Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Most useless/ disappointing thing you ever bought ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

A costly engagement ring, led on to paying for a wedding, a dwelling house, kids education ect ect. ��

But she was worth it, right? Did she bring any money with her or did she have her hands hanging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Oneill calf staller. First calf pulled it off the gate.
    Bought a few expensive suck calves to become suckler cows that barely covered their costs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Changed from a quad to a utv a few years back, .. I would never contemplate changing back. Its better than the quad in every facet, ...

I take it the utv would be a lot safer in an overturn, which would be one of my reasons for considering changing my Trx420, What utv did you get m8, and how does it's "agility" eg rounding up cattle compare with the quad.

Back to useless things or rather disappointing.
    Bought a Citroen BX (secondhand) back in the day, most economical car I ever owned, NEVER had to put fuel in it, crashed and wrote it off after 5 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A purebred limousin heifer that I bought from a well known breeder at a society sale. The devil incarnate, she was. She went berserk when she calved and never calmed down. Miracle she didnt kill someone.
    Funny thing is, I kept her heifer calf and she is as quiet as a lamb. She has calved now too and her calf is dead quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

davidk1394 wrote:
    That god damn claas tractor I bought. Endless trouble

I was thinking of buying one about 130 hp ? A y thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

That PB lm bull I bought calving rate of 4.3 on paper after 7 dead cows and 7 dead calves I shot him ... and the Malone trailed mower 4 yrs old a d falling apart a d they leave the rows high at one side joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

A limo bull for 5 k off a the sposed best breeder. It was gay. The heifers used be bulling him n he would stand there looking embarrassed!😩

Another time I bought advice on curing psoriasis off d tinternet. Waste off time. Telling you not to eat things every1 knows is bad for u.

Also, a heat detection device for sucklers. WSte of time. Get a good bull and let him do the job he’s sposed to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'm trying to think what's the worst thing we've bought and it's between
    A. A ram that didn't work - the breeder took him back so not too bad
    B. A broken lawnmower- brought dad to an auction to poke at a tractor and he starts bidding on a fevkin lawnmower for spares, ends up costing the same as a new one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

A bunch of highly bred dairy stock from a highly regarded farmer when I was starting out. Maybe I shouls have doubled down on a few tonnes of meal each, but I couldn't keep them in the place.

The last straw was when one started drinking herself, we tried every kind of lotion, contraption and harness but she'd get around it after a day or two. She was drinking about half her milk, which was about 40l in total the odd day you'd get it. The worst thing about them was their temperament, nervous and scared creatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I take it the utv would be a lot safer in an overturn, which would be one of my reasons for considering changing my Trx420, What utv did you get m8, and how does it's "agility" eg rounding up cattle compare with the quad.

Back to useless things or rather disappointing.
    Bought a Citroen BX (secondhand) back in the day, most economical car I ever owned, NEVER had to put fuel in it, crashed and wrote it off after 5 miles.

Got a polaris 500 petrol in 2014. Had a Honda Foreman manual quad from new beforehand, which was a great reliable quad.
    The polaris was a cvt model, a year old and had some kind of high grade clutch fitted by dealer which enabled engine braking, not standard at the time. Great yoke with enough pep to herd. You can drift but not as easy or as nimbly as the quad due to weight distribution etc. One of my main criteria was able to herd animals, especially break out's I trialled a JD Gator at the timeand it wouldnt be able for stock. A lot less likely to overturn and safer if it ever did. Better towing ability and much less likely to get bogged. No problem driving under temporary wires (just flick up the wire with a pigtail). Obv. can carry a load and passengers with seat belts too.
    That said it's a bit more prone to finicky things going and if I was changing again I'd look at other brands, esp Honda if they did one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭9935452

lab man wrote: »
    That PB lm bull I bought calving rate of 4.3 on paper after 7 dead cows and 7 dead calves I shot him ... and the Malone trailed mower 4 yrs old a d falling apart a d they leave the rows high at one side joke

Are the malone mowers that bad ?
    Did you buy it new ?
    Ive never hard any bad reviews of them, Also never heard a god review eithre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Oneill calf staller. First calf pulled it off the gate.
    Bought a few expensive suck calves to become suckler cows that barely covered their costs....

I have one of those. Brilliant yoke I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Fluxed wire gasless mig welder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The blue yard scraper on wheels was another disaster purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Every brand of wellies I've ever bought except one ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,011 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Those who bought stock that died or didn't do well, did ye go back to the seller?

Lidl arc welder for 60 quid.
    How bad could it be.
    3 rods and it was overheating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

GPS for fert spreading on grass. No external antenna and we’ve lots of trees. Was not accurate at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭TopTec

whelan2 wrote: »
    Those who bought stock that died or didn't do well, did ye go back to the seller?

Muckboots? (Just bought the Arctic)

TT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

9935452 wrote: »
    Lidl arc welder for 60 quid.
    How bad could it be.
    3 rods and it was overheating

Ah for 60 quid that’s not bad?

We had one of them here years ago. Luckily, only on loan. The guy selling it insisted we take it home and try it first. He was a friend of my Dads. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

We had one of them here years ago. Luckily, only on loan. The guy selling it insisted we take it home and try it first. He was a friend of my Dads. :rolleyes:

clearly he wanted to remain so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I have one of those here with years. The exit from the parlour is about 5 foot wide and 75 foot long and that scraper is a godsend for scraping it. I've even replaced the wheels last year.

Once you adjust the handles for your height, I find it great?

Willfarman wrote: »
    Ah for 60 quid that’s not bad?

It had the ability to burn 4-6 3.25mm rods an hour

it burnt 3 rods and over heated,

Cooled down 15 minutes later

Burnt another rod and overheated
    15 minutes to cool down

Thats how bad it was

I have one of those here with years. The exit from the parlour is about 5 foot wide and 75 foot long and that scraper is a godsend for scraping it. I've even replaced the wheels last year.

Once you adjust the handles for your height, I find it great?

Does it not kill your back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Does it not kill your back?
    No, once the handles are set right. Just adjust the bolts in the brackets just above the wheels until you find the height that suits you.

It's a hell of a lot easier on the back than a hand scraper:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭epfff

Never
    Often heard of it happening would consider it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

9935452 wrote: »
    It had the ability to burn 4-6 3.25mm rods an hour

it burnt 3 rods and over heated,

Cooled down 15 minutes later

Burnt another rod and overheated
    15 minutes to cool down

Thats how bad it was

About a 5% duty cycle so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭visatorro

Yeah, but as the seller said they were fine leaving yard, which the cow was in fairness. Died to days later. Vet reckoned it's liver gave up I think. Few years ago now. No come back really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭emaherx

Agree with those scrappers with the wheels. One here sitting in the same place since it arrived.

But we got a got galvanize cage for debudding calves, we changed to an Angus bull later that year. Technically nothing wrong with the cage but I’ve never used it more than a hand full of times.