Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I've never said he's won us many games. You said that.

What he has done is conceded the fewest goals in the league so far this season. Less than half the amount De Gea has conceded, he's been better than any of the other new top 6 keepers in the league. Most clean sheets as well. Wasn't even shown on the BBC graphic for keeepers whos mistakes have led to goals the other night.

So not to bad for someone who's "error prone".

ok im seeing things so, hes not error prone :)

in all seriousness, do these types of blunders not worry you? Allison was blessd that ball fell into his hands after turning his arse to it, Loris not so lucky with his blunder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I've never said he's won us many games. You said that.

What he has done is conceded the fewest goals in the league so far this season. Less than half the amount De Gea has conceded, he's been better than any of the other new top 6 keepers in the league. Most clean sheets as well. Wasn't even shown on the BBC graphic for keeepers whos mistakes have led to goals the other night.

So not to bad for someone who's "error prone".

Said it many many times Alisson positioning is world class,
    De Gea is great keeper can't deny that best shot stopper out there but his positioning is quite poor why he makes so many world class full length saves ,

if you notice there are very very few times Alisson needs to throw himself across a goal due to his foot work and positioning ,

Said it many many times Alisson positioning is world class,
    De Gea is great keeper can't deny that best shot stopper out there but his positioning is quite poor why he makes so many world class full length saves ,

if you notice there are very very few times Alisson needs to throw himself across a goal due to his foot work and positioning ,

what about parrying one straight into spurs path the other day, he was fairly scampering accross his goal then. Should have been punished

De Gea has made lost of errors this season,
    The goal at Arsenal recently from Xhaxa , the Mustafi goal at old Trafford v Arsenal There are more

He has made more errors than Alisson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,402 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Comparing clean sheets would also have a huge comparison on defenders. And Liverpool's defence is definitely better than Uniteds

Comparing goalkeeper stats is always going to be difficult. Easiest stat to look at is always clean sheets but surely shots to goal ratio is a factor but then sh1ter teams will likely have more saves.

I didn't have time look for loads of stats :pac: I just mentioned De Gea because he's the best keeper in the league and he's made more mistakes that led to goals this season than Alisson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

akelly02 wrote: »
    how many games has he won for ye exactly?

from the top of my head:

Brighton 1-0 big save in the last few mins
    Crystal Palace 2-0. big save at 1-0 to keep Palace scoreless. We scored last minute to round off the win.
    Burnley 3-1 - made a big save at 2-1 in the last minute and set up a counter attack goal then to win the game.
    Everton 1-0. big saves at 0-0 to keep us with a chance of winning the game, which we did thanks to their dinosaur'd arm keeper.
    Chelsea 1-1 - actually had a few important saves in this game to keep it at 0-0 and then 0-1, before we got a late equalizer. important point at the time too.

Napoli 1-0 massive save in the last minute to keep the score at 1-0. any goal conceded meant we were knocked out.

Is that enough? there is probably more to add aswell.

what about parrying one straight into spurs path the other day, he was fairly scampering accross his goal then. Should have been punished

Reaching a bit there Kane riffled one at him from about 8 yards out,

The end of the day himself and Ederson have been the best keepers in the league this year by a long way ,

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Allison got away with a couple of howlers again the weekend, confidence still high with him around here?

i said a month or so that he will cost liverpool games, and at this stage , when he does it will end up costing the league.

The one that I recall is where he came outside the box to head the ball but misjudged it.
    I don't see that as a howler at all. If he didn't then it would have been much easier for them to get in on goal. So he dramatically reduced the chance of them scoring, although not graceful in how he done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,825 ✭✭✭✭8-10

What is your argument exactly? That he hasn't won us points? He clearly has and you've now got multiple examples, is your argument now changing to "he won us points but he shouldn't have because he should have been punished in x situation"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,825 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    The one that I recall is where he came outside the box to head the ball but misjudged it.
    I don't see that as a howler at all. If he didn't then it would have been much easier for them to get in on goal. So he dramatically reduced the chance of them scoring, although not graceful in how he done it.

