Gardaí Can't be bothered to investigate 3500 children committing...

If a juvenile referral has been made, then the investigation has already been done & the offender identified.
    Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Are Garda Traffic core on commission for number of road prosecutions?

They seem to be everywhere yet there are never Gardai on the beat. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭randd1

bubblypop wrote: »
    If a juvenile referral has been made, then the investigation has already been done & the offender identified.
    Obviously.

Exactly. Even at that what’s the point in going for prosecution? Juveniles never get done for anything by the Courts, unless it’s murder.

Why anyone would be a Guard is beyond me. I can’t think of any other job where you’re hounded over every little thing you might have missed despite the thousand of things you didn’t, hounded for quite frankly moronic laws or procedures handed down by superiors or politicians that couldn’t possibly work, and hounded even more for actually doing your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

No resources left for all that...too busy persecuting whistleblowers, bugging GSOC and looking for pay rises.

Investigating crime would only distract the lads from the serious work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

bubblypop wrote: »
    Obviously.
    Not really. If the JLO decide that the juvenile is a recidivist and they deem he/she wouldn't benefit from intervention, then it's back to the original guard for prosecution under the criminal system.

It's this chain of communication that appears to have broken down once the procedure went on the pulse system in 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

I believe if you're a celebrity you do or a politician they don't like they'll go above and beyond, (Clare Daly, Paul Murphy).

She was stopped after performing an illegal right turn and smelled of whiskey :

Independent TD Clare Daly has said she had a “hot whiskey” before being stopped by gardaí on suspicion of drink-driving after she performed an illegal turn on a road in Dublin last night.

Not really. If the JLO decide that the juvenile is a recidivist and they deem he/she wouldn't benefit from intervention, then it's back to the original guard for prosecution under the criminal system.

It's this chain of communication that appears to have broken down once the procedure went on the pulse system in 2010.

Yes agreed.
    But for the benefit of posters who seem to think that Gardai did nothing. They have investigated the crime, they have identified the offender & then have sent a juvenile referral.
    Which is their job.

gctest50 wrote: »
    She was stopped after performing an illegal right turn and smelled of whiskey :

Independent TD Clare Daly has said she had a “hot whiskey” before being stopped by gardaí on suspicion of drink-driving after she performed an illegal turn on a road in Dublin last night.

She was later cleared although it was nice of the Gardai to leak it to the media so everyone found out before she was cleared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭opfleet

In December my mother had her purse stolen by a dodgy tradesman who entered her home. €350 was stolen. This was reported to AGS twice with the phone number of the person who stole it. Statements were provided.

They did nothing.

Last week I was flagged down by a member of AGS driving in a cycle lane. He claimed he saw me with my mobile in my hand. I denied that I had. He asked to see my drivers licence and proceeded to prosecute. 3 penalty points and a €65 fine.

That's the police force we have.

Nothing more than a revenue raising arm of the state. The fact that their Twitter name is @GardaTraffic pretty much says it all.
    Just because the offender wasn't identified does not mean "they did nothing"..A high rate of crimes like this go unsolved because there is no cctv, fingerprints, etc. A phone number is worth feck all. Very few avenues to investigate in these kind of situations. As for the traffic offence that you got nailed for, what has that got to do with anything? You admitted to driving in a cycle lane which is illegal. There is a huge sense of entitlement in this country that people feel they can drive without insurance, tax or park on a footpath instead of walking for 5 minutes. They would not have "revenue" to collect if people just obeyed the law. While these may seem like a bit of an insult, people become victims because of their own carelessness. I would not invite a tradesman into my house who was not locally known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

The numbers are obviously shocking but I am absolutely loving Drew Harris. Seems to take no ****e and calls it like it is. The contrast between him and the previous 2 clowns is pretty stark.

opfleet wrote: »
    Just because the offender wasn't identified does not mean "they did nothing"..A high rate of crimes like this go unsolved because there is no cctv, fingerprints, etc. A phone number is worth feck all. Very few avenues to investigate in these kind of situations. As for the traffic offence that you got nailed for, what has that got to do with anything? You admitted to driving in a cycle lane which is illegal. There is a huge sense of entitlement in this country that people feel they can drive without insurance, tax or park on a footpath instead of walking for 5 minutes. They would not have "revenue" to collect if people just obeyed the law. While these may seem like a bit of an insult, people become victims because of their own carelessness. I would not invite a tradesman into my house who was not locally known.

