One thing I will say about Ted Bundy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

He was receiving marriage proposals while on death row, right?

Heckler wrote: »
    Because you know what he's done you look on his photos with a jaundiced eye. Plenty of photos of people looking nuts out there. Doesn't mean they are a serial killer.

Exactly. I look deranged in my DL photo, and challenged in my passport photo. I'm just pleasantly average in reality. Not a serial killer, honest.
    TomSweeney wrote: »
    I'm really touching a controversial topic, but that happens a lot, guys in prison for murdering and rape get a lof of fanmail from women and a lot of these women want to start relationships with them.

Would make an interesting study, the ultimate "Bastard" attraction.

There have been some studies I believe. It seems to be a belief that they can 'change' him, that they can be the influence that alters evil and that the killer is basically misunderstood, coupled with the bad boy thing except it's in perfect safety - he's behind bars and not only can't be unfaithful, he can't be a physical risk either.

It's an odd dynamic, but damaged people are often attracted to other (and sometimes massively more) damaged people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

He was receiving marriage proposals while on death row, right?

Yeah, some serial killers get married while on death row.

It's to do with something called hybristophilia

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybristophilia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭turdball

Didn't get ride the corpses even when they were rotting away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I find it amazing that he had so many female fans, he is one of the ones that I find genuinely terrifying. He used to groom the bodies afterwards ffs. He is so scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

At least he wasnt Jeffrey Dahmer. You could question his taste. He liked eating men.

Having said that, he had a cohort of female fans that would send him money in the post.

Experts theorise that women go for men like this, at least in part, because they are less likely to face any competition from other women. Men will fall for strippers, porn actresses, hookers and those sorts of women and are more likely to be motivated by sex.

A simple example is that a beautiful man who is successful, smart, good looking and\or wealthy will have a greater selection of women and the same goes for women.

Cannibalistic serial killers are less attractive to the opposite sex in general but attract admirers for all the wrong reasons.(NOTE UNDERSTATEMENT)

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Jimmy The Greek

It's because they all had to look like the chick who knocked him back when he was younger, who was good looking herself. That was part of his pathology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

It's because they all had to look like the chick who knocked him back when he was younger, who was good looking herself. That was part of his pathology.
    I don't know if I buy that theory. I think its an oversimplification. I think it was his type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Netflix tweeted viewers about their Bundy series.

Women who think they can change these bastards are a stick short of the full bundle.

https://uproxx.com/tv/netflix-asks-viewers-ted-bundy/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭Anthonylfc

new movie out about him with zac efron playing him

TomSweeney wrote: »
    I'm really touching a controversial topic, but that happens a lot, guys in prison for murdering and rape get a lof of fanmail from women and a lot of these women want to start relationships with them.

On a somewhat similar note the producers of the Brain Food Podcast were commenting on that recently. They make 1 hour episodes on a variety of topics and they note that whenever they do a "Macabre" episode focusing on a serial killer than their demographic of listeners goes suddenly up in the female category.

Do not they they did much speculation as to _why_ this was - but they said it was very strongly noticeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Meh, he just said "quite poor" for attention.

No, no I didn't.

Anthonylfc wrote: »
    new movie out about him with zac efron playing him

Odd choice of actor I thought, because Ted Bundy wasn't that good looking I don't think. He was handsome in the way someone's da is handsome. He wasn't Zac Efron handsome in my view. I reckon it's sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just finished watching it. The court room scenes were very interesting and the party for the want of a better word outside the prison for his execution just bizarre. Very very strange guy (obviously says ye because he was a serial killer) but the footage of him interacting with people. A whole other level of psychotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

He was definitely stylish and charismatic, he could have been a corrupt politician but he went down the wrong road

Or a defense lawyer.

The Judge praises his self representation to the hilt at one of his trials. Tells him he should have pursued a legal career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

SeaFields wrote: »
    Just finished watching it. The court room scenes were very interesting and the party for the want of a better word outside the prison for his execution just bizarre. Very very strange guy (obviously says ye because he was a serial killer) but the footage of him interacting with people. A whole other level of psychotic.

It was a pretty good watch. Psychopathy is fascinating in a grim sort of way. How he could go from a charming handsome man to a brutal murderer in a split second. It was mad how in the 1970s women used to go hitch hiking around the states on their own etc because nothing like this had ever happened before, made me realise how important things camera phones, widespread CCTV and DNA technology are. It would be almost impossible to do what he did today and get away with it for so long. If he'd been able to control himself he might still be a free man today!

