Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dartz wrote: »
    They'll be on instagram soon enough sure..... driving like that.
    Or in the obituaries D.

And now for something completely different... I have a squirrel occasionally taking up residence under my bonnet. Yep. Checked the oil earlier(I check it once a week, along with all me fluids(missus!!), being old style) and noted on a flat part of the inner wing I see a big pile of tree seeds. OK sez I, can't recall driving over a forest, but anything's possible. Then I note the cap on my window washer has been used as a chew toy to sharpen their little rodent teeth. And there's a load of the feckers around where I live. And I found squirrel poo. So...

I googled, as you do and found this can be a major problem as far as damage goes, especially for cars built over the last five or so years, where in order to appear "green" manufacturers have been coating wiring in a soy based organic plastic. Which is apparently effin cat nip to rodents of all sorts and they can cause thousands of quids worth of damage overnight. Luckily my wires are ye olde stylee rubber so I should be safe there. Should. I sprayed some anti rust wax that smells minging and added a load of pepper from a grinder onto the waxy stuff, so hopefully. Unless the furry pricks see that as seasoning. :mad::D

canstock26455436.jpg

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Gotta say man, that sounds more like a rat than a squirrel to me

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nah M, I saw the little bushy tailed bastard running away from under my car as evening drew in. I wouldn't mind a rat, at least rats are honest and get a bad name. Squirrels have better PR :D

Apparently at this time of the year squirrels have a couple of residences. One a kinda permanent one and another they store seeds in and use occasionally at night. Under the bonnet of cars is ideal for the second purpose.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Bigus wrote: »
    I Just got passed on the inside hard shoulder here on the N4 heading east by a Saab 9-3 doing at least 120 mph in old money , I was in the inside lane doing 80 Kmh and barely saw them coming , I moved over to the right to make room and the heavy jeep I was driving rocked from the pass they then went across four lanes and almost into the concrete barrier from the momentum. Either a serious crime committed somewhere west or a very dangerous "company car" haven't had a fright like that in a long long time.

What made it worse was there's a concrete wall an the inside , so nowhere for them to go if they clipped the kerb.
    Google image won't paste but it was just after the spa hotel Lucan at the next flyover heading to Dublin

4dmfgRgsV462

Similar happened me heading west a few years ago not far from there. The Saab in my incident was being followed or chased really.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101435269&postcount=3

Criminals seem to love Saabs, cash in transit / ATM van was robbed years ago in cork and the getaway vehicle was a Saab iirc... yup.....https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/ireland/icrime/140k-taken-in-cork-security-van-raid-179884.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

OSI wrote: »
    This one's for you SH, I got your back bro!
    Was right hand drive as well.

472165.jpeg

Hehe, sorry, only sow it now. :D

Looks a lot better from the front and not sure on that particular colour.
    Shouldn't there be deliveries for these Corollas already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Hehe, sorry, only sow it now. :D

Looks a lot better from the front and not sure on that particular colour.
    Shouldn't there be deliveries for these Corollas already?

Saw one today. Nice looking car to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

What's people's thoughts on interim DIY oil services. My car has full dealer history on the idrive, but I don't like these longer intervals and I'v done 10k since last oil change. Happy to do it myself now. I live over an hour from a dealer never mind the cost. I also heard if it's not due the work they won't "stamp" the idrive anyway.

If you were buying a car privately I presume a previous owner that did this and had receipts etc would be viewed as a positive by most people?

I'd see no problem with changing the oil and filters yourself between scheduled ones in the iDrive as long as you kept the receipts for what you did. It is true, a dealer will not update the digital service history in the idrive outside of the recommended schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

If I was a buyer, once there was receipts for the service parts then I'd be happy. As nice as it is to have full dealer history I couldn't justify the cost of it maybe that's just because I work in a dealer and see how much is made off servicing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

That's a first for me where the dealer won't update the i drive. Last two cars I've owned had oil changes outside of schedule and both where recorded on the i drive.

Once a year or 10-12k miles is my preference, just ignore the recommended intervals by bmw.

vintagevrs wrote: »

If you were buying a car privately I presume a previous owner that did this and had receipts etc would be viewed as a positive by most people?

Well worst case scenario it won't be a negative anyway :)

Wailin wrote: »
    That's a first for me where the dealer won't update the i drive. Last two cars I've owned had oil changes outside of schedule and both where recorded on the i drive.

Once a year or 10-12k miles is my preference, just ignore the recommended intervals by bmw.

