30 something people still partying all night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

The red chequered shirt with the sleeves rolled up, the bootcut jeans with the skinny brown shoes, the sweaty hair with red swelled face listening to Philemona Begley on the way to some Nightclub. Dancing and grinding against some young one who tells him to stop.

We all know a clown like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

The bootcut jeans in that image look perfectly fine! Better than or pretty much the same as other jeans on the same image.

Redfaced culchie confirmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Lots of people go on nights out to meet potential sex partners, rather than to socialise. By your late thirties you're less likely to be single, and more likely to use different channels for that if you are.

Also you're more likely to have responsibilities that require a clear head in the morning.

Also nights out can seem like adventures when you're younger. By your late thirties you probably know what your doing a bit more and that sense of adventure is no longer there.

Since I'm married I'm not on the lookout for potential sex partners anymore. I'm weird like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

What about those long and pointy “going out” shoes fellas wear?

Often some sort of crocodile or snake skin design

Where the hell did they come from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Andrew00 wrote: »
    The red chequered shirt with the sleeves rolled up, the bootcut jeans with the skinny brown shoes, the sweaty hair with red swelled face..

Given the choice, i'd much prefer to hang out with someone who has the confidence to wear whatever they feel comfortable in and doesn't feel the need to sneer and snigger at others or put them down for their own personal choices and appearance in some pathetic attempt to make themselves feel better.

I've known plenty of clowns like these and I avoid them like the plague.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Rennaws wrote: »
    I’m 45 and 4 years off the booze this month.

I partied like an 18 year old up to 41.

Something just switched in my head and I stopped.

I don’t miss it at all now but I wouldn’t change a second of it either..

They were fun times

You grow into it or out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

For me it's mad to see my group of friends diverge on this issue in our 30s.
    A third are going down the marriage, kids and never going out route; a third are going down the regular 2-3 day raves and drug fuelled rollovers in places like Berlin and the Dam; me and my closer friends are happy just hit the local until 12 or 1 with the occasional later night or weekend away on the sesh.

I can't say I miss nightclubs, or even town. All that late teens and early 20s partying was great because you had a huge peer group, you knew through college or whatever, doing the same thing. Without that there's much less appeal to noisy, uncomfortable, expensive nights out that write off the rest of the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

I think the footwear fashion issue many are describing is known as the "Tommy Schlug"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

What about those long and pointy “going out” shoes fellas wear?

Often some sort of crocodile or snake skin design

Where the hell did they come from

Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Shes a single mother. Yeah she was a dickhead and i judged her so bad. She was chewing the face off herself and trying to tell me 'i put da kids first'

I'm only 20 so have a long way to go to the end of my partying days. Last night was a good one. My boyfriend ran a bring your own beer techno event in a local venue. 150 people.. Got home at 9 this morning and debating calling in sick tomorrow :v

Make the most of your partying days. A lot of my friends dropped off the partying circuit at 22/23 when they found their partners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I remember seeing our dear friend Aongus Von Bismarck ridiculing Irish men who wear bootcut jeans.

Aonghus is many things - but never what you might call a man's man. His musings on dress are strictly for entertainment purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Andrew00 wrote: »
    The red chequered shirt with the sleeves rolled up, the bootcut jeans with the skinny brown shoes, the sweaty hair with red swelled face listening to Philemona Begley on the way to some Nightclub. Dancing and grinding against some young one who tells him to stop.

I don't know "a clown like that". Sounds like some kind of archetypal meme just made up. Just like that other guy was explaining about the "bootcut jeans" except more detailed, that's really pathetic. Your description sounds eerily similiar to what that guy Emmet said as if it's some kind of known stereotype or possibly an alt account.

Not only clothing, also you're talking about sweaty hair and red swelled face which lots of people suffer from (not me, though I have a bit of rosacea coming along)... seems below the belt to me.

I notice also your account is only a bit over two months old. An improvement from two days old like that guy Emmet I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭BobMc

Ohh christ age does take its toll, at my peak sessions where long, 7pm till 7am, kip and probably back on the lash that night.

Mid 40's now, last session around christmas, small gig, acoustic session, nice few scoops, puked my ring that night
    and got the DT's 3pm the following day, not my proudest day, I'll leave the more sordid details out about the state I was in

but... if you can manage it, go for it, you only live once !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Take a look at DJ&S (@JeansAndSheux): https://twitter.com/JeansAndSheux?s=09

Pertinent to this thread. Seems to be plenty of scene members on here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

P.Walnuts wrote: »

Fùckin hell, there's people actually walking around dressed like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Fùckin hell, there's people actually walking around dressed like that.

They walk among us, usually found in the local gastro clasping a pint of Peroni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭Feisar

BobMc wrote: »
    Ohh christ age does take its toll, at my peak sessions where long, 7pm till 7am, kip and probably back on the lash that night.

Mid 40's now, last session around christmas, small gig, acoustic session, nice few scoops, puked my ring that night
    and got the DT's 3pm the following day, not my proudest day, I'll leave the more sordid details out about the state I was in

but... if you can manage it, go for it, you only live once !!

Mid thirties myself and have calmed down the past couple of years. They say youth is wasted on the young, I made sure it wasn't!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭vetinari

Definitely noticed that the nights out are becoming more infrequent in my mid thirties.
    Having kids changes a lot. Most events are now during the daytime.

Proper nights out are usually centered around an event (stag party, christmas party, big group meetup)
    Just meeting up to go to the pub for a big session without a reason has mostly gone.

Btw, I'd like to say this thread has been one of the most interesting to read on After Hours in a long while.
    A true real life after hours style conversation you'd have with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

I don't know "a clown like that". Sounds like some kind of archetypal meme just made up. Just like that other guy was explaining about the "bootcut jeans" except more detailed, that's really pathetic. Your description sounds eerily similiar to what that guy Emmet said as if it's some kind of known stereotype or possibly an alt account.

