Why is Netflix so terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I love Netflix. It's a million times better than forking out €70 a month to Sky to watch redundant "documentary" channels featuring reruns of crap American reality shows with 4 ad breaks every hour. I get to watch some great stuff on Netflix such as Better Call Saul, Narcos, Black Mirror, The Last Kingdom etc without interruption. I'll never go back to Sky again.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    When you think of what a DVD used to cost. Four or five euro a rental with the added pain in the arse of going to a store, etc. For just twice the price a month you have a selection of hundreds of movies and TV shows, updating every day. Not all blockbusters admittedly but a lot of good content
    In fairness, the likes of xtravision and chartbusters did have all the latest films and you could go in and get a classic or something new. With Netflix, the film choice is extremely limited. Any time I've searched for a particular film it's not been on there.

Netflix, generally, is ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's good value for Money. It needs to stop pushing it's political agenda though. At the moment they are trying to push a mini-series about Leon Trotsky (which is poorly rated on IMDB). So many of their own productions seem to have a theme of "fightin dem Nazi's", the "Dear White People" debacle and now they have a series with the Obama's planned.

If they are going on an obvious political push, subscriptions will fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

devlinio wrote: »
    Amazon Prime is a great alternative.

Assuming that you live in Ireland, you need to go see a medical professional

Amazon prime is like the bottom of the bargain bin in Xtravision circa 96.

Not much a fan of Netflix either but at least it has content

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭QuintusFabius

You are so lucky with the Irish library, try that Spanish one ... un ****ing believably ****e...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Irish Netflix (as well as Netflix in a lot of other countries) has something like a third of the content the American version has because of licensing rights. I think this is the main reason for Netflix Originals. Unfortunately most of them aren't worth watching.

Amazon Prime Video is even worse. Or at least it was a couple of years ago. I got a month free subscription to it and I think there were something like three programs on it. It was so bad I just cancelled the free trial in case I forgot and ended up paying for it. I don't know if it's improved since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 DaverageJoe

In fairness, the likes of xtravision and chartbusters did have all the latest films and you could go in and get a classic or something new. With Netflix, the film choice is extremely limited. Any time I've searched for a particular film it's not been on there.

Netflix, generally, is ****e.

I wouldn't say it's ****e. It's not great but there's enough on there with TV series to justify the cost for casual watching random shows if you're not paying for Sky.

The movie selection is pretty bad though. And you really notice it around Christmas when you go looking for something specific\festive to watch. Previous years they had home alone and jingle all the way and all those sorts of movies. This year they had a woeful selection. Their own thing with Kurt Russell and then a few animated movies.

Anyone recommending Amazon Prime hasn't used it because there's nothing on it. A handful of shows and the rest costs extra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Yeah a lot of it is trash.

That's the way TV is, and always has been. Do you think well written, brilliantly casted and superbly acted shows are commonplace and easy to develop and produce?

Cuz they aren't. Even great shows tend to peter out after a few seasons.

It's a nice option at a reasonable price for having some on demand stuff. I only really get it for Black Mirror at this point and cancel it after I watch the new season and catch up on anything else decent. GLOW, master of none, Stranger Things were good.

I tried to watch that Marie Kondo one because I actually have her book and wanted some motivation to do a new year house cleaning but it seemed like it was the typical schmaltzy US overdramatic reality crap, where the celebrity comes in and changes their life and they cry because now they have all their papers put away in a filing cabinet. Ep 1 was 'Cleaning with Toddlers' which totally turned me off because it was too 'happy family' oriented. Need a guru that helps lads with cans and fag butts and socks all over the gaff.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There are undoubtedly a lot of great tv series on Netflix, but sometimes I don't want to commit to watching multiple episodes of something and just want to watch a film that's done and dusted in two hours. Netflix just doesn't cut it in that regard, the films they have are either a) completely crap; or b) old films I've seen loads of times or relatively newer ones that I went to see in the cinema not all that long ago. Once they started making their own tv shows the quality and quantity of films they made available started to drop, presumably as the money went into making the shows rather than buying films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

General rule of thumb for Netflix Originals;

Films - generally sh1te

TV Shows - generally decent

There are of course exceptions to every rule...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Whoever came up with the un-turnoffable feature that immediately plays trailers when you've stopped on a title for a second should be boiled alive in a vat of their own piss

My personal favorite is on the app I use (is it the same for everyone else?) where if you fall asleep and the movie or whatever ends you get a wonderful red netflix logo slap bang in the middle of your expensive tv screen to cause burn in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

My personal favorite is on the app I use (is it the same for everyone else?) where if you fall asleep and the movie or whatever ends you get a wonderful red netflix logo slap bang in the middle of your expensive tv screen to cause burn in

They had Netflix in the 90's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

somefeen wrote: »

Yeah! Not only that, Netflix is also sensitive to the needs of those still living in the stone age!

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2019/jan/01/outrage-after-netflix-pulls-comedy-show-criticising-saudi-arabia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Netflix is decent.

Lot of crap on there but loads of decents series and flicks.

