Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most useless/ disappointing thing you ever bought ...

• 26-01-2019 11:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭

We have had a thread about the "best thing you ever boought", so how about those things that never lived up to their hype?

I'll start you off with this RAC brand rechargeable torch.
    The box showed a typical image of an RAC man working on a car in the pouring rain, but it was weeks later when I noticed a warning to never let it get wet.
    Indoor use only!

uunyljF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Jez, its a big enough torch too !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Bought a camcorder a few months before smartphone came out kids still kicking it around house here 7 or 8 years later seems indististutible, a small kango harmer from Lidl that go on a Lidl air compessor the compessor is alright but the hammer is as useless as tits on a bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Middling thoroughbreds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Weedlicker. Got used for one paddock, too slow and did a very poor job, sat in the corner of a field ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

An old kverneland spring harrow that I bought that after getting it I spent time and money to get it into better shape. Hard to get one of these second hand. Only a week after getting it I saw a local one in excellent condition for sale. Should have bought the second one, it would have been excellent value and use the first one for spares or tried to sell on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭kk.man

A second hand chainsaw in a main dealers.

Never second hand again!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I was in an auction, thought I was buying a wood turning lathe, but there was another lot in between that wasn't in the catalogue, I thought I got a cheap lathe until the lathe came up in the next lot:o. Box of tat, the best thing in it was 3 kukri knives. Moral of the story; don't be talking when your lot comes up.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

kk.man wrote: »
    A second hand chainsaw in a main dealers.

Never second hand again!

A second hand Mculloch. Broke my heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Probably should mention the loads of German heifers the local Co-op imported in the early 90's.
    I don't think any of them saw a 3rd lactation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I bought a second hand Lely 1 tonne spreader. It worked alright for the first year but then the curtain in front of the discs ripped and the fertiliser was thrown up around the back of the tractor.

Replaced the curtain again and again, it rarely lasted a year and I had awful trouble with the back of the tractor with rust from the fertiliser I couldn't wash off with the spreader on.

It would have been cheaper to buy a new spreader first day:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,208 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Probably should mention the loads of German heifers the local Co-op imported in the early 90's.

Bought a highly rated holstein friesian bull a few years ago. 90% of his calves didn't live beyond 2 weeks. Disaster. Any calves from other sires born did fine. Or the calved heifers I bought in and 75% of them died of ragwort poisoning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Quad.

Bought a Quad truk and you'd be wondering after what the hell the point of riding around in the cold and rain with a wet arse was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

A wicker toilet seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

That god damn claas tractor I bought. Endless trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

A pen of (very expensive) Lleyn hoggetts. The ones that didn't die first year didn't last the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

davidk1394 wrote: »

What kind of problems had you with it David?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

My list is endless. Here's a few:

Bought a tarpaulin cover that was ripped to shreds after a night of strong wind.

A super ser gas that kept cutting out after 15 minutes and took about 50 button pushes to get started.

Ordered a lamb feed line kit off Amazon and got delivered an aquarium heater. Still trying to sort that out. They say it says 'heater' in the description but the product image is wrong.

I'm sure I'll think of more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Bought a very old david brown for scraping the yard and filling fertilliser bags, gone after a year. Sorry bought angus bull off lad j clare, johnes positive. Two fr bulls off a lad for 4, both were crippled after 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Last ch bull we had.
    He was purebred, brought a guy with me that I trusted and on paper everything seemed good.

His calves were dead or trying to die from the second they were calved, lazy lumps of yokes with no inclination to get up or suck a cow. It was two torturous seasons of hard calvings, lifting calves to suck and ringing the knacker to take them away.

Only good calves were from neighbors LM bull who broke in and helped him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭older by the day

A costly engagement ring, led on to paying for a wedding, a dwelling house, kids education ect ect. 😊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

A Hymac track digger.. spent more time fixing it than using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Quad.

Bought a Quad truk and you'd be wondering after what the hell the point of riding around in the cold and rain with a wet arse was about.

If it's raining I got the full wet gear on anyways most the time, quad seriously handy for jumping on and off whole time doing strip fencing, going under fences etc. I still wouldn't say no to a jimny or pajero junior for them few totally cold and wet days a yr and carrying stuff too big for the quad, but I wouldn't replace the quad ever.

However going back to useless stuff, our 1st ever quad, a Polaris, absolutely heap of muck with a chocolate gearbox, had it going for about 2months in the space of 2yrs owning it, rest of the time it was in the garage waiting for parts to come from the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

What kind of problems had you with it David?

All electrics. At the garage now to get an ECU and regulator for the turbo. Think I might just trade it if the repair bill is high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Nekarsulm wrote: »

The gift that keeps on giving, we wouldn't have the Jones or Morrell around without them, and maybe the IBR too. A fortune made on animal health products on their back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Willfarman wrote: »
    A Hymac track digger.. spent more time fixing it than using it.

Every ride-on mower I ever bought was like that!!:(

Timmaay wrote: »
    If it's raining I got the full wet gear on anyways most the time, quad seriously handy for jumping on and off whole time doing strip fencing, going under fences etc. I still wouldn't say no to a jimny or pajero junior for them few totally cold and wet days a yr and carrying stuff too big for the quad, but I wouldn't replace the quad ever.

However going back to useless stuff, our 1st ever quad, a Polaris, absolutely heap of muck with a chocolate gearbox, had it going for about 2months in the space of 2yrs owning it, rest of the time it was in the garage waiting for parts to come from the states.

