My cousin was forced to remove her Easter Lily in school as it was "inappropriate"

lbc2019 wrote: »
    Im opposed, damned damned opposed!

What are we protesting?

Bimbo’s Burgers switching to 100% meat-free sheite filled deep fried nappies.

It’s outrageous. Somebody should get the health inspector to pedal out on his bicycle to shout and wave his fist in the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Crock Rock

Only the Poppy should be accpeted in school.
    buried wrote: »
    Go on, what is it so? Don't say new world order Illuminati $hite now

The EU is a confederation of nations which is on the continent of Europe. You can be in Europe without being in the EU, Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Albania ..... all meet this description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Is anybody else not questioning the fact the schools are closed this week? What a load of shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Crock Rock wrote: »
    The EU is a confederation of nations which is on the continent of Europe. You can be in Europe without being in the EU, Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Albania ..... all meet this description.

So, whats the problem?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Is anybody else not questioning the fact the schools are closed this week? What a load of shíte.

Well in fairness they did.

Please read the thread before posting.

I never said it happened this week.
    kieran26 wrote: »
    Aren't schools off this week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

17 year old girl sucked into a load of nonsense over land noone really owns.

The future is bright.

EDIT- should have said brainwashed instead of sucked

So, whats the problem?

What? I never said there was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So last week at the earliest. That's over nine weeks before Easter. Sounds a bit fabricated.

I never said it happened this week.

So last week at the earliest. That's over nine weeks before Easter. Sounds a bit fabricated.

I wear mine all year round. So does she.

She bought a second one to attach to her school jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Only the Lily should be accepted in school.

What annoys me though, is that the same teacher wore and Armistice Poppy and so did one or two other students before and nothing was said to them by the same teacher. The poppies were even being old from the principal's office.

The teacher said that Easter Lily proceeds go to fund terrorists, my cousin said they don't, they fund the upkeep of patriots' graves... the teacher replied .. exactly, terrorists.

The British poppy proceeds in Ireland go to the UDR (Ballymurphy massacre) , SAS (Dublin and Monaghan bombings), British paratroopers (Bloody Sunday) perpetrators.

Terrorists, indeed.....
    Then there's the distasteful association with imperialism, loyalism, BNP, etc

They should call the Gardaí if they think a 17 year old is funding terrorism, otherwise tgrh can f€&k off

Name and shame them!

What? I never said there was.

Never said you did C, I said the British have a problem with it, they are the ones what parade the poppy towards this notion on how they "saved Europe" and all that horsewollix to go with the poppy, now they want to ditch themselves out of it.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

17 year old girl sucked into a load of nonsense over land noone really owns.

The future is bright.

I think you mean a 17 year old girl who just has an interest in History?

It's hardly a crime.

Never said you did C, I said the British have a problem with it, they are the ones what parade the poppy towards this notion on how they "saved Europe" and all that horsewollix to go with the poppy, now they want to ditch themselves out of it.

Apologies buried. Hope I didn't come across as a grouch.
    I totally misunderstood you.

I think you mean a 17 year old girl who just has an interest in History?

It's hardly a crime.

It’s pathetic, tell her to live life and stop worrying over a piece of land she doesn’t even live in.

Is this what we should be telling 17 year olds is important in life?

Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would consider her a bad citizen of the EU project

Any symbols of nationalism are to be discouraged

It’s pathetic, tell her to live life and stop worrying over a piece of land she doesn’t even live in.

Madness.

So the destiny of her homeland shouldn't concern her?

Her dad is a protestant nationalist from Antrim btw.
    Yes, there are protestant nationalists!

The destiny of her homeland???

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Madness.

So an interest in History is pathetic? I doubt the child is kept up at night worrying about the North TBH.

!

Oh sweet lord! I despair.

Just to be totally clear. Lilies can kill Kitties. So, y'know, mind the poor auld cats.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Madness.

Madness ? Always liked a bit of Ska myself.

These Protestant Nationalists ?
    How would I recognise one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,346 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Madness ? Always liked a bit of Ska myself.

Going to see 'em in May ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,346 ✭✭✭✭banie01

They are all codenamed Wolfe Tone!

Something like this

6-wolfe-tone-a.jpg?w=750

Something like this

6-wolfe-tone-a.jpg?w=750

Was that yer man in the band ?

Johnny Onion Wolf Rings O'Tone

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I'd bet the euro millions that the same cailín has no intention of going on the school march for the global environment

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Your Face wrote: »
    Do you know what really pisses me off?

Chris Hemsworth is set to portray Hulk Hogan in a new biopic of the Hulkster.

It's an out and out outrage.

I didn't pick up on the 'Hogan' part there and was outraged at the thought of Thor being The Hulk.