Only respond if you have your own teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,296 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

iamtony wrote: »
    No but if you don't understand the pressure of having, or have had teenagers asking for this stuff it's hard to understand. If you have them you understand.

It's easy for someone with out teens to say, I know what is tell them to do, bit in reality, it's a bit different, when all the friends have them etc

It's fairly easy yo understand people being under pressure. Lots of people experience it.

You also asked the cost of runners and asked was it normal.

You didn't ask for parenting advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

So I'll try be as neutral as possible with this so to show the other half who's mad an who's not.

One of us came home and told the other the kids have picked their Easter runners, the teenagers pair are €180(he's 15)and the nine year olds are €120.

I want to know is this normal money for this kind of stuff?

One of us told the other it's the fashion these days and thats normal for runners these days.

Who's mad?

What's for Christmas ? Scrambler or Quad Bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

I have teen-agers. They get what I buy them. If they feel slighted that I haven't bought them the latest and greatest then tough. They'll learn a valuable lesson quick, or they'll learn nothing at all. In which case their life will be harder. Their choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭skearnsot

I have 17 & 14 year old both get bobs for housework done etc. 17 year old is special needs. No jobs done no money so no goodies. Both kids save their money and buy the desired item. Other than that they can hop it (in cheap runners)

That a load of Bollix. Who buys ridiculous priced runners for Easter?
    My teens get runners when they need them and I don't mind paying for good quality. But buying just because it's Easter is rubbish (caveat if they actually need runners at the moment).
    I paid €120 for my sons runners in January as his previous pair were wrecked but I know they will last up to a year and it's hard to get size 12 in most stores.
    I bought my daughter €70 runners as that's what she wanted for her birthday, though she didn't exactly need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭iamtony

It's fairly easy yo understand people being under pressure. Lots of people experience it.

You also asked the cost of runners and asked was it normal.

You didn't ask for parenting advice.
    The post is specifically for one party to show the other party they are crazy for even considering runners for this money. It's not the first time this kind of money has been spent on runners

I'm well aware of the cost of runners, the pair I'm wearing as I type cost €180 bit were bought last August and will last till next August hopefully but I'm sorry if I missed it's more about privileged kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

What about teens of the 4 legged variety??? One of mine knicked a toy in TK Max the other day and I was mortified...

What's for Christmas ? Scrambler or Quad Bike

Sounds like that doesn't it but no were from respectable families with morals and respect for the law.

Funny though lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Sunny know about the Easter thing but I did have to shell out 170 for Nike trainers not so long ago for my 15 year old.

The thing is though they were largely some type of cloth material so I can't see how they are any better than a similar pair in penny's for 20 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

No but if you don't understand the pressure of having, or have had teenagers asking for this stuff it's hard to understand. If you have them you understand.

It's easy for someone with out teens to say, I know what is tell them to do, bit in reality, it's a bit different, when all the friends have them etc

In reality it’s not any different than when we were all teenagers ourselves and we pushed our boundaries with our parents! It’s no different nowadays with teenagers and having one of my own, he’s used to being told go and shìte when he tries for something we both know he hasn’t a snowballs chance in hell of getting. He’s not a very demanding child at all, but when he does, he goes for broke, literally :pac:

OP you’re both responsible for setting your children’s expectations, and if up to this point they’re used to getting a new Easter outfit every year and footwear, you’re both responsible for setting that bar. Your children didn’t force your hand, you’re both their parents equally, and therefore share equal responsibility for the expectations you have instilled in them.

It doesn’t mean either of you are mad or anything else, it simply means you both made saddles for your own backs and your children are taking you for a ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

You don’t have teenagers tho. You have teenager and I for one blame the parents .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,708 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Regardless of who is wrong and who is right you're on the couch tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,221 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

As my mother used to say - 'bigger fool you'.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,060 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Are the runners made out of chocolate?

As my mother used to say - 'bigger fool you'.

She said that to me as well.

You knew my mother??? :)

You don’t have teenagers tho. You have teenager and I for one blame the parents .
    Yeah ok one teen and one tween I suppose, doesn't matter anyway. Teen/teens the runners still cost €180

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Are the runners made out of chocolate?
    No synthetic materials woven in a sewer by dwarf elves.

Yeah ok one teen and one tween I suppose, doesn't matter anyway. Teen/teens the runners still cost €180

Not on Ali express they don’t .

Bet you don't have a teenage son do you;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

I'm lucky my son's not really into expensive runner's,he just likes something that's black and comfortable.

60 Euros is the most he's asked me for,for runners.

He's moody like most teenagers, but emotionally intelligent tk ****.
    See's the value in things outside of materialism, likes cd's still, 12inch records and retro vintage styles.
    He grew up with his mum and step dad living close to his uncles in a rural setting, he didn't experience the dramatics of hanging out with egotistical people,hung out with the quirky church of Ireland kids a few miles over, nothing to do with religion.
    But these kid's were tally ho old boy, into horse's and jumping and rambling through their estate.
    Not an iota of snobbery or trying to keep up with the jonses.

They're all 17 and 18 this year, great bunch of lads.

They're not interested in being flashy and impressing the neighbors and so called peer's.

A bit like kid's from the 80's or 70's sometimes when I'd pick him up it would be like a chapter out of the famous 5, friendly and ever so mannerly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Sonics2k wrote: »
    30+ years of life and this is literally the first time I've heard of a new Easter outfit

It’s in the Bible sure, “on the 3rd day he rose again, and went to the pavilions and bought a new pair of Yeezys”

I can't abide all this spend, spend bullshít. So much fúcking waste everywhere - and our entire "economic success" is predicated upon buying all sorts of rubbish like this. Waste is the defining characteristic of our world now.

I remember going to bed early many times during college because it was my final year and I was living on savings from previous part-time work rather than keep a job in that year; if I went to bed I wouldn't be as hungry. Beans and toast were life savers, and I had more energy because of it and I took positive life lessons from it. There is so much stuff we don't "need", and probably don't really want. Kids are not learning this because parents, usually with busy working lives, are taking the path of least resistance and the kids are not getting decent, grounded values.

€60 on runners should be more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

If my son asks for trainers over 30 euro. ~I tell him to go see his mum, my ex. She is stupid enough to buy them. I aint.No matter how much you pay, they'll kick arse out of them in a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

It’s in the Bible sure, “on the 3rd day he rose again, and went to the pavilions and bought a new pair of Yeezys”

No Birkenstocks back then lol

Bet you don't have a teenage son do you;)

We had the same issues with our pair, if you give in, you have only yourself to blame.
    My youngest halted me buying him something recently because he had himself, come to the conclusion it wasn't worth it.

You have to make them think, not satisfy every whim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

just show kids are far smarter then the Dum Ass parents.

I'm off to bed, please keep the comments rolling through the night to show the other half in the morning, and if anyone agrees with the @€;180 purchase and the pressures of teen fashion please do chime in. Thanks.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    just show kids are far smarter then the Dum Ass parents.

Yes, yes they are:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I can't abide all this spend, spend bullshít.

€60 on runners should be more than enough.

To be fair, if parents can afford to spend €200 on a pair of runners for their children, I don’t see any reason why they shouldn’t. It is of course a different story if the parents can’t afford to spend €200 on a pair of runners. No matter how much parents choose to spend on their children, it doesn’t mean they aren’t instilling values in their children at the same time.