Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Only respond if you have your own teenagers

• 30-03-2019 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

So I'll try be as neutral as possible with this so to show the other half who's mad an who's not.

One of us came home and told the other the kids have picked their Easter runners, the teenagers pair are €180(he's 15)and the nine year olds are €120.

I want to know is this normal money for this kind of stuff?

One of us told the other it's the fashion these days and thats normal for runners these days.

Who's mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I get the sense that you are mad that her spending is mad! Just a hunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭skearnsot

iamtony wrote: »
    So I'll try be as neutral as possible with this so to show the other half who's mad an who's not.

One of us came home and told the other the kids have picked their Easter runners, the teenagers pair are €180(he's 15)and the nine year olds are €120.

One of us told the other it's the fashion these days and thats normal for runners these days.

Who's mad?

Iv heard of Easter eggs and Easter bunnies however Easter runners are a new one on me. Having kids that age I’d tell both to whistle and go back to the drawing board and see what would be a little less extravagant!!! Especially the the pair that’s near €200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

skearnsot wrote: »
    Iv heard of Easter eggs and Easter bunnies however Easter runners are a new one on me. Having kids that age I’d tell both to whistle and go back to the drawing board and see what would be a little less extravagant!!! Especially the the pair that’s near €200
    A new Easter outfit is pretty normal in Ireland to be fair.

I get the sense that you are mad that her spending is mad! Just a hunch!

Maybe it's the other way round I'm being neutral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Maya Drab Denim

easter runners ??? new outfit at easter??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

I used to dream of being able to afford 7 pound runners in Penney's in the 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Are they chocolate runners?

No. That is not normal. Give them a kick up the arse with the €120 runners and a mars bar Easter egg . And they’d be lucky to get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Are people with teenager the only one's who can comment on the price of runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Are people with teenager the only one's who can comment on the price of runners?

It would appear so.
    I'm consulting my solicitor for discrimination legislation advice as we speak.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

A new Easter outfit is pretty normal in Ireland to be fair.

30+ years of life and this is literally the first time I've heard of a new Easter outfit

easter runners ??? new outfit at easter??

I feckin knew it!!!! Xmas outfits eggs at Easter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They're Nike I presume? Only brand that seem to push prices that insane.

Even ignoring that unbranded stuff is probably €20 in Penneys, Adidas - who are not cheap - run about €90 for most of their ranges.

The Nike stuff is hideous and will be out of fashion in weeks. Ignore their wails, buy something else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Who's mad?

That's how much they are these days , you could get other ones for a tonne but they're not the best,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Have you, or the other one of you, suggested ways that wanton teenagers can earn the price of the runners?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Easter runners???? Does that mean there's a hole in them?

Since when did a 9 year old become a teenager anyways?

No but if you don't understand the pressure of having, or have had teenagers asking for this stuff it's hard to understand. If you have them you understand.

It's easy for someone with out teens to say, I know what is tell them to do, bit in reality, it's a bit different, when all the friends have them etc

OP, you appear to only have one teenager.

You may not respond to the thread. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

No but if you don't understand the pressure of having, or have had teenagers asking for this stuff it's hard to understand. If you have them you understand.

It's easy for someone with out teens to say, I know what is tell them to do, bit in reality, it's a bit different, when all the friends have them etc

Meeeeeooooowwwwww

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

I went into the hellhole known as JD Sports recently, I was shocked to observe that the asking price for runners ranged between €50 and €250.

Have you, or the other one of you, suggested ways that wanton teenagers can earn the price of the runners?

Nope, same teen was offered a summer job last year at €5 per hour at home 20 hours a week and quit after a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭norabattie

Well I have teenagers. 19 and 16. Not a hope would I spend that for Easter. Maybe 80 to 100 on their birthday. But that's a special occasion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

No way in hell would I pay €120 for a pair of runners let alone €180 and if you think its normal its probably because you are obsessed with brands and trying to keep up with the Joneses.

I never let mine get into that with brands and I stopped buying new outfits for Easter around the same time as I stopped being a practising catholic.

OP, you appear to only have one teenager.

You may not respond to the thread. Sorry.

:pac: ok let's forget the €120 runners for the nine year old then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

One of us told me a fecking chocolate egg or twelve is plenty!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Nope, same teen was offered a summer job last year at €5 per hour at home 20 hours a week and quit after a day.