More Milner getting in his way. He couldn't exactly clatter him like he did to Josh King (I think it was?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

The only howler on display in that game was Lloris throwing the ball off his own player's leg and into the back of his net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,402 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

in all seriousness, do these types of blunders not worry you?

Not in the least. You shouldn't be so worried about him either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Comparing goalkeeper stats is always going to be difficult. Easiest stat to look at is always clean sheets but surely shots to goal ratio is a factor but then sh1ter teams will likely have more saves.

To that point the lads on Sky during the game said Alisson has the best shots to saves ratio in the league (somewhere around 77% I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

The only howler on display in that game was Lloris throwing the ball off his own player's leg and into the back of his net

No, that was the only one that was punished.

Alisson makes the odd small blunder at times, as with any player/keeper. He gets away with it to an extent that he's illustrating he's not getting away with it IMO, he's top drawer :)

I can't believe folk are trying to question the impact he's made to us, we had Virgil last season for a good few games in front of Karius and we were still dogsh1t at times due to having a brutal keeper (no slight on Virgil).

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Allison takes calculated risks. They may appear to be blunders, but what would happen if he didn't take the risk...more chance of the opponent scoring.
    That's why he has the most clean sheets this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,869 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Nice to see United fans are worried about our keeper making mistakes :pac: you would think we had a decent keeper for a change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The only things he really needs to sharpen up is his judgement of how to play a ball which is dropping on the edge of the area, a few times now he has ended up in danger of handling outside it, and be willing he drop back if a defender looks best placed to deal with it (nothing more needless than players colliding and the ball running free for a tap in/roll in).

Nice to see United fans are worried about our keeper making mistakes :pac: you would think we had a decent keeper for a change

im not worried, hes not a top class keeper, too many mistakes simple as.

and whoever said him and ederson are the 2 best keepers in the league is on some substance that i definately want to try!!

anyway ive clearly rocked the boat here so ill leave ye to it

when he makes a mistake that costs ye the league ill be back saying i told ye so

the people saying he doesnt make mistakes are the same people who said pepe reina was good under a high ball id say

and whoever said him and ederson are the 2 best keepers in the league is on some substance that i definately want to try!!

when he makes a mistake that costs ye the league ill be back saying i told ye so

the people saying he doesnt make mistakes are the same people who said pepe reina was good under a high ball id say

Out of interest who do you think have been the best two in the Prem this season ?

ederson is no 1

the rest nowhere on this seasons form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Of course he makes mistakes, they all do.

Name a better GK this season other than Ederson & Allison. There is none, if you DeGea you are clearly blinded by his previous years form and hypocritical then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Sounds a lot like De Gea in his first season, except I dont think he had nearly as many clean sheets as Alison does this season. Id also wager De Gea is higher up on the mistakes directly leading to goals this season.

Will you be back to admit you're wrong when he doesn't cost us the league?

ederson is no 1

Totally agree with this. He's rarely called into action, but when he is he is ready and clean in what he does. His passing is exceptional as well.

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Of course he makes mistakes, they all do.

Name a better GK this season other than Ederson & Allison. There is none, if you DeGea you are clearly blinded by his previous years form and hypocritical then

here if you think allison is the second best goalkeeper on form this year just go on home, im out.

givyjoe wrote: »
    Sounds a lot like De Gea in his first season, except I dont think he had nearly as many clean sheets as Alison does this season. Id also wager De Gea is higher up on the mistakes directly leading to goals this season.

Will you be back to admit you're wrong when he doesn't cost us the league?

yes

ederson is no 1

Good goal keeper but still Brazil number 2 , wonder who is there number 1 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Allison is a great goalkeeper. The modern keeper is expected to be good with the ball at his feet but just like any outfield player, sometimes you make a mistake.

Was it Aguero who he took the ball off his toes? Made him go wide and timed his move to go for the ball perfectly?

We would have less points with either Mignolet or Karius in goal, so yes you could say he has gained us points.

here if you think allison is the second best goalkeeper on form this year just go on home, im out.

Would you care to give your opinion on who is 2nd best this year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Would you care to give your opinion on who is 2nd best this year ?

He hasn’t a clue. Clearly trying to wind up :)