Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Yer man that attacked him wasn't staff; just some random gym bro.

But to use videos like this as a reason not to go to gyms is quite frankly, ridiculous.
    I'd wonder if the "random gym bro" was paid to do this; the video got a few million hits.
    whippet wrote: »
    AIf I walked in to the locker room and you were interfering with where my belonging were you’d be regretting it instantly.
    To confirm; if you walked into the locker room, as I was opening random lockers to look for an empty one, you'd have an issue with me? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Sundance_Kid

whippet wrote: »
    But that is the dick move .. leaving the door open .. you are trying to be a dick by doing that. As for the roids statement .. pathetic ... the regret would be nothing physical.

Your post clearly came across threatening.

Anyway, its a dick move not putting a lock on the locker like the majority of the population in the gym.

Its not just me who gets a pain in their hole opening what looks like an empty locker in an already busy locker room to find gear in there, fellow gym goers regularly moan about it.

PM me your address and I will post u out a lock if u like hun x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Am glad our gym doesn’t have any lockers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭whippet

the_syco wrote: »
    I'd wonder if the "random gym bro" was paid to do this; the video got a few million hits.

To confirm; if you walked into the locker room, as I was opening random lockers to look for an empty one, you'd have an issue with me? :eek:

I’ve an issue with him deliberately leaving the doors open to cause annoyance

Your post clearly came across threatening.

Anyway, its a dick move not putting a lock on the locker like the majority of the population in the gym.

Its not just me who gets a pain in their hole opening what looks like an empty locker in an already busy locker room to find gear in there, fellow gym goers regularly moan about it.

PM me your address and I will post u out a lock if u like hun x

I’ve no need for a lock as I wouldn’t go near a commercial gym .. tend to train in clubs and small friendly gyms where having stuck nicked isn’t a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Of course it's annoying. People should be be highlighting lockers in use by putting locks on the outside.
    But they in no way excuses you acting like a bigger prick by purposely leaving doors open. Same reaction was given to the guy moving people stuff a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Putting your sh*t in a locker and not locking it is being a dick.

Leaving door open to make some point about it is also being a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Ruat Caelum

There is no excuse for acting like a petulant child and leaving a locker open with someone else's property in it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mod note: stop the bickering please. It’s supposed to be a fun thread.

Seriously, do I need to post this once a week as a proactive measure.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

All the talk of lockers and locks reminds me, I sometimes wonder am I going to read about myself here... Why?. Because when I cycle to the gym (which is often) I use two lockers [I lock 'em both].. One my sweaty cycle gear goes into and the other is for my dry gym gear and bag :D

I'm terribly untidy too and often use up half the bench at my lockers lol. I'll read about me sometime I'm sure :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Mellor wrote: »
    Of course it's annoying. People should be be highlighting lockers in use by putting locks on the outside.
    But they in no way excuses you acting like a bigger prick by purposely leaving doors open. Same reaction was given to the guy moving people stuff a while back.

What incentive is there to be ‘sound’ in this case though and closing the door back over to better protect their stuff? If everyone did that, they’d just continue to be dicks. This way they get a fright with minimum actual negative consequences so they’ll lock their locker in future. Some would call being sound to someone who’s being a dick to you being a sap. I mean it totally is petty, and I’m too much of a wuss afraid of consequences/prone to guilt to do it myself, but I respect the guy actually doing something that might help the situation effectively.

How about we agree that interfering even without touching other people’s privste property is a dick thing to do and leave it at that

All the talk of lockers and locks reminds me, I sometimes wonder am I going to read about myself here... Why?. Because when I cycle to the gym (which is often) I use two lockers [I lock 'em both].. One my sweaty cycle gear goes into and the other is for my dry gym gear and bag :D

I have many questions.

How sweaty is this cycling gear that you can’t put it in the same locker for fear of ‘corrupting’ your dry gear? Could you hang it on the hooks most lockers have or would it be that dripping wet? Or is it the smell you’re concerned about? You then get back into and wear this gear to cycle home presumably? So you take your personal hygiene less seriously than the cleanliness and integrity of a bag? What do you do with your gym gear then, which is now sweaty, do you keep that separate from your bag to protect its integrity and put it on the handlebars or something to dry off while you cycle home?

I’m more intrigued than angry tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

leggo wrote: »
    What incentive is there to be ‘sound’ in this case though and closing the door back over to better protect their stuff? If everyone did that, they’d just continue to be dicks. This way they get a fright with minimum actual negative consequences so they’ll lock their locker in future. Some would call being sound to someone who’s being a dick to you being a sap. I mean it totally is petty, and I’m too much of a wuss afraid of consequences/prone to guilt to do it myself, but I respect the guy actually doing something that might help the situation effectively.