Haha wish I was a teen again life was so easy

I get a notion that the teenager and 9 year old are used to wanting, asking for and getting only the best. Tell them no this time because your the one in charge along with the other person in the house who thinks your mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Also, Lidl had lovely trainers for €12.99 from Monday 1st April. Let's see if those pesky teens are into April Fool's jokes.

norabattie wrote: »
    Well I have teenagers. 19 and 16. Not a hope would I spend that for Easter. Maybe 80 to 100 on their birthday. But that's a special occasion
    that's a teens parents attitude can you please state your household income to show the other one of us were not ****ing Kardashians:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Seriously ??
    Mine aren't teenagers any more , but if they wanted top notch , branded trainers etc , they earned them . Or for birthdays or Christmas , not just because of peer pressure because others had them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's fairly easy yo understand people being under pressure. Lots of people experience it.

You also asked the cost of runners and asked was it normal.

You didn't ask for parenting advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Who's mad?

What's for Christmas ? Scrambler or Quad Bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

I have teen-agers. They get what I buy them. If they feel slighted that I haven't bought them the latest and greatest then tough. They'll learn a valuable lesson quick, or they'll learn nothing at all. In which case their life will be harder. Their choice.

I have 17 & 14 year old both get bobs for housework done etc. 17 year old is special needs. No jobs done no money so no goodies. Both kids save their money and buy the desired item. Other than that they can hop it (in cheap runners)

That a load of Bollix. Who buys ridiculous priced runners for Easter?
    My teens get runners when they need them and I don't mind paying for good quality. But buying just because it's Easter is rubbish (caveat if they actually need runners at the moment).
    I paid €120 for my sons runners in January as his previous pair were wrecked but I know they will last up to a year and it's hard to get size 12 in most stores.
    I bought my daughter €70 runners as that's what she wanted for her birthday, though she didn't exactly need them.

It's fairly easy yo understand people being under pressure. Lots of people experience it.

You also asked the cost of runners and asked was it normal.

You didn't ask for parenting advice.
    The post is specifically for one party to show the other party they are crazy for even considering runners for this money. It's not the first time this kind of money has been spent on runners

I'm well aware of the cost of runners, the pair I'm wearing as I type cost €180 bit were bought last August and will last till next August hopefully but I'm sorry if I missed it's more about privileged kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

What about teens of the 4 legged variety??? One of mine knicked a toy in TK Max the other day and I was mortified...

What's for Christmas ? Scrambler or Quad Bike

Sounds like that doesn't it but no were from respectable families with morals and respect for the law.

Funny though lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Sunny know about the Easter thing but I did have to shell out 170 for Nike trainers not so long ago for my 15 year old.

The thing is though they were largely some type of cloth material so I can't see how they are any better than a similar pair in penny's for 20 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

In reality it’s not any different than when we were all teenagers ourselves and we pushed our boundaries with our parents! It’s no different nowadays with teenagers and having one of my own, he’s used to being told go and shìte when he tries for something we both know he hasn’t a snowballs chance in hell of getting. He’s not a very demanding child at all, but when he does, he goes for broke, literally :pac:

OP you’re both responsible for setting your children’s expectations, and if up to this point they’re used to getting a new Easter outfit every year and footwear, you’re both responsible for setting that bar. Your children didn’t force your hand, you’re both their parents equally, and therefore share equal responsibility for the expectations you have instilled in them.

It doesn’t mean either of you are mad or anything else, it simply means you both made saddles for your own backs and your children are taking you for a ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

You don’t have teenagers tho. You have teenager and I for one blame the parents .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Regardless of who is wrong and who is right you're on the couch tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,199 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

As my mother used to say - 'bigger fool you'.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Are the runners made out of chocolate?

As my mother used to say - 'bigger fool you'.

She said that to me as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,199 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

She said that to me as well.

You knew my mother??? :)

You don’t have teenagers tho. You have teenager and I for one blame the parents .
    Yeah ok one teen and one tween I suppose, doesn't matter anyway. Teen/teens the runners still cost €180

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Are the runners made out of chocolate?
    No synthetic materials woven in a sewer by dwarf elves.

Yeah ok one teen and one tween I suppose, doesn't matter anyway. Teen/teens the runners still cost €180

Not on Ali express they don’t .

Bet you don't have a teenage son do you;)