Travellers fighting at Belfast airport

It usually appears several times in the many Traveller-bashing threads we see on After Hours, often hilariously followed by 'boss'. Only twice in this one though.

This literally is a Traveller bashing thread in that there's Travellers bashing each other in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

timthumbni wrote: »
    I doubt the security are there to break up a fight amongst scumbag gypsies. They are there to check baggage, passengers etc. I doubt they are armed.

They should have left them to wipe themselves out. Though their appeared to be very little fighting going on here, rather a lot of swiping through the air and firing waste paper bins about. Buckets of ****e.

So security should let anyone in an airport beat the crap out of each other as long as they've checked their baggage? Never mind that property is being damaged and anyone passing by could get injured.

You a security guard by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Yeah as much as "it's their culture" is over used you can't deny that family feuds are a part of their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,353 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There are definitely armed security at Belfast International.
    I see them everytime I'm at the airport.

I'm sure there are other unarmed security too.

You have to remember that every policeman in NI is armed. Its a heavily armed state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

They will have to take the Hiace or golf gtd the next time.

I am not sure those Vans can fly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    They're in an airport, where the feck are security and police?
    Hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

the point is that type of braindead activity IS part & parcel of their much vaunted "culture".

people often make jokes to emphasise a serious point, or are you too braindead to appreciate that!

The last two times I flew with RyanAir (Manchester and London, from Dublin), there were members of the Travelling community on the plane. They were a bit noisy (although oddly shushing each other and listening intently during the safety announcements), but there were no fights or any kind of trouble. Maybe that's part and parcel of their culture too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

It's actually pathetic that we live in a society where you cant call them for the animals that they are. Old people there waiting for flights and these hard men flinging sh1t around without any regard for the members of the public. At what stage do people stand up and say enough, do they actually have to call around to your house on Christmas Day and sh1t on your dinner table?

I'd say between the stories of them out on holidays and this, they will probably leave the phone off the hook in Pavey Point until it blows over, like they usually do.

The last two times I flew with RyanAir (Manchester and London, from Dublin), there were members of the Travelling community on the plane. They were a bit noisy (although oddly shushing each other and listening intently during the safety announcements), but there were no fights or any kind of trouble. Maybe that's part and parcel of their culture too.

Well, that's all of their nefarious criminality off the hook then.

It's actually pathetic that we live in a society where you cant call them for the animals that they are.

Who says you can't call those individuals out as the animals that they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

NIMAN wrote: »
    There are definitely armed security at Belfast International.
    I see them everytime I'm at the airport.

I'm sure there are other unarmed security too.

You have to remember that every policeman in NI is armed. Its a heavily armed state.

Genuinely interested to know but armed with what? Guns? I have never saw a gun on any security guard at our airports. Maybe I just didn’t notice.

Also are police routinely stationed at the airport? Saw a few outside but not inside the airport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

BBFAN wrote: »
    Nope, just bored by the repetitive nature of it.

Sorry I seem to have hit a sore nerve for you. It's obviously your favourite comment of all time.

certainly not, but i'm sick of people trying to defend their behaviour as some kind of aberration.
    it's not.
    it very much part 'n parcel of who they are.

apologies i may have picked you up wrong

Countless videos of this criminal activity posted on boards each week. Then you have to remember travellers are only 0.6% of the population and only a tiny fraction of what they get up to will make its way to internet videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

A forced sterilisation programme would get my vote.

Genuinely interested to know but armed with what? Guns? I have never saw a gun on any security guard at our airports. Maybe I just didn’t notice.

Also are police routinely stationed at the airport? Saw a few outside but not inside the airport?

The armed guys I see are the ones outside at arrivals.

BBFAN wrote: »
    So security should let anyone in an airport beat the crap out of each other as long as they've checked their baggage? Never mind that property is being damaged and anyone passing by could get injured.

You a security guard by any chance?

I’m not but I’m quite sure fights in an airport is not the norm outside of our gypsy friends.

Why would a security guard get involved in a mass gypsy fight though? Getting paid 10 quid an hour, Would you ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,289 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I'm sure members of the same family don't normally end in violence, You're lucky there weren't Nevins and Joyce's on the same plane together.

A forced sterilisation programme would get my vote.

could we locate halting sites over radioactive dumps? might take a couple of generations...

Watching the video, I think its a stretch to call it a fight.

There was actually very little contact made with each other.

Mostly a lot of shouting and swearing. But not much more. Bit like the 200k fight last week, 40mins of 2 guys walking around looking at each other without throwing punches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

well done to them for not doing something a normal member of a civilized society should do in the first place.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

could we locate halting sites over radioactive dumps? might take a couple of generations...

Radioactive waste is typically stored within lead lined containers, a honey pot trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭TCM

And on a Sunday.

After mass

The armed guys I see are the ones outside at arrivals.

Security guards or police though?

Watching the video, I think its a stretch to call it a fight.

There was actually very little contact made with each other.

True but don't you think it's odd that they could do this in an airport of all places without security showing up?

That said, standard practice with both security and police seems to be let them beat the crap out of each other once no one else is involved then make arrests afterwords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Who says you can't call those individuals out as the animals that they are?

Have you ever heard Liveline, you are essentially not allowed to say that they are Travellers. Or it's usually followed up with "How do you KNOW that they were Travellers". There is no calling a spade a spade, and if you are afraid to acknowledge there is a problem then it will never get solved.

Radioactive waste is typically stored within lead lined containers, a honey pot trap.

Brillant.

Jasus wud ya look at the head on shamus!
    ah! jasus martin, that's all we need another mouth to feed.

Ok they could emerge as Mutant Lucher-Knacker / Knacker-piebalds hybrids.
    Immune to Revenue/CAB/Gardai and the rota virus.

Security guards or police though?

Police.

Surely if there is a public order issue at an airport, then the police would want to get involved?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    well done to them for not doing something a normal member of a civilized society should do in the first place.:rolleyes:

You seem to have misunderstood my post. I wasn't congratulating anyone on behaving the way you're supposed to behave. I was suggesting that perhaps, contrary to the racist generalisations posted on here, maybe most Travellers don't behave like the people in that video. Odd how that suggestion really irks some people on here.

You know if they thought them indestructible containers had lead in them, they would have them open in 20 minutes and the lead stripped out