Bob Geldof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

He is a steaming turd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I'll wear your 'pity' as a badge of honour.

Psst...somebody said something nasty about the English rugby team over on the rugby forum...you better get over there! ;)

Yeah? ill be sitting in my local here in Cheshire on saturday wearing my Ireland jersey and cheering on the boys in green. Confused yet? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,117 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yeah? ill be sitting in my local here in Cheshire on saturday wearing my Ireland jersey and cheering on the boys in green. Confused yet? ;)

About what? That you are backing a better team? Not a bit.

Ah..Woodstock?..

Nothing compared to liveaid. Biggest live audience ever ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

backspin. wrote: »
    He is a steaming turd.

Not as bad as Bono :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I think partly the reason he relocated to London is that he recognised early what a bunch of hypocritical and hateful twats we Irish are. That was what the 'Rats were about at the start.

Or he was a toffee nosed spoilt untalented Gob who had to pretend he was a victim.

He surfed on a wave of anti-Irish sentiment to gain attention.

The man is a fraud, his whole life was a fraud, from lieing about his rich posh boy roots, to trying to be more British than the British themselves. He doesn't criticise the British establishment as he thinks he's part of it.

In Britain, he'd blame the Irish govt for the troubles the Brits caused,
    he refused to condemn atrocities against Irish people,
    he told working people to give their money yet he dodged paying tax himself,
    he lives in the lap of luxury and recently called Irish people greedy,
    he was friends with Thatcher who supported, sectarianism, imperialism and apartheid.
    He even took a British knighthood
    I recall a few years ago when he was promoting himself in the North he actually blamed nationalists for being burnt out by Loyalists during a march or something
    He gave back his Freedom of Dublin, but kept his knighthood and Freedom of London despite sharing them all with Aung San Kyi
    Also, he is being sued by a member of the Boomtown Rats for royalties who he screwed over - despite being a multi-millionaire -

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/boomtown-rats-pianist-suing-bob-geldof-for-royalties-says-hes-forced-to-put-his-house-on-the-line-35686395.html

He is now ridiculed by the same British media that did the same to the Irish and he deserves it.

He is an obnoxious greedy jingoistic right wing establishment Tory, and only Sindo reading middle Ireland types could possibly be so dim to view him as a "renegade".
    Him and Eoghan Harris perhaps.

Thin Lizzy, The Dubliners, U2 and The Pogues did not have to follow the path as they were actually talented.

'The Rats' were nobodies, except in the head of Geldof and his media machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The boomtown rats were a nothing band maybe 3 good songs if I am generous.

Geldof is a fraud and always was.

I think members of his family realised that also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    He needs to sack his barber.
    He needs to get one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He's a specialized kind of upper-class mouthpiece ballbag that we had a knack for producing back in the day, It seems we discontinued their manufacture a decade or two ago. Your man from the web summit was probably one of the last to roll off the production line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 JohnTravers

you have to give him credit for making it on TOTP back before U2 - no mean feat

how do you square the circle of handing back the freedom of dublin and accepting an award from the queen though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Or he was a toffee nosed spoilt untalented Gob who had to pretend he was a victim.

He surfed on a wave of anti-Irish sentiment to gain attention.

The man is a fraud, his whole life was a fraud, from lieing about his rich posh boy roots, to trying to be more British than the British themselves. He doesn't criticise the British establishment as he thinks he's part of it.

In Britain, he'd blame the Irish govt for the troubles the Brits caused,
    he refused to condemn atrocities against Irish people,
    he told working people to give their money yet he dodged paying tax himself,
    he lives in the lap of luxury and recently called Irish people greedy,
    he was friends with Thatcher who supported, sectarianism, imperialism and apartheid.
    He even took a British knighthood
    I recall a few years ago when he was promoting himself in the North he actually blamed nationalists for being burnt out by Loyalists during a march or something
    He gave back his Freedom of Dublin, but kept his knighthood and Freedom of London despite sharing them all with Aung San Kyi
    Also, he is being sued by a member of the Boomtown Rats for royalties who he screwed over - despite being a multi-millionaire -

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/boomtown-rats-pianist-suing-bob-geldof-for-royalties-says-hes-forced-to-put-his-house-on-the-line-35686395.html

He is now ridiculed by the same British media that did the same to the Irish and he deserves it.

He is an obnoxious greedy jingoistic right wing establishment Tory, and only Sindo reading middle Ireland types could possibly be so dim to view him as a "renegade".
    Him and Eoghan Harris perhaps.

Thin Lizzy, The Dubliners, U2 and The Pogues did not have to follow the path as they were actually talented.

'The Rats' were nobodies, except in the head of Geldof and his media machine.

Jaysizzzzzz creeeeest,.
    So emmmm you 'kinda' dont like him!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,117 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bambi wrote: »
    He's a specialized kind of upper-class mouthpiece ballbag that we had a knack for producing back in the day, It seems we discontinued their manufacture a decade or two ago. Your man from the web summit was probably one of the last to roll off the production line

He should have asked John Bruton to be in the Rats. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Johnny Red Cab

Put him and Bono on a raft and set it adrift. Happy days! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

Ok, the evidence has been heard. The jury is in. Beyond a reasonable doubt, Bob Geldof has been found guilty on charges of being a west Brit bollox!

