Used BMW i3 experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,959 ✭✭✭Patser

So if you keep turning it on and off you never run out if range#!!

We've achieved perpetual motion lads.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Patser wrote: »

My local curry shop has been supplying that for years now.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,405 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Self charging...

Lads it's easier to just get more familiar with charge % rather than the GOM because the GOM can't predict the future and can't account for hills, sudden acceleration and increased speeds, it takes time to adjust and then gives a prediction based then on that bit of driving and if you slow down etc , go down hill it will go back up again. The charge % is much more reliable or the Kwh/100 Km.

GOMs work best with the same continuous conditions, I found the Leaf 24 2015 model to be pretty good.

On a warm day in the Leaf 24 new, I could get 140 Kms off the Motorway the same as I can get 230 Kms in the i3 94Ah.

The 120 Ah i3 appears if it could do 220 kms at 100-110 Km/h and 250-280 with the same conditions I get 230 Kms in the 94 Ah Kms.

One of the benefits of the Rex is that it allows you to drive it to a much lower SOC than you'd normally drive a BEV.

Could I live with the 40 Kwh i3 ? I'm not so sure to be honest given the current infrastructure, perhaps if it could charge at 100 kw and there were a lot more chargers then yes, I could see myself easily living with 40 Kwh.

I would imagine that BMW will announce that there is a 50-54 Kwh i3 coming for 2020 but they need to try harder and go with 60 Kwh and faster charging that would be something but highly unlikely. Truth be told there won't be another battery upgrade until the next generation whenever that will be considering it was to be scrapped in 2020 and now it's not so they are probably way behind in updating it.

This is the 120 Ah i3 after full charge from work in Eco Pro+ first time to see anything like that on the GOM ! :-)

You can see the different driving modes in each pic.

T8AeTA3.jpg?1

3Lf79qr.jpg?1

IgCSAjK.jpg?1

Got home from work and the GOM showed this

xEIqNYw.jpg?1

Good figures there from the 120ah version!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,766 ✭✭✭✭unkel

351km if you drive it like a Leaf :p

Is that figure realistic though? I guess it probably is.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

unkel wrote: »
    351km if you drive it like a Leaf :p

Is that figure realistic though? I guess it probably is.

351 ? I'm not so sure, I would say 280 would be possible under the same conditions as I can get 230 in the i3 94 Ah and this GOM readings above is using heater too so in warm weather it could be possible to get 300 Km out of it off the motorway urban driving 60-80-100 and so on or lots of back road driving for country folk like me.

It's leaps beyond my old 24 Kwh leaf for sure ! :D

This 120 Ah I sadly have to give up soon might also have the heat pump which is good for +5 degrees C and above, below 5 degrees and lower they are useless. So suits our climate pretty well.

The Apple car play is brilliant, the HK stereo sounds better for some reason and the LED high beams would probably permanently blind oncoming drivers , I have never seen headlights so bright !

The i3 Got small improvements that made it even better , if I could only get the S for a few days !

The Apple car play is brilliant

I refuse to plug in my phone. I haven't had to plug in my phone for charging in many years. The current version of Android (not on my phone yet) supports Android Auto wirelessly

Maybe that feature will come to an iPhone in 2022 / 2023? :p

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

I refuse to plug in my phone. I haven't had to plug in my phone for charging in many years. The current version of Android (not on my phone yet) supports Android Auto wirelessly

? Course it works wirelessly

Very quick wash.
    Power hose.
    Wash not rub down and a quick spray of quick detailer.

I want to de-iron, de-tar and clay over the coming weeks but knowing I won’t get to it for a month or so I just wanted to freshen up the exterior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭eagerv

Likewise. I hate plugging in phone, especially with wireless charging in many cars.

My Android phone supports wireless Android Auto, but unfortunately my car does not appear to.
    Do many cars yet support it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Did the op buy an i3. He had concerns about running costs. The depreciation Figures I have heard here, from bmw dealers after six to 18 months is jaw dropping!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Did the op buy an i3. He had concerns about running costs. The depreciation Figures I have heard here, from bmw dealers after six to 18 months is jaw dropping!

Think he is still waiting on that bus as he hasn’t posted in over 2 weeks.

Beauty looking yoke KCeire, and almost a pity to lose those plates - the yellow reg looks great against the black, and the front one matches the wheels.

I’m more annoyed with having to put discs in the front windscreen. The UK system is great. Clear window.

kceire wrote: »
    I’m more annoyed with having to put discs in the front windscreen. The UK system is great. Clear window.

Top left corner, in where it's well tinted, that way its completely out of sight to you inside and only visible from outside to those who get close to look - as in Gardai at checkpoint, I'd no issue going through. But effectively invisible

Below is a pic of the 120 Ah i3 after getting back to the garage, 145 Kms and GOM says 146 Km left in Eco Pro and 170 Km Eco Pro +.

When I got to 50% I had 125 Kms which would suggest 250 Km should be achievable if you assume another 125 Km from the rest of the 50% and pretty much the same driving style and conditions.

280 Km I would say is quite possible in warm weather at up to 100 Km/h.

I drove back to the garage at 110 Km/h with some 120 Km/h stints from M9 Carlow to M7 roadworks and then 60-80 through that and then 100 on N7 with some 110 Km/h.

8aPCmvI.jpg?1

Oh and my i3 (94 Ah ) has more weight in the steering which I prefer , I knew there was a difference , probably because there is the S now they probably want to make the normal i3, well, more normal but it's still fun on back roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭dloob

I know it's the used thread but someone has to take to depreciation hit for ye.

474591.jpg

Pretty impressed with the charge rate on rapid chargers, really high 40s like 48kw+ up to 85% and still remains pretty fast for another few percent.
    Goes at about 2% a minute below 85%.

I can confirm BMWs version of CarPlay is wireless but it's still a 200 euro optional extra in 2019!

My 2022 future self thanks you too

Edit: why are you posting in Used BMW i3 thread, is there not a brand spanking new thread

dloob wrote: »
    I know it's the used thread but someone has to take to depreciation hit for ye.

Pretty impressed with the charge rate on rapid chargers, really high 40s like 48kw+ up to 85% and still remains pretty fast for another few percent.
    Goes at about 2% a minute below 85%.

I can confirm BMWs version of CarPlay is wireless but it's still a 200 euro optional extra in 2019!

New LCI ones are lovely, I love the redesigned 20" wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Very nice. Did you get the plus package?

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Very nice. Did you get the plus package?

No the plus package has black alloys which I’m not a fan of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Waitin4thebus

Ha...lurking when i get a chance..work hectic last while. V. Close to a decision and tempted by the 120ah battery tho

Mad Lad gave a good review of the 120ah recently.
    Also, the guy I bought my 94ah from in London, just collected his 120ah S version..

The cold weather is a real range killer.
    I left the Shannon rapid charger yesterday with the temperature around 1 degree and a heavy rain snow mix with 90% battery and a gom of only 172km.
    80 km later in Galway there was low 60s left. But that was with the heating at 22c (23 for a while) and 120kph on the motorway.

Try to focus more on battery % not Gom and kwh/100 Km.

for instance if you get 80 Kms on the first 50% you could expect another 80 for the remaining 50% if conditions, driving style, terrain etc are roughly the same except that you would probably want to be very close to a charger for the remaining 20% so that has to be factored in too.

Another decent length run in cold (3c) and very wet condition this evening.
    Started with 81.5%, finished with 27% after 97.9km driving in normal mode.
    Consumption was 20.8kwh/100km.
    Looks like at 100% in those conditions the 120Ah i3s is good for 180km.

120km/h GPS speed?