Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timber!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Can’t believe they haven’t sorted the course distance out after years of issues with it!! Great run all the same S, Dunboyne will give you that real big PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Had 35.15 on the watch this morning but the course was a bit short. You can add 20 or 30 secs if we're being fair about it, still a 35 min run and would have been a massive PB. I was pretty annoyed for the five minutes after but what can you do, It's good progress so I have to be happy. 5.45 pace for 10k seemed a million miles away in Jan and I felt very strong today. Will throw up a report in the next day or so.

Did you run with Healy? Almost identical time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Well done by the way. Deadly running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Had 35.15 on the watch this morning but the course was a bit short. You can add 20 or 30 secs if we're being fair about it, still a 35 min run and would have been a massive PB. I was pretty annoyed for the five minutes after but what can you do, It's good progress so I have to be happy. 5.45 pace for 10k seemed a million miles away in Jan and I felt very strong today. Will throw up a report in the next day or so.

Did you run with Healy? Almost identical time.

Was just up the road ahead of me I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Great run roday S.....bit annoying about the course but still a cracking time. Great progress; rest the legs and give Dunboyne a good rattle next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Heard about the course alright Shane - it was long last year, overcompensating !

It's a huge performance regardless, delighted to see. Well done man

Great run roday S.....bit annoying about the course but still a cracking time. Great progress; rest the legs and give Dunboyne a good rattle next week!

Same to you mate, you're flying. You tempted by Dunboyne?

Will see how the legs are during the week; it has been a busy few weeks though with Duleek and Bohermeen; might sit it out reset and go again in a few weeks.

Same to you mate, you're flying. You tempted by Dunboyne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Massive time, Shane - regardless of the course - running 5.45 pace for a 10k is amazing. Congrats.

Headed down to the K club on Saturday morning knowing I had a decent shot at a good improvement in my 10k PB. Sessions had gone well since Raheny and we had a decent bit of 10k specific work done. A middling race in Duleek over 5k where I blew up a bit wasn’t really bothering me, always felt the training that we’re doing lent itself to the 10k more than the 5k anyway.

Honestly, felt pretty rough all week and ive a lower hamstring niggle that starting to become a proper annoyance but I knew that it was mostly just the usual prerace crazy that we all deal with. Perfect conditions when I got down and a couple of miles warmup and chat with RH who won this race last year but wasn’t racing due to a knock had me good to go. Felt like sh1te in the warmup too but again, the usual crazy.

We had been doing our mile reps in training around the 5.40 range for the past few weeks and these had felt manageable. Some of the faster lads had mentioned that I was in 35 mins shape so the plan was to see how 36.00 pace felt in the race (5.48/mile) and see if I could get after it a bit in the second half.

Lined up a couple of rows from the front and after a lot of coercing back to the official start line (organisers warned up that we would be complaining about a short course if we didn’t move the 5 metres back!! lol) we were off. The race sorted itself out quickly with a little downhill through the grounds and small hill out of the K club to the main road. Glanced at the watch as we hit the main road around 800m and it said 5.45, all good. The first stretch on the main road is a very very slight drag so was just looking to settle in and find a group. First mile beeped in 5.45. Second mile I was pretty isolated and we had a slight headwind before moving off on to the first lap of the loop, was having a few doubts here with a 5.51 and running alone. As we hit the back end of the loop the road fell away just a touch for the first time and I started to feel good, I also attached myself to a group of 3 along here. Couldn’t say if I caught them or the other way around but we worked together for just over a mile, mile 3 5.47 and through 5k in about 17.55. I think. Into the 4th mile I knew 35 mins was on, the front end of the loop was a little tougher and the guys in the group dropped back and even though pace slipped a bit with mile 4 beeping in 5.50 I still felt strong and was keeping the effort consistent. As we rounded the bend onto the back of the loop things picked up nicely, pace was showing 5.35 for a bit but I eased back, the plan was to get through mile 5 on pace and have something as we turned for home. Caught a couple of runners along here and we started to lap others, felt really good. Mile 5 5.45. As we got into the 6th mile I was solo and the legs were starting to tire, it helped that I had done the warmup on this stretch so knew the landmarks. Looking at the watch I had 5.42 showing, knew the sub 36 was in the bag once I kept it solid. Was nice to turn back into the K club and get that little downhill back, really hurting now though. Realised that the poxy thing was short as 6 miles beeped (5.40) just before the last roundabout and I could see the finish line looking remarkably close. Seeing 35.14 on the clock as I passed just confirmed it. I was bent over double, dry heaving a bit before I checked the watch to confirm. Probably had a minor tantrum for 30 seconds. There were a lot of delighted people in the chute but I burst a few bubbles by saying it was short, most didn’t care and were claiming the PB anyway!
    6.13 miles at 5.45 average pace. Nothing against the BHAA either it has to be said, they do great things for this sport in Ireland. Plenty of pastries, cake and coffee inside after a couple of miles shuffle to cool down. Nice one.

