Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One thing I will say about Ted Bundy

• 27-01-2019 12:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

The man had taste. It would be easy to just abduct any woman he saw, but most of his victims were ladies who, if they were Millennials, you'd swipe right on.

That's one of the things I noticed from the Netflix documentary. The other thing I noticed was how they tried to paint him as a Master of Disguise - the 'many faces of Ted Bundy' - when really he was just changing up his image to stay fashionable and not to thwart law enforcement.

Could you not grow a moustache in the 70s without people thinking, 'Oh god what have you done?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Might swipe right, probably wouldn't cave their heads in with a tyre iron though. It's a pity his oul lad didn't pull out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,237 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Didn't he try and bite one of his victims? So much for taste......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Could you not grow a moustache in the 70s without people thinking, 'Oh god what have you done?'

WTF is a moustache?

Not just the 70's, a mustache anytime is hiding something.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

RMAOK wrote: »
    Didn't he try and bite one of his victims? So much for taste......

He did bite her.

The one that really got me was the 12-year-old girl he murdered. All of the murders were quite poor on his part, but why kill a child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

His brother Al had an awful life of it too. Found a Mexican wife eventually. Stunner she was too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

His brother Al had an awful life of it too. Found a Mexican wife eventually. Stunner she was too.

His burger buns business really took off shortly afterwards .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

His burger buns business really took off shortly afterwards .

That was a brilliant episode. Fun fact- Kelly Bundy went on to be Veronica Corningstone in Anchorman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

WTF is a moustache?

Not just the 70's, a mustache anytime is hiding something.....

A moustache is like colour, the correct spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

Colombian if I'm not mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Being young and attractive were non-negotiables for him in choosing his victims. He wanted to kill people that he perceived to be of value to society.

I’m anti-capital punishment but didn’t feel sad when someone present at the execution said that Bundy had fear in his eyes at the moment of reckoning.
    He did bite her.

The one that really got me was the 12-year-old girl he murdered. All of the murders were quite poor on his part, but why kill a child?

“quite poor” - understatement of the millennium. “Completely fûcking heinous” is the term you’re looking for, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

He was definitely stylish and charismatic, he could have been a corrupt politician but he went down the wrong road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Nothing's shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

ccfd96459f6faf600ebc8d23b8519721.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

What I wouldn't do to her corpse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Nothing's shocking.

I can't think of a better electricity pun currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

He's kind of the ultimate serial killer alright considering his Modus operandi.
    I've often thought, given his weak looking stature, how lucky he was not to be overpowered during the chi omega sorority house attack.
    In some of his mugshots he does look seriously deranged though and it's scary to think that's the last face his victims saw.
    He deserved to fry for his crimes regardless of what information could have been gained from him imo.

I've often thought, given his weak looking stature, how lucky he was not to be overpowered during the chi omega sorority house attack.
    In some of his mugshots he does look seriously deranged though and it's scary to think that's the last face his victims saw.
    He deserved to fry for his crimes regardless of what information could have been gained from him imo.

He seemed to bask in his gory crimes too, sick individual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

He hammered and bludgeoned those women while they slept. They had no chance to defend themselves.

He doesn't look deranged at all. Thats the scary. Ted was a good looking fit white male. Educated, charismatic, able to talk to women.The perfect predator.

May he rot in hell for what hes done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Heckler wrote: »
    He hammered and bludgeoned those women while they slept. They had no chance to defend themselves.

He doesn't look deranged at all. Thats the scary. Ted was a good looking fit white male. Educated, charismatic, able to talk to women.The perfect predator.

May he rot in hell for what hes done.

