If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fodder Crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got offered bales from 2 different locals here in the last 24hrs. Market must be softening.

What price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Grueller wrote: »
    Heard one of the met eireann lads on the radio today. The likelihood from the weather charts is a hard cold January.

Thanks be to God! 11C here today, T shirt weather. Midges flying about. Unnatural. We had no frost this backend. Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Muckit wrote: »
    Thanks be to God! 11C here today, T shirt weather. Midges flying about. Unnatural. We had no frost this backend. Bring it on.

I'd been of the same opinion - best to get the hard stuff out of the way this time of year and leave the way clear for a nice benign late spring and summer(fingers crossed!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    What price?

25 to 35. Got 100 bales of reasonable haylage that the cows aren't too keen on, and pulling alot in under them, temping to flog that and replace with silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You could try telling them not to be fecking fussy or they may end up on a farm where they won't be looked after so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I'd been of the same opinion - best to get the hard stuff out of the way this time of year and leave the way clear for a nice benign late spring and summer(fingers crossed!!)
    thats for sure don’t want snow end of March again this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

High bike wrote: »
    thats for sure don’t want snow end of March again this year

Jesus, could do without seeing snow like that for another 20 years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Heard one of the met eireann lads on the radio today. The likelihood from the weather charts is a hard cold January. Watch that soft wet grass melt if that happens.
    Which met Eireann lad was that? You do know that 4 days ahead is the max for an accurate forecast?

Jesus, could do without seeing snow like that for another 20 years...
    Do you honestly believe him? A forecast over 3 months in advance, if he can pull that off he'd be a millionaire, but alas he is only a bullsh!tter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,254 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Which met Eireann lad was that? You do know that 4 days ahead is the max for an accurate forecast?

Yes but what they are seeing in the upper atmosphere NOW is very similar to twist preceded the Beast from the east. The temp changes in the upper atmosphere take two weeks to affect ground conditions so there is the potential building for a very cold snap.
    Plus, January is our real winter weather month, a half dead fool would be fairly sure saying we’re going to get a cold wintery snap on January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Odelay

It’s been blown out of proportion. The forecaster said there “could” be a snow event. Just the same as I “could” win the lotto.

_Brian wrote: »
    Yes but what they are seeing in the upper atmosphere NOW is very similar to twist preceded the Beast from the east. The temp changes in the upper atmosphere take two weeks to affect ground conditions so there is the potential building for a very cold snap.
    Plus, January is our real winter weather month, a half dead fool would be fairly sure saying we’re going to get a cold wintery snap on January.

True, but still only pure crystal ball gazing. We'll just have to wait and see.

Do you honestly believe him? A forecast over 3 months in advance, if he can pull that off he'd be a millionaire, but alas he is only a bullsh!tter

It’s nothing to do with believing anyone...

I know myself I don’t want to see snow like we had for 20 years... or longer :)

It’s nothing to do with believing anyone...

I know myself I don’t want to see snow like we had for 20 years... or longer :)

If you were around in the 70's you'd really know what snow was like, that bit of snow last year was only a drop in the ocean compared to what we got back then. It only lasted a few days for Gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

If you were around in the 70's you'd really know what snow was like, that bit of snow last year was only a drop in the ocean compared to what we got back then. It only lasted a few days for Gods sake.

Finally a man talking a bit of sense

Sure if you were around in 1947 was it, it was worse again...

Either way, I don’t care - I don’t want to see snow like we had last year for a long time... it’s a pain for work, a pain for the bit of farming I do, just a pain overall...

Truth be told, I don’t mind the rain... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Grueller

That depends on your part of the country. South east corner was pasted and had greater depths than the 70s and 82 which was our big one. The saving grace was that it only lasted 4 days til it was completely defrosted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Odelay

Ye should have been around for the ice age lads. That was a bad winter, these ones we have now are fierce mild in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Odelay wrote: »
    Ye should have been around for the ice age lads. That was a bad winter, these ones we have now are fierce mild in comparison.

I wouldn’t have put you for being that old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭20silkcut

That depends on your part of the country. South east corner was pasted and had greater depths than the 70s and 82 which was our big one. The saving grace was that it only lasted 4 days til it was completely defrosted.

Yes 2010 was nearly a full month of snow on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Heard one of the met eireann lads on the radio today. The likelihood from the weather charts is a hard cold January. Watch that soft wet grass melt if that happens.

I remember the spring of 2012 being so soft, coming after a short mild winter, with fodder so plentiful after huge crops in 2011, some weren’t going to bother make silage at all in 2012. We all know how that went after.
    But maybe by law of averages we are due an early one this year, after all that is now 7 years ago. Grazing genuinely began in February that year. Then cattle were re-housed in June in a lot of places with endless rain. It is impossible to be ever confident of anything when it comes to weather. Not one expert predicted any of it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Odelay wrote: »
    I wouldn’t have put you for being that old.

Like anagrams?

Old? Aye!

(Punctuation for effect. ;)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭emaherx

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews//ireland/bitterly-cold-january-ahead-met-eireann-say-894532.html

Can't believe someone is paid to write this nonsense.

In summary:

Ireland in for bitterly cold January.
    "Potentially"
    "But it's too soon to tell"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

emaherx wrote: »
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews//ireland/bitterly-cold-january-ahead-met-eireann-say-894532.html

In summary:

"Potentially"

The most accurate forecasts are those in the local Facebook pages. Louth weather here is always spot on. Will never go beyond 5to 7 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,645 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

emaherx wrote: »

In summary:

"Potentially"
    That article has been called out for the lies and untruth in the weather forum for what it is.

Unfortunately people read these lies and then blame met eireann.

First off a sudden stratospheric warming has only just occurred yesterday/today. It's been forecast for long enough and got people's attention from what resulted earlier this year after a warming.

The examiner uses met eireann's name to claim that the ssw has occurred already - LIE.
    That this SSW has brought about our mild weather again LIE it has barely just occurred and the bias is for cold from the east rather than blocking high pressure that we are currently experiencing from a SSW but not always either. It takes weeks for the effects from a Sudden Stratospheric Warming to percolate down.

Met Eireann should sue the ass off the Examiner.
    Clickbait selling at it's ugliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Tbh I'm happy I haven't calved this autumn the mild damp weather would be tough on calves. Wouldn't mind a cold spell in Feb, easier on housed animals. Of course by cold single digits would do, not two fond of when the minus figures appear to keep heading south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Was there a fodder crisis?
    Is there a fodder crisis?

This spring it was that the fodder was available but not in the areas it was needed. Lots of alternative feeds available that are much better value than silage. I understand that forage is necessary but it doesn’t need to be 100%, 40% would be adequate.

I’d venture that what’s really happening is an income/cash crisis??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Was there a fodder crisis?
    Is there a fodder crisis?

This spring it was that the fodder was available but not in the areas it was needed. Lots of alternative feeds available that are much better value than silage. I understand that forage is necessary but it doesn’t need to be 100%, 40% would be adequate.

I’d venture that what’s really happening is an income/cash crisis??

+100, income/cash is non existent after the last 12 months. If there is no let up/lift in price it will see allot of people pulling out all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

yer memories are fairly short .not too long ago feed mills could not cope with orders and feed imports were getting scarcer by the day .I did not hear any farmers complain about price of bales or ration then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭greenfield21

+100, income/cash is non existent after the last 12 months. If there is no let up/lift in price it will see allot of people pulling out all together.

Out of what? Dairy? All I see around here is spend spend spend.