Overall I have to be happy. It’s a 35.45 run which would have been a 50 second pb. The most encouraging thing is how I felt, was working very hard but I was strong. Felt fit. The mile reps at 10k effort did what they said on the tin, the familiarity was there to hold the pace, coupled with the longer tempos we have been doing since Jan to give the bit of strength. It’s been a good while since I’ve had that feeling in a race, probably since the Bohermeen half last year. Pressure is on now to do it again in Dunboyne!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Youre damn right I'd be claiming that pb!

Good luck in Dunboyne tomorrow.

36.15 on the watch today. What a difference a week makes. The legs just didn't have it today and I was working hard far to early. Was goosed by 5k and it was a sufferfest back home after that. All told, I think I left it all in the K club last week. That was a massive effort and I probably should have just knocked this one on the head. Hindsight 20-20 etc etc. Not to worry, still got around in a solid time for me, there will be fresher days to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

It’s hardly a terrible time all the same, S, is it? But as you say you had your day last week. Back-to-back 10ks sounds like a tall order to me. You’re obviously in very decent shape.

Murph_D wrote: »
    It’s hardly a terrible time all the same, S, is it? But as you say you had your day last week. Back-to-back 10ks sounds like a tall order to me. You’re obviously in very decent shape.

No not at all Denis. Just felt like death for the second half and knew what was in store from early in mile 2!! We've all been there. As you said, back to back was gonna be a tall order. A good learning experience anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

What's in the plans next Shane?

healy1835 wrote: »
    What's in the plans next Shane?
    Thats the question. Think I'm gonna go for the Clontarf 10 miler. This is the closest I've been to a realistic shot at sub 60, pb is 60.55. 
    Has anyone done that race actually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

Thats the question. Think I'm gonna go for the Clontarf 10 miler. This is the closest I've been to a realistic shot at sub 60, pb is 60.55. 
    Has anyone done that race actually?

That's Easter Sunday right? Never did it.....You've a few decent LRs in the bag in addition to some great races & consistent sessions. I'd say <60mins is there for you. Would I be right in guessing that if the course is in and around St Anne's that it couldn't be too tough of a course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Never run it, but I've watched. The course is all in St Anne's, which is a small park to do a 10 mile race in, so there are some tight enough turns etc, and the park isn't all flat (mostly flat though!) It's a well organised event though, and the Leinster Championship, so always the chance of a medal. Not sure of this year's course, but here's a link to the 2017 version: http://rahenyshamrock.ie/?p=1373

The week after the K club I did 2 light sessions and a few easy runs in between. Nothing longer than 40 minutes.

Tuesdays session was a Fartlek pyramid; 2 sets of 30,45,60,75,90,75,60,45 seconds with equal jog in between. Just hopped in with the group and wasn’t looking at the watch but it was all around 5.50 pace overall. The legs were rubbery and I felt tired as you’d expect. I was just hoping this would run the race out of the legs.

Thursday’s session was 2x4x400, 82 second ave. Again, felt a bit heavy in this compared to normal at this pace.

I hoped that the 2 light sessions would flush my legs out and have me ready for Sunday, not sure not if they helped at all. Would be interested to hear if people think doing 2 light sessions in the week between would help or hinder from their perspective?

On to the race.....