I cannot find it now but it used to be stated on the bmwservice.ie website upto recently. They might have copped on that it may been discouraging some business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

It's probably down to the dealer too and I find Quinns completely on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

bazz26 wrote: »
    I'd see no problem with changing the oil and filters yourself between scheduled ones in the iDrive as long as you kept the receipts for what you did. It is true, a dealer will not update the digital service history in the idrive outside of the recommended schedule.

The did mine a few weeks ago for an oil change and microfilter at 15k instead of 30.

My plan going forward is 30k intervals at the dealer and get the 15k ones done somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The 540 is ready for collection tomorrow, unfortunately the engineers report probably won't clear until mid next week so it's still undriveable until Tuesday or Wednesday I'd say :o Going to view it Monday all going well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

bazz26 wrote: »

Anyone experience with the oil pump? I prefer a sump oil change myself but read somewhere (think it was here) if you modify the 2 hoses it makes a gear / diff change a breeze and the lidl one is actually decent

This is the yoke

https://www.lidl.ie/en/special-offers.htm?articleId=16430

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anyone experience with the oil pump? I prefer a sump oil change myself but read somewhere (think it was here) if you modify the 2 hoses it makes a gear / diff change a breeze and the lidl one is actually decent

This is the yoke

https://www.lidl.ie/en/special-offers.htm?articleId=16430

Bought it last year, and used it for the first time in Nov. Worked a charm for my oil change, there's not much to modify really, I'd say as long as the tube is the right size you could use it for anything. Definitely worth a punt at that money.

Might be worth a punt for the oil change, though yes it would make diff/gearbox oil changes a breeze. Could come in handy if you ever needed to pump water too. I know a chap who got one a while back for helping with his aquarium(s) setup. I figure an electric pump is a handy thing to have to hand on a shelf. Especially at that price.

In the last few years I've used one of the plunger vacuum pump yokes to change my oil. I know a fair few folks don't put much store in them, but I find it good. Every fourth oil change I go the old school sump way and having compared the two the pump takes the exact same out, if not a little more. On my engine. I've heard they can be specific to engines and with some they don't do a full drain.

To be fair I change my oil(Millers race nano stuff) every 4k, so it's damn near the same colour it went in, to the degree that after it comes out of mine we put the "old oil" into a mate's turbo diesel van and it works like a charm. And his engine sounds quieter and runs smoother compared to the standard oil. So even if the pump left some oil, it doesn't be long in getting diluted by the new goo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

For anyone thinking of getting their wheels refurbished, I can wholeheartedly recommend Wheel Wizards.

I had my 325 into them this week, and the results are stunning. I was always a big fan of the MV2 wheels my car has, but I'm still gobsmacked at how well the wheels on the car look now and what a lift they give to the look of it. I debated changing the colour of them but seeing them the way they are now, I'm so glad I stuck with the OEM colour.

I'll put up a photo tomorrow when the rest of the car is actually washed.

• Moderators Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Spocker

I saw this on the Bypass in Waterford last week, any pointers to what it might be? The usual plethora of dealers are nearby Jaguar, BMW, Land Rover, Volvo but it doesn't look like any of those. The moveable spoiler is whats interesting on this one.

472595.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Moderators Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Spocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Speaking of jags, didn't get a pic but one of these came up behind yesterday.

17tthg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

For anyone thinking of getting their wheels refurbished, I can wholeheartedly recommend Wheel Wizards.

I had my 325 into them this week, and the results are stunning. I was always a big fan of the MV2 wheels my car has, but I'm still gobsmacked at how well the wheels on the car look now and what a lift they give to the look of it. I debated changing the colour of them but seeing them the way they are now, I'm so glad I stuck with the OEM colour.

I'll put up a photo tomorrow when the rest of the car is actually washed.

Absolute pros - very happy with the work they did for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Got passed by some waste of oxygen in an AMG on the N11. Must've been doing well north of 180kph.

Ten minutes later the same oxygen thief is sitting in the hard shoulder with an unmarked mondeo parked up behind it, getting an utter bollicking from the cops.

Doing that sort of speed within a half-hour of Newtown is sort of asking for it. There'll always be something either heading away from base - or on the way back.

Had me giggling the whole way home. Someone never heard of the M9.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭ofcork

Any cork lads know what happened to the autofast garage in ballincollig different name on it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Tesco have Castrol Edge 5W-30 LL VW507-00 spec oil at €10.15 a litre bottle. Good price I thought.

Not sure if it's everywhere but Tesco Tramore had a few left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

In the NCT now. Not feeling overly optimistic! It’s done a lot in the last 2 years.

A2-A0-EB46-7416-43-F9-8-CEE-48930417-A331.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Well?