Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

st brigid's day, where's all the crosses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭buried

The ancient Festival of Imbolc. Cross the new quarter.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭buried

And have a drink and stick on some tunes too

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭PingTing comes for Fire

Sorry Brigid, but typical female DIY catastrophe.
    One single rushe could lash or knot two sticks to make a simple cross in half a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

They were made in all the local primary schools around here anyway I was surprised even tho it was nice to see it.

The odd place that doesn't do them seems to be more of the people aren't as religious so they don't bother.

One thing I'd say OP is there are probably more Irish people complaining in to schools than any foreigners, in fact I've started to notice a lot of the time its eejits of natives who complain that something might be offensive to a immigrant to an area without even asking them, they just assume it. Like they are some sort of moral guardian protecting some delicate little child.

An Indian lad I know ****ed a couple of middle aged wagons out of it cause he heard they said xyz shouldn't be done as it might offend him.

Poor fella was raging and ironically he enjoyed said activities himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

We only made St Brigids crosses once when I was in primary school. A school attached to the local convent at that. One year they brought in a retired nun to show us how to make them. It was a bit of fun and much more entertaining than having a maths or a Irish class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Why was Brigid cross anyway ?
    To get to the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Ya cant find reeds and rushes anymore,.they built a load of over-priced houses on them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ya cant find reeds and rushes anymore,.they built a load of over-priced houses on them...

Plenty in Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Listen to all these lads with their fancy talk of reeds and rushes. Notions.

Get down to the local shop and get yourself a load of these.

4967-tm_thickbox_default.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Which cultures exactly?

ISLAM !!

Whate else ?

A fascist bigoted ideology that for some reason liberals have cosied up to and love.

Enemy of my enemy I guess - taking to extremes!!

I remember the St. Bridges cross, it was fun making it in school, and was an unusual squarish shape unlike a tradional cross.
    But I don't have a problem of the tradition dying out as society becomes more secular - which I trust(hope) is the reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Good idea to get the young wans in primary schools off the peopletweetface and instantooglegram sites,
    helps too with hand to eye co-oridination also, to compete with the autobot2000, whenever they leave education.

Shout out also to The Goddess Brigid, of the Tuatha Dé Danann.

Plastic straws might suffice if you can't run wild across fields of straw and reed.

fBNrCn6.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

TomSweeney wrote: »
    ISLAM !!

Whate else ?

A fascist bigoted ideology that for some reason liberals have cosied up to and love.

Enemy of my enemy I guess - taking to extremes!!

I remember the St. Bridges cross, it was fun making it in school, and was an unusual squarish shape unlike a tradional cross.
    But I don't have a problem of the tradition dying out as society becomes more secular - which I trust(hope) is the reason...

Genius!

The Muslamics is stealing our rushes and stopping our kiddies making crosses!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,374 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Obviously your not Irish, so the distinction between st Brigid and Brigid the goddess wouldn't register.

Maybe you went to one of those pagan North Korean schools :p
    I went to an Irish catholic school, so we weren't taught anything about those dirty pagan gods. Apart from they were all going to hell, of course, along with the protestants.

We were told the myth of the St (see what I did there) Brigid's cross, but never made any.

If a catholic school then they Should’ve done the crosses

Then they should’ve sat down the non Catholics attending the school and given an in-depth explanation why their religion is wrong

Then invite them to be baptised as Roman Catholics.

That is sarcasm, right?

Oh and newsflash - some of them might not even have a religion! :eek:

TomSweeney wrote: »
    ISLAM !!

Whate else ?

This is bollocks. Islam is easily the worst religion going and most atheists are very critical of it. Although, scriptually, the other two Abrahamic religions, Judaism and Christianity are just as bloodthirsty, nasty and sexist - it's just that the vast majority of followers of those two stopped taking scripture literally a very long time ago.

Oh and back on topic, our local prod school made the crosses...

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,045 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'Most atheists are very critical of it'

Which religions are well regarded by atheists, one wonders?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I've been agnostic since I was a kid, and atheist since I was 14 or 15, but I still had my class making crosses yesterday. It's a great skill, or combination of skills. Fine motor, pencil grip, patterns, it's got the lot. Half of the kids don't believe in Jesus either but they still enjoy the craft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Maybe you went to one of those pagan North Korean schools :p
    I went to an Irish catholic school, so we weren't taught anything about those dirty pagan gods. Apart from they were all going to hell, of course, along with the protestants.

We were told the myth of the St (see what I did there) Brigid's cross, but never made any.

That is sarcasm, right?

Oh and newsflash - some of them might not even have a religion! :eek:

This is bollocks. Islam is easily the worst religion going and most atheists are very critical of it. Although, scriptually, the other two Abrahamic religions, Judaism and Christianity are just as bloodthirsty, nasty and sexist - it's just that the vast majority of followers of those two stopped taking scripture literally a very long time ago.