Perifect wrote: »
    Ok, the evidence has been heard. The jury is in. Beyond a reasonable doubt, Bob Geldof has been found guilty on charges of being a west Brit bollox!

Hear, hear..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

If I saw him drowning I'd throw him a brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Looking after number one is a great tune and I've had a lot more fun at the Rats then I ever did at U2...

Plus, its takes a certain type of creative genius to get to #1 (when it meant something) on both sides of the Atlantic with a song about a mass killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭chicorytip

His childhood was neither priveliged nor easy. Yes, he did attend boarding school but his father was a travelling salesman and his mother died young. Live Aid was one enormous ego trip for him, no doubt. In an Irish context, John O' Shea of Goal did far more valueable work over a far longer period in the areas of famine relief and highlighting of human rights abuses in Ethioipia and, in particular, Somalia.
    I liked the Boomtown Rats! 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Pythagorean

He doesn't like Monday's what?

It's Mondays not Monday's!

My eyes are hurting from all the bad grammar on Boards.

Quite right, it's Mondays, because that is the plural of Monday, in the same way that dogs is the plural of dog, ie. you should not write dog's, unless you are using a phrase such as " the dog's gone out for a walk", which is an abbreviated version of " the dog is gone out for a walk" in short "dog is" is shortened to dog's where the apostrophe indicates the missing i.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Looking after number one is a great tune and I've had a lot more fun at the Rats then I ever did at U2...

Plus, its takes a certain type of creative genius to get to #1 (when it meant something) on both sides of the Atlantic with a song about a mass killing.

"Looking after number one "is an apt song for Bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

He looks permanently hungover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭PingTing comes for Fire

The dog has gone out for a walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

If I saw him drowning I'd throw him a brick

If I saw him drowning I would drop a container of depleted Uranium on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I think partly the reason he relocated to London is that he recognised early what a bunch of hypocritical and hateful twats we Irish are. That was what the 'Rats were about at the start.

Most of us are content to preach from barstools and make f*ck all difference, but he actually got Live Aid together, one of the biggest global events of the 20th Century. Reforming The Who and Led Zeppelin? Holy sh*t.

Yet here we are on an Internet forum, ripping shreds out of someone who tried to make things better. History won't be kind to you.
    Ah here, what's this "we" about? Speak for yourself. How come he just happened to be so different to all the other terrible Irish people? It's so arrogant. And he was disgusted at people not doing anything about things in Ireland, yet he didn't do anything either - in fact he left!

"hypocritical and hateful twats we Irish are" - you forgot to include "incredibly self loathing".

Not that it has to be a case of just one or the other view on Bob Geldof - I do think he achieved a lot, and I don't get why people pretend not to see it. I think fair play to him also for adopting Michael Hutchence's and Paula Yates' daughter. Dislike things about him too though, especially things which An Claidheamh listed (although I would need more evidence of some; not sure he was pals with Thatcher - he appealed to her and her government for the starving in Ethiopia all right but that's not the same thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Bob Geldof? Ireland's biggest dickhead. At least he would be if he was Irish, but he's really more of a Londoner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,742 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

A worldwide celebrated creative artist that had a tough start in life which included the early loss of his mother. His altruistic values and supreme efforts raised awareness & saved an unaccountable amount of lives & positively shifted worldwide attitudes to political & war enforced African famines. He went on to become a canny, self made successful business man. Unfortunately in recent years he bore the horrible brunt of tragic losses in personal life, but, regardless, he's still an excellent & articulate orator with a true understanding of what is wrong and what is right. A man Irish people can be proud of.

It's not surprising that there's a few bangers that regarded him as a West Brit and "twat" (that very British slang word adopted by young Irish keyboard warriors influenced by UK youtube personalities and British websites)

But hey... for every good man, there's a hundred anonymous craven snipers afraid to raise they're heads above the keyboard parapet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

The silicon chip inside his head went into overload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Most of us are content to preach from barstools and make f*ck all difference, but he actually got Live Aid together, one of the biggest global events of the 20th Century. Reforming The Who and Led Zeppelin? Holy sh*t.

Yet here we are on an Internet forum, ripping shreds out of someone who tried to make things better. History won't be kind to you.

My dad recently found a box of vinyl belonging to me and amongst it was Banana Republic by the rats

Ireland in the Haughey years = Banana Republic

Septic Isle
    The Black and blue uniforms - police and priests

https://youtu.be/JvllyIlIW_0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

AllForIt wrote: »
    He's the only guy I know that looks good with long hair. Or suits him should I say.

You need to go to spec savers. Long scraggy greasy grey hair does t look good on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Put him and Bono on a raft and set it adrift. Happy days! :D

A one way ticket to mars would be better.