Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot take: Multiculturalism is good

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

sk8erboii wrote: »

Its not that hard to understand. Vietnam for example, was under the throes of French hegemony up until the 70s hence why they are wary of white landowners...

... Contrast say with the Philippines who are very much open to foreigners due to America fighting for their liberty against Japan during WW2.

The Vietnamese have defeated all-comers for millennia - Indians, Chinese, Khmer, French, Americans et al. Like Afghanistan, it's one of those places and peoples you just don't invade.

The Philippines was American soil until 1946.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Be careful not to mix the concept of 'Multiculturalism' as it occurs presently in Europe, with true (and benefical) 'Diversity'.
    They are not the same concept in practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The vast majority of people accept multiculturalism as a net positive lad.

That is a tenuous statement at best lad. In regard to that claim -
    Who do? Where? Please provide accurate figures to show that is so. It remains many many countries worldwide do not promote multiculturalism.

So you've gone from "It's the default state of humanity. to now providing mass exceptions such as ...
    And the nations that are still on flux are the ones that were affected by European imperialism, which entailed exploitation of people and resources.

What about those countries affected by Chinese or Arab imperialism for example which historically also entailed exploitation of people and resources- are you not accounting for those - if so why not?
    Its not that hard to understand. Vietnam for example, was under the throes of French hegemony up until the 70s hence why they are wary of white landowners. In the same way Ireland is still collectively staunchly anti-British hegemony. Contrast say with the Philippines who are very much open to foreigners due to America fighting for their liberty against Japan during WW2.

Nope none of that makes any sense with regard to the promotion or acceptance of multiculturalism as a 'good' by nation states. Ther are many political regimes worldwide that do not accept the ideas of multiculturalism. And if as you say those countries which were colonised by 'whites' - why should such countries be not supporting multiculturism of other races? Indeed regarding Ireland - one of the largest immigrant groups by nationality in Ireland are British - how does that stand against our supposed "anti-British hegemony"? The
    Philippines as a country have less than one percent non nationals living there according to their own census figures.

To be honest none of what you have proposed makes sense globally. Multiculturism which only works or is promoted in one direction cannot be defined as 'multiculturism' . And that is the story as it stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

No, scrap that. Multiculturalism is not just good, multiculturalism is brilliant.

Of course putting things into perspective..... multiculturalism is brilliant if you are Mr. CEO. For you have a constant stream of newcomers, most of whom having immigrated are willing to work for a pittance....just enough to allow them to stay in their shared accommodation with their 10 other non-national housemates paying cash to Mr. Crooked cash-under-the-table-tax-dodging landlord.

Brilliant for big business and landlords. Not so great for average folk.......not for John and Mary looking for themselves a secure job and an affordable house in order to raise a family.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

sabat wrote: »
    The Vietnamese have defeated all-comers for millennia - Indians, Chinese, Khmer, French, Americans et al. Like Afghanistan, it's one of those places and peoples you just don't invade.

The Philippines was American soil until 1946.

Indeed it was..the Americans invaded in 1898 and destroyed the Philippines new republic which was based on the French model.
    America then carried out an horrific genocide in the Philippines which cost the lives of up to 2 million Filipino's out of a population of 7 million at that time.

The reason the Philippines is ruled by corrupt oligarchs today stems from the American invasion when America installed those corrupt families into power to run the country for them.

It really gets on my tits when I hear people on about how 'good' America has been in the Philippines :mad:
    The reality is the absolute opposite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

This isn't the breakfast roll thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It can have certain advantages perhaps.

You have to be careful and filter though. Many types seeking to come and live in Ireland funnily enough don't want much of the multi at all. They want to live in little ghettos of their own types. Their own food. Their own dress. Their own language. They are as likely to destroy the whole multicultural concept as any Irish native person with concerns. Many might even look down on the Irish and their ways.

I fear skaterboi wants no filter. Maybe they could confirm.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Tbh the longer I live and look at 'melting pot' nations like the USA and the UK I'm beginning to have my doubts (that frightens me in a way). Humans like every animal seem to be tribal by nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Mate thats literally what multiculturalism means. I know you desperately want it be defined as mass migration (which is part of the MC gestalt) but thats not all it is.

I didn't say 'mass migration is all it is'. But you saying
    thats [sic] not all it is
    means you recognise that mass migration is part of what it is.

So you've contradicted your very first sentence ie 'literally'. All you've done is literally interpreted one not-very-useful definition of a contested term/ideology/doctrine etc

Hitting the wishy-washy one-world note isn't going to achieve anything.

