Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overrated burger restaurants

They have refused to serve medium burgers since the incident despite it being one of their big advertising points before hand.

medium-rare ecoli burger jokes probably got a bit old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭patrickc

I had a burger from so ma i think it was on O'Connell street recently. It was very very good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

posy2010 wrote: »
    Borza's was an institution and did very well for itself in Sandymount. Closed down due to family illness sadly.

Strange that, most Italian owned chippers these days are usually run by East European staff anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

There is somewhere very special for a burger.

Not exactly local though...

Fergburger, Queenstown, New Zealand

glasso wrote: »
    was there years ago - meh.

This here. I don't think I could be less interested in something that is hyped, be it a burger, a kebab, a pub, whatever, as pretty much everything that is hyped beyond belief is decidedly bang average.

In Dublin the most hyped kebab is Iskanders (joint with Zaytoon, who I've never had). I only had it once and I thought it was terrible. Burned, tasteless, wrap bread tasted bland, for all the hype the worst kebab I've had in Dublin (well, chipper kebabs are usually fairly bland, but that's not their primary business so I'd let it slide)

The most hyped burrito is Boojum. The wrap was nice, but the beef was stringy, dry, sauces were average, I wouldn't be going back. Yet there was a queue out the door when I went on a regular weekday afternoon.

Romayo's is the award winning chipper. It's certainly nice enough, but I wouldn't rate it as good as a few of my local ones and others I'm familiar with.

Many years ago I was in Sydney and there was the apparently greatest ever burgers being produced in a place called Mary's Burgers. It was grand, but best ever my hole. Not to mention, you could see boxes of chips on the floor, feckin McCain frozen chips same as you'd buy yourself in a supermarket!

Bunsen is a grand burger but I wouldn't queue out the door for it like so many people do, and if I were going artisan in town I'd head to Wowburger or 5 Guys over it.

Never had Jo Burger and I believe it has shut. I'm not particularly upset I missed out.

Contrary to popular belief, Coppers isn't particularly wilder or more promiscuous than any other nightclub, it's a myth that has been built around paid adverts disguised as articles by various outlets. Personally I'd rate the grab a granny up in Portobello Hotel as more debauched :pac:

Quite honestly the only time I can recall going somewhere because of hype, and being wowed (apart from nightclubs), is 5 Guys. I trekked to Dundrum at least three times for one, it is truly delish.

So yes, basically, the more I read about something being pimped by Lovin Dublin and Joe.ie the less of a hurry I'll be in to sample it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

The burger in Caribou in Galway is one of the best burgers I've ever had.

Mix of chuck and short rib, about 20% fat content, two smashed patties with lots of crispy bits, melty cheese, onions, and a sauce similar to shake shack on a decent seeded bun and from 3-6 you can get a burger, loaded fries, and a soft drink for €10. The loaded fries are all ridiculously good too. The bacon jam fries being my favourite.

Bunsen is right up there. It's just the perfect no fuss burger. Good beef at about 20% fat content with nothing added but salt and pepper, simple toppings and classic ketchup, mustard and mayo sauces, and again not bad value at all, meal is about 12 yo-yos including a can of coke.

All the talk about top class burger here is gas, how may release what meat off the carcass goes into burgers to achieve colour and texture as it’s called in the trade and what else is added to fill it up.
    If top quality meat is used the burgers are dry and a lot of people would complain that it is poor quality. If you want to taste a real burger go into any decent butchers shop and ask for sirloin steak and mince and place into burgers and bring home and cook and have what ever dressing you like.

You're talking absolute nonsense.

Good burgers are made from blends of meet, usually chuck, short rib and sirloin and ideally 20-25% fat content. All of those cuts quality pieces of meat.

The places listed here by most like Bunsen, Wow, etc use beef, salt and pepper, no binders, no fillers, no adjuncts.

The only people who put eggs and bread and ****e into burgers are people who don't know how to make a burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Can't understand the popularity of boojum either. And they are everywhere.

I wonder do people in the main just get trawled in by this Instagram type mob think and don't want to admit to being the one that didn't exactly get a decent bit of food.

That or some people are just utterly uncultured with the palate of some scavenging rodent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just my two cents but on the above

Agree on iskanders. Have had 3 bad experiences in a row there over the last 6 months. Now that zaytoon is back open I won’t be darkening their doorstep again.

For me Bunsen is much better than wowburger. Havnt tried 5 guys as two acquaintances told me it’s not great.

Eddie R burger is more about the sauces then the burger meat itself. Same with super macs.

Pinhead's Pizza on the Sth Circular, it's the Rib Eye burger (only €6).

No idea if they really use rib eye for the meat but it tasted great.

Probably blended ribeye with a leaner cut like round or chuck to get a decent fat content and keep cost down.

lawred2 wrote: »

I wonder do people in the main just get trawled in by this Instagram type mob think and don't want to admit to being the one that didn't exactly get a decent bit of food.

That or some people are just utterly uncultured with the palette of some scavenging rodent.

“Palate” Not “palette”. Even a scavenging rodent would know that ;)

That or some people are just utterly uncultured with the palette of some scavenging rodent.

Boojum do a damn good burrito that’s why they are popular.

“Palate” Not “palette”. Even a scavenging rodent would know that ;)

yes indeed

Boojum do a damn good burrito that’s why they are popular.

they don't - it's slop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Never got the hype behind Boojum myself, always thought Toltecca were much nicer.

In terms of just a straight-up good burger, I think it's hard to beat Bunsen, but I definitely miss Jo Burger.

