Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Teggy is finally old enough for a classic policy, just need to actually fix it and make it drive-able again.
    Tax will still be a pain though, and I suppose I'll have to NCT it as well. First time since 07..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

No, limited mileage and no mods declared...yet! (They haven't made their way to the car yet to be fair!)

Yours was the red one wasn't it? I nearly bought that twice :p
    Limited miles is on every classic policy but rarely enforced in my experience. And for rarely read never.
    Tazzimus wrote: »
    Teggy is finally old enough for a classic policy, just need to actually fix it and make it drive-able again.
    Tax will still be a pain though, and I suppose I'll have to NCT it as well. First time since 07..

I've similar (in terms of old off road for a while but not on classic tax), a 94 corona sitting in storage. Although I've got another parking spot assigned so I intend on bringing her home and fixing her up soon too. Just need to find a way to bring her from swords to Navan.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Funny enough T and for no particular obvious reason mine as my sole daily has become insurable again. :eek: 800 quid fully comp. I nearly fell over when I got that quote. Over half of what it was last year(and that was TPFT) and a third what some were asking. Through Chill too.
    So long as the basics like bulbs and tyres are covered, it's rust free(their major killer) and the engine hasn't been ragged to fcuk, about the only things that will usually fail one are worn bushings and a dead catalytic converter.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

How's yours looking these days Wibbs? Haven't spotted you in a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Anyone know of a decent indy mechanic in South Dublin? Usually go down to Daltons but I don't have the time at the minute. I've a cv boot that needs to be changed on a Mk5 GTI (if that matters). Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Wibbs wrote: »
    Funny enough T and for no particular obvious reason mine as my sole daily has become insurable again. :eek: 800 quid fully comp. I nearly fell over when I got that quote. Over half of what it was last year(and that was TPFT) and a third what some were asking. Through Chill too.

So long as the basics like bulbs and tyres are covered, it's rust free(their major killer) and the engine hasn't been ragged to fcuk, about the only things that will usually fail one are worn bushings and a dead catalytic converter.

Friend of mine has a VZR and GSXR on the same classic policy for €342, bastard..

It's been in a shed for 5 ish years so need to check the bulbs, tyres most likely ****ed, need a friend to check if the shell can be saved or if I need to re-shell it (hopefully not), polybushed which should still be fine.

I need to find the standard exhaust, which has the cat, no room on the J's exhaust for it :D

I'll get the engine and shell sorted first, then worry about the rest.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

How's yours looking these days Wibbs? Haven't spotted you in a while!
    Still alive M. :D No faults yet *touches wood*. Luckily I had the dumb luck/foresight to fill it with waxoyl and then Bilt Hamber goo a week after it came off the boat from Japan. Door bottoms, sills, inner wings, cabin and boot floor, chassis rails and pretty much the entire underneath. Have always been paranoid about rust. It would have been scrap years ago if I hadn't. Even with all that I had a sill drain hole go crusty which required a patch and a rear jacking point a muppet at a car tyre fitting place mangled and went a bit crusty, so that needed the welding gear(have to keep an eye on them as sadly I've found the Irish angle tends to be "old car, it'll do").

Mechanically all it's needed down the years have been bushings(Honda for the main ones, Blueprint don't last pissing time), steering rack gaiter, dizzy cap and coil, a rebuilt alternator and I put new brake disks on. Clutch will need doing at some stage, but luckily last year I got one of the last original Honda kits left on the shelf and for feck all(130 quid). Other than that it's been oil, filters, pads and two timing belts/water pumps. I do much of the minor spannering myself so it's been daftly cheap to run. And gets 30-35 Mpg average. Clearcoat is fading in a few places though. All that weather outside. Still given its age... Mad that's it's only a two owner car, Japan and me. Very few like that now. I saw one with twelve Irish owners.
    It's been in a shed for 5 ish years so need to check the bulbs, tyres most likely ****ed, need a friend to check if the shell can be saved or if I need to re-shall it (hopefully not), polybushed which should still be fine.
    The shell would be my worry T. Hopefully the shed helped. Getting a good shell will be bloody hard these days. If there's even a couple of bubbles in the rear wings it means the inner wings and sills are shot. I saw one two years back. JDM in black and looked pristine. No bubbles, underneath looked clean and solid. I have one of those tiny camera yokes that talks to my phone and we had a look in behind the rear arches and it had started to rot. And you can't get panels, even spurious for them. Over a year ago I got a set of rear arch panels(inc inner wheelarches)from a 1.6 that amazingly were rust free, just to have as spares. The only spare panels I don't have are wings. And a roof, but I figure if the roof's gone I've more to be worried about. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

There's a tree fallen on the Kingscourt road out of Navan, naturally the road is blocked. So traffic has to divert, there are a few ways round this incident...

Instead of setting up where there's a chance to divert traffic the fire brigade have decided to let everyone up beside the tree and make them do an awkward 3 point turn. Including coaches and articulated trucks... It's also not as if they can't divert down those roads as the last time that stretch of road was blocked (fatality at the racecourse) all possible precautions were taken to make sure traffic was alerted and diverted in plenty of time. It's not as if they can't divert traffic properly over that stretch of road, they just didn't bother their arse this time

Laziness and piss poor consideration springs to mind, along with the sentence "if they had brains they'd be dangerous"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

There's a tree fallen on the Kingscourt road out of Navan, naturally the road is blocked. So traffic has to divert, there are a few ways round this incident...