It was the Garda driving in the cycle lane in the middle of rush hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It all starts in the home.
    Parents have a lot to answer for. Especially fathers, too many are absent from their sons lives.

It's a common factor in youth crime seen the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I don't think Commissioner Harris is gonna get any facebuke friend requests from his colleagues.

randd1 wrote: »
    Exactly. Even at that what’s the point in going for prosecution? Juveniles never get done for anything by the Courts, unless it’s murder.

Why anyone would be a Guard is beyond me. I can’t think of any other job where you’re hounded over every little thing you might have missed despite the thousand of things you didn’t, hounded for quite frankly moronic laws or procedures handed down by superiors or politicians that couldn’t possibly work, and hounded even more for actually doing your job.
    I've a brother who's just a year into it.

It's a really difficult job, he's meeting the lowest of the low. He had a woman ringing the station last week because her washing machine wouldn't turn on.

Crap money, unsociable hrs, incompetent superiors, it just seems like a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭mgn

I've a brother who's just a year into it.

It's a really difficult job, he's meeting the lowest of the low. He had a woman ringing the station last week because her washing machine wouldn't turn on.

Crap money, unsociable hrs, incompetent superiors, it just seems like a nightmare.

Why did he join them so.He new what the pay was like and the unsociable hours, what did he expect it to like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

mgn wrote: »
    Why did he join them so.He new what the pay was like and the unsociable hours, what did he expect it to like.

It's obviously his vocation, some people want to help the community, the small size of the force in general show us that these people are an extreme minority unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

How do the numbers compare internationally?

El_Bee wrote: »
    It's obviously his vocation, some people want to help the community, the small size of the force in general show us that these people are an extreme minority unfortunately.

I'm sure there are many decent and noble members of AGS, like your brother, who see their role as a vocation and duty and are respectful of their community.

I don't see the police interacting with their communities any longer. Maybe I'm thinking there was a bygone age when they did? But I don't recall that to have ever been the case.

The police are also unusual in Ireland. They tend to stick together, even when off duty. I can also say that the most arrogant people I've ever met are members of AGS.

What entitles them to this arrogance is not understandable. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

tomoliver wrote: »
    How do the numbers compare internationally?

Similar to Somalia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Same old same old.

Guards do nothin, sentencing is light, scum get away with murder, etc.

And we go round and round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭mgn

El_Bee wrote: »

There is no shortage of recruits for the Garda.A lot of them will but up with the pay and conditions for the bit of power the have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

archer22 wrote: »
    Similar to Somalia

Are we low percentage wise?

mgn wrote: »
    There is no shortage of recruits for the Garda.A lot of them will but up with the pay and conditions for the bit of power the have.

They are among the best paid public servants in the country relative to their qualifications which, for the majority, does not extend beyond the Leaving Cert.

New gardai are better paid than teachers, nurses, junior doctors. . . . There is a reason for this - the politicians see them as protecting the state and so look after them accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

They are among the best paid public servants in the country relative to their qualifications which, for the majority, does not extend beyond the Leaving Cert.

New gardai are better paid than teachers, nurses, junior doctors. . . . There is a reason for this - the politicians see them as protecting the state and so look after them accordingly.

A diploma is part of the training. use to be a degree.

It's training to do their job FFS. . . . not an academic diploma, even if they call it that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭BuzzMcdonnell

It's training to do their job FFS. . . . not an academic diploma, even if they call it that.

The diploma in applied policing is accredited by the University of Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Amazing how terrible and corrupt the gardai in this country are.

you have clearly never encountered actual "terrible and corrupt" police; no shortage of places in Europe and further afield where interaction with police, even by ordinary citizens, is regarded as an excuse for a bribe/ on the spot "fines"/ illegal impounding of cars or personal property, as a matter of routine. Why dont you ask a Garda to explain why prosecuting so-called children is so difficult in Ireland. You'll get an education.

The diploma in applied policing is accredited by the University of Limerick.

I can imagine the first module. . . . "How to jump out from hedges to catch drivers in bus lanes"

I think It's a Degree again now. Accredited by UL.

He told me a lot of people in his class had third level backgrounds. They were mostly mid to late 20s. Seems to be all sorts of people joining these days.

I suppose it is a secure penshionable job, but the money for the first couple of yrs is poor in my eyes, especially for somebody stationed in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

What do the Guards do all day?

Eat donuts all day ...or so I've heard.

May or may not be true!