Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My cousin was forced to remove her Easter Lily in school as it was "inappropriate"

• 22-02-2019 8:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭

As above. An absolute disgrace.
    I'm 28 now, it's been 11 years since I left secondary school.

She's a 17 year old girl who is big into her Irish history and politics and, like me, dreams of a United Ireland. She's fuming at the situation.

Her uniform policy states
    "Students must attend school dressed in full school uniform, consisting of the prescribed jumper, shirt, tie, skirt for girls and trousers for boys and black or brown shoes (with the prescribed knee-length socks for girls). Exceptions to this are PE and school outings."

Make up for girls must be conservative and facial hair for boys must be nearly trimmed.

Boys and girls are expected to maintain a reasonable standard of personal grooming. Hair dye / streaks are acceptable as long as it is not extreme.

Pendants, necklaces, broaches and badges may be worn as long as they are smaller than 5cm in total.

In my opinion, it's a very fair uniform policy which is quite clearly spelled out. Her Easter Lily is about 3 cm in length that she has been wearing for a couple of years and recently decided to get one to attach to her school jumper.

Here's the funny thing. Her English teacher demanded she remove it in her class as it's "offensive". What annoys me though, is that the same teacher wore and Armistice Poppy and so did one or two other students before and nothing was said to them by the same teacher. The poppies were even being old from the principal's office.

The teacher said that Easter Lily proceeds go to fund terrorists, my cousin said they don't, they fund the upkeep of patriots' graves... the teacher replied .. exactly, terrorists.

Jesus, so Kevin Barry, Michael Collins, and the people who fought for Irish freedom are terrorists?

The principal is backing the teacher up and saying that the Lily is indeed a symbol of terrorism and has no place in the school.

Partitionist west brits?

A lot of west brits here ... did the school do the right thing? 220 votes

Poppy and Lily should both be accepted in school.
    0%
    Only the Lily should be accepted in school.
    56%
    VenomXterminatorSupercelluchEKRIUQCalhounhighdefbeansbassyFGRFlexDave147InnervisiondavetheraveAlquaelefantciaran76davyccbikoRiesen_Meal 125 votes
    Only the Poppy should be accpeted in school.
    36%
    Elmotuxytony-odambasitexabinick 56leahylkingchessjustshanedublinceltSuperS54gerrybbaddFather Hernandeznot yetrealrebelallthedoyleschuck eastwood[Deleted User]Was_SeeDotfitzeyboy. 81 votes
    Neither should be accepted in school.
    6%
    dotsmandiceyreillyCONMMelodeonarcher222011abc[Deleted User]Francie Barretttimthumbnijimbev[Deleted User]pgj2015MsWesterosiyoucantakethat 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Crock Rock wrote: »
    As above. An absolute disgrace.
    I'm 28 now, it's been 11 years since I left secondary school.

She's a 17 year old girl who is big into her Irish history and politics and, like me, dreams of a United Ireland. She's fuming at the situation.

Her uniform policy states

In my opinion, it's a very fair uniform policy which is quite clearly spelled out. Her Easter Lily is about 3 cm in length that she has been wearing for a couple of years and recently decided to get one to attach to her school jumper.

Here's the funny thing. Her English teacher demanded she remove it in her class as it's "offensive". What annoys me though, is that the same teacher wore and Armistice Poppy and so did one or two other students before and nothing was said to them by the same teacher. The poppies were even being old from the principal's office.

The teacher said that Easter Lily proceeds go to fund terrorists, my cousin said they don't, they fund the upkeep of patriots' graves... the teacher replied .. exactly, terrorists.

Jesus, so Kevin Barry, Michael Collins, and the people who fought for Irish freedom are terrorists?

The principal is backing the teacher up and saying that the Lily is indeed a symbol of terrorism and has no place in the school.

Partitionist west brits?