The chanting and celebrations outside the courthouse didn't surprise me. The USA has a lot of knuckle draggers if you ever spend much time there it becomes obvious, especially in southern states like Florida. Just look at the fascination with guns and trump etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Jimmy The Greek

MadYaker wrote: »
    If he'd been able to control himself he might still be a free man today!

Considering how lucky they were to catch a few of them there must be a few like Ted who are walking free today.

The zodiac killer was never caught and remains an open investigation. Closer to home there are obviously the theories if all the missing women some years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Piece of ****.
    Sad excuse for a human being.
    Nothing mush else to say about the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Candie wrote: »
    Exactly. I look deranged in my DL photo, and challenged in my passport photo. I'm just pleasantly average in reality. Not a serial killer, honest.

There have been some studies I believe. It seems to be a belief that they can 'change' him, that they can be the influence that alters evil and that the killer is basically misunderstood, coupled with the bad boy thing except it's in perfect safety - he's behind bars and not only can't be unfaithful, he can't be a physical risk either.

It's an odd dynamic, but damaged people are often attracted to other (and sometimes massively more) damaged people.

Wow.
    That's very interesting.
    Obviously aware of this phenomenon but never heard anyone elaborate on the reason for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

SeaFields wrote: »
    The zodiac killer was never caught and remains an open investigation. Closer to home there are obviously the theories if all the missing women some years ago

He is most likely dead now though? due to old age if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

I thought to myself, hey this guys a real jerk

MadYaker wrote: »
    He is most likely dead now though? due to old age if nothing else.

I suppose you wouldn't know. Active in the 60s and 70s so could still very well still be around albeit an OAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

SexBobomb wrote: »
    I thought to myself, hey this guys a real jerk

You're thinking of Albert Fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭turdball

He was probably a gentleman 99.95% of his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

interesting documentary but amount of time it took to convict him after dozens women were killed and one that escaped and they found bunch of evidence wasn't enough to prevent another was it 5-10 deaths mind numbing. How silly people were back then, yes no internet no dna or databases everyone kept to themselves but still seems if not few dedicated people it prob would went on longer.

also seeing clips from that time parties gathering with smiles on their faces its like they were all just having fun when disappearances happened - seemed creepy.

Also interesting that women got fascinated with him and would go to court- was a bit sickening to hear it.

Think best part was really at the end when people said light him up outside prison as crowds gathered, as amount of lives taken he got off lightly for sitting 10 years until sentencing finally came.

think the destruction he caused still haunts families that lost their kids and how brutally they died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I love true crime, but haven't gotten around to watching the Bundy tapes. I just have very little interest in hearing serial killers talk about themselves and tell their story in their own words. If I want an unreliable narration, I'll read a work of fiction. I'm more interested in hearing what forensic psychologists have to say about him.

Anyway, I will always remember Bundy not just for his murder victims, but the two women whom he left permanently disabled. One was his first known victim - he beat her so badly she suffered permanent brain damage. He also shoved a bed rod up her vagina which left her with permanent organ damage. The other was one of his last victims. She was a ballet dancer at FSU, which has one of the best dancing programs in the US, so she was excellent and has worked very hard to get there. He left her with 5 fractures in her skull which severed nerves causing both permanent and profound deafness in one ear and loss of equilibrium - she couldn't balance herself anymore. Dancing career over.

And of course that he was a necrophiliac who went back to the bodies until they were too decomposed.

Disgusting individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

One person in the Netflix documentary, said he had bright blue pupils normally, but he frequently saw his pupils turn completely black. Sounds like he had evil in him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Netflix tweeted viewers about their Bundy series.

Women who think they can change these bastards are a stick short of the full bundle.

https://uproxx.com/tv/netflix-asks-viewers-ted-bundy/

Probably women who want a celebrity of any kind, for some kind of celebrity status themselves. Think Victoria Mary Clarke.

KevinCavan wrote: »
    One person in the Netflix documentary, said he had bright blue pupils normally, but he frequently saw his pupils turn completely black. Sounds like he had evil in him.

I wouldn't take this bit as gospel to be fair. I imagine his eyes were just as blue as they always were.