Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

This is almost certainly him.
    It says on his Facebook Bio that he repairs PCs

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligochampion/news/computer-repair-man-had-a-stolen-laptop-27585323.html

Fine was excessive. 3.3% of stock was stolen.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,981 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This is a truly amazing thread.

It just shows how much of an impact travellers have on the community despite their relatively small size as a percentage of the population.

Unfortunately much of that impact is negative, and people quite understandably feel quite upset about it.

There's also an overwhelmingly negative sentiment towards Margaret Cash and others who choose to sponge off society (the rest of us).

It has to be acknowledged that despite all this not all Travellers are bad eggs. It seems that quite a few are however, that they cause a lot of friction, crime and upset wherever they go, and that the good ones don't bother to reign in the bad.

I suspect the thread will go on and on..........unless Peter Casey wins an election of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I’ve heard it said that Travellers don’t want their children receiving a full education because an educated Travellers might turn their back on their culture.
    Their daughters are usually married by 16 too. Hardly going to do a Leaving Cert exam then. They still insist on arranged marriages in many instances too. Women are held back and forbidden to mix with settled girls. I’ve seen a lot of this myself.

Backward culture.

Doesn't matter how backward, homophobic, mysogonist etc, your culture is, if you are an official minority, the left will defend what you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Dante7 wrote: »
    Just ask him about Traveller education. Education is key. He has benefited from education and is one of the travellers who is not involved in criminality or feuding. If all Travellers achieved at least leaving cert education most problems disappear.

Neither is John Connors but both are professional grievance mongers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is there pressure within traveller families to keep their kids away from education?

This is one of the major things which could change their lot in life. Surely some parents out there really want their kids to get an education and better themselves? There must be some.

I posted a story about one way back somewhere in a conversation with gormdubhgorm about one I knew many years ago from the local boxing club. After posting it, gormdubhgorm somehow went on to make out the whole thing was somehow my fault but anyway it goes something like this.

One day this "traveller" joins the boxing club. He was maybe 2-3 years older than me at the time. Came across a decent enough guy and certainly not the worst boxer I'd seen either.

As it turned out he'd actually been in the jail for breaking into and robbing a house. He'd been out with a while at that stage. The jail must have had some sort of an impact on him, and he decided he needed to do something about his life.

He'd started going to school to do an applied leaving cert. So between that and the boxing in the evenings his days were fairly full. The boxing also meant something to do most weekends with sparring/fighting etc.

All was going well until one day on his way back from college his own brothers no less, decided they didn't approve. The attacked him but he was well able for him and fended them off. His very own brothers.

Later that evening some gardaí called to his flat and told him they needed him for questioning. His own brothers reported him for assault. The gardaí who arrested him knew exactly what was going on and told him that he needed to be very careful.

By the time he'd gotten home his flat had been broken into and his books burned.

This was the early 00's. These days I still see him around town occasionally. Usually drunk. Travellers don't want to know him nor does anyone else. Disowned. Really really sad story. I've tried saying hello to him a few times but I don't think he recognises me anymore.

So anyway. That's my own personal experience of what happens when one wants to better themselves.

And people like gormdubhgorm and tranny named matilda will tell you that it's all the fault of settled people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,657 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I used to work with a guy a long time ago who was a settled traveller.
    Lovely bloke, he moved to Boston worked in bars etc (mainly to keep himself out of trouble in Ireland) and then came back to Dublin and married a non traveller, he pretty much had to cut contact off with his entire family they couldn't accept the fact he wanted to settle in a house as well as marry a non traveller, you could see it had a tough enough impact on him still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,856 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I’ve heard it said that Travellers don’t want their children receiving a full education because an educated Travellers might turn their back on their culture.
    Their daughters are usually married by 16 too. Hardly going to do a Leaving Cert exam then. They still insist on arranged marriages in many instances too. Women are held back and forbidden to mix with settled girls. I’ve seen a lot of this myself.

Backward culture.

Arranged marriages-while not ideal-are definitely better than that sinister/rapey "grabbing" ritual they've been known to engage in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭Quandary

I'm originally from a small town in Kerry and going back roughly about 10 years ago a local traveller girl started seeing a settled boy. She was a stunning looking girl, long blonde hair and very striking. Both were in their late teens. Her family threatened her constantly to stop seeing the lad but she continued.

After she ignored their warnings to stick to her own kind, they beat her badly and shaved her head.

Xenophobic animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Arranged marriages-while not ideal-are definitely better than that sinister/rapey "grabbing" ritual they've been known to engage in.

Selling women off like cattle is not better than anything, incredible to believe this is acceptable in a western european democracy in 2019

El_Bee wrote: »
    Selling women off like cattle is not better than anything, incredible to believe this is acceptable in a western european democracy in 2019

Ireland has a long history of arranged marriages, it's not exclusive to the travelling community.

Arranged marriages among my parents generation were pretty much the norm to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

padd b1975 wrote:
    Arranged marriages among my parents generation were pretty much the norm to be honest.

Really? My parents are in their 70's no arranged marriage, this also goes for all my aunt's/uncles. My grand parents and great grandparents same thing no arranged marriage. Never heard anyone male this claim before. What age are your parents?

Not sure about arranged marriages, but marriages of convenience were definitely encouraged within families, right up to my parents' generation.

My Dad's family gave the impression they were loaded, not knowing my Mums family were doing the same thing. Both married in a fit of excitement and then discovered either one had anything in the bank! Still had a long and happy marriage!

But certainly when you go further back in history, between the mid-18th century up until the Famine era, arranged marriages would have been far more explicit.

