The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

Yep. The Miss Piggy Burger. Loved it. Probably be the kind of place that would be slated these days but I have warm memories of it.

Re the Ivory Tower, ate there only once. Was, for me, a challenging meal. I was younger and I think the surroundings slightly put me off the offal, I like a place that is serving offal and tartare etc to look spotless. But was still a very interesting meal. I will try the place in Killarney and look forward to it.

Brunch in 12 tables recently. Nice. Nothing spectacular but good coffee and good food.

Despite being slightly reserved about it for the price, have booked a return visit to Ichigoo Ichie shortly. Looking forward to it again now that it's matured a little. I was there in the first week previously.

Finally, had another super meal in Gallo and Galetti recently. Quick and easy. I do like it.

Gallo and Galetti is a great spot. Have gone there a lot in the last year as I am living nearby and the food and service is consistently good. They even treated us to a free meal when we arrived in with our newborn baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I tried Bocelli, new Italian on maylor street. Nice premises, outside and inside. Pasta was home-made, didn't care much for the sauce on it... Not great, not the worst, just odd. Chicken, mustard, vodka and chilli.

Ordered dessert because I love tiramisu, always looking for someplace that serves one as good as italee, but at night. This is not that place anyway. Surprise, it's a mint tiramisu. Was toothpaste-like, couldn't eat it.

Staff were very kind though, took it off the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

I also tried Bocelli lately and came to the same conclusion. Not terrible, not amazing. I had a lamb cutlet daily special, which had these awesome small roasted potatoes, but the meat was overcooked, and the sauce was pieces of red onion that was still crunchy, though burnt on the edges, with a splash of wine. Not sure I'd go back, there's too many places that are good to give mediocre a second chance.

Also went to Sakura recently and had the most awesome mushroom tempura. Gyoza were alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

The Fish basket by Long Strand Beach just outside Clonakilty is some of the best Fish and Chips I have had. They also do some nice brunch dishes til 12. It is going to be so busy this summer. Had to wait 20 mins for a table when I went midweek in Feb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Went to Gallaghers last evening for the first time, food was very good, steak with shrimp and fish n' chips. Had cheese board for starter nice enough but a little unimaginative 3 cheese's, grapes and crusty bread, smaller portions of cheese and a bit more of a selection would have been better. Desserts were fine too. Well presented food and very friendly service.Returning for sure but maybe on a quiet night as the place is fairly small...overall a very good experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭JackieChang

nlrkjos wrote: »
    Went to Gallaghers last evening for the first time, food was very good, steak with shrimp and fish n' chips. Had cheese board for starter nice enough but a little unimaginative 3 cheese's, grapes and crusty bread, smaller portions of cheese and a bit more of a selection would have been better. Desserts were fine too. Well presented food and very friendly service.Returning for sure but maybe on a quiet night as the place is fairly small...overall a very good experience.
    What's the atmosphere like? I've been reluctant to try the place as I don't want to be eating dinner with people skulling back pints beside me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

What's the atmosphere like? I've been reluctant to try the place as I don't want to be eating dinner with people skulling back pints beside me.
    Its 90% food, if not more and is setup as such, the amount of service staff is restaurant level, and the atmosphere is casual restaurant. people go there for the food, there are a few seats at the bar but half the time people are eating at those too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's not really a "normal" bar anymore. All food based.

We found it OK, nice crowd plenty of conversation...mostly about some comedian playing in the Palace.. (everyman) good mixture of young and younger. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Is it walk in or would you need to book?

About Italian restaurants in general, I've only been to one in my 33 years on this planet. My brain just refuses to pay €15 for a bit of pasta. Is it really worth it? Last and only pasta dish I had was in Gallo and Galleti. Nothing against the flavour, it was yummy, but I finished it in about 3 spoons and it cost €17 I think. I could have eaten another 5 portions. And I'm skinny.

A proper Italian has much more then pasta options.... decent portions, quality food and not overly expensive.

Many Irish Italian restaurants are unfortunately rip off republic style eateries.

roundymac wrote: »
    Is it walk in or would you need to book?