Not only clothing, also you're talking about sweaty hair and red swelled face which lots of people suffer from (not me, though I have a bit of rosacea coming along)... seems below the belt to me.

I notice also your account is only a bit over two months old. An improvement from two days old like that guy Emmet I suppose.

Stop crying and whinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

in here I don't really have the type of friends who'd stay up to 5/6 am for a night out. I do back home.
    but I would have a nap before going out, leaving home after 11pm; in that case 6/7 hours of chats/dance/games (little or no alcohol involved in my case) is doable with 30 something...(also 40s/50s), as long as right company is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I just turned 34 and have lived abroad for 5 months. Back in Ireland I'm in a nightclub or a late bar extremely rarely and although I'd be out for a few pints most weekends, it rarely goes past 1:30 or 2am.

Here, bars stay open til all hours and getting home at 5am is a regular enough occurance. But Christ, the hangovers go on for days. I'm not able for it the way I was when I was in my 20s, but I still enjoy the night out. When the tradeoff gets to the stage where it isn't worth it, I'll pare it back. Might be pretty soon, too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

There's a few lads in here getting very wound up about other people's clothing choices. I could hardly tell you what kind of jeans I'm wearing at any given time never mind what kind someone else is.

I'm usually just happy that i remembered to put on pants before leaving the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Make the most of your partying days. A lot of my friends dropped off the partying circuit at 22/23 when they found their partners.

dry $hites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭vetinari

I see a lot of people mentioning the hangover aspect. Are there others in my boat? For me it's more about the endurance aspect.
    Any bad hangover I get will be mostly gone in a day. On a late night though, I run the risk of either getting too drunk or getting too sleepy.
    If I'm out from say 9pm to 4am, I'll probably have started nodding off around 1am and be hoping I'll get a second wind.

Seems like a trade off, I can't last the pace but won't have as bad a hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Rennaws wrote: »
    Given the choice, i'd much prefer to hang out with someone who has the confidence to wear whatever they feel comfortable in and doesn't feel the need to sneer and snigger at others or put them down for their own personal choices and appearance in some pathetic attempt to make themselves feel better.

I've known plenty of clowns like these and I avoid them like the plague.

I'd be the same. Far too many insecure judgemental picks in the world looking for the opportunity to cut others down.

Live and let live I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

How common is it for 30 something men and women to still hit the town hard, going from pub to pub and ending on the dancefloor of a nightclub until 3am? I know its a broad question and probably applies more to single people but I was surprised at the amount of 35-40 year olds who still consider a hard night of drinking and dancing as their ideal night out. I stopped going to nightclubs after 25, I felt too old and for me, a nice night out is a few drinks in the one pub for some decent chat and home before 12 or 1.

Has anyone else experienced people in this age bracket partying just as hard as when they were younger?

I'm swigging away at a bottle of rum waiting on my plane back to Dublin and my diet this week was mainly cocaine, I think I had burger king on Wednesday or Thursday but I might of just dreamt that. Fukkit, I'm only late 30s and was on a busmans holiday in England no harm in living a little

Only reason for starting and staying out really late is clubbing or trying to meet someone.. If it's just beers, I love starting during the day and getting home early. Say 9.

Later, I'll be meeting a friend at 4.15 and another few will be along around 5. A good session and easy to go to work tomorrow.

Purely in my opinion, the aim shouldn't be to continue partying like a 19 year old until you are 50. The aim should be to acknowledge at as young an age as possible that a person's drinking/partying "career" should be tapering off by age 24 and to enjoy yourself to the max before that point. Drinking aged 25 and older will very rarely be as fun as it was in the years before then, when you and all your secondary school/college buddies were at the same stage of life, roughly on the same wavelength, the "future" far into the distance and still to unfold, the hangovers more tolerable, most of your friends out and willing to get drunk etc. If you are ok with the thought, from a young age, that your "drinking" drinking career has an early shelf-life, you won't feel let down when you get to 26, 27 and notice that only one or two people out of your friends group still are up for going on mad nights out, or that you feel old in the nightclub now while throngs of 18 and 19 year olds fill the place, living the best days of *their* lives. Like even if you only drank/partied heavily from age 17 to 23 inclusive, that's 7 whole years of "good" partying years where you don't have to pretend to yourself it's still as fun as it used to be. Short and sweet and then the occasional blow out for a stag/work christmas party is the best policy I think.

The aim should be to acknowledge at as young an age as possible that a person's drinking/partying "career" should be tapering off by age 24...

a bit extreme there. I was only revving up the engines at 24!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Purely in my opinion, the aim shouldn't be to continue partying like a 19 year old until you are 50. The aim should be to acknowledge at as young an age as possible that a person's drinking/partying "career" should be tapering off by age 24 and to enjoy yourself to the max before that point. Drinking aged 25 and older will very rarely be as fun as it was in the years before then, when you and all your secondary school/college buddies were at the same stage of life, roughly on the same wavelength, the "future" far into the distance and still to unfold, the hangovers more tolerable, most of your friends out and willing to get drunk etc. If you are ok with the thought, from a young age, that your "drinking" drinking career has an early shelf-life, you won't feel let down when you get to 26, 27 and notice that only one or two people out of your friends group still are up for going on mad nights out, or that you feel old in the nightclub now while throngs of 18 and 19 year olds fill the place, living the best days of *their* lives. Like even if you only drank/partied heavily from age 17 to 23 inclusive, that's 7 whole years of "good" partying years where you don't have to pretend to yourself it's still as fun as it used to be. Short and sweet and then the occasional blow out for a stag/work christmas party is the best policy I think.

God, that is grim.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis