Goldengirl wrote: Excellent article , thank you, CrankyHaus!
Plumbthedepths wrote: » Article by a traveller advocate and you are crying bias? lol.
Omackeral wrote: » Mine was a reference to a joke. Another deluded poster likened the Travellers to the Amish people before, just a call back. And I'm well able to debate points, see my follow up post about how consanguineous relationships aka riding your own family doesn't make you a distinct race. You conveniently glossed over that one didn't you?
Goldengirl wrote: » Well done , big words. Fact is a lot of ethnic minorities are cosanguinous because they are not encouraged to mix outside their ethnicity/ locale.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » So you can't point out what is RACIST about the thread so, just your opinion. Grand so.
blanch152 wrote: » You are basically saying that certain ethnic minorities (including travellers) have a culture of racism.
Goldengirl wrote: » Anyone can see that this thread uses M.Cash to rant and rail against travellers , who are a distinct ethnic group , whether ye choose to accept that or not, and that is racism. .
KrustyUCC wrote: » No not at all I do find it funny when people's first contributions are basically to just want to shut down the thread So we have you, tatranska, Vicarious Function, Babooshka and various others just pop up 'questioning the longevity of the thread', the thread title or wanting the thread closed Plenty of time left to run in this story and plenty left to say until Margaret gets her forever home
CrankyHaus wrote: » Fair enough. I can't speak for others on the thread but I tried to answer your question. I think if you read the thread you'll see that it has broadened into a wide-ranging debate that for example in the last few days has discussed the Carrickmines Fire, the inquest, the subsequent PR actions to spin it in favour of a vested interest (with a national paper batting on that interest's behalf) and the dubious validity of comparisons with the Stardust Tragedy. I think broad-ranging debates are one of the things Boards does well.
blanch152 wrote: » Check my post history. I have criticised Catholic culture for their treatment of women. I have criticised African cultures for FGM I have criticisied Islamic cultures for their treatment of women. So when I criticise traveller culture and speak of deep misogyny, homophobia and criminality, I am not being racist, I am being consistent. I have also criticised aspects of Irish culture - the deeply misguided attachment to the language for example - but I and others are only accused of racism when we criticise traveller culture. Strange.
Goldengirl wrote: Ranting and railing against one distinct ethnic group , as on this thread, is considered Racist , by most of the civilised world , and is not a matter of opinion.
Goldengirl wrote: » That is because I and a few others questioned the insensitivity of this thread while a horrifically sad inquest was being held. That was what got me .
Goldengirl wrote: » The hate in this post....
Goldengirl wrote: » Excellent article , thank you, CrankyHaus!
KrustyUCC wrote: » What part is hateful?
Omackeral wrote: » Seriously, just follow her FB page. You're on every other day saying the same thing!
punisher5112 wrote: » Well jaysus thanks for pointing that out.... I hate FB and I do ask as the chat does be gone completely off the rails..,..
BBFAN wrote: At least one poster is trying to keep the thread about Ms Cash and not every traveller who ever existed.
BBFAN wrote: » At least one poster is trying to keep the thread about Ms Cash and not every traveller who ever existed. :rolleyes:
Goldengirl wrote: » The Maoris are New Zealand 's ethnic group. Do they have a history of oppressing a minority. How do you not know this?
Hector Savage wrote: » Do you think the adults that had drink and drugs in their system while the place went up were responsible ? Given that they were supposed to be looking after children, getting hammered and stoned isn't a good idea.
Goldengirl wrote: » Ranting and railing against one distinct ethnic group , as on this thread, is considered Racist , by most of the civilised world , and is not a matter of opinion.
Goldengirl wrote: » Well done , big words.
Goldengirl wrote: » Just showing what it's like when your post is taken out of context. I don't agree with all of what she says, the Stardust is not a comparison. Grenfell is.
Paddy Cow wrote: » Maoris existed in New Zealand for hundreds of years before the British went over. There is no comparison between Maoris and Travellers. Travellers don't know where they came from. The accepted view is that they are a splinter group of native Irish who were displaced from the North in the 1600's. They lived a nomadic life and kept to themselves. They were self sufficient and got by, by doing seasonal farm work and mending pots and pans, hence the name "tinkers". It's a recent trend that they have become completely depend on the welfare state to live. 100 years ago they were self sufficient and lived in caravans with no running water or electricity. Now we have third and fourth generation "Travellers" living in houses who consider themselves "settled Travellers" but still a different ethnic group. Nonsense. The only reason they are genetically different to regular Irish people is that for 400 years they have been marrying first cousins. That's not a good thing or something that should be encouraged because of "culture".