Your OP said
    Multiculturalism is defined as the spread of people and ideas.

but it's just as superficially true to say that
    History is defined as the spread of people and ideas

Since history and multiculturalism are not coterminous, at all, really you've defined nothing.

Im sure its irrelevant while you type on an american laptop, on a website coded by an indian guy, while tucking into some chinese so you can get ready to work for a british company in the morning

A fine definition of global capitalism.

Though not of multiculturalism.

nlrkjos wrote: »
    Various cultures in a society can exist on an equal footing once all are respected, religion,color,language,food and art can co-exist.

That's not multiculturalism.

A multi-ethnic society is not necessarily multiculturalism at play.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

If diversity is our strength then why are the vibrant, ethnic areas in Europan cities such utter ****holes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

If diversity is our strength then why are the vibrant, ethnic areas in Europan cities such utter ****holes?

Because "diversity is our strength" is another useless catchphrase from the EU as they try water down national identity, they don't give a fiddlers as long as they get their superstate... With plenty of cheap labour

Peter Sutherland wanted unlimited migration into Europe, yet lived in Kenningston.

Says it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Peter Sutherland wanted unlimited migration into Europe, yet lived in Kenningston.

Says it all.

The EU should "do its best to undermine" the "homogeneity" of its member states - Sutherland

We can see this with the EU trying to enforce migrant quotas on its members... Thoroughly disgusting organisation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I think multiculturalism is grand. I think most people are fairly ok with it, tbh. Away from the internet, most people are ok, full-stop. The internet seems to attract a lot of angry lads who are full of misery and don't see anything positive anywhere. Life's too short to obsess over stuff like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I think multiculturalism is grand. I think most people are fairly ok with it, tbh. Away from the internet, most people are ok, full-stop. The internet seems to attract a lot of angry lads who are full of misery and don't see anything positive anywhere. Life's too short to obsess over stuff like this.

It's fantastic if you are not fighting for houses school places and hospital beds

The ones who shout loudest for this have the money and will never have to deal with the fallout

Only pontificate to the ones at the coal face

NI is the quintessential multi cultural society where different cultures and faiths live beside each other in peace, harmony and mutual respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

When you're 33 or 43 and realising you can't afford a mortgage, ever increasing rents, due to to an endless influx of people keeping property at a premium you might not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and realise there is an endless supply of labor competing for your job and keeping wages suppressed you might not like it.

When you're 33 and realise you can't afford to have kids but you see all those 'minorities' around you with large families you might not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and notice that you're one of the only white faces in your neighbourhood and that your neighbours don't seem to like you very much you might not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and you notice that there is a significantly large proportion of the population that adheres to a very assertive, and aggressive religious belief and that they hold a serious amount of political power and change the laws to reflect that religious belief you might not like it so much.

When you're 33 or 43 and realise that your country is starting to resemble south Africa in terms of crime and violence you might not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and realise that the new majority population have regressed to their own cultural practices and did not (as you thought they would) become Liberal like you then you might not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and you notice that women's and lgbt rights have regressed completely because they do not reflect the majority opinion then you may not like it.

When you're 33 or 43 and notice that Pakistan is still majority Pakistani, Nigeria is still Majority Nigerian, China is still majority Chinese etc but Irish are a dwindling minority you might wake up and think.... Oh Sh1t

Think about the future

Yep couldn't put it any better myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Sand

The vast majority of people accept multiculturalism as a net positive lad.

You say that but no European politician dares hold a referendum on mass migration. Because as recently as 2017 55% of Europeans surveyed in 10 countries wanted a total ban on Muslim immigration.

Indigenous peoples can obviously have a far more negative view on the matter to the migrants who are arriving. Your talk of 'net positives' is obviously wrong, but its also deceptive. The costs of mass migration are borne by the indigenous people, with the benefits accruing to the migrants.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Don't forget lots more consumers because birth rates down across Europe. Doesn't matter what way it affects society. It's grand once we're selling our ****e to keep top dogs rich

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Don't forget lots more consumers because birth rates down across Europe. Doesn't matter what way it affects society. It's grand once we're selling our ****e to keep top dogs rich

Birth rates are up here as far as I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

I seriously don't give a toss about multiculturalism, race, populism, alt-right, left.. liberalism, Fach ism, loony left... Alcoholism, socialism...transgender ism

I S M

I self me

Im far too busy collecting sea weed and listening to the waves crashing against the shore, choking herrings, surfing and cleaning engines than to be worrying about society and all that bollix ology

What good does it do to be discussing all that sociology it rots the mind....

