Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV on the fireplace above the mantlepiece

• 28-02-2019 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

Why?

Is it not like being in a pub watching tv? You have to look up all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭Nollog

You at my parents house op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

OU812 wrote: »
    Why?

Is it not like being in a pub watching tv? You have to look up all the time.

That would annoy me too. Your neck would be wrecked after a few hours.

Also, I'd be afraid of the day it ends up on the floor. Mate of mine had a big mirror over the fireplace at one point. Was grand for ages and one night he came in and it was in pieces all over the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Its the best place for my 65" though.

It was either that or a mirror, fcuk mirrors! I dont need a reminder of how fugly I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I was in a house recently where the tv was off center above the fire place.
    My ocd could not cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Nothing like making life easier for the TV licence inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Your tv won't last 12 months

EVENFLOW

Mine have lasted 89 months there so far.....although its probably because the fire is lit about 15 times a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hate that too.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Good point. I can't imagine that heat and smoke will do your TV much good over the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

But isn’t that the spot where you put the only mirror in the house alongside the graduation photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Theres nothing above my mantlepiece.

Corner tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No room with himself there.

picture-of-christ-with-light-2823-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    No room with himself there.

picture-of-christ-with-light-2823-1.jpg

Bull****. Jesus wasn’t a white boi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Personally that's a no for me, I know a few people having it like that and it's not for me, I don't find it comfortable. I have artwork on it instead and the TV is on a TV unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

fxotoole wrote: »
    Bull****. Jesus wasn’t a white boi.

I have one of herself too:

Our-Lady-of-Joy-in-frame.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Ah here where does the stuffed rhino s head go then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Above the tv, DUH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭dermiek

Sitting on the couch watching TV :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Who needs a fireplace ,
    I ripped mine out and plastered it up so I can have my tv mounted nice and low on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,514 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't hate the idea but I don't love it either.
    I'd feel the se about people who have there TV on a very low unit that you have to stare down at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

XsApollo wrote: »
    Who needs a fireplace ,
    I ripped mine out and plastered it up so I can have my tv mounted nice and low on the wall.

That’s the dream.

I’d do the same if she let me.

Have lit the fire once all winter, but apparently it’s the “focal point of the room”. Yeah, that was before people had 40”+ TVs love...

She’s not having any of it, in the meantime I had to settle for just a 55” and it’s shoved in the effin’ corner.

That’s the dream.

Have lit the fire once all winter, but apparently it’s the “focal point of the room”. Yeah, that was before people had 40”+ TVs love...

She’s not having any of it, in the meantime I had to settle for just a 55” and it’s shoved in the effin’ corner.

Buy her a voucher for the spa or shopping and do it when she's out and just say it was a mis communication!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

better viewing angle having the tv higher IMO. Though complying with the fire regs was a pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Mines there . It's perfect.

But then again my sitting room is huge so there is no neck craining to look up at it.

Anyone who has anything above their mantlepiece that isn't a mirror* is a dangerous lunatic and should be arrested.

*Ideally a wedding gift, if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

That’s the dream.

Best of both worlds. Tv AND fire https://youtu.be/ZY3J3Y_OU0w

better viewing angle having the tv higher IMO. Though complying with the fire regs was a pain

The higher up the wall it is, means you get a better upskirt angle wen de wimmins is on da tv screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I installed a huge telly first and then built the fecking house around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Good point. I can't imagine that heat and smoke will do your TV much good over the long run.

It’s on the outside of the chimney not inside.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

People tent to mount flat screen TVs far too high. When sitting down the center of the screen should align with your eyes when you are looking straight ahead, if not you are either looking up or down. This is why over the fireplace is too high. This is apart from the fact that the heat of the fire is not good for the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

^^^exactly. When sitting down, your eye level is horizontal with the middle of the tv. Tv over the fireplace would not be for me, and if done wrong with cables everywhere it looks even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I'd imagine your attention would be drawn towards the fireplace from time to time too.

Especially if you're watching the Late Late Show.

I'd imagine your attention would be drawn towards the fireplace from time to time too.

Especially if you're watching the Late Late Show.

Well at least the fire place would be in some way interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Genuine question though from the non-Irish: what's the craic with mirrors over the mantle piece? What am I not getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

No, and unless it's an OLED TV the viewing angle would be negatively effected by the backlight bleeding into the picture.

Massive TV in sitting room, no fireplace. Furnace in shed to heat house and water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I was in a house once that had no TV and all the furniture was pointed at the corner beside the windowm What they all looked at I have no idea. Perhaps they were a family that read books and talked to one another. Weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

No

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    if done wrong with cables everywhere it looks even worse.

Exactly I hate seeing any cables!!
    People spend obscene money on TV that can provide them with a fantastic minimalist look where a crisp image appears on a super thin pane of glass. They then ruin this look will a ball of ugly cabling along with a guntered in digibox (thanks to a Sky “engineer” on minimum wage) and the most hideous over priced bracket that ensures the TV is at any angle except level :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've noticed this in a lot of "modern" Irish houses. The design of the houses is just so bad that there is not much alternative. Long narrow living room, with a window taking up one end, a set of doors leading to the kitchen taking up the other end and a fireplace bang in the middle.

You couldn't design a worse layout if you tried.

jester77 wrote: »
    I've noticed this in a lot of "modern" Irish houses. The design of the houses is just so bad that there is not much alternative. Long narrow living room, with a window taking up one end, a set of doors leading to the kitchen taking up the other end and a fireplace bang in the middle.

You couldn't design a worse layout if you tried.

If your referring to a Dermot Bannon style house. The TV on the wall is a big no no with him.
    he likes to put it in a awkward corner in the living room on a low unit. in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If your referring to a Detmot Bannon style house. The TV on the wall is a big no no with him.
    he likes to put it in a awkward corner in the living room on a low unit. in general.

Never heard of him, but I've also seen this layout as well. You have the couch in one corner and the TV diagonally opposite. I have gone home with neck strain after visiting a few friends to watch a game.

jester77 wrote: »
    Never heard of him, but I've also seen this layout as well. You have the couch in one corner and the TV diagonally opposite. I have gone home with neck strain after visiting a few friends to watch a game.

I've seen modern living rooms and some of the couches don't even face the TV and those that do could have people sitting on a couch in front of them.

I'd be afraid the heat from the fireplace would wreck the tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭Feisar

We have ours bracketed to the wall over a tv unit, going to chase the wall to hide the cables to give a floating effect.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

And where am I supposed to put my 3 flying ducks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭Feisar

Regarding the traditional layout, yes it is terrible. A sitting room should facilitate a TV on the wall at one end of the room.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Sorry, Big TV on the wall is the indoor version of the big white eagle on the gatepost .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Best use of floor space is to have it wall mounted.

Sorry, Big TV on the wall is the indoor version of the big white eagle on the gatepost .

Depends on how it is done. What is the point in having a wafer thin TV and the installing it a 45 degrees in the corner? It may as well be an old style “boxy” TV.

I think a flat screen TV looks best mounted as close to the wall as possible at a sensible (low) height to prevent neck strain. No cabling, satellite box, streaming devices, amps etc should be visible anywhere near the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭larchielads

Well at least the fire place would be in some way interesting!

Ye don't look at the mantle piece when your polkin the fire:D