Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bob Geldof

• 31-01-2019 6:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭

He doesn't like Monday's but do you like him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I battered him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

I’d probably dislike him if I knew him in real life but he’s grand aul bob. Let him at it. Mad head on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He got Brexit over the line after his stunt on the Thames

I wonder how he's getting on with the Syrians that are crashing with him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Saw him and Wyclef walking down the road in old Ibiza town one day deep in conversation, I wasn't surprised if I'm honest, I think dopes like that gravitate towards each other...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Yes. His agenda is civic, articulate and generous.

100% agree with his views on nationalism.

The begrudgers come out in their droves to boohoo him. Cheap trills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

he is an unhinged version of bono, like an initial prototype of bono the pox
    Bob Geldof is a sh1tehawk of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Who cares? Just send thr fvcking money!

Glazers Out!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,570 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

He has good intentions.......but feeds off publicity a bit too much for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

He doesn't like Monday's what?

It's Mondays not Monday's!

My eyes are hurting from all the bad grammar on Boards.

I seen it too and never done it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Lunatic still riding around on coattails of days gone by.

Yeah, the boomtown rats sucked ass too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

Not speaking my first language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Choochtown

It's a little known fact that Bob's solo album "Sex, Age and Death" is actually in the top 20 of the finest Irish albums ever recorded.

Bob once fought Michael Jackson if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Chinasea wrote: »
    Yes. His agenda is civic

****in Honda civic

Remember that time he killed Michael Hutchence, not nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Perifect wrote: »
    He doesn't like Monday's but do you like him?

Nope. Tory supporting obnoxious goon. He was right in slagging off the church early on in his career and deserves credit there, and liveaid, but by and large he's an arrogant west brit.

tuxy wrote: »
    Remember that time he killed Michael Hutchence, not nice!

And when he was starving all the Somalians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Sir Bob is near perifection.

So is your spelling of the word 'perfection':)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Bob once fought Michael Jackson if I remember correctly.

No that was Jarvis.

And when he was starving all the Somalians?

Yeah that time he so smugly asked if they knew it was Christmas in Somalia, the're predominantly Sunni Muslim so probably not and they had better things to be thinking about with the ongoing famine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Rich people tend not to like nation states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

****e singer but the man changed the world with bandaid and liveaid. Himself and Bono (I hear everyone groan) helped get wealthy counties to forgive debt to the tune of billions for third world countries. He's been a brilliant ambassador for Ireland imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

tuxy wrote: »
    Yeah that time he so smugly asked if they knew it was Christmas in Somalia, the're predominantly Sunni Muslim so probably not and they had better things to be thinking about with the ongoing famine.

Ethiopia I believe. Which is mostly Christian.

No that was Jarvis.

Bob fought Jarvis? Was it over who looked filthier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,253 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Another Irishman who turned on his own to ingratiate himself with those he has always felt inferior to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭RayCon

Another Irishman who turned on his own to ingratiate himself with those he has always felt inferior to.

Nice:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Oh the absolute irony :pac:

Ffs your agenda is never ending :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Sure he lost all his money on that Live Aid thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I'm convinced his Brexit Thames stunt actually helped the Leave Campaign in 2016

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Ffs your agenda is never ending :rolleyes:

Oh the absolute irony. :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Poor guy lost his X to heroin and his daughter who was named after a fruit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Bob the gob needs to wash his hair more often...

Meh, neither like nor dislike the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    ****e singer but the man changed the world with bandaid and liveaid. Himself and Bono (I hear everyone groan) helped get wealthy counties to forgive debt to the tune of billions for third world countries. He's been a brilliant ambassador for Ireland imo.

Surely you know by now that the live aid money went to the government to buy weapons, he caused more grief than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

He is an annoying tw*t but has helped a lot of people in desperate need.

RobMc59 wrote: »

Many many men and women have done that without feeling the need to doff the hat and bend the knee for a pointless award from a foreign monarch and one of the very institutions that raped and plundered the countries of the 'people in desperate need' he was helping.

He's basically a cartoonish hypocrite in my eyes.

Many many men and women have done that without feeling the need to doff the hat and bend the knee for a pointless award from a foreign monarch and one of the very institutions that raped and plundered the countries of the 'people in desperate need' he was helping.

He's basically a cartoonish hypocrite in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭take everything

Fieldog wrote: »
    Saw him and Wyclef walking down the road in old Ibiza town one day deep in conversation, I wasn't surprised if I'm honest, I think dopes like that gravitate towards each other...

Ha.
    Just wikied Wyclef Jean there.
    Was involved in some Haitian charity after the earthquake there and million somehow ended up going to him and his entourage.

You couldn't make this **** up.
    And he wanted to be Haitian president.
    Sounds about right

Are you gonna give us your opinion on him, or do your usual and park yourself on thread and take the huff at those with the temerity and ungratefulness to criticise the realm that must not be dissed? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

RobMc59 wrote: »

I think partly the reason he relocated to London is that he recognised early what a bunch of hypocritical and hateful twats we Irish are. That was what the 'Rats were about at the start.

Most of us are content to preach from barstools and make f*ck all difference, but he actually got Live Aid together, one of the biggest global events of the 20th Century. Reforming The Who and Led Zeppelin? Holy sh*t.

Yet here we are on an Internet forum, ripping shreds out of someone who tried to make things better. History won't be kind to you.

Are you gonna give us your opinion on him, or do your usual and park yourself on thread and take the huff at those with the temerity and ungratefulness to criticise the realm that must not be dissed? :rolleyes:

The rats had some good tunes, him.and midge ure did a great thing by bringing live aid to life, he sadly lost his wife and daughter. See, this thread is about Geldof the man yet here you are spouting your usual sh/te about realms and hat doffing and bringing your own special brand of hatred for anything British.

You have my pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Hes not the worse. Sad when his daughter died.

I think partly the reason he relocated to London is that he recognised early what a bunch of hypocritical and hateful twats we Irish are. That was what the 'Rats were about at the start.

Most of us are content to preach from barstools and make f*ck all difference, but he actually got Live Aid together, one of the biggest global events of the 20th Century. Reforming The Who and Led Zeppelin? Holy sh*t.

Yet here we are on an Internet forum, ripping shreds out of someone who tried to make things better. History won't be kind to you.

No problem recognising his achievements, but the question was 'Do you like him' if I am not mistaken.
    I was a huge Rats fan, and seen a good few gigs, we all thought Bob and the boys were part of the anti establishment crew in those days, those who were gonna force change, but like many, as soon as the money appeared and success in England beckoned, old Bob was off and running. Look at anti establishment Sir Bob now? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I'm convinced his Brexit Thames stunt actually helped the Leave Campaign in 2016

It certainly didn't help with him and his millionaire friends in their fook off luxury yacht shouting at the fishermen trying to make a living, utter tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Except, Sir Bob of the British empire has no problem with British nationalism.

Pointing out rank hypocrisy to attention seeking clowns does not equal "begrudgery".

His agenda is self aggrandisement, anyone who thinks otherwise is just stupid IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

ingratiate himself with those he has always felt inferior to.

Got it in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

Yeah,comes across as a bit arrogant or something.
    Not sure I'd want to hang out with him,but he's had a fair bit of personal hardship and Liveaid must have saved a fair few lives,so yes-all good.