TV on the fireplace above the mantlepiece

• 28-02-2019 06:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

Why?

Is it not like being in a pub watching tv? You have to look up all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,915 ✭✭✭Nollog

You at my parents house op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

OU812 wrote: »
    Why?

Is it not like being in a pub watching tv? You have to look up all the time.

That would annoy me too. Your neck would be wrecked after a few hours.

Also, I'd be afraid of the day it ends up on the floor. Mate of mine had a big mirror over the fireplace at one point. Was grand for ages and one night he came in and it was in pieces all over the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Its the best place for my 65" though.

It was either that or a mirror, fcuk mirrors! I dont need a reminder of how fugly I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I was in a house recently where the tv was off center above the fire place.
    My ocd could not cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Nothing like making life easier for the TV licence inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,043 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Your tv won't last 12 months

EVENFLOW

Mine have lasted 89 months there so far.....although its probably because the fire is lit about 15 times a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hate that too.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Good point. I can't imagine that heat and smoke will do your TV much good over the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

But isn’t that the spot where you put the only mirror in the house alongside the graduation photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Theres nothing above my mantlepiece.

Corner tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No room with himself there.

picture-of-christ-with-light-2823-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    No room with himself there.

picture-of-christ-with-light-2823-1.jpg

Bull****. Jesus wasn’t a white boi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Personally that's a no for me, I know a few people having it like that and it's not for me, I don't find it comfortable. I have artwork on it instead and the TV is on a TV unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

fxotoole wrote: »
    Bull****. Jesus wasn’t a white boi.

I have one of herself too:

Our-Lady-of-Joy-in-frame.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Ah here where does the stuffed rhino s head go then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Above the tv, DUH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭dermiek

Sitting on the couch watching TV :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Who needs a fireplace ,
    I ripped mine out and plastered it up so I can have my tv mounted nice and low on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,293 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't hate the idea but I don't love it either.
    I'd feel the se about people who have there TV on a very low unit that you have to stare down at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

XsApollo wrote: »
    Who needs a fireplace ,
    I ripped mine out and plastered it up so I can have my tv mounted nice and low on the wall.

That’s the dream.

I’d do the same if she let me.

Have lit the fire once all winter, but apparently it’s the “focal point of the room”. Yeah, that was before people had 40”+ TVs love...

She’s not having any of it, in the meantime I had to settle for just a 55” and it’s shoved in the effin’ corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,293 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

That’s the dream.

Have lit the fire once all winter, but apparently it’s the “focal point of the room”. Yeah, that was before people had 40”+ TVs love...

She’s not having any of it, in the meantime I had to settle for just a 55” and it’s shoved in the effin’ corner.

Buy her a voucher for the spa or shopping and do it when she's out and just say it was a mis communication!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

better viewing angle having the tv higher IMO. Though complying with the fire regs was a pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,684 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Mines there . It's perfect.

But then again my sitting room is huge so there is no neck craining to look up at it.

Anyone who has anything above their mantlepiece that isn't a mirror* is a dangerous lunatic and should be arrested.

*Ideally a wedding gift, if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭kenmc

That’s the dream.

Best of both worlds. Tv AND fire https://youtu.be/ZY3J3Y_OU0w

better viewing angle having the tv higher IMO. Though complying with the fire regs was a pain

The higher up the wall it is, means you get a better upskirt angle wen de wimmins is on da tv screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I installed a huge telly first and then built the fecking house around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Good point. I can't imagine that heat and smoke will do your TV much good over the long run.

It’s on the outside of the chimney not inside.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

People tent to mount flat screen TVs far too high. When sitting down the center of the screen should align with your eyes when you are looking straight ahead, if not you are either looking up or down. This is why over the fireplace is too high. This is apart from the fact that the heat of the fire is not good for the TV.