Never got the hype behind Boojum myself, always thought Toltecca were much nicer.

In terms of just a straight-up good burger, I think it's hard to beat Bunsen, but I definitely miss Jo Burger.

Have to say I’m amazed at boojums huge popularity. Fair play to them - I walk past around lunch time often there are crowds queuing out the door.

Do they put crack or something in the burritos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,454 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

This trend towards 'fancy' burgers is annoying. Look, we've piled tonnes of crap in here so whilst it looks nice (in a heart attack way) you can't actually pick it up without it turning into slop never mind eating it and we'll charge you ridiculous prices for it.

Have you been in a coma since 2010?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Bunsen is best for me and is reasonably priced.

Wowburger a close second as you can add loads of topping free of charge. Reasonable price and the one on Wicklow street is in a pub so pints also!

5 guys is a level below the other two and way too dear, still tasty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Don't rate 5 Guys at all myself. Granted I've only been the one in Blackrock and it's only open so there may have been teething problems but just based on the burger, I'd say even Eddie Rockets is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Have to say I’m amazed at boojums huge popularity. Fair play to them - I walk past around lunch time often there are crowds queuing out the door.

Do they put crack or something in the burritos?

They do a fantastic burrito bowl, big portion and very tasty with a healthy variety of toppings and sauces. Definitely my go to for burritos.

Tolteca is also pretty good though their burrito bowls are much smaller. I've had burritos in other local places and been extremely unimpressed in comparison, but the variety in Galway is much smaller than say Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

That 5 Guys place is a right rip-off. The food is shîte and it’s rotten expensive. I do think Bunsen is worth the hype though. The burgers are lovely.

ah come on ! bleedin' lovely burgers!

They do a fantastic burrito bowl, big portion and very tasty with a healthy variety of toppings and sauces. Definitely my go to for burritos.

Tolteca is also pretty good though their burrito bowls are much smaller. I've had burritos in other local places and been extremely unimpressed in comparison, but the variety in Galway is much smaller than say Dublin.

yeah but that's not a burrito - that's a bowl of stuff that could have made it's way into a burrito. Have you ever tried to eat one of their actual burritos without resorting to a plate and a knife and fork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

yeah but that's not a burrito - that's a bowl of stuff that could have made it's way into a burrito. Have you ever tried to eat one of their actual burritos without resorting to a plate and a knife and fork?

Yes, many times. They can be a bit of a struggle at times alright because they're so jam packed, but I've needed a knife, fork or plate. I just prefer the bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Feisar

All the talk about top class burger here is gas, how may release what meat off the carcass goes into burgers to achieve colour and texture as it’s called in the trade and what else is added to fill it up.
    If top quality meat is used the burgers are dry and a lot of people would complain that it is poor quality. If you want to taste a real burger go into any decent butchers shop and ask for sirloin steak and mince and place into burgers and bring home and cook and have what ever dressing you like.

I've done that with a rib eye on a few occasions, well I minced them myself. It was top notch.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Eddie Rocketts, though I don't know if anyone really rates it. It's definitely overpriced.

Bunsen, on the other hand. Mmmmm

Popped into Eddie Rockets for a change last weekend and we were shocked by the price and the quality of the food. I got an M50 burger and a milk shake, costing €14. Absolute rip off. Complete waste of a cheat meal. Bunsen is our usual haunt and we are going to stick to that in future. Five Guys is horrible.
    Feisar wrote: »
    I've done that with a rib eye on a few occasions, well I minced them myself. It was top notch.

Superquin, now SuperValu, used to sell rib eye burgers. Well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I think places like Bunsen are actually fairly good value. Like a Big Mac meal is almost 9 quid these days and consists of a microwaved burger, manky chips, and a watered down drink. For a fiver extra you get a burger that is freshly minced and cooked right there, served just the way you want it, and with a can of coke and decent chips.

Eddie R is very much overpriced but part of that is to cover the lease of very prominent locations like for example O’Connell st. I find them average. In fairness Years ago they led the way compared to mcDs or Supermacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

For a fiver extra...

Sure for even no extra there are still plenty of better options than McDonald's.

Eddie Rocket's 'Meal of the Day' is only €7.95 and more often than not it's a burger, fries and drink.

Not a full size burger but still more meat than you'd get in a BigMac.

If you're with Three you can get any of their full size burgers, fries and drink for €10 with their 3Plus app Mon-Thurs.

I've very rarely if ever had a burrito anywhere that I didn't have to resort to a fork to eat it, the messier it is means its absolutely packed and thats a very good thing.

I'm a big burrito fan and the fact is boojum do a very tasty and big burrito. Nicest I've had in Ireland and up there with the nicest I've had in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Bunsen, Wowburger and Bujo the best around for me. Tried Five Guys and while it is decent it is overpriced. If you're willing to spend €15 on a burger and chips then much better to go to the steakhouse Tomahawk behind the Clarence Hotel, far better surroundings than Five Guys and a better burger too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I've very rarely if ever had a burrito anywhere that I didn't have to resort to a fork to eat it, the messier it is means its absolutely packed and thats a very good thing.

I'm a big burrito fan and the fact is boojum do a very tasty and big burrito. Nicest I've had in Ireland and up there with the nicest I've had in the US.

El Grito do the best burrito in Ireland. And the best tacos. Used to be in Temple Bar, but moved to Mountjoy Square, so handy for culchies with slightly more exotic eating habits up for the day in Croke Park.