I think booking. We booked and saw a good few people turned away as walk ins...maybe just because of the show in the everyman, its handy for that short walk to theater...we always book anyway no matter what restaurant or night we go out.....it just saves the grief of walking around trying to choose, but then, I'm a lazy fecker !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

Where would ye recommend for a big bowl of Nachos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭pogsick

It was a while ago but Sober Lane used to do a massive one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Augeo wrote: »

Many Irish Italian restaurants are unfortunately rip off republic style eateries.

It's not exclusive to Italian ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

The woodford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I've heard Arthur Maynes do excellent nachos

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Cafe Mexicana - Dynamite Nachos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Went to oak fire pizza last night,
    (was heading to burnt, but no sign of a menu or price list put me off)
    the pizza was actually quite nice... And pretty good value (most of them were 13 euro)
    The place is pretty basic...grand, kind of suit teenagers, definitely not hip and cool..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Markcheese wrote: »
    Went to oak fire pizza last night,
    (was heading to burnt, but no sign of a menu or price list put me off)

Oh oh.
    Here we go again!!!!!:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I though oak fire pizza was fair. Base was very chewy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

where is the 'best' pizza in Cork City? Something that could compare to a good pie from NYC or even better Naples?

I take the kids on occasional Saturday road trips to La Jolie Brise in Baltimore to get what I think is one of the best pizzas in Ireland but would prefer a shorter drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

BailMeOut wrote: »
    where is the 'best' pizza in Cork City? Something that could compare to a good pie from NYC or even better Naples?

I take the kids on occasional Saturday road trips to La Jolie Brise in Baltimore to get what I think is one of the best pizzas in Ireland but would prefer a shorter drive.

La Tana on Barrack Street is the best pizza Iv ever had in Ireland. Run by Italians using Italian ingredients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

The pizza from pizza amore on Gilabbey Street is gorgeous - you can order it in the Abbey and they deliver it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

I haven't been (yet) but Toons Bridge Dairy is supposed to be very good for pizza. Think their only open weekends from mid March onwards for the summer. It's about 10mins from Macroom.
    Tie it in with a stroll thru The Gearagh or head to Gougane Barra and make a day of it.
    https://www.toonsbridgedairy.com/pages/dairy-shop-pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Prices and Menus - Don't mention the War!! :D

God damn I haven't had La Tana in about 6 years...will have to rectify that! Uncle Petes used to be quite good before but I know they've moved a bit and so might't be the same quality, plus I haven't eaten there in a while, previously I'd have had them top of the list though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Oh oh.
    Here we go again!!!!!:eek::eek::eek:

What? Did I miss something?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭whatever76

Novecentro ( McCurtain & Douglas St) - very basic sit down area but Pizza are top and worth dining in for https://www.novecento.ie/

OakFire Pizza's are nice but I prefer the base from Novecentro .. less doughy if you get me

Have not been to Burnt yet but sister went there recently and had not a good word to say - maybe she was there on on a bad night but I never heard her be so negative about a place ; pity as it looks nice from outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Mardyke

IMO Novecento is the best. Owned by a Neapolitan I believe.

I didn't fancy Toons Bridge. Too greasy and goopy (is that a word?) for my liking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

D'Agger wrote: »
    Prices and Menus - Don't mention the War!! :D

God damn I haven't had La Tana in about 6 years...will have to rectify that! Uncle Petes used to be quite good before but I know they've moved a bit and so might't be the same quality, plus I haven't eaten there in a while, previously I'd have had them top of the list though.

I eat at Uncle Pete's pretty frequently and I can't fault it for what it is, if you get me (and I'd definitely put it above a lot of the eating spots around Paul Street). I go there between work shifts so I want to be seated and fed quickly and well and I've never had a hitch, the service and the food is very good and very consistent for the price point, the location and how busy it is.

So I'm not badmouthing it at all but I wouldn't say the pizza is anything special, it's grand to good but not a patch on La Tana or Novocento.

For the poster who was looking for somewhere good in Cork city to bring the kids for pizza I will say (as someone who's always eaten there as a solo diner so bear that in mind) it seems very accommodating of families and friendly for kids and it's presumably very accessible if you're parking up in town, and again, the pizza is good enough, the rest of the menu as far as I've sampled is too.

Pretty much the opposite in terms of kids and accessibility but I vote for La Tana as best pizza in the city. Also anyone who agrees but has only had the pizza, for the love of god try the aroncini.