Changed from a quad to a utv a few years back, justified the extra cost as it was mevessart to accommodate the children and my father safely. I would never contemplate changing back. Its better than the quad in every facet, except possibly for doing doughnuts. Most of all I don't miss the weather in my face every morning.

A bunch of highly bred dairy stock from a highly regarded farmer when I was starting out. Maybe I shouls have doubled down on a few tonnes of meal each, but I couldn't keep them in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

davidk1394 wrote: »
    That's an expensive mistake :eek:

einn32 wrote: »
    A second hand Mculloch. Broke my heart

I bought a brand new pioneer chainsaw years ago and was endless trouble from the start.

A costly engagement ring, led on to paying for a wedding, a dwelling house, kids education ect ect. ��

But she was worth it, right? Did she bring any money with her or did she have her hands hanging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Oneill calf staller. First calf pulled it off the gate.
    Bought a few expensive suck calves to become suckler cows that barely covered their costs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Changed from a quad to a utv a few years back, .. I would never contemplate changing back. Its better than the quad in every facet, ...

I take it the utv would be a lot safer in an overturn, which would be one of my reasons for considering changing my Trx420, What utv did you get m8, and how does it's "agility" eg rounding up cattle compare with the quad.

Back to useless things or rather disappointing.
    Bought a Citroen BX (secondhand) back in the day, most economical car I ever owned, NEVER had to put fuel in it, crashed and wrote it off after 5 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A purebred limousin heifer that I bought from a well known breeder at a society sale. The devil incarnate, she was. She went berserk when she calved and never calmed down. Miracle she didnt kill someone.
    Funny thing is, I kept her heifer calf and she is as quiet as a lamb. She has calved now too and her calf is dead quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

davidk1394 wrote:

I was thinking of buying one about 130 hp ? A y thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

That PB lm bull I bought calving rate of 4.3 on paper after 7 dead cows and 7 dead calves I shot him ... and the Malone trailed mower 4 yrs old a d falling apart a d they leave the rows high at one side joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

A limo bull for 5 k off a the sposed best breeder. It was gay. The heifers used be bulling him n he would stand there looking embarrassed!😩

Another time I bought advice on curing psoriasis off d tinternet. Waste off time. Telling you not to eat things every1 knows is bad for u.

Also, a heat detection device for sucklers. WSte of time. Get a good bull and let him do the job he’s sposed to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'm trying to think what's the worst thing we've bought and it's between
    A. A ram that didn't work - the breeder took him back so not too bad
    B. A broken lawnmower- brought dad to an auction to poke at a tractor and he starts bidding on a fevkin lawnmower for spares, ends up costing the same as a new one :rolleyes:

A bunch of highly bred dairy stock from a highly regarded farmer when I was starting out. Maybe I shouls have doubled down on a few tonnes of meal each, but I couldn't keep them in the place.

The last straw was when one started drinking herself, we tried every kind of lotion, contraption and harness but she'd get around it after a day or two. She was drinking about half her milk, which was about 40l in total the odd day you'd get it. The worst thing about them was their temperament, nervous and scared creatures.

I take it the utv would be a lot safer in an overturn, which would be one of my reasons for considering changing my Trx420, What utv did you get m8, and how does it's "agility" eg rounding up cattle compare with the quad.

Back to useless things or rather disappointing.
    Bought a Citroen BX (secondhand) back in the day, most economical car I ever owned, NEVER had to put fuel in it, crashed and wrote it off after 5 miles.

Got a polaris 500 petrol in 2014. Had a Honda Foreman manual quad from new beforehand, which was a great reliable quad.
    The polaris was a cvt model, a year old and had some kind of high grade clutch fitted by dealer which enabled engine braking, not standard at the time. Great yoke with enough pep to herd. You can drift but not as easy or as nimbly as the quad due to weight distribution etc. One of my main criteria was able to herd animals, especially break out's I trialled a JD Gator at the timeand it wouldnt be able for stock. A lot less likely to overturn and safer if it ever did. Better towing ability and much less likely to get bogged. No problem driving under temporary wires (just flick up the wire with a pigtail). Obv. can carry a load and passengers with seat belts too.
    That said it's a bit more prone to finicky things going and if I was changing again I'd look at other brands, esp Honda if they did one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

lab man wrote: »
    That PB lm bull I bought calving rate of 4.3 on paper after 7 dead cows and 7 dead calves I shot him ... and the Malone trailed mower 4 yrs old a d falling apart a d they leave the rows high at one side joke

Are the malone mowers that bad ?
    Did you buy it new ?
    Ive never hard any bad reviews of them, Also never heard a god review eithre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Oneill calf staller. First calf pulled it off the gate.
    Bought a few expensive suck calves to become suckler cows that barely covered their costs....

I have one of those. Brilliant yoke I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Fluxed wire gasless mig welder.

The blue yard scraper on wheels was another disaster purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Every brand of wellies I've ever bought except one ...

Those who bought stock that died or didn't do well, did ye go back to the seller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Lidl arc welder for 60 quid.
    How bad could it be.
    3 rods and it was overheating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

GPS for fert spreading on grass. No external antenna and we’ve lots of trees. Was not accurate at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭TopTec

whelan2 wrote: »
    Those who bought stock that died or didn't do well, did ye go back to the seller?

Muckboots? (Just bought the Arctic)

TT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

9935452 wrote: »
    Lidl arc welder for 60 quid.
    How bad could it be.
    3 rods and it was overheating

Ah for 60 quid that’s not bad?