Got down Sunday and it seemed a decent day but did notice a pretty strong wind on the warmup, did 2 miles easy and the legs felt fine, no complaints. Lined up at the start with a clubmate that would be at the same paces in sessions so plan was to work together. The race started with a nice downhill through the village and out onto the main road heading for Dunboyne castle. Was hoping to settle into the pace once outside the village but a decent drag had me working already. First mile beeped in 5.40, hadn’t been looking and knew it was a bit hot. As we hit the country roads and started to meet the Summer 5 mile course I was moving alright but completely isolated, clubmate had moved up to a nice group of 5 or 6 but they were moving away from me, into the third mile I felt it was probably risking the big effort required to try and catch them. Miles 2 and 3 were both 5.45. Through 5k and I was working very hard now, we hit that decent headwind and a little uphill and here the fade started. Miles 4 and 5 are a total blur, couldn’t muster the pace I did last week was just looking to get it over with, legs like wood. There was nobody within 100m of me either side id say and the course felt exposed, it was really tough going. Was fighting the urge to walk along here too so knew I was goosed. Miles 4&5 6.00 and 5.59. I remember another short drag in the final mile before a downhill finish from about 800m out. A few people had been spat out of the group way ahead and I mustered a bit of an effort to pass a couple. Had nothing left 100m from home as one of the guys I passed steamed past me again. Mile 6 5.53 and the last 0.2 5.35 pace. Glad when this was over. Official time 36.16.

No much more to say, legs didn’t have it and fairly sure it was it due to the K club the previous week. I’ve never raced twice so close together before and will avoid it again, a good learning experience though. All in all though I’m not complaining, have ran my 2 best 10ks by a decent chunk in the past few days so not a bad couple of weeks work.

More importantly, there was a sombre mood afterwards among the club contingent due to a heart-breaking tragedy befalling a club member over the weekend, plenty of perspective provided for sure. It’s only running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

healy1835 wrote: »
    That's Easter Sunday right? Never did it.....You've a few decent LRs in the bag in addition to some great races & consistent sessions. I'd say <60mins is there for you. Would I be right in guessing that if the course is in and around St Anne's that it couldn't be too tough of a course?

I've done it a couple of times and the course, while relatively flat, is not a fast course. I like the event but couldn't honestly say its a good course with its countless turns and twists

Cheers Davey, gonna see how I feel this week and make a call.

Probably be best to draw a line under racing for a month or so, get some consistency going again.

Still a cracking effort on Sunday S; and like you said your 2 best 10ks so plenty of positives to take from not just the last 2 weekends but the solid start you have made to the year.

Racing 2 10ks over the space of 8 days was always going to be rough on the body. I had considered doing the 4 mile in St Anne's Saturday but the legs were goosed after the K Club and a decent session Tuesday.

You are in great shape coming into the Spring/Summer 5/10k season and I have no doubt you will push on again; nice recovery sessions and easy runs this week to get the last couple of weekends out the legs.

Sounds like a tough weekend for the club and as you said it puts things into perspective pretty quickly.

Hopefully catch up for a Sunday run soon.

Cheers C, gonna do exactly what you said, handy week this week, should see you Sunday if youre about!

Took it handy last week, legs were pretty beat up after Dunboyne, sore spots everywhere and I was back to hobbling about in the morning when I got up, not good. For the midweek I was just playing it by ear, in the end I ran easy until Saturday where I did a short session.

Monday 5m 7.29 pace

Tuesday 10m 7.39 pace

Wed off

Thurs 5m 7.34 pace

Friday 8m 7.30 pace

Saturday - Wanted to do something a bit sharper Saturday just to keep ticking over, decided on the Fartlek we have done a few times in the block since Christmas, have found it good to shake off a race in the past. It was 2 sets of a pyramid of 30-90-30 seconds in 15 second jumps with equal recovery in between. I did this in the club field, nice and sunny but very windy. Overall It was alright, was over too quickly to say much about it, checking the watch afterwards I was anywhere between about 5.40 and 5.50 pace for the reps

Sunday – Long run – 14 miles 7.24 pace. Up to the phoenix park on the nicest morning of the year, met OFAR, scotindublin and the usual crew. Very timid and sluggish start but the second half we got moving, miles 7-13 all sub 7.10 pace and feeling easy on heavy legs.

51 miles for the week.

Have decided not to race the 10 miler in Clontarf, think its best to just put the head down and train away for another month before going again.