Given the policy on the poppy its a fucking disgrace, tbh. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Could be cat lovers. Lillies can kill cats bigshtyle

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

What? It's Easter already?? Did I sleep for a couple of months?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Wear it under the jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

If this happened.......it's a load of hypocrisy.

If you can wear a poppy you can wear an Easter Lilly. It's probably not school policy just that teacher is on a mini Hitler rampage.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

She should strike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Sadly nationalistic symbols such as the Easter Lily and our own national flag - the Tri Color had been hijacked by the provos during the troubles, hence the sigma associated with both in the eyes of the general public but it's not that simple.

That's not a pop at you for having the belief of a United Ireland BTW.

Your cousin is quite right in saying funds from the sale of the Easter Lily goes towards the upkeep of memorials of a war my own Grandfather fought in; the War of Independence. As such I wear an Easter Lily to commemorate his bravery and suffering so that Ireland may be free to determine her own path. It's good to see younger people have an interest in Irish history too.

Your family should kick up a fuss about this. There's nothing wrong with wearing a Poppy, therefore there should be nothing wrong with wearing a Lily because that's, quite frankly, hypocrisy personified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Crock Rock

beertons wrote: »
    Wear it under the jumper.

No, on the jumper. As per the uniform policy, it should be permitted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Damn right it's inappropriate, it's not even Ash Wednesday yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Fair play to her, its a disgrace that the poppy is acceptable yet the Lilly isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Historically it's a religious symbol representing the tears of Christ and repentence.
    I think it's celebrated still in some of the old Dublin city centre church's that ol' ones like going too.

The whole poppy thing is going to be funny next November when its finally fair play and clear that Britain actually doesn't (and more than likely never did) give a f**king $hite about Europe anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭kieran26

Aren't schools off this week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Do you know what really pisses me off?

Chris Hemsworth is set to portray Hulk Hogan in a new biopic of the Hulkster.

It's an out and out outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,969 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Probably should wait until it's (a) serious point - ok for civil servants, teachers etc to wear and (b) half in jest - at least Lent!
    I'm sure not the only one pushing for this.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

kieran26 wrote: »

I never said it happened this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

get her to get a tattoo of it on her forehead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Just out of interest, whereabouts was this school?

Anyway, you should go to the media about it as it's rank hypocrisy. Laughable, really.

I'm not supporters of any of these but maybe the Liberal.ie or Evening Herald or Sun/Mirror.ie might be interested in it if.

Let us know what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The OP has really been on a run of troll shít posts over the last few days!
    Maybe the teacher in question is in a relationship with the Customs officer who wouldn't deign to reply as gaeilge?
    And now they are retaliating against his entire family!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It happened last week in Imagination Land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭VeVeX

buried wrote: »
    The whole poppy thing is going to be funny next November when its finally fair play and clear that Britain actually doesn't (and more than likely never did) give a f**king $hite about Europe anyways

The EU is not Europe

Just out of interest, whereabouts was this school?

Anyway, you should go to the media about it as it's rank hypocrisy. Laughable, really.

I'm not supporters of any of these but maybe the Liberal.ie or Evening Herald or Sun/Mirror.ie might be interested in it if.

Let us know what happens.

School in North County Dublin (Fingal), that's all I'll say.

I might post the name of the school and the teacher later if I'm allowed. If a moderator instructs me not to, then I won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭shutup

I might post the name of the school and the teacher later if I'm allowed. If a moderator instructs me not to, then I won't.

Jut post first and see what they say afterwards.
    Would be interested to know the school

VeVeX wrote: »
    The EU is not Europe

This.I'm sick of the amount of people who don't know this.

I used to work with a stupid woman who is Euroskeptical and insisted that she wasn't European. No matter how much other people tried pointing out that the continent of Europe existed for thousands of years before the EU, she wasn't having any of it.

She just couldn't grasp in her little brain that she IS European, as a matter of geographical fact. :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

shutup wrote: »
    Jut post first and see what they say afterwards.
    Would be interested to know the school

I better not.. I don't want to get the website in trouble. I'm sorry, pal.