That's what I mean. He was lucky to get away without being caught that night. Sorry but he looks mad as hell in some of these pics.

https://bnc.lt/a/key_live_eifqPbvhIRnKEb1T0MSFpipgsCenSDRu?%24ios_deeplink_path=pinterest%3A%2F%2Fpin%2F411235009698218380&%24android_deeplink_path=pinterest%3A%2F%2Fpin%2F411235009698218380&amp_client_id=amp-1JBoCXxH5ipg_h_qD0e1gg&utm_source=168&utm_medium=2160&current_page_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.ie%2Fpin%2F411235009698218380%2F&install_id=585e4a18887a4f83af1fe153d1367954&%24fallback_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.ie%2Fpin%2F411235009698218380%2F%23details

https://theodorerobertcowellnelsonbundy.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/jpg

A lead detective in Bundys case said that there was maybe 6 or so photos from the beach where Ted struck. This day and age with phone cameras everywhere he'd be identified in a heartbeat.

He used to peep in college students windows while having a **** and got nothing more than being told to piss off. Maybe if he had been brought to book and arrested for deviancy then he may not have escalated. Unlikely though. He was a lunatic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭Anthonylfc

He was definitely stylish and charismatic, he could have been a corrupt politician but he went down the wrong road

no difference there

both kill innocent people

Gary Ridgeway ( The Green River ) serial killer was the most prolific american killer

He still to this day has no remorse , can't feel empathy etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

The biggest shock from that documentary is the girl who finished highschool and went to work in a gas station, and decided to buy a '74 Camaro... in 1974.

Times have changed.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Pelvis wrote: »
    The biggest shock from that documentary is the girl who finished highschool and went to work in a gas station, and decided to buy a '74 Camaro... in 1974.

Times have changed.
    Its not thaf much of a shock. Cost of living back then was a fraction of what it is today. Income inequality is one modern society’s greatest ills

his mother was a total minger

she was like burns from the simpsons with a wig on

somebody post a pic up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

He did bite her.

Yep, that was utterly ****ed up.
    There was a film around 2003 made about him, horrible horrible disturbing film and that scene with the 12 year old was the worst - you didn't see anything but you knew and heard.

couldn;t sleep after watching that, and was a grown man then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

A bunch of moronic women were "fans" of his at the trial - like groupies. He raped and killed women like.
    “quite poor” - understatement of the millennium. “Completely fûcking heinous” is the term you’re looking for, I believe.
    Meh, he just said "quite poor" for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

A bunch of moronic women were "fans" of his at the trial - like groupies. He raped and killed women like.

I'm really touching a controversial topic, but that happens a lot, guys in prison for murdering and rape get a lof of fanmail from women and a lot of these women want to start relationships with them.

Would make an interesting study, the ultimate "Bastard" attraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

He was receiving marriage proposals while on death row, right?

Heckler wrote: »
    Because you know what he's done you look on his photos with a jaundiced eye. Plenty of photos of people looking nuts out there. Doesn't mean they are a serial killer.

Exactly. I look deranged in my DL photo, and challenged in my passport photo. I'm just pleasantly average in reality. Not a serial killer, honest.
    TomSweeney wrote: »
    I'm really touching a controversial topic, but that happens a lot, guys in prison for murdering and rape get a lof of fanmail from women and a lot of these women want to start relationships with them.

Would make an interesting study, the ultimate "Bastard" attraction.

There have been some studies I believe. It seems to be a belief that they can 'change' him, that they can be the influence that alters evil and that the killer is basically misunderstood, coupled with the bad boy thing except it's in perfect safety - he's behind bars and not only can't be unfaithful, he can't be a physical risk either.

It's an odd dynamic, but damaged people are often attracted to other (and sometimes massively more) damaged people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,237 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

He was receiving marriage proposals while on death row, right?

Yeah, some serial killers get married while on death row.

It's to do with something called hybristophilia

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybristophilia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭turdball

Didn't get ride the corpses even when they were rotting away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I find it amazing that he had so many female fans, he is one of the ones that I find genuinely terrifying. He used to groom the bodies afterwards ffs. He is so scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

At least he wasnt Jeffrey Dahmer. You could question his taste. He liked eating men.

Having said that, he had a cohort of female fans that would send him money in the post.

