Who was your favorite wrestler when you were a kid/teen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Kyle More wrote: »
    In my day, you were either a 'Hulkamaniac' or a 'Warrior'. I was an Ultimate Warrior fan and I used to have daily debates with lads in school (mostly Hulk Hogan fans) about who would win if Hogan ever went up against the Warrior. We'd obviously row in behind our chosen favourite with passionate and articulate arguments about how our wrestler would 'batter' theirs. But at that time it was almost incomprehensible that two faces (good guys) like Hogan and Warrior would ever face each other head to head in the ring. Hogan and Warrior were there to fight the heels (bad guys), not each other. But alas, WrestleMania VI was announced and it threw out the rule book and gave us the match that we had only ever dreamed of: Hulk Hogan Vs Ultimate Warrior, Champion Vs Champion, Title for Title. It was huge. For me, while everyone was talking about Ireland qualifying for the World Cup, all I cared about was Hogan Vs Warrior. In the end, as I'm sure some of you may remember, Ultimate Warrior defeated Hulk Hogan to win the WWF World Championship belt. The question of who was the best was finally put to bed :D

Hogan got the theee count but the ref was knocked out!!!
    Gutted I was great fight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

Omackeral wrote: »
    Other way around. LOD aka The Road Warriors were around a lot longer before Demolition. And a lot longer after.

Wasnt yer man who went on to be crush, in demolition - and then on to his name

kevin nash

fairly serious career if im right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I had a bad Triple H thing for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

ardinn wrote: »
    Wasnt yer man who went on to be crush, in demolition - and then on to his name

kevin nash

fairly serious career if im right

No, Kevin Nash was called 'Diesel' when he was in the WWF in the early/mid 90s. Crush was another wrestler by the name of Brian Adams. Adams died in 2007, but Kevin Nash is still around.

I had a bad Triple H thing for a while.

Sounds like you weren't the only one sis.
    PandaPoo wrote: »
    I loved Triple H. Used to run home from mass so I could watch his sexy sweaty muscles and long blonde hair. Hated Stephanie when she married him, couldn't believe he wasn't marrying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

No, Kevin Nash was called 'Diesel' when he was in the WWF in the early/mid 90s. Crush was another wrestler by the name of Brian Adams. Adams died in 2007, but Kevin Nash is still around.

ah i remember diesel - fair play - they were very similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭XsApollo

I remember one day coming home from school and we were after getting “ the Channels” ....I think I was 6 or 7.
    I remember watching wrestlemania 3 or 4 can’t remeber which one, the one with the hulkster and André the giant and been hooked then for years,
    The Ultimate Warrior was probably my fav as a child and Also Jake the snake.

Only watched the Jake the Snake documentary on Netflix the other week, it’s good watch for anyone that didn’t know about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭eurokev

Al snow
    IRS
    Gold dust
    X pac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Stone Cold and The Rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,026 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Stone cold everything about him weather he was face or heal was perfect!

The Rock is the The Rock really i mean he just worked perfectly at the time hes a bit on the cringe the last few times hes came back though.

Cant forget Undertaker obviously and loved any character Mick Foley played.

HHH was the best heal in the business back in the day. Marry the bosses daughter bury everyone on the roster and be as smug and elite about it as possible! You cant get any more perfect as a bad guy then that!

His feuds with Austin The Rock Foley and even Undertaker where some of the best ever.

I would actually love to sit and watch a load of Attitude era up until the pg era stuff now!

I mean even Brock was a ****ing savage at his peak with Heyman as his mouth.

You can do that with the WWE network. You can watch all of the Raws and smackdowns and ppvs on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

ardinn wrote: »
    ah i remember diesel - fair play - they were very similar

I think Diesel still holds the record for the quickest victory in a world title match in the WWF. He flattened Bob Backlund in nine seconds to win the title in 1994. The bell rang and Diesel delivered one swift kick to the 'mid section' followed by a Jackknife Power bomb and it was game over for Backlund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    You can do that with the WWE network. You can watch all of the Raws and smackdowns and ppvs on it.

For just 9.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Speaking of wrestling probably hottest act in WWE right now is Dublin woman Becky Lynch.

She got potatoed by the Rock's 300lb cousin last month which broke her face and gave her concussion but she walked out like a boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Subacio

Macho Man Randy Savage was always my number 1.

Although my guilty favourite was the Honky Tonk Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Itssoeasy wrote: »

Looked threw it ages ago just didn't know where to start ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Bobby Heenan in the weasel suit owns all :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Shawn Michaels, Undertaker, Lita and Chyna were my faves back in the day.

Love Becky Lynch, Finn Balor, Aleister Black and Marty Scurll now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Omackeral wrote: »
    LOD > Demolition

Bit of ironic trivia for you (or I guess others as you post on the pro wrestling board so am sure you'd know)

But Vince McMahon tried to get the road warriors (lod) in the mid 80s but couldn't. So he did the next best thing.. Created a tag team like them. Ie demolition :pac:

But a couple of years later demolition were a popular tag team by the time the legion of doom eventually wrestled for wwf and the two teams begin funding with each other.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Catweazle, Rollerball Rocco, Brian Glover and Harvey Smith:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,668 ✭✭✭DenMan

Diesel in the WWF...AKA Big Daddy Cool. :D

From a purely wrestling perspective...Owen Hart, that boy could wrestle. Went far too soon sadly. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Steven81

Big van vader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Owen Hart was my hero, guy was just scum :D broke my heart crying the night he died 20 years in a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Beasty wrote: »
    Catweazle, Rollerball Rocco, Brian Glover and Harvey Smith:pac:

Brian Glover blazed the trail for wrestlers to turn actor! The Rock owed him one.