Oh and back on topic, our local prod school made the crosses...

Of course you are, with a username like that. We all know what's on your mind, ya dirty fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

St Brigid is the female equivalent of St Patrick as one of Ireland's patron saints. He gets a whole day being celebrated. Poor St Brigid is begrudged a few rushes. Typical !

Seriously though the cross which predates Christianity is quite beautiful imo and must surely be one of our oldest customs so would be a shame I think to let it die out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

They worship at the high altar of political correctness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

No. Not sarcasm

If kids are in a RCC school then they should expect RCC education.

I've been agnostic since I was a kid, and atheist since I was 14 or 15, but I still had my class making crosses yesterday.

Under Irish law, you can come out as gay and keep your teaching job, but if you come out as agnostic or atheist your employer has the legal right to sack you

This is still a very fûcked up country

Buddhism is actually followed by a few atheists (not me though, hell:pac: no) as you don't have to actually believe in a god.

Contrary to their popular image in the West though, buddhists are not all about peace and love, some of them are right cnuts.

The theistic religions are worse than the non-theistic, the monotheistic religions are worse than the polytheistic, the Abrahamic monotheistic religions are worse than the non-Abrahamic monotheistic religions, and Islam is the worst of the Abrahamic religions. Happy now? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Our local school used to make the Bridget crosses every year and give them to older people in the locality. ‘‘Twas a great little fundraiser and the oldies loved it. The new principal stopped it due to concerns that the children could pick up Weil’s disease from the rushes. I can understand the principal’s concerns but it’s a pity.

Buddhism is actually followed by a few atheists (not me though, hell:pac: no) as you don't have to actually believe in a god.

Do you believe in anything 'god-like' at all, or await eternal darkness / reincarnation / other, when your times up on planet Earth?

Mrsmum wrote: »
    St Brigid is the female equivalent of St Patrick as one of Ireland's patron saints

We could do with an excuse for a good piss-up at this time of year, nights are still long and spring is not here yet. +1 for Bridgies Day and it already has a marketable symbol so this is something Failte Ireland can really get behind if we make it a public holiday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Where have all the crosses gone?
    Long time passing
    Long time ago
    Girls MUSLAMICS have picked them every one
    When will they ever learn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

No. Not sarcasm

If kids are in a RCC school then they should expect RCC education.

How is a RCC school defined?

Do you believe in anything 'god-like' at all

Nope
    or wait eternal darkness / reincarnation / other, when your times up on planet Earth?

Well the universe has been around for 14 or 15 billion years, and for most of that I didn't exist. I don't know how long the universe has got to go, if it's finite, but it's in the billions and for most of that I won't exist either. I don't imagine I'll be any more troubled by non-existence after my death than I was by non-existence before my birth.

Nope

Interesting, by 'god-like' one could include other forms of 'more-inteligent' life forms across the universe (50bn habitable planets, just in our local galaxy).
    Well the universe has been around for 14 or 15 billion years, and for most of that I didn't exist..

From you're current limited understanding, or memory recall capabilities, in your current human form.

As an insurance policy maybe you should make that cross, rub a budda, pet a dog, or bang on a singing bowl, instead of gleefully awaiting eternal darkness.

Interesting, by 'god-like' one could include other forms of 'more-inteligent' life forms across the universe (50bn habitable planets, just in our local galaxy).

From you're current limited understanding, or memory recall capabilities, in your current human form.

As an insurance policy maybe you should make that cross, rub a budda, pet a dog, or bang on a singing bowl, instead of gleefully awaiting eternal darkness.

This is the standard "god of the gaps" crapology extended into interstellar space :rolleyes:

Ancient man couldn't explain fire... god
    couldn't explain day and night... god
    couldn't explain tides... god
    couldn't explain planetary motion... god
    anything they couldn't explain... god

You're just doing the same, which is proof I suppose of the theory that we're not really any smarter than ancient man, we just know more things.

I can't rule out the existence of any of the things your have mentioned, but I didn't, I just don't believe in them and unless and until there is any evidence of their existence I'd be stupid to believe in them.

I doubt any intergalactic intelligence should it exist would be too impressed with your cross/buddha/dog etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

The local primary school made loads of them on Monday, and they are for sale in the local shop to raise funds for the school.

Plenty of bulrushes here in rural Carlow, I supplied a bucket myself to the neighbours kids. Loved making them when I was a kid.

Sit down with the kids tomorrow and make them yourselves. Some great ideas in previous posts using straws, wooden sticks etc if you've no bulrushes around. I've seen them made from barley straw too.