Sports star arrested (Warning in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Plus the day after he was acting normal training out with family etc.

Surely you would first be on the end of a bollocking from your family to start posting online etc?

Will wait for the trial to pass judgement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Calltocall wrote: »
    Also is there not something in the fact that the individual has been released without charge as in maybe it wasn’t true?

This means nothing really. The file is only now being prepared for the DPP who will decide whether or not to prosecute.

You know something no one else does?

Prove it and Pm me.

You dont know him personally no need to take the news to heart so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I'm not too familiar with the legal system in this sort of case.
    If the person held is charged do they remain anonymous through the trial with the exception of being named if found guilty?
    Also would this person be released on bail if the case is going to court?

• Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mark
    Boards.ie Employee

Mod Note: Like last time, do not speculate or hint at the identity of the person in question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I'm not too familiar with the legal system in this sort of case.
    If the person held is charged do they remain anonymous through the trial with the exception of being named if found guilty?
    Also would this person be released on bail if the case is going to court?

In rape case the identity of victim and accuser can not be reported

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

You dont know him personally no need to take the news to heart so much

He’s a muppet!!!

But I hate trial by the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I knew who it was too, there was wattsapp messages going like wild as to suggest who this person is.

Innocent until proven otherwise, but I do hope this young lady gets justice and is looked after.

Because it's a horrific thing to have to go through.

Muckka wrote: »
    I knew who it was too, there was wattsapp messages going like wild as to suggest who this person is.

Innocent until proven otherwise, but I do hope this young lady gets justice and is looked after.

Because it's a horrific thing to have to go through.

How do we know it happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

In rape case the identity of victim and accuser can not be reported

I thought that the accused could only remain unnamed if found guilty when the victim was a connected person such as family.

How do we know it happened?

Dublin is a small place . Fair play to her providing a statement

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Calltocall wrote: »
    Also is there not something in the fact that the individual has been released without charge as in maybe it wasn’t true? I mean I hear people saying they know it’s him but seriously how do people know that for certain? I saw the wats app stuff going around on twitter from weird random accounts before Christmas that could have easily been doctored and bs, I’ve also been told in conversation that it was him and a large sum was paid up to buy silence but I know they were just regurgitating what they heard from someone else, crap spreads like wildfire, there’s simply nothing official/solid/reliable to say it’s the presumed individual.

Heard the same stuff too. It's always comes from someone high up in the Gardai or someone high up in Pearse Street Garda station so you know it's reliable. Of course, they heard it from a guy at work, who's best friend's dog used to go to school with that gards uncle. Totally legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

"Sports Star"

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTkCIUU128Re2S4UoWh8doUhZFYwdiB9lYJUplOiIrpqxBh3tr-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

This means nothing really. The file is only now being prepared for the DPP who will decide whether or not to prosecute.

Fair enough but my point still stands there has been nothing solid to say it’s said individual who is the accused, nothing only gossip so far and I can’t get my head around how nobody would get a snap of him either entering or leaving garda station.

Why Dundrum Garda station too??

Doesn’t add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

What an absolute mess of a person this guy is. Used to be biggest fan but wouldn’t piss on him now .

Doesn’t add up.

Big fan of his ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,135 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I read about this on an American gossip site last month. Would they bother or how would they even know about it if it wasn't true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I read about this on an American gossip site last month. Would they bother or how would they even know about it if it wasn't true?

Paper never refuses ink.......bla bla bla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Gonad wrote: »
    What an absolute mess of a person this guy is. Used to be biggest fan but wouldn’t piss on him now .

User name almost checks out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Gonad wrote: »
    When one of us go to speculate , we all go to speculate :)

Dont go quoting me on this but I heard it was the 2015 grand national winner "Many Clouds", he has had a hard time coping with fame and he had a hard fall when the oats ran out. Its probably best not to rush top any hasty conclusions at this stage.

Heard the same stuff too. It's always comes from someone high up in the Gardai or someone high up in Pearse Street Garda station so you know it's reliable. Of course, they heard it from a guy at work, who's best friend's dog used to go to school with that gards uncle. Totally legit.

Exactly I heard the exact same thing too, heard it from a guard in pearse street etc etc mate of a mate etc then the wats app messages could very very easily have been doctored or completely fabricated, chinese whispers, I’m not a fan of this individual but I hate trial by internet and this is a very serious allegation, internet trials have ruined many people before without any truth to allegations, people need to question stuff they hear without taking it as gospel, again will reserve judgement on this until something official comes out as to the persons identity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Dont go quoting me on this but I heard it was the 2015 grand national winner "Many Clouds", he has had a hard time coping with fame and he had a hard fall when the oats ran out. Its probably best not to rush top any hasty conclusions at this stage.

Nah, that horse has quite a good alibi in that he died on Jan 28th 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Doesn’t add up.

I think that is where the complaint was made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Nah, that horse has quite a good alibi in that he died on Jan 28th 2017.

That is what "They" want you to believe just like Elvis.

Sure, remember over a year ago there was all that shíte about McGregor hitting some hitman for the Kinnehan's. Loads of whatsapp screenshots going around from people in the know that they were after McGregor and there was a hit out on him. Then he had escaped to Spain and was lying low to get away from them. Then Tony McGregor was flying out to Dubai with a big bag of cash to pay off the head of the Kinnehan gang. Then a couple of days later McGregor is up in court in Blanch for a speeding fine. Laughable stuff. But yeah, all these whatsapp screenshots and friend of a friend stuff are all really reliable.

I remember listening to Newstalk one morning on the above and the now ex presenter who is a so called expert/writer on irish crime said I have got it on very reliable information that said individuals life is under serious threat and that gardai would be issuing a Gim imminently, everyone gobbled it up, it was all horse manure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Mods, could you lock this thread please? Irish law clearly dictates that celebrities accused of rape are entitled to legal representation from Outlaw Pete and he hasn't posted here yet.

sabat wrote: »
    Mods, could you lock this thread please? Irish law clearly dictates that celebrities accused of rape are entitled to legal representation from Outlaw Pete and he hasn't posted here yet.

Build it and he will come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

Doesn’t add up.

Didn't it allegedly happen in the Beacon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I thought that the accused could only remain unnamed if found guilty when the victim was a connected person such as family.

Sorry yes forgot that part if found guilty they can be named unless it does not keep other persons identity secret or they give up that right