Experts theorise that women go for men like this, at least in part, because they are less likely to face any competition from other women. Men will fall for strippers, porn actresses, hookers and those sorts of women and are more likely to be motivated by sex.

A simple example is that a beautiful man who is successful, smart, good looking and\or wealthy will have a greater selection of women and the same goes for women.

Cannibalistic serial killers are less attractive to the opposite sex in general but attract admirers for all the wrong reasons.(NOTE UNDERSTATEMENT)

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Jimmy The Greek

It's because they all had to look like the chick who knocked him back when he was younger, who was good looking herself. That was part of his pathology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

It's because they all had to look like the chick who knocked him back when he was younger, who was good looking herself. That was part of his pathology.
    I don't know if I buy that theory. I think its an oversimplification. I think it was his type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Netflix tweeted viewers about their Bundy series.

Women who think they can change these bastards are a stick short of the full bundle.

https://uproxx.com/tv/netflix-asks-viewers-ted-bundy/

new movie out about him with zac efron playing him

TomSweeney wrote: »

On a somewhat similar note the producers of the Brain Food Podcast were commenting on that recently. They make 1 hour episodes on a variety of topics and they note that whenever they do a "Macabre" episode focusing on a serial killer than their demographic of listeners goes suddenly up in the female category.

Do not they they did much speculation as to _why_ this was - but they said it was very strongly noticeable.

No, no I didn't.

Anthonylfc wrote: »
    new movie out about him with zac efron playing him

Odd choice of actor I thought, because Ted Bundy wasn't that good looking I don't think. He was handsome in the way someone's da is handsome. He wasn't Zac Efron handsome in my view. I reckon it's sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just finished watching it. The court room scenes were very interesting and the party for the want of a better word outside the prison for his execution just bizarre. Very very strange guy (obviously says ye because he was a serial killer) but the footage of him interacting with people. A whole other level of psychotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Or a defense lawyer.

The Judge praises his self representation to the hilt at one of his trials. Tells him he should have pursued a legal career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

SeaFields wrote: »
    Just finished watching it. The court room scenes were very interesting and the party for the want of a better word outside the prison for his execution just bizarre. Very very strange guy (obviously says ye because he was a serial killer) but the footage of him interacting with people. A whole other level of psychotic.

It was a pretty good watch. Psychopathy is fascinating in a grim sort of way. How he could go from a charming handsome man to a brutal murderer in a split second. It was mad how in the 1970s women used to go hitch hiking around the states on their own etc because nothing like this had ever happened before, made me realise how important things camera phones, widespread CCTV and DNA technology are. It would be almost impossible to do what he did today and get away with it for so long. If he'd been able to control himself he might still be a free man today!

The chanting and celebrations outside the courthouse didn't surprise me. The USA has a lot of knuckle draggers if you ever spend much time there it becomes obvious, especially in southern states like Florida. Just look at the fascination with guns and trump etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Jimmy The Greek

MadYaker wrote: »
    If he'd been able to control himself he might still be a free man today!

Considering how lucky they were to catch a few of them there must be a few like Ted who are walking free today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Considering how lucky they were to catch a few of them there must be a few like Ted who are walking free today.

The zodiac killer was never caught and remains an open investigation. Closer to home there are obviously the theories if all the missing women some years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Piece of ****.
    Sad excuse for a human being.
    Nothing mush else to say about the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Candie wrote: »
    Exactly. I look deranged in my DL photo, and challenged in my passport photo. I'm just pleasantly average in reality. Not a serial killer, honest.

There have been some studies I believe. It seems to be a belief that they can 'change' him, that they can be the influence that alters evil and that the killer is basically misunderstood, coupled with the bad boy thing except it's in perfect safety - he's behind bars and not only can't be unfaithful, he can't be a physical risk either.

It's an odd dynamic, but damaged people are often attracted to other (and sometimes massively more) damaged people.

Wow.
    That's very interesting.
    Obviously aware of this phenomenon but never heard anyone elaborate on the reason for this.