If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hot take: Multiculturalism is good

1111213141517»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

and youve been to Malmo and witnessed the horror ?

oh wait .. did you read it on the internet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 A Bitter Pill

Have to go boys. A couple of thoughts for ye to mull over:

1. Isn't it strange how countries like Hungary and Poland don't have Islamic terror attacks?

2. Isn't it strange too how Peter Sutherland called for unlimited immigration into Europe, yet he himself lived in Kennsington? Why didn't he live in Stratford? Or Tower Hamlets?

and youve been to Malmo and witnessed the horror ?

oh wait .. did you read it on the internet?

The police felt it necessary to warn women not to go out a night due to the prevalence of gang rape? What sort of progress is this?

Seems like they are going backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

name any that you have personally witnessed

*warning*

my job has allowed me to live in 6 european major cities in the last 10 years so if you bull**** me .. Ill know

Nothing to worry about lads it's all grand. We have MonkeyTennis who's job allows him to stay in 6 European countries says it all OK.

And if you bull**** him he will know.

and those two areas are very famously lied about in right wing propaganda . I did warn you Id know if you were bull****tin me

Nothing to worry about lads it's all grand. We have MonkeyTennis who's jobs allows him to stay in 6 European countries says it all OK.

And if you bull**** him will know.

At least we now know the six areas he has been to are safe. That is reassuring.

Nothing to worry about lads it's all grand. We have MonkeyTennis who's job allows him to stay in 6 European countries says it all OK.

And if you bull**** him will know.

Well no.. thats not what I said but please go on ..

and those two areas are very famously lied about in right wing propaganda . I did warn you Id know if you were bull****tin me

If you want to live in a gettho by all means. Perhaps your daughter could move to a council estate in Rotherham?

At least we now know the six areas he has been to are safe. That is reassuring.

Stop the bull**** bitter pill. Monkey has us warned.

I feel bad for him honestly.

If you want to live in a gettho by all means. Perhaps your daughter could move to a council estate in Rotherham?

now you are just naming towns

Well no.. thats not what I said but please go on ..

It's exactly what you said.. You can go on but you're not the only one who can smell bull crap.

now you are just naming towns

I name them for a reason.

It's exactly what you said.. You can go on but you're not the only one who can smell bull crap.

Nope.. I said Id lived in 6 european cities in the last 10 years so if he was going to tell a few porkies there is a chance Id know.

He has now named 3 towns famously used by rightwing propaganda .. so Im going to put my finger in the air and guess he has no direct knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

sk8erboii wrote: »
    I get that you’re a rereg troll but thats not even what i said. You’re trying to pigeonhole multiculturalism as an event from the last 10 years. I get that. But its not. It’s something that has happened since humans began. Ireland is built on multiculturalism from the bell-beaker era, to the renaissance, to the victorian and its demographic continues to change.

I wouldn’t associate modern immigration with the previous movements of people into Ireland unless you want to make the point of the far right that immigration changes cultures irrevocably. Which isn’t an idea I agree with. Modern immigration isn’t the same as plantations.

Your history moved very fast there as well, from the beakers to more than a thousand years later, and then another few hundred years.

Nor is it clear what mass immigration happened in Ireland in the Victorian era (it was a time in fact of mass emigration as was the early 20C) and if by the Renaissance era you are referring to the Elizabethan and Ulstèr plantations you are actually arguing the point for the opposition. Those plantations did affect Ireland, did cause generational divisions, and along with Protestant and Anglo supremacism in Ireland did in fact change the culture, effectively eliminating ancient Gaelic culture and laws. Not a good argument.

Of course modern immigration isn’t the same as colonisation, despite what the right think, but the problem here on this thread isn’t immigration or multiculturalism but the limited intellectual ability of who is defending it. Despite your supposed history degree it doesn’t look to me that you know anything much about history; this may well be a problem with our education system, a system which has doubly failed you, first by not teaching you much at all and second by teaching you perhaps that you are smart when you aren’t. Everybody got prizes in your school, didn’t they?

There’s little intellect or learning here, but an unwarranted arrogance nevertheless, and who can blame you when you got that trophy for coming 15th in history class when you were twelve, coincidently the time when your writing style stagnated. Cringe.

So multiculturalism - good for the most part. It’s defenders - not so much.

Nope.. I said Id lived in 6 european cities in the last in the last 10 years so if he was going to tell a few porkies there is a chance Id know.

He has now named 3 towns famously used by rightwing propaganda .. so Im going to put my finger in the air and guess he has no direct knowledge.

You can put your finger up your ass for all I care.

He named 3 towns you can't dispute so call it right wing propaganda. You living in 6 different European cities doesn't mean squat...

So you dont think me having experience of living across Europe allows me to comment on living in Europe ?

Good lad.

So you dont think me having experience of living across Europe allows me to comment on living in Europe ?

Good lad.

I think your experience of living in major cities throughout Europe due to work commitments would be totally different to those locals living near the ghettos.

So no I don't think your experience would be fair comment.

Good lad yourself.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Ah thanks for the concise answer. So immigrants aren’t to blame, as you say. But whoever set up the banking system is.
    Identifying the root cause of an issue is important, but the problems caused by the mass importation of foreigners remains a problem.

Without them, there would be no housing crisis for starters, plus many of the other issues discussed to death here would also not be occurring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Muslims feel rejected by Kilkenny

"Plans for a mosque and Islamic cultural centre in Kilkenny city have been rejected by An Board Pleanala.

Kilkennt city council had originally granted planning permission for a two story mosque with a dome, halal cafe, a community centre, two guest apartments, two 4 bedroom houses, classrooms, a shop and a mortuary.

But 40 objections were lodged against the mosque plans with many raising concerns about traffic congestion.

However members of the Muslim community feel that traffic congestion has been used as a smokescreen after many celebratory comments were made on the Kilenny Islamic centres Facebook page."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

If we have multiple cultures in Ireland we will need multiple courts to deal with the different laws and courts for each culture, dedicated schools for the different cultures and if you think dividing a country like this with different cultural identities working to different goals is a benefit to a country I couldn't disagree more.
    The culture of Ireland is that of a Western European culture, we have people of different ethnicities and religious beliefs who come here, which is great but we don't have a Multi-Culture society, we have a western European society into which people move and assimilate where they are free to keep their own identities and customs as long as they don't go against the laws of this Western European Culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod: OP opened this thread seemingly on a wind up and it backfired a long time ago.

Closing it as quite frankly, I can't think of a reason to leave it open.