They should just amend the uniform policy to deal with your cousin.

It’s a sad thing to hear people who were still wearing nappies at the time the Good Friday agreement was signed sheite on about their dreams for a united Ireland. Get real fella. Never going to happen. Never. Leave them be up there, the rest of us can’t afford to be dealing with their nonsense.

And school isn’t the place for junior-shinners to be wearing political symbols, be it a lily or a poppy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Though you were going to say in the North.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Im opposed, damned damned opposed!

What are we protesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Hogwarts ?

VeVeX wrote: »
    The EU is not Europe

Go on, what is it so? Don't say new world order Illuminati $hite now

lbc2019 wrote: »
    Im opposed, damned damned opposed!

What are we protesting?

Bimbo’s Burgers switching to 100% meat-free sheite filled deep fried nappies.

It’s outrageous. Somebody should get the health inspector to pedal out on his bicycle to shout and wave his fist in the air.

Go on, what is it so? Don't say new world order Illuminati $hite now

The EU is a confederation of nations which is on the continent of Europe. You can be in Europe without being in the EU, Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Albania ..... all meet this description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Is anybody else not questioning the fact the schools are closed this week? What a load of shíte.

The EU is a confederation of nations which is on the continent of Europe. You can be in Europe without being in the EU, Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Albania ..... all meet this description.

So, whats the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Is anybody else not questioning the fact the schools are closed this week? What a load of shíte.

Well in fairness they did.

Please read the thread before posting.

kieran26 wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

17 year old girl sucked into a load of nonsense over land noone really owns.

The future is bright.

EDIT- should have said brainwashed instead of sucked

So, whats the problem?

What? I never said there was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So last week at the earliest. That's over nine weeks before Easter. Sounds a bit fabricated.

I wear mine all year round. So does she.

She bought a second one to attach to her school jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

What annoys me though, is that the same teacher wore and Armistice Poppy and so did one or two other students before and nothing was said to them by the same teacher. The poppies were even being old from the principal's office.

The British poppy proceeds in Ireland go to the UDR (Ballymurphy massacre) , SAS (Dublin and Monaghan bombings), British paratroopers (Bloody Sunday) perpetrators.

Terrorists, indeed.....
    Then there's the distasteful association with imperialism, loyalism, BNP, etc

They should call the Gardaí if they think a 17 year old is funding terrorism, otherwise tgrh can f€&k off

Name and shame them!

What? I never said there was.

Never said you did C, I said the British have a problem with it, they are the ones what parade the poppy towards this notion on how they "saved Europe" and all that horsewollix to go with the poppy, now they want to ditch themselves out of it.

17 year old girl sucked into a load of nonsense over land noone really owns.

The future is bright.

I think you mean a 17 year old girl who just has an interest in History?

It's hardly a crime.

Never said you did C, I said the British have a problem with it, they are the ones what parade the poppy towards this notion on how they "saved Europe" and all that horsewollix to go with the poppy, now they want to ditch themselves out of it.

Apologies buried. Hope I didn't come across as a grouch.
    I totally misunderstood you.

I think you mean a 17 year old girl who just has an interest in History?

It's hardly a crime.

It’s pathetic, tell her to live life and stop worrying over a piece of land she doesn’t even live in.

Is this what we should be telling 17 year olds is important in life?

Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would consider her a bad citizen of the EU project

Any symbols of nationalism are to be discouraged

It’s pathetic, tell her to live life and stop worrying over a piece of land she doesn’t even live in.

Madness.

So the destiny of her homeland shouldn't concern her?

Her dad is a protestant nationalist from Antrim btw.
    Yes, there are protestant nationalists!

Her dad is a protestant nationalist from Antrim btw.
    Yes, there are protestant nationalists!

The destiny of her homeland???

Ah jaysus.

Madness.

So an interest in History is pathetic? I doubt the child is kept up at night worrying about the North TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

!

Oh sweet lord! I despair.