(it would have been fairly pointless in Penal times as there were very few Catholic estates, and even those Catholics rejected Gaelic norms by then)

Mid eighties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

You're right. If Travellers had third-level educations and good jobs, they wouldn't be heading back to the halting site to live in caravans and marry their cousins. They would very quickly become indistinguishable from settled people.

The only way Traveller culture can continue is if parents take their children out of school at an early age and get them married off to other Travellers before they develop notions about going to college or marrying a non-Traveller.

If some other closed, insular group were refusing to educate their children and marrying girls off to their cousins at 16, we'd call it a cult and call on the state to intervene. When Travellers do it, it's "culture" that must be protected at all costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Not sure about arranged marriages, but marriages of convenience were definitely encouraged within families, right up to my parents' generation.

My Dad's family gave the impression they were loaded, not knowing my Mums family were doing the same thing. Both married in a fit of excitement and then discovered either one had anything in the bank! Still had a long and happy marriage!

But certainly when you go further back in history, between the mid-18th century up until the Famine era, arranged marriages would have been far more explicit.

(it would have been fairly pointless in Penal times as there were very few Catholic estates, and even those Catholics rejected Gaelic norms by then)

Ugh, such a disingenuous debating tactic. Strawman and whataboutery all rolled up into one. Ok, let's go.

The pseudo arranged marriages that occurred in the past Ireland, that you referenced. Do you think that practice was ok?

padd b1975 wrote:
    Mid eighties.

My great grandfather died at the age of 96. Not an arranged marriage and as I said first time I heard the claim on hear. I can only assume your parents are from India tbh.

Dante7 wrote:
    Ugh, such a disingenuous debating tactic. Strawman and whataboutery all rolled up into one. Ok, let's go.

Unfortunately people quote what this person says and I see it. I have them on ignore, much better than way . Never argue with an idiot, lest onlookers can't tell the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

My great grandfather died at the age of 96. Not an arranged marriage and as I said first time I heard the claim on hear. I can only assume your parents are from India tbh.

In fairness, that's BS, there were plenty of young women forced to marry local widowers because they the widower had money and the family couldn't afford to feed the young girl.

My own granny married a man with 9 children after she was left widowed with 2 children purely because there was no such thing as social welfare back then so she hadn't many options.

On the other hand it doesn't make it right in anyone's eyes.

Just because it happened many years ago does not mean it should be still going on.

Dante7 wrote: »

The pseudo arranged marriages that occurred in the past Ireland, that you referenced. Do you think that practice was ok?
    Disingenuous, strawman, whataboutery?

Easy with the syllablic word-vomit my friend. I was responding to what I thought was an interesting point, raised by another poster, about the incidence of arranged marriage in Irish history.

Not attempting to defend the practice, who would? But it is undeniably a part of our history. I doubt there is any Irish person in this thread who, along the way, wasn't the product of a marriage of convenience in modern Irish history.

BBFAN wrote:
    In fairness, that's BS, there were plenty of young women forced to marry local widowers because they the widower had money and the family couldn't afford to feed the young girl.

Nothing got to do with BS, I have told my families experience. Not an arranged marriage in sight despite the claim by some it was the norm. However it was convenient to some many decades ago but even then people were not inclined to make a marriage between close blood relatives unlike our traveller friends. Doesn't make for healthy outcomes.

How far back in your family history have you researched? Consanguinity has always been fairly commonplace - especially because the word 'genetics' meant nothing to the vast majority of our ancestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

This is a truly amazing thread.

It just shows how much of an impact travellers have on the community despite their relatively small size as a percentage of the population.

Unfortunately much of that impact is negative, and people quite understandably feel quite upset about it.

There's also an overwhelmingly negative sentiment towards Margaret Cash and others who choose to sponge off society (the rest of us).

It has to be acknowledged that despite all this not all Travellers are bad eggs. It seems that quite a few are however, that they cause a lot of friction, crime and upset wherever they go, and that the good ones don't bother to reign in the bad.

I suspect the thread will go on and on..........unless Peter Casey wins an election of course.
    Peter Casey for taoiseach....NOW!

My grandparents were an arranged marriage here in rural Tipperary in 1920. She brought a dowry with her. Grandad had a small farm. Two of her sisters used their dowries to sail to America.

Peter Casey for taoiseach....NOW!

You make such intelligent posts I'm shocked that you don't have a huge fanbase.

So you go from claiming it never happened at all to claiming it never happened in your family?

Actually just looking back you accused the poster of being from India. Do you take that back now you've had at least 3 examples of arranged marriages that happened in Ireland?

If not, it's a disgusting remark to make. Actually, it's a disgusting remark to make either way.

My grandparents were an arranged marriage here in rural Tipperary in 1920. She brought a dowry with her. Grandad had a small farm. Two of her sisters used their dowries to sail to America.

Were your grandparents also first cousins?

BBFAN wrote:
    So you go from claiming it never happened at all to claiming it never happened in your family?

I never claimed it never happened, please don't tell lies it ruins the small bit of credibility you may have.

Actually I said I could only assume the posters grandparents were from India. Less of the misquotes please.

BBFAN wrote:
    If not, it's a disgusting remark to make. Actually, it's a disgusting remark to make either way.

Cool that your own lies have disgusted, stop telling lies and you'll feel better. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Disingenuous, strawman, whataboutery?

Easy with the syllablic word-vomit my friend. I was responding to what I thought was an interesting point, raised by another poster, about the incidence of arranged marriage in Irish history.

Not attempting to defend the practice, who would? But it is undeniably a part of our history. I doubt there is any Irish person in this thread who, along the way, wasn't the product of a marriage of convenience in modern Irish history.

Ok, so you agree that it was an unsavoury practice?