Great value for money, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

somefeen wrote: »

I've a nice plasma screen that I don't want to have Netflix emblazoned across permanently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Irish neflix is terrible, us version is quite good though
    My cousin and her partner visited from the U.S. recently and were delighted with the stuff they could get to see on Netflix here which they can't at home. I don't know that it's terrible. Lot of filler yes but still plenty of good stuff also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Cheap, no contract, always something watchable. Not seeing the problem.
    It's not really tbh.
    Imo Prime has drastically improved since it was launched here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It was great before they stopped blocking other regions.
    Nowtv seems to be better for movies. That said we will all be saying "remember Netflix?" in a couple of years as everyone has a streaming service now. Even Disney.

A good idea always gets copied. Won't be much left for Netflix in years to come. Of course that's why they are making their own content now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I think netflix is awesome, We've had it for years and its watched daily. We really dont watch any normal tv anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,117 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

There are some funny people in this country. Funny peculiar I mean.

Whinge whinge...RTE sucks... No way am I giving Rupert Murdoch a penny,...everything is ****e...etc etc etc rinse and repeat.

When did this TV nirvana exist, or even, where does it exist?

Watching the telly today bears no relation to what the experience was 10 years ago given the range and choice of sources we now have.
    Netflix is a part of that 'experience' and was never intended to be 'all' of that experience. Take what is good for you and then graze other fields.

And quit yer complaining. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

I get a lot more value from my Netflix subscription than I do from my Sky Movies subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's grand for what it is.

One thing I was pìssed off with is that I missed The Bodyguard on BBC 1 recently but then heard it was on Netflix. Great I'll watch it there then....eh no...it's blocked in the UK and Ireland. Seriously WTF? I'm sure there's a workaround somewhere but we watch it through the Virgin Horizon box (what a piece of junk that is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

It was great before they stopped blocking other regions.
    Nowtv seems to be better for movies. That said we will all be saying "remember Netflix?" in a couple of years as everyone has a streaming service now. Even Disney.

A good idea always gets copied. Won't be much left for Netflix in years to come. Of course that's why they are making their own content now.

I doubt it. Apparently they don’t have much movie content now, so what’s the difference? With their originals, tv rights to American comedy, documentaries and dramas/sci fi etc they are already worth a tenner a month.

I bet streaming services eat into cable. If I could get the bbc free to air I’d abandon cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

They have a load of crime documentary series' that are all the same. The actual story might be interesting but there are far too many episodes with too many minute details and they never come to any real resolution. Making A Murderer, The Staircase and The Keepers could all have been a couple of hours longs and been just as good or better. The worst one was about some spy that fell from a hotel room window. It went on for about six episodes. I can't even remember the name of it.

The Staircase isn’t a Netflix original.

I think it’s amazing value for money, you’ll always find something to throw on. However, I’m getting increasingly frustrated with the format and pace of their docs. They all seem to follow the same template; tense music that makes you feel a big revelation is about to be uncovered but really it’s just the same repetive waffle over and over. I first noticed in The Keepers and it was the same for Wild Wild Country, The Innocent Man and Evil Genius. There is no need to have an underlying audio of suspense for the entire duration of the movie. It’s really distracting. That said, I’ll always have it. However recently my “continue watching” has been full of Peppa Pig and Dora The Explorer.. don’t remember watching those. My scrounging sister and her kids are the ones getting the real value for money here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,453 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Now fair enough, I torrent a fair bit but have no problems whatsoever with Netflix.

Breaking Bad and (in my opinion the superior) Better Call Saul. Narcos (which is fine) and Narcos Mexico (better). Star Trek Discovery. Black Mirror (they took it over from Channel 4). Making a Murderer.

I'll probably come back and edit this post as all the good sh!t I've seen come back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,102 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Netflix is good for a few months. Watch what you want, unsubscribe and then waits a year and subscribe again for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I've been waiting the last month and a half for this stupid The Miami Showband Massacre documentary, when is this going to be available and why don't they remove the listing until it is available.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Don't get the complaints about Netflix.

Fantastic selection of excellent own made series and they are planning even more.

Great documentaries.

Great kids stuff.

Films: People complain about the content but probably only want Sky Cinema blockbusters.
    They have a great mix of films that can please all.
    Try Roma for a start. Launched last week and is a fantastic film but many won't like it as it's Mexican and in Spanish.

Only thing I hate is the automatic trailers and minimisation of screen at the end to play up next. Very annoying as I often read the credits.

I really don't get how people can complain about it and those that do are just miserable or just have very poor taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 DaverageJoe

murpho999 wrote: »
    Don't get the complaints about Netflix.

Fantastic selection of excellent own made series and they are planning even more.

Great documentaries.

Great kids stuff.

Films: People complain about the content but probably only want Sky Cinema blockbusters.
    They have a great mix of films that can please all.
    Try Roma for a start. Launched last week and is a fantastic film but many won't like it as it's Mexican and in Spanish.

Only thing I hate is the automatic trailers and minimisation of screen at the end to play up next. Very annoying as I often read the credits.

I really don't get how people can complain about it and those that do are just miserable or just have very poor taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Touchee

A topical issue because of Kevin Spacey, but House of Cards is great too.

Also, the Unabomber, Alias Grace, The Crown, Ozark.