Tacklebox wrote: »
    I seriously don't give a toss about multiculturalism, race, populism, alt-right, left.. liberalism, Fach ism, loony left... Alcoholism, socialism...transgender ism

I S M

I self me

Im far too busy collecting sea weed and listening to the waves crashing against the shore, choking herrings, surfing and cleaning engines than to be worrying about society and all that bollix ology

What good does it do to be discussing all that sociology it rots the mind....

Yet here you are... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

ye it worked out well in tyrellstown and balbriggan, id a uncle that lived in birmingham since the late 60's . We went over to visit him 15 years ago and to say it was a culture shock was an understatement. Mosques, women wearing bin liners, all the blokes looking like taliban, He was the only white person left on his road ,all the rest were muslim, He was just waiting to get his pension so he could move back to Ireland. He said it was a lovely area when he first got there but as more and more starting moving into the area , the natives starting moving out. Thats not muticulturalism , its an invasion

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Birth rates are up here as far as I know.

They're below replacement level and have actually reached their lower rate ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

Reactionary types beware: Multiculturalism is defined as the spread of people and ideas.

I know you're already thinking about white genocide, catholic oppression and that liberal arts girl that rejected you for being rough around the edges. But hear me out, because im about to tell you why multiculturalism is good.

The one reason: It's the default state of humanity.

You ever wonder why those forgotten tribes like in the sentinel islands is rare and in many ways primitive? Because they are not like us. The rest of the world has managed to collectively cooperate. One guy comes up with a great idea and someone else from another country copies it and improves it. Thats multiculturalism.

I made this thread as a response to the obvious xenophobic hatemongering in other posts.

Like some scumbag throwing acid to a child's face, somehow implicates every immigrant and they should be put under a proverbial spotlight. Its tenuous logic at any point of view.

Right now I want you to imagine if Ireland became your insular and backwards utopia. Forget about the Wakanda syndrome (That if a nation somehow closes its borders and focuses on itself it will become advanced) and look at case studies. The empire Japan is the poster boy for the self-serving xenophobic nation state. And it was 200 years behind until it stopped the blockade then it entered modernity.

If Ireland had no multiculturalism (which includes the Catholic church) it would literally be a depressing backwater even moreso than it was for hundreds of years. Everything you ever owned, knew and f*cked is influenced by foreign people.

That doesn't mean genocide, asmuch as self-victimizing citizens in the top 10 quality of life in the world would have you think. It simply means acknowledging that Ireland and multiculturalism are deeply intertwined, even back to the building of 'native' structures (which were built by people that came from spain, scandinavia and france).

Ireland's golden days when it was all 'native' never existed. In fact, those days were among the most depressing and oppressive in history that the population never recovered. Blighted by a food that came from Peru.

At least you have stopped using Americanisms in every sentence like before. That's quite multicultural as well I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Norm Peterson

Multi culturalism would mean countries were distinct and different from each other and going to another country would be a somewhat unique experience.

What the opening post seems to want is homogenization which is a horrible thing that unfortunately will be difficult to stop.

if I want to experience East Asian culture I'll go to East Asia, if I want to experience Middle Eastern Culture I'll go to the middle east etc.etc.

A small amount of multiculturalism is OK, too much of it would be a terrible thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

I think multiculturalism is grand.

Yes, Pakistani men grooming and raping underage girls is just fine an dandy.
    I think most people are fairly ok with it, tbh. Away from the internet, most people are ok, full-stop. The internet seems to attract a lot of angry lads who are full of misery and don't see anything positive anywhere.

The Internet, you mean the place where people can freely express their thoughts and not have to worry about being vilified, fired or even violently assaulted just for stating the truth?
    Life's too short to obsess over stuff like this.

Life is too short to worry about your daughters or working-class girls being groomed and raped by Muslims in your hometown?

"Ah, sure, my daughter is being plied with drugs and alcohol with the intent of grooming her for sexual proposes, but I'll be dead in a few decades so be grand like."

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

You will notice almost nobody ever says a thing about Polish people who live here in their thousands.

Why? Because they are hard working, decent, productive members of society.

There are other cultures that people complain about but maybe, just maybe, that is because there is a problem with these specific cultures regarding values which are somewhat incompatible with most Irish people.

Oddly, their views are often most incompatible with extreme leftists like the OP but that wont stop him cheerleading for them at every opportunity. To quote Football Factory, 'Scooby Doo is less confused than you.'