Monday: 5m 7.36 pace. Easy one after the previous day’s long run

Tuesday: Session 5 mile tempo. Pretty simple on paper. Splits 5.57, 5,59, 5.55, 5.58, 5.52. Felt ok in this one, the usual working hard in the second half but not racing. Initially had planned on 6.05-6.10 pace but rather than drop off the lads I just sat in. This was on grass, on the usual tempo loop in the club field and we had a group of 3 rolling along. Definitely seeing progress in these sessions.

Wednesday: Off

Thursday: Session 15X400.

This was split into 3 sets of

6 at 10k effort, 30 secs recovery (Splits 88, 84, 84, 83, 84, 83)

5 at 5k and 45 secs recovery (Splits (81, 81, 78, 82, 78)

4 at 3k. and 1 min recovery (Splits (78, 75, 73, 71)

Enjoyed this one, splits were a little sloppy in terms of consistency but that was just due do different people leading the group here and there. Also, probably a little undisciplined on the last set. From chatting to the coach we are moving into a speedier block after all the speed endurance type sessions since Jan, should be good.

Friday: 5m 7.46 pace. Tired after the session

Saturday: 8m 7.29 pace. Just an easy hour, out before 8 am so had the roads to myself. Was nice.

Sunday: Long run: 14m 7.04 pace. Plan was for a steadier long run, these will be dropped in occasionally from now. In my own head I wanted to keep 20 odd secs slower than marathon pace and had no real interest in running sub 7 minute pace average overall. Met some clubmates in Old bridge where it was freezing and very windy. The consensus was god help anyone racing in the phoenix park on that day. Mostly on grass and trail for this, a few of the lads took off after 5 or 6 miles at about 6.30 pace but left them at it. Felt grand and was in a good rhythm by the end.

50 miles for the week. Feel a bit of a cold coming on, hoping It doesn't mess me up too much this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Sub 30:00 for a five mile tempo. Tasty.

Monday: Off

Tuesday: Fartlek 7,1,6,3,5,2,4 min @10k effort with equal float in between. Tough session in the field last Tuesday, done solo so that probably added to it. The idea was to hit 10k pace and keep the recovery honest. Splits were

7 min @ 5.44 (Recovery 6.50)

1 min @ 5.35 (Recovery 6.50)

6 min @ 5.45 (Recovery 7.18 not sure why I was a bit slower here)

3 min @ 5.40 (Recovery 6.52)

5 min @ 5.38 (Recovery 6.50)

2 min @ 5.49 (Recovery 6.57)

4 min @ 5.49

Tired at the end of this one and was suffering over the last couple of reps. A solid session with more or less an hour spent at a high aerobic/threshold level.

Wednesday: 4 miles 7.49 pace. Can’t remember much of this one but Strava said it happened.

Thursday: Session 15x400 (3 sets of 5 @10k, 5k, 3k pace with 3 min between sets). Almost the same session as last Thursday with one rep taken from the 10k set and added to the 3k set. After Tuesday’s effort, the plan here was to just get through this with as little fuss as possible. Thankfully the lads had the same box ticking idea that I did so was grand in the end, no heroics.

Set 1: 87, 85, 86, 84, 82 (30 secs recovery)

Set 2: 81, 80, 81, 81, 79 (45 secs recovery)

Set 3: 78, 78, 76, 77, 75 (1 min recovery)

Friday: 6 miles 7.35 pace. Actually, felt ok on this one, which is very rare for me on a Friday.

Saturday: 8.75 miles 7.47 pace. At a stag in Kilkeeny on the Friday night so called into the Phoenix Park on the way home for an easy hour on the trails. Absolutely baking hot day so was trying to keep the pace down. Lovely to be on the trails again this summer, the bit of a hangover had me tired by the end though.

Sunday: 14 miles 7.29 pace. Another sunny day in the Phoenix Park. Very very easy starting but as these runs tend to be it was a decent negative split by the end, felt good and didn’t stretch my luck pace wise.

53 miles for the week.

Next race is the club’s 10k on the May bank holiday weekend. It’s a very difficult course so PBs will be out the window but will be nice to race on home territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I think I'll be robbing that Fartlek - looks like a monster of a session!

Great week Shane; bit of Whitty pacing on the Sunday run aswell!