Instead of setting up where there's a chance to divert traffic the fire brigade have decided to let everyone up beside the tree and make them do an awkward 3 point turn. Including coaches and articulated trucks... It's also not as if they can't divert down those roads as the last time that stretch of road was blocked (fatality at the racecourse) all possible precautions were taken to make sure traffic was alerted and diverted in plenty of time. It's not as if they can't divert traffic properly over that stretch of road, they just didn't bother their arse this time

Laziness and piss poor consideration springs to mind, along with the sentence "if they had brains they'd be dangerous"

Maybe they're trying to make the callout last longer for extra $$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Thinking about it today realised I now have the A4 14 months which is actually the longest I have ever kept a car :)

I know its sooo long to keep the same car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

CIP4 wrote: »
    Thinking about it today realised I now have the A4 14 months which is actually the longest I have ever kept a car :)

Good going, I'm lucky to get 6 months out of a car before I sell it...providing I actually drive it :pac: My current 86 Civic is the longest I've had, but only because I've driven it once in 4 years! :p

Ah but they are probably either a) local meathian fire fighters having a laugh at the locals or b) more likely, instructed by morons in meath county council

What are you buying now?

ELM327 wrote: »

What are you buying now?

Nothing at the minute was thinking of changing the last couple of months but haven’t got anytime to look at anything yet will be the summer. Would like an A5 252 Quattro, S3 Saloon possibly, would also like to look at the new model 3 series that’s just out but not sure if they have hit showrooms yet. Kind of happy enough with the A4 though so not really in a rush.

Edit: seems they have them alright 330i
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/3-series/used-2019-191-bmw-3-series-330-m-spor-dublin-fpa-201903115783236

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Just jumped on the BM website there. Jesus they write some amount of ****e about cars in their promo stuff.

"The aspiration: maximum performance in perfection and applied to every detail. For breathtaking driving dynamics that release adrenalin at every moment."

They'd also want to proof read what they put up at least once too....

"Power that the perfectly tuned 8-speed M Sport transmission and the M Sport differently apply to the road with precision."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Big day for the Golf today, love a good round number! Photo taken on a private road, obviously.

20190314-081941.jpg
    image posting

Big day for the Golf today, love a good round number! Photo taken on a private road, obviously.

What year is it 161 that’s heavy going either way you planning on keeping it much longer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Nothing at the minute was thinking of changing the last couple of months but haven’t got anytime to look at anything yet will be the summer. Would like an A5 252 Quattro, S3 Saloon possibly, would also like to look at the new model 3 series that’s just out but not sure if they have hit showrooms yet. Kind of happy enough with the A4 though so not really in a rush.

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/3-series/used-2019-191-bmw-3-series-330-m-spor-dublin-fpa-201903115783236

I like your three choices. Don't know which I would pick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

What year is it 161 that’s heavy going either way you planning on keeping it much longer ?

Nah, that's on my 2012, the other Golf is a 162 and is due its 4th service (120k kms) next month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Hi all! Could someone tell me if this is a safe option? I wouldn't be that clued in on this sort of thing. So basically, I am looking to power something with a cig lighter plug, but I want it hidden. So the following work be a good shout, if it was safe..

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/1M-Car-Cigarette-Lighter-Socket-Adapter-DC12V-Extension-ATC-Fuse-Tap-Holder-Lead/263321518209?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Should be but as it says in the ad not to be used to operate a cig:
    Note: This item is only for charging not for cigarette!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

job seeker wrote: »
    Hi all! Could someone tell me if this is a safe option? I wouldn't be that clued in on this sort of thing. So basically, I am looking to power something with a cig lighter plug, but I want it hidden. So the following work be a good shout, if it was safe..

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/1M-Car-Cigarette-Lighter-Socket-Adapter-DC12V-Extension-ATC-Fuse-Tap-Holder-Lead/263321518209?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

If you dont need to be able to take it in and out you would be better off snipping the plug off and crimping it in. What are you looking to run? The wire on that yolk looks very thin and the cig socket very cheap.

Looks decent value for money compared to a 2.0d yoke :)

Would you consider something larger? I've been looking at cars for after we move house later this year (very happy with my e60 for now) and I was looking at the V10 S8.
    I've never really been an Audi fan before but I'm really starting to get a grá for the larger ones. It's a pity we didnt get the V10 Q7 tdi here
    S8
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-s8-5-2-v10-quattro-original-irish-car-fu/20365756

Even an S6
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-s6-5-2-v10-435-bhp/20882682

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Neither would be as fun or as fast as an S3, also a pair of money pits..10 year old V10 with a vag auto box of that era, you'd buy an S3 and stage 2 it for what one of those would drain from you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The Ad for the S6 - "Sweet Ride" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Augeo wrote: »
    Looks decent value for money compared to a 2.0d yoke :)

Jesus maybe I'm old fashioned, but I wouldnt call paying nearly 60k for a 4 pot 3 series decent value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

And not even a new one at that. I do like the new 3, but it'll be a 3 or 4 year old one I'll be looking for. I bought a 4 year old 3 series last year for 30% of the retail price, and it's hard to see past that depreciation

Jesus maybe I'm old fashioned, but I wouldnt call paying nearly 60k for a 4 pot 3 series decent value

I did say compared to a 2.0d yoke.
    Lads pay that for 4 pot VW Golfs :)
    The days of 6 and 8 cylinder ICE cars are largely gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

Looks expensive to me

330e is just as quick with 250bhp and instant torque from the electric motor

Much cheaper to run too, short trips under 30km on electric and about 10k cheaper brand new

Anyone buying brand new are just throwing money away, they lose 20k depreciation in the 1st year alone.

You can get 181/182's in the UK for 30k all in

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201902144943076?make=BMW&onesearchad=New&onesearchad=Nearly%20New&onesearchad=Used&radius=1501&fuel-type=Hybrid%20%E2%80%93%20Petrol%2FElectric%20Plug-in&model=3%20SERIES&year-from=2018&sort=sponsored&postcode=m52ty&advertising-location=at_cars&page=1

Would love on myself