There were probably more before him butnot that I've heard of.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Brian Glover blazed the trail for wrestlers to turn actor! The Rock owed him one.

There were probably more before him butnot that I've heard of.

Does El Santo count? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭YoungRogerian

In my day, you were either a 'Hulkamaniac' or a 'Warrior'. I was an Ultimate Warrior fan and I used to have daily debates with lads in school (mostly Hulk Hogan fans) about who would win if Hogan ever went up against the Warrior. We'd obviously row in behind our chosen favourite with passionate and articulate arguments about how our wrestler would 'batter' theirs. But at that time it was almost incomprehensible that two faces (good guys) like Hogan and Warrior would ever face each other head to head in the ring. Hogan and Warrior were there to fight the heels (bad guys), not each other. But alas, WrestleMania VI was announced and it threw out the rule book and gave us the match that we had only ever dreamed of: Hulk Hogan Vs Ultimate Warrior, Champion Vs Champion, Title for Title. It was huge. For me, while everyone was talking about Ireland qualifying for the World Cup, all I cared about was Hogan Vs Warrior. In the end, as I'm sure some of you may remember, Ultimate Warrior defeated Hulk Hogan to win the WWF World Championship belt. The question of who was the best was finally put to bed :D

I am with you on that divide existing. As a Hulkamaniac, I was firmly in the opposite camp. Frankly I hated the Warrior. I just found him weird. I only saw the match on a video after the event because I started watching wrestling properly just after Wrestlemania VI. It was epic though. While your childhood is your childhood I think as adults people need to realise how hated the Warrior was by the other wrestlers. Hogan gets heat but while some of it is deserved, some is motivated by jealousy and you will also always get lots of people speaking up for him. Warrior on the other hand alienated almost every one in the locker room. He was a bodybuilder who realised there was money in wrestling, he had no love of the industry and didn't pay his dues so to speak. One of the unfortunate things bout the WWE's decision to bring him in from the cold (timely as he died a fewdays later) was that it resulted in them burying that documentary- The Self Destruction of The Ultimate Warrior- Which to me was a fairer reflection of how people felt about him. The beauty was that when he was inducted into the Hall of Fame, it gave many a chance to bury the hatchett. One of Ted Dibiase's biggest regrets is that he passed up the chance to talk to Warrior that night, reasoning that the last person Warrior would want to see was him and that he would have other opportunities. As it turned out he did. I really felt for Dibiase telling that story, you could tell how genuine he was about it. A really decent skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭s8n

Razor Ramon

Bit of ironic trivia for you (or I guess others as you post on the pro wrestling board so am sure you'd know)

But Vince McMahon tried to get the road warriors (lod) in the mid 80s but couldn't. So he did the next best thing.. Created a tag team like them. Ie demolition :pac:

But a couple of years later demolition were a popular tag team by the time the legion of doom eventually wrestled for wwf and the two teams begin funding with each other.

Yeah I heard that. Loved both teams actually, but preferred Demolition.

Subacio wrote: »
    Macho Man Randy Savage was always my number 1.

Although my guilty favourite was the Honky Tonk Man.

Actually as I look back, I realise I probably preferred the heels to the faces. Loved Honky Tonk, The Million Dollar Man, Sid Justice (apart from his feud with Hogan), Rick Rude, Bobby Heenan, Heel Andre the Giant, The Nasty Boys, Jimmy Hart, Mr Perfect, The Mountie Conversely a lot of the faces I hated . Hated the Warrior, Bret Hart, Dusty Rhodes, Jimmy Snukka (even before I knew he was a dirty murdering bastard), Texas tornado.

It wasn't that I was trying to support the heels and at the time I probably didn't realise I preferred the Heels. Hogan was the constant, always loved Hogan, and a big fan of Jake The Snake and Macho Man as faces but I also loved them as heels. The Heels just tended to be more interesting characters. Tbe best of all though were those who could pull off face and heel perfectly. Jake the Snake and Macho Man were the obvious examples in my day but later on Steve Austin, Shawn Michaels and Hulk Hogan would all be great examples. Although growing up, the thought of Hogan as a heel was unimaginable to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Actually as I look back, I realise I probably preferred the heels to the faces. Loved Honky Tonk, The Million Dollar Man, Sid Justice (apart from his feud with Hogan), Rick Rude, Bobby Heenan, Heel Andre the Giant, The Nasty Boys, Jimmy Hart, Mr Perfect, The Mountie Conversely a lot of the faces I hated . Hated the Warrior, Bret Hart, Dusty Rhodes, Jimmy Snukka (even before I knew he was a dirty murdering bastard), Texas tornado.

It wasn't that I was trying to support the heels and at the time I probably didn't realise I preferred the Heels. Hogan was the constant, always loved Hogan, and a big fan of Jake The Snake and Macho Man as faces but I also loved them as heels. The Heels just tended to be more interesting characters. Tbe best of all though were those who could pull off face and heel perfectly. Jake the Snake and Macho Man were the obvious examples in my day but later on Steve Austin, Shawn Michaels and Hulk Hogan would all be great examples. Although growing up, the thought of Hogan as a heel was unimaginable to me.

The heels tended to be better characters, the 80s ones were brilliant and although technically the wrestling got better it was more entertaining then. Loved honky tonk man, ted dibiase, Greg the hammer and guys like that but I think what really made it was a heel had a manager who cheated like sin.

Always found Hogan too wholesome even as a kid never warmed to him.