Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sports star arrested (Warning in OP)

• Site Banned Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

Click bait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

'Sports star'. So it's someone who plays more than one sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Sports star? Well that narrows it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Cool! Gossip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Sports star? Well that narrows it down.

"Famous" sports star!!!! the Sun try's to give a hint :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

[snipped]

Don’t overthink it. We’re still at the gossip stage. Speculation won’t kick in till post #50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The dog on the Street in Dublin knows who it is.

Cant post it here obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

He has it all figured out, he's playing the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

So now I have to guess the name of the dog who knows all this too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The dogs on the street in the rest of the country don't give a ****..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I heard it off a dog on a street in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

endacl wrote: »
    Don’t overthink it. We’re still at the gossip stage. Speculation won’t kick in till post #50.

We won't get to post 50.

I wonder if even arrests like this should be even reported in this day and age, the media reporting this are inviting speculation. You can bet the individual has been named on twitter. In Dublin at least, it's just like being back in time when Charlie Haughey was Mr You Know Who.

Cases like this perhaps shouldn't even be permitted to be reported on until everything has been concluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Well holy God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

is there any actual news source reporting this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

yes most of the online news sites report the arrest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Well holy God

No can't be Miley, he's dead years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Murdoc90 wrote: »
    is there any actual news source reporting this?

Are you saying The S*n is NOT a trust worthy and NOT an actual news source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

If it is who people think it is, and he gets charged then the internet will self implode in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

Irish Mirror have an article on FBabout and Irish Sports star but have: What a day for xxxxx I thinks it's a big hint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I think there’ll be plenty of time to discuss it and talk about it after it goes to court. It’s a rape trial. Too serious to a) accuse someone without a trial and b) gossip about and ruin the alleged victim getting justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Fido needs more training to use the Internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

I know everyone thinks they know who it is but if it was who people think it is wouldn’t there surely be at least one photo online of the individual either entering or leaving the Garda Station given how well known this individual is? I don’t think it’s him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Calltocall wrote: »
    I know everyone thinks they know who it is but if it was who people think it is wouldn’t there surely be at least one photo online of the individual either entering or leaving the Garda Station given how well known this individual is? I don’t think it’s him.

Its him

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

2011 wrote: »
    A few days after the alleged event occurred I learned of this from a number of sources. Some were tabloids that I would disregard but there was also a more reputable news source. There was a lot of WhatsApp conversations that I saw that circulated at the time naming an individual and making allegations. That in addition to other reasons lead me to believe that the allegations are true and the WhatsApp message I saw were genuine. This of course is only my personal opinion so should not be misconstrued as fact. I am actually surprised that a lid has been kept on this allegation this long.

I might be wrong but I think it all started based on one person's tweet after the story was published in the paper. I don't even think they had anything backing it up (as in I heard from so and so type of thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I might be wrong but I think it all started based on one person's tweet after the story was published in the paper. I don't even think they had anything backing it up (as in I heard from so and so type of thing).

It was more than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Guilty until proven innocent lock him up I say!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It was more then that

All the whatsapp messages came out later and could just be people taking the piss or making shít up based on the tweet. The first time I seen the story, the first thing I though was I bet a load of people will say it's yer man (yer man being the person we're all thinking of).

Also is there not something in the fact that the individual has been released without charge as in maybe it wasn’t true? I mean I hear people saying they know it’s him but seriously how do people know that for certain? I saw the wats app stuff going around on twitter from weird random accounts before Christmas that could have easily been doctored and bs, I’ve also been told in conversation that it was him and a large sum was paid up to buy silence but I know they were just regurgitating what they heard from someone else, crap spreads like wildfire, there’s simply nothing official/solid/reliable to say it’s the presumed individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Plus the day after he was acting normal training out with family etc.

Surely you would first be on the end of a bollocking from your family to start posting online etc?

Its him

You know something no one else does?

Prove it and Pm me.

Plus the day after he was acting normal training out with family etc.

Surely you would first be on the end of a bollocking from your family to start posting online etc?

Will wait for the trial to pass judgement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Also is there not something in the fact that the individual has been released without charge as in maybe it wasn’t true?

This means nothing really. The file is only now being prepared for the DPP who will decide whether or not to prosecute.

You know something no one else does?

Prove it and Pm me.

You dont know him personally no need to take the news to heart so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I'm not too familiar with the legal system in this sort of case.
    If the person held is charged do they remain anonymous through the trial with the exception of being named if found guilty?
    Also would this person be released on bail if the case is going to court?

• Boards.ie Employee Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mark
    Boards.ie Employee

Mod Note: Like last time, do not speculate or hint at the identity of the person in question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I'm not too familiar with the legal system in this sort of case.
    If the person held is charged do they remain anonymous through the trial with the exception of being named if found guilty?
    Also would this person be released on bail if the case is going to court?

In rape case the identity of victim and accuser can not be reported

You dont know him personally no need to take the news to heart so much

He’s a muppet!!!

But I hate trial by the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I knew who it was too, there was wattsapp messages going like wild as to suggest who this person is.

Innocent until proven otherwise, but I do hope this young lady gets justice and is looked after.

Because it's a horrific thing to have to go through.

Muckka wrote: »
    I knew who it was too, there was wattsapp messages going like wild as to suggest who this person is.

Innocent until proven otherwise, but I do hope this young lady gets justice and is looked after.

Because it's a horrific thing to have to go through.

How do we know it happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

In rape case the identity of victim and accuser can not be reported

I thought that the accused could only remain unnamed if found guilty when the victim was a connected person such as family.

How do we know it happened?

Dublin is a small place . Fair play to her providing a statement

Also is there not something in the fact that the individual has been released without charge as in maybe it wasn’t true? I mean I hear people saying they know it’s him but seriously how do people know that for certain? I saw the wats app stuff going around on twitter from weird random accounts before Christmas that could have easily been doctored and bs, I’ve also been told in conversation that it was him and a large sum was paid up to buy silence but I know they were just regurgitating what they heard from someone else, crap spreads like wildfire, there’s simply nothing official/solid/reliable to say it’s the presumed individual.

Heard the same stuff too. It's always comes from someone high up in the Gardai or someone high up in Pearse Street Garda station so you know it's reliable. Of course, they heard it from a guy at work, who's best friend's dog used to go to school with that gards uncle. Totally legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

"Sports Star"

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTkCIUU128Re2S4UoWh8doUhZFYwdiB9lYJUplOiIrpqxBh3tr-

This means nothing really. The file is only now being prepared for the DPP who will decide whether or not to prosecute.

Fair enough but my point still stands there has been nothing solid to say it’s said individual who is the accused, nothing only gossip so far and I can’t get my head around how nobody would get a snap of him either entering or leaving garda station.

Why Dundrum Garda station too??

Doesn’t add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

What an absolute mess of a person this guy is. Used to be biggest fan but wouldn’t piss on him now .

Why Dundrum Garda station too??

Doesn’t add up.

Big fan of his ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I read about this on an American gossip site last month. Would they bother or how would they even know about it if it wasn't true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I read about this on an American gossip site last month. Would they bother or how would they even know about it if it wasn't true?

Paper never refuses ink.......bla bla bla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Gonad wrote: »
    What an absolute mess of a person this guy is. Used to be biggest fan but wouldn’t piss on him now .

User name almost checks out