings’ and ‘I’ve got a friend with a different skin colour’ type nonsense.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Some of the stuff in that article seems far fetched to the point of being an April Fools article - no saying "Dia Duit" as it references god for example.

Out of interest has any of the stuff mentioned in the article actually come to pass in multi denominational or non denominational schools?

How did we say hello or great each other when we were pagans?

Yeah but there is plenty of empirical data that kids of stuck up snobs do better. Especially when private school connections are created in high schools. I don't intend to send kids to private school but you can have all diversity you want I still wouldn't want my kids to go to school somewhere in D10.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,059 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Good for you, dude. I’m not religious at all, but I send both my young lads to a private Catholic school. A better quality of education, and more gravitas when starting their career. I’m sure the educate together places are grand, but too much time with that modern ‘my feelings’ and ‘I’ve got a friend with a different skin colour’ type nonsense.

Yeah segregation ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's high time Christ was taken out of Christmas anyway and we get out Yuletide back.

Fair play to you, spend 5k a year per kid for a "catholic" teacher to help your kids colour in and learn their ABC and tables. I'm sure the gravitas is well worth it.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yeah segregation ftw.

I know what he means. My son's best friend is darker skin colour, there used to be also black kid among his closest friends but he moved away. It was never a diversity issue it was who he is the most friendly with. The kids my daughter is closest to are probably Irish back to the time when Mongols roamed around. Background or skin colour were never something anyone would pay attention to or comment on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,049 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Everyone believes in Christmas (trees, food, presents and booze holiday), Patrick's day (booze holiday) and Easter (chocolate and booze holiday). They're good wholesome secular consumer driven reasons to get pissed now the same way the priests robbed them off the pagans.

Or just go one step further and ban whole thing

Ya can give Presents, drink booze and put up trees whenever ya like

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Think it'll be aligned to the USA version here in a decade or so. People will take the day itself off and nothing more. Only a matter of time before businesses find a way to tie more people into working through Christmas. Good Friday was a day off for most twenty years ago. Most people work it now.
    Patrick's day is an odd one, because it's the closest thing we have to a national holiday.

Is it not a national holiday?
    This is the first time he's aware of lent, and he's talking about "being closer to god".

What's wrong with that? Religious life may be the life for him when he older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Cienciano wrote: »
    Fair play to you, spend 5k a year per kid for a "catholic" teacher to help your kids colour in and learn their ABC and tables. I'm sure the gravitas is well worth it.

It is well worth it. The league tables show that. And they can make friends with whoever they want to - not some box ticking exercise that makes the parents feel all warm and fuzzy about how progressive they are.

It's a points exercise, and I've done the sums. Spending the mullah on their education will result in better life outcomes for them over the course of their lives. And almost everyone of the top schools in the State is either a Catholic or CoI ethos fee-paying school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Tbf, the parents I know who send their kids to private school are really hard working people who set a very high priority on academic results. To this end they will forego lots of passing luxuries for themselves in order to afford the fees. Now I'm sure we all want the best for our children but they tend to be no nonsense type people who have no desire whatsoever to leave their children's future to chance or to experiment with new 'notions' and hope it all works out. Each to their own. I wouldn't condemn them for doing their best as they know it for their children. A lot of other parents could learn from them.

And no, mine to not go to a private school, just the local community college with lots of diversity.

In fairness, they're the best part of those days. Religion just gets in the way. Anyone I know who goes to mass on Christmas, hates going to mass on Christmas. They only go because it's traditional, i.e., they were forced to go when they were kids. Easter is a long weekend, giving chocolate eggs is more important to most people than the resurrection of Christ. Paddys day is national booze day, is there even a special mass?

Berserker wrote: »
    Think it'll be aligned to the USA version here in a decade or so. People will take the day itself off and nothing more. Only a matter of time before businesses find a way to tie more people into working through Christmas. Good Friday was a day off for most twenty years ago. Most people work it now.

I think so too. Fingers crossed.

The majority of people don't believe anymore and best just to give people option if want take Christmas as Holiday day or not. 25th of December can be just normal day to rest us then

EVENFLOW

Take it easy there, Alan Rickman in Robin Hood Prince of Thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

Oh no, no more nativity plays.. the horror.

Honestly, even if it was true who cares. It would be a good trade off for the hours spent waster learning how you are about to eat your lords flesh. However its not true.

This nonsense is already going on in my nephews school, where the nativity play last year was replaced by a play called 'born in a barn' about, surprise surprise, refugees and how we need to accept more of them.
    This year he's be getting the whole transgender indoctrination programe in 'RE'.
    Never assume that just because they remove one form of indoctrination that it won't just be making room for another.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

I think so too. Fingers crossed.

The majority of people don't believe anymore and best just to give people option if want take Christmas as Holiday day or not. 25th of December can be just normal day to rest us then

Last census says otherwise.