You "respect" them? For their actions that'll "help the situation effectively"? Really?

I didn't appreciate how these lads going round deliberately leaving lockers open to expose everyone's gear were such noble crusaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,115 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Theres this lad that cycles to the gym and uses 2 lockers for his stuff!!! Fecking head wreck I'd say something but he'd kick the **** out of me and I think he's on boards :pac:

You "respect" them? For their actions that'll "help the situation effectively"? Really?

I didn't appreciate how these lads going round deliberately leaving lockers open to expose everyone's gear were such noble crusaders.

No they're actually pretty much Hitler. Let's only ever judge situations in total extremes where someone is either a noble crusader or the worst person to have ever lived. That's what sane people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

You shouldn't need an incentive to be sound. It should be your default setting unless provoked otherwise.

Not putting a lock on your locker is such a minor, microscopic inconvenience to others. It delays you, what, at most 20 - 30 seconds? Your time is not that precious. You're going to the gym, not performing a time-sensitive surgery.

People need to relax. Too many things seem to annoy people here! This thread should really be only for big issues that need to be addressed that impact gym users' performance and enjoyment of their gym. Like oversized bottles, or wearing hats indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

You shouldn't need an incentive to be sound. It should be your default setting unless provoked otherwise.

Not putting a lock on your locker is such a minor, microscopic inconvenience to others. It delays you, what, at most 20 - 30 seconds? Your time is not that precious. You're going to the gym, not performing a time-sensitive surgery.

People need to relax. Too many things seem to annoy people here! This thread should really be only for big issues that need to be addressed that impact gym users' performance and enjoyment of their gym. Like oversized bottles, or wearing hats indoors.

980x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Cool story bro.

Get it now? :pac:

Honestly no i dont haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I'd just like to preface this post with a top tip - The BlindBoy Podcast from last week titled 'Purcells Burst' has a decent segment on dealing with anger/frustration and dealing with people flaunting the rules which you as a person hold as core beliefs.....such as locker etiquette....just sayin'
    Weird one today didn't quite annoy me but was strange some guy going around the gym in thermals, the type you would see on football players in the cold, under bulky shorts. I don't mind what people wear it just left me wonder why not just wear tracksuit bottoms

I was that guy this morning, bought them for staying warm this morning leaving the house to head to a class for 7am - handy for wicking away sweat too - was very skeptical of them until I was informed of the sweat wicking ability when in the gym which is fantastic - I still feel like a bit of a dope wearing them to the gym if I'm honest but needs must, I'm still sweating out Christmas it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Amateurs.

One day I used three lockers, one for my sweaty gear, one for my fresh gear and one for my hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm terribly untidy too and often use up half the bench at my lockers lol. I'll read about me sometime I'm sure :p
    I'm sorry, but I don't see the problem here?
    Amateurs.

One day I used three lockers, one for my sweaty gear, one for my fresh gear and one for my hat.
    Surely you could put your hat in with the fresh gear? This is a totally absurd waste of room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Surely you could put your hat in with the fresh gear? This is a totally absurd waste of room!
    And locks (hopefully)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I'm sorry, but I don't see the problem here?

Always need a fresh hat for the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Amateurs.

I use four. 4th is for my 5l water bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

leggo wrote: »

I’m more intrigued than angry tbh.

Well I don't really care if you're angry or not. I use both because its easier than stuffing everything into one locker.

Hope that answers all your questions (too many, so little time).

Oh, if I go for just a swim I only use one locker, I'm good like that :p

Well I don't really care if you're angry or not. I use both because its easier than stuffing everything into one locker.

Hope that answers all your questions (too many, so little time).

Oh, if I go for just a swim I only use one locker, I'm good like that :p

So this isn’t about dry, clean bags at all Giovanni Alive Raincoat is it?? You’re just a monster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

"What people wear in the gym" is a topic that cones up a lot here. Genuinely I couldn't care less, but I get that hats, hoodies, compressions, shoes, no-shoes and sports bras annoy others.

Today I seen a new one for the list. More of a WTF than an annoyance. Guy opposite me in the rack, squatting, while wearing 6" heels. At one point he seen me looking and I just burst out laughing.

He was also recording it on his phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

"What people wear in the gym" is a topic that cones up a lot here. Genuinely I couldn't care less, but I get that hats, hoodies, compressions, shoes, no-shoes and sports bras annoy others.

Today I seen a new one for the list. More of a WTF than an annoyance. Guy opposite me in the rack, squatting, while wearing 6" heels. At one point he seen me looking and I just burst out laughing.

Was he also wearing makeup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I wouldn't laugh too hard in front of him cos it's probably Buffalo Bill.