If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,304 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thoie wrote: »
    Two weeks ago I posted the comment below. If the council have set things up right in the first place (whether that be in an estate, a terrace of houses, or a halting site), how do you propose they account for the foolish actions of individuals afterwards? As in my scenario below, if you and I do something that jeopardises the safety of our council provided homes, how do you suggest the council police that? Let's say money was no object and the council could afford thousands of inspectors - would you be happy to let an inspector into your house every night to make sure you hadn't done anything that could lead to a fire during the night?

I addressed that as I will again . That is not an excuse, no matter how difficult.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    The Maoris are New Zealand 's ethnic group.

File this one under the Amish category! Travellers are basically Maoris now. In fairness, the haka them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Plenty of crime committed in North Dublin city, and it's not traveller related.

I believe the young people call that whataboutery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,304 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Omackeral wrote: »
    File this one under the Amish category! Travellers are basically Maoris now. In fairness, the haka them.

What is your point here, difficult to understand ?
    Also you took mine out of context . What's wrong ? I answered your question. But it's obvious you don't know how to respond.

Gravelly wrote: »
    I believe the young people call that whataboutery.

No , it's not. Its pointing out a bias.

What is your point here, difficult to understand ?
    Also you took mine out of context . What's wrong ? I answered your question. But it's obvious you don't know how to respond.

Mine was a reference to a joke. Another deluded poster likened the Travellers to the Amish people before, just a call back. And I'm well able to debate points, see my follow up post about how consanguineous relationships aka riding your own family doesn't make you a distinct race. You conveniently glossed over that one didn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The council could remove all temporary sites and just force feuding travellers to live together. Problem solved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Goldengirl wrote:
    Excellent article , thank you, CrankyHaus!

Article by a traveller advocate and you are crying bias? lol.

Just showing what it's like when your post is taken out of context.
    I don't agree with all of what she says, the Stardust is not a comparison. Grenfell is.

Mine was a reference to a joke. Another deluded poster likened the Travellers to the Amish people before, just a call back. And I'm well able to debate points, see my follow up post about how consanguineous relationships aka riding your own family doesn't make you a distinct race. You conveniently glossed over that one didn't you?

Well done , big words.
    Fact is a lot of ethnic minorities are cosanguinous because they are not encouraged to mix outside their ethnicity/ locale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well done , big words.
    Fact is a lot of ethnic minorities are cosanguinous because they are not encouraged to mix outside their ethnicity/ locale.

You are basically saying that certain ethnic minorities (including travellers) have a culture of racism.

So you can't point out what is RACIST about the thread so, just your opinion. Grand so.

Ranting and railing against one distinct ethnic group , as on this thread, is considered Racist , by most of the civilised world , and is not a matter of opinion.

blanch152 wrote: »
    You are basically saying that certain ethnic minorities (including travellers) have a culture of racism.

Not what I was saying but you have a point there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Anyone can see that this thread uses M.Cash to rant and rail against travellers , who are a distinct ethnic group , whether ye choose to accept that or not, and that is racism. .

Check my post history.

I have criticised Catholic culture for their treatment of women.
    I have criticised African cultures for FGM
    I have criticisied Islamic cultures for their treatment of women.

So when I criticise traveller culture and speak of deep misogyny, homophobia and criminality, I am not being racist, I am being consistent.

I have also criticised aspects of Irish culture - the deeply misguided attachment to the language for example - but I and others are only accused of racism when we criticise traveller culture.

Strange.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    No not at all

I do find it funny when people's first contributions are basically to just want to shut down the thread

So we have you, tatranska, Vicarious Function, Babooshka and various others just pop up 'questioning the longevity of the thread', the thread title or wanting the thread closed

Plenty of time left to run in this story and plenty left to say until Margaret gets her forever home

The hate in this post....

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Fair enough. I can't speak for others on the thread but I tried to answer your question. I think if you read the thread you'll see that it has broadened into a wide-ranging debate that for example in the last few days has discussed the Carrickmines Fire, the inquest, the subsequent PR actions to spin it in favour of a vested interest (with a national paper batting on that interest's behalf) and the dubious validity of comparisons with the Stardust Tragedy. I think broad-ranging debates are one of the things Boards does well.

That is because I and a few others questioned the insensitivity of this thread while a horrifically sad inquest was being held. That was what got me .

blanch152 wrote: »
    Check my post history.

I have criticised Catholic culture for their treatment of women.
    I have criticised African cultures for FGM
    I have criticisied Islamic cultures for their treatment of women.

So when I criticise traveller culture and speak of deep misogyny, homophobia and criminality, I am not being racist, I am being consistent.

I have also criticised aspects of Irish culture - the deeply misguided attachment to the language for example - but I and others are only accused of racism when we criticise traveller culture.

Strange.

Have you been ranting and railing about travellers? If you have and you genuinely see yourself as a protector of women, you could take a good look at this thread and ask why denigrating a section of the population for how they speak, dress, live and talk, is ever right. A lot of people see racism as what happens far away from them, and can't admit to it right under their noses. I don't agree with many aspects of traveller culture, especially the treatment of women and children, but I can't accept this blanket bashing of every traveller in the country. It us dangerous to allow what is hate speech, go unchallenged.
    But to be honest , boards.ie allows this, on Afterhours, and I wonder if some of the more extreme and regular posters on this sort of thread are in fact paid boardsies trying to rack up text counts.

Goldengirl wrote:
    Ranting and railing against one distinct ethnic group , as on this thread, is considered Racist , by most of the civilised world , and is not a matter of opinion.

Who's ranting? Pointing out the behaviour of the traveller community is not Racist that is also not an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

That is because I and a few others questioned the insensitivity of this thread while a horrifically sad inquest was being held. That was what got me .

Do you think the adults that had drink and drugs in their system while the place went up were responsible ?
    Given that they were supposed to be looking after children, getting hammered and stoned isn't a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

The hate in this post....

What part is hateful?

Excellent article , thank you, CrankyHaus!

Why is an excellent article

For instance she never refers to drug use amongst the adults killed?

The article is nicely challenged in the comments section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/the-payout-could-have-been-100k-four-injury-claims-dismissed-following-high-court-appeal-37765235.html

Another day out in the Courts, will the penny drop soon that these claims are going to be fought each and every time.

If costs are awarded the money should be deducted from welfare payments until the costs are covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    What part is hateful?

She has a funny definition of "hate" alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Seriously, just follow her FB page. You're on every other day saying the same thing!

Well jaysus thanks for pointing that out....

I hate FB and I do ask as the chat does be gone completely off the rails..,..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Well jaysus thanks for pointing that out....

I hate FB and I do ask as the chat does be gone completely off the rails..,..

At least one poster is trying to keep the thread about Ms Cash and not every traveller who ever existed. :rolleyes:

BBFAN wrote:
    At least one poster is trying to keep the thread about Ms Cash and not every traveller who ever existed.

I take it you understand how discussion evolves and other tangents are explored?

BBFAN wrote: »
    At least one poster is trying to keep the thread about Ms Cash and not every traveller who ever existed. :rolleyes:

Plenty of discussion about her and also other issues

CrankyHaus had a great post earlier about discussion on this thread

See 5501

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The Maoris are New Zealand 's ethnic group. Do they have a history of oppressing a minority. How do you not know this?

What has that got to do with the price of fish?

Do you think the adults that had drink and drugs in their system while the place went up were responsible ?
    Given that they were supposed to be looking after children, getting hammered and stoned isn't a good idea.

Omg so racist!!!1