Gardaí contact Louth family after Irish woman is detained in Syria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,549 ✭✭✭✭Varik

She is a Irish Citizen first and foremost. Unlike this girl from UK, Lisa is sadly ours and ours only and we will have take her back. Hopefully she tell all and it can be got to bottom off.

Leaver her to die in whatever hole she's in.

No ones going to lose an election over her death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

Gardai don't seem to have the same sort of helplines on their website as UK police for getting advice on a relative converting to Islam. Hopefully this case will have pushed them into action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

Gardai don't seem to have the same sort of helplines on their website as UK police for getting advice on a relative converting to Islam. Hopefully this case will have pushed them into action.

1800-go-jump-off-a-bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Converting to a religion is hardly a reason to call the police. fair enough if someone starts espousing violent action but simply converting is no reason to call the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

"THE Irishwoman detained in Syria on suspicion of Isis membership will be allowed to return because it is the “compassionate thing” to do, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said.

Mr Varadkar has moved to assure the public that a full security assessment will take place before Lisa Smith is allowed back into the country.

But he said as an Irish citizen, she will not be left to fend for herself in one of the world’s most war torn regions.

Independent.ie broke the extraordinary story of Ms Smith last Friday, revealing how she was a member of the Irish Defence Forces before converting to Islam and emigrating to Syria."

Going to Syria or going to live in what was called Islamic State is not in itself an offence or a crime. So we will need to carry out an investigation.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/the-compassionate-thing-to-do-isil-suspect-lisa-smith-will-be-allowed-return-home-taoiseach-confirms-37899943.htm

lt's fine lads she only Emigrated to Syria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm generally a fairly leftwing liberal person (and my family work supporting refugees in France), but I think she should be left where she is. She abandoned the Irish value system when she supported ISIL. I don't care what her religion is, her support of a group who wants to wipe innocent people out for no reason is enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

SaifUllah wrote: »
    What ISIS do is no worse than what the Irish Catholic priests are doing - yes all of them are at it.

Why do people tar all Islamists with the same brush as ISIS ?

How the fook is this shyte tolerated ?

Seriously why is it ok to say what you want about catholics, but fooking hell if you dare say anything about islam. :rolleyes:
    Gatling wrote: »
    For some reason I can imagine an TV ad calling for help with homeless jihadis

Just give €2 and you can help home a homeless jihadi

You can get a NATO 5.56 round for $0.18, so you can deal with 12 jihadists for €2

Not bad value there.
    TomSweeney wrote: »
    Agree, but looking at his posts, it seems to be a parody account, not a very good one mind ... but parody all the same - I like to _hope_ no one in the west could actually have that opinion

But how the hell is that tolerated here?
    Just say something equivalent about islam and imams and watch the wall of abuse you get and the warnings from the mods.

And yes European countries do have ISIS supporters that see us all as expendable because of our lack of belief in their version of sky fairy.

And Ireland is no different to the rest of Europe.

The real twist is that the left leaning feminists, LGBTers, etc that are always offering excuses for the excesses of extreme and even mainstream islam would the very first to be targeted.

I am not allowed discuss …

Grayson wrote: »
    Converting to a religion is hardly a reason to call the police. fair enough if someone starts espousing violent action but simply converting is no reason to call the police.

At what point should we be concerned? When they convert? When they wear a full length burka? When they go on holiday to Syria? Better to be safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,049 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Who'll get the interview - Tubridy or D'arcy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

It's ironic that anyone who converted to Islam and went to Syria are all Sunni Muslims.

All the Shia's,Allawites and Sufis had no internet in joining the death cult.

It's not a Muslim thing, it's totally fine to be a Muslim, as long as you intergrate with the community you have decided to settle in.

Even in the Koran it suggests if you live in a community that's not entirely Islamic, you have to abide by their law's....

If only the West embraced the Shia's and dropped their lust for the Salafist's oil.

The world would be a safer place, the Shia's have more oil to share with us anyhow....

At what point should we be concerned? When they convert? When they wear a full length burka? When they go on holiday to Syria? Better to be safe than sorry.

You want people to report anyone who converts to islam? That's definitely one of the more bizarre suggestions I've seen here.

The security forces need to know if they're converting of their own free will or if they've been groomed by terrorists. Let's not pretend it isn't happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The security forces need to know if they're converting of their own free will or if they've been groomed by terrorists. Let's not pretend it isn't happening.

Is there any suggestion that she was groomed? She had spent nearly 10 years in the defence forces before she converted. She wasn't a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

I'm generally a fairly leftwing liberal person (and my family work supporting refugees in France), but I think she should be left where she is. She abandoned the Irish value system when she supported ISIL. I don't care what her religion is, her support of a group who wants to wipe innocent people out for no reason is enough for me.

You will find your logic lost on some people here. Some people here treat what she has done and if she was away paint balling for the weekend . God help Ireland if these kind of people get their ways.

I see Leo is happy for her to return!! "it would be the compassionate thing to do" he says. Its all about Brexit, because of what's happening with their own ISIS bride, Leo want us to look compassionate and progressive... in other words, the brits look anything but!! which makes them more incongruous in the big meeting room that's Europe!

He's such an invertebrate this lad.
    Wonder where is je suis Charlie badge is now!
    or whatever just cause de jour he has is now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Can’t say it. Rhymes with roll.

You don’t seem very mature. I’ve decided to put you on ignore. The second person ever.

How do you put someone on ignore?

Since I don't believe any sane person could ever convert to Wahhabism by themselves, I'd say they should be reported since it's almost certainly grooming. For Sunni, Shia etc., no, that's not a reporting matter since those are normal religions that pretty much every Muslim we know is a part of.

Before you go calling me a Fascist, address Wahhabism first.

Edit: Interestingly, it seems ISIS follows "a fundamentalist, Salafi doctrine of Sunni Islam." I always just assumed it was Wahhabism. Islam is complicated.

Edit 2: It looks like Wahhabism and Salafism are largely the same.

rusty cole wrote: »
    I see Leo is happy for her to return!! "it would be the compassionate thing to do" he says. Its all about Brexit, because of what's happening with their own ISIS bride, Leo want us to look compassionate and progressive... in other words, the brits look anything but!! which makes them more incongruous in the big meeting room that's Europe!

ehhh. no.

She's an Irish citizen. If she wants to return she should be allowed to. If she committed crimes then she should be tried.

Plus there's the flip side. She's our responsibility. Could you imagine if we tried to deport criminals and every other country decided that they didn't want them, they revoke their citizenship and say they're our problem. We have a responsibility to take them back, just as other countries have a responsibility to take back their citizens when we deport them.

How do you put someone on ignore?

The fastest way is to click their name and press Alt+F4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It our responsibility and I'm afraid she should be brought back if she has to and face trial here if everything is true about her.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

ehhh. no.

She's an Irish citizen. If she wants to return she should be allowed to. If she committed crimes then she should be tried.

Plus there's the flip side. She's our responsibility. Could you imagine if we tried to deport criminals and every other country decided that they didn't want them, they revoke their citizenship and say they're our problem. We have a responsibility to take them back, just as other countries have a responsibility to take back their citizens when we deport them.

If she's committed a crime in a particular country she should be tried in that Country.
    Its highly unlikely that anything can be proven about crimes that happened in a country / warzone thousands of miles away who don't have a functioning government.
    ISIS should be listed as a proscribed organisation and anyone found to have joined it should be tried as would someone accused of IRA membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

so is there good odds on her appearing on the late late show and being gently lobbed softball questions by Tubridy?

Is there any suggestion that she was groomed? She had spent nearly 10 years in the defence forces before she converted. She wasn't a child.

Adults can be groomed too. No woman wakes up in the morning and decides to become a Jihadi bride.

rusty cole wrote: »

Actually Washing Post are highlighting how our justice minister is saying that the Irish state will do everything to try get her back.

That is in stark contrast the article mentions to how the US is refusing to bring home an Alabama bit*h that went off to Syria, then went on social media to encourage islamists to attack Americans at remembrance parades, and went on to marry three different ISIS fighters.
    She was a bit of jinx it seems what with how long the hubbies were lasting.

The article also references how Flanagan is in contrast to other European states like the Belgians who are refusing to bring women home, the Brits with their ISIS brides and how the Germans have been trying to enact legislation to remove citizenship from ISIS fighters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

The fastest way is to click their name and press Alt+F4.

I last fell for that one about 14 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Can we stone her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Adults can be groomed too. No woman wakes up in the morning and decides to become a Jihadi bride.

Is that what happened? She just woke up one morning and decided to become a jihadi bride?

It's always someone else's fault, right. :rolleyes:

Since I don't believe any sane person could ever convert to Wahhabism by themselves, I'd say they should be reported since it's almost certainly grooming. For Sunni, Shia etc., no, that's not a reporting matter since those are normal religions that pretty much every Muslim we know is a part of.

Before you go calling me a Fascist, address Wahhabism first.

The poster I was replying to said islam. Not any of the strict versions, just islam. And they said anyone who converts should be reported. That is bizarre. So by bring up wahhabism you're shifting the goalposts.

Also Wahhabist are Sunni. Or at least they generally consider themselves Sunni. So when you say Sunni is ok, you're including Wahhabism. That's a minor thing though.

I do believe that anyone following any religion, especially one who converts as an adult is missing a few screws. And especially when someone converts to a stricter/more extreme version. So if someone converts to a strict christian sect or jewish or muslim sect, it's a bit stranger.

But no, I don't think they should be reported just for converting. If someone suspects grooming, they should report that. If they suspect the new convert is violent or holds violent thought, report that.

(As a side note, what is considered grooming when it comes to religion. If it's trying to convince someone to join your faith, then aren't all religions guilty of that to some extent?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

El_Bee wrote: »
    so is there good odds on her appearing on the late late show and being gently lobbed softball questions by Tubridy?

Since when did Ryan ever lob 'soft-ball' questions at a vulnerable unsuspecting guest!? :rolleyes: