Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

gandalf wrote: »
    Hang on I though it was only dealt with violently because the company that carried out the eviction came from Northern Ireland!

Again if Mr McGann paid his bills this wouldn't have happened, what transpired nearly two weeks ago was not the morally repugnant actions of some vicious landlord from the 19th century but the legal response from a commercial organisation to a man that doesn't seem to get that you have to pay your debts (or at least make an effort to do so) in the 21st century especially if you have put your home and business as collateral against that loan. That is the modern culture of Ireland.

Spot on,I think you have posted earlier that use of a private residence as collateral for a business loan should be outlawed,and I would concur.

However,in this particular case,we find a serial borrower,and apparently a businessman,with a long history of financial dealings with Banks.

If anything can be taken from this sorry episode,it is the need for individuals such as Mr McGann to be tackled at a much earlier stage in the proceedings.

What happens now may be a form of contagion amongst Financial Institutions (Which,whether anybody likes it or not,are a vital part of a functioning economy),which may now subject future borrowers to substantially more rigorous procedures !

Rural Irish businesspeople may yet have much to thank this Gentleman for ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Not a bit surprised. The optics this week were terrible for Sinn Fein. They will be fuming with how bad they misread this incident and will be forever tarnished with it. FFG will make hay on this one just when they were starting to sound petty about older Sinn Fein failings (Northern Bank, Gerry/IRA, Maria Cahill, Slab, McConville, Disappeared, Minimum Wage, Poppy, Bullying, Money tree etc)

Not surprised they misread it. They are arragont thugs.

They play to the wrong audience.

The same people who said Peter Casey had a point about free stables are the ones paying for these free loaders and getting pretty fed up with it and Sun Feins bleating and whinging.

They also have no tolerance for Sinn Fein condinning bullying and burning banks and intimidating staff trying to make a living.

These people are not as visible on Facebook "call for a revolution in Ireland" but they are there, sitting in the traffic, paying their mortgages in the commuter belt and getting pretty pissed off.

One of my collleagues said to me during the week- funny we never see any yellow vest type water protester type people on the N7 at 7am!!'

Does anyone recall Sinn Fein had a tag line - The Workers Pary? Oh the irony.

Not one person I worked with had any sympathy for Roscommon, in fact they all said it was a complete piss take.

Sorry if I gave the impression that they would have rolled over peacefully for people in RoI registered vans. I don't think they would.

Somehow though, I feel the words in the video 'British bastard, ye were ran once before and ye'll be ran again' indicate a specific point of contention.

Again, I totally agree with you.

I'm just saying that the reaction to 'the modern culture of Ireland', was a bit more informed by historical grievance.

In other words, I do not believe that local people are unaware of McGann's business methods. And yet...

And yet indeed.....

Perhaps some of those rallying to the barricades for Mr McGann,may themselves be experiencing issues with Financial Institutions,and thus engaging in a form of defensive attack on what might,most likely,be the same outcome for themselves ?

What we now have is basically a rural Irish version of the Dublin Gorse Hill campaign some time back.

Poor retired folk being thrun out of their homes by dastardly financiers and the likes,a scenario which took a wee while to be shown as less than true. ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

blanch152 wrote:
    Give up, you are struggling now.

No struggle here dude. The article is carried in the Times that I referred to, have a read it's online and not behind a pay wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,192 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

anewme wrote: »

The same people who said Peter Casey had a point about free stables are the ones paying for these free loaders and getting pretty fed up with it and Sun Feins bleating and whinging.

They also have no tolerance for Sinn Fein condinning bullying and burning banks and intimidating staff trying to make a living.

These people are not as visible on Facebook "call for a revolution in Ireland" but they are there, sitting in the traffic, paying their mortgages in the commuter belt and getting pretty pissed off.

One of my collleagues said to me during the week- funny we never see any yellow vest type water protester type people on the N7 at 7am!!'

Not one person I worked with had any sympathy for Roscommon, in fact they all said it was a complete piss take.
    Nothing to do with the current SF since 1970...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

There s a narrative I've seen here and elsewhere that is presenting this case as an example of a wider 'land grab' that is going on.

I saw a hand-painted placard in a roadside field today to that effect. Outside Templemore I think, I was driving all day so not sure.

Where has this come from ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

AlekSmart wrote: »

What we now have is basically a rural Irish version of the Dublin Gorse Hill campaign some time back.

Didn't the guys at the centre of this buy another house in Killiney near the house that was repossessed for €1.85 million earlier this year. I believe one of the campaigners who was at the centre of that Gorse Hill situation is all over this one as well. He seems to choose the undeserving cases.

There s a narrative I've seen here and elsewhere that is presenting this case as an example of a wider 'land grab' that is going on.

I saw a hand-painted placard in a roadside field today to that effect. Outside Templemore I think, I was driving all day so not sure.

Well it only becomes a land grab if you don't service your debts and refuse to engage with the lenders involved. Although the engagement side might get very lightweight if the vulture funds start to throw their weight around and Strokestown like situations are just going to accelerate the banks divesting their problems loans to vulture funds.

Crikey ! I hope it has'nt anything to do with the Garda College .....

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0329/863350-garda-report-templemore/

A repossession here might require the entirety of the Orange Order,and reinforcements led by Arlene herself wearing a nicly cut gilet l'orange :eek:

I reckon Drew is the wild card in all of this :rolleyes:

A repossession here might require the entirety of the Orange Order,and reinforcements led by Arlene herself wearing a nicly cut gilet l'orange :eek:

Arlene would probably give the thugs a grant to burn the banks given her performance in Government in Stormont ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,906 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Spurious, fatuous question. Get serious, please.

You said
    it is part of the tradition and culture in Roscommon

I'm asking you for proof of this claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

The boys in blue will be outside the gate looking in, as per...

They'll self evict!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Steady there chief. I was a water protester and proud of it!

Irish Water was a corrupt quango that would have wasted as much as the HSE!

That does not mean I suppprt Sinn Fein or do not work hard for a living...

Steady there chief. I was a water protester and proud of it!

Irish Water was a corrupt quango that would have wasted as much as the HSE!

That does not mean I suppprt Sinn Fein or do not work hard for a living...

Fair enough, I'm talking about the aggressive water protesters, the ones that attacked Joan.

These same people then moved to Apollo House, then Erica Fleming/Margaret Cash and now this.

I'm sure you know exactly who I mean. The serial we won't pay (for anything) gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Fair enough, I'm talking about the aggressive water protesters, the ones that attacked Joan.

I seem to remember there was some sort of court case about that "attack" remind us of the verdict like a good man.

Bambi wrote: »
    I seem to remember there was some sort of court case about that "attack" remind us of the verdict like a good man.

I don't remember any court case, had no interest in any of those people, just saw the footage of a load of aggressive thugs bullying a woman and ruining an event for school children out of badness. No need for any of it.

If you seem to remember, then fair play.

Same type of crap as this, only a matter of time before there is a tragedy due to this reckless behaviour as it's getting more vicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Esel wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the current SF since 1970...

Yep. Sinn Fein split back then, as did the IRA.

One faction ('Official' Sinn Fein) changed its name to Sinn Fein The Workers Party, then the Workers Party, from which Democratic Left split, which in turn joined. Labour. Ex Labour leaders Rabbitte and Gilmore are both ex-WP.

Yep. Sinn Fein split back then, as did the IRA.

One faction ('Official' Sinn Fein) changed its name to Sinn Fein The Workers Party, then the Workers Party, from which Democratic Left split, which in turn joined. Labour. Ex Labour leaders Rabbitte and Gilmore are both ex-WP.

Fair play on that knowledge.

I find politics of that recent era very interesting and would like to read up a bit more on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Sinn Feins support of Abortion and their love of Travellers will see them ship losses of their core vote in rural constituencies.
    Many of their old school supporters been robbed and attacked by traveller gangs and new Sinn Fein saying travellers are great people is not going down well in rural Ireland .
    Peader Tobin too will take a lot of republican votes in whatever constituencies he has a candidate .

They are also in trouble with this now as well. They supported Roscommon guy and blah blah loyalists etc.

Now it's gone a stage further with scumbags burning banks, etc and they've left themselves with no where to go on it.

Leo's swipe at Pearse Doherty has worked firmly in Leo's favour in the same way Peters Caseys comments were seen as "someone had to say it"

Have they made any statement on burning KBC does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I don't remember any court case, had no interest in any of those people, just saw the footage of a load of aggressive thugs bullying a woman and ruining an event for school children out of badness. No need for any of it.

If you seem to remember, then fair play.

Same type of crap as this, only a matter of time before there is a tragedy due to this reckless behaviour as it's getting more vicious.

Ah grand so you admit that you don't know what you're on about but don't let that stop you from making a contribution eh?

We've seen all this playbook before during the water saga. Hysterical Indo articles about thugs and dissidents. Hordes of shinners up in the mountains waiting to descend on the Dail. The usual suspects on Boards mounting their high horses and charging off at the nearest windmill.

You'd almost think there's going to be a hape of repossessions next year :confused:

Ah grand so you admit that you don't know what you're on about but don't let that stop you from making a contribution eh?

We've seen all this playbook before during the water saga. Hysterical Indo articles about thugs and dissidents. Hordes of shinners up in the mountains waiting to descend on the Dail. The usual suspects on Boards mounting their high horses and charging off at the nearest windmill.

You'd almost think there's going to be a hape of repossessions next year :confused:

Do you believe McGann should be allowed to keep his farm given his debt history and non payment of taxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I've no problem with the orange order marching, I've no interest in them but if we want a united Ireland ( I do), we have to be willing to allow unionists celebrate their culture, we should rejoin the commonwealth too.

why would we rejoin the commonwealth. it is a waining force and has little to offer this country from what i can see.
    mattser wrote: »
    Well they're down a whopping 6% in this evenings ST poll. ( MLM down 4% )

I wonder why ?

Perhaps you can only fool some of the people some of the time.

that is only one pole so i don't think sf have anything to worry about here. if other poles say similar then yes it will be a bit unfortunate however it is likely that the drop is only a temporary blip and sf will grow again.
    Not a bit surprised. The optics this week were terrible for Sinn Fein. They will be fuming with how bad they misread this incident and will be forever tarnished with it. FFG will make hay on this one just when they were starting to sound petty about older Sinn Fein failings (Northern Bank, Gerry/IRA, Maria Cahill, Slab, McConville, Disappeared, Minimum Wage, Poppy, Bullying, Money tree etc)

not at all, anything ffg will do to try and smear sf won't ultimately work. the incident last week is nothing to do with sf and i believe deep down most people know this. as i said, individual party members may have their own views on the issue but they simply speak for themselves and not the party so therefore their particular views cannot be used against the party.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

why would we rejoin the commonwealth. it is a waining force and has little to offer this country from what i can see.

that is only one pole so i don't think sf have anything to worry about here. if other poles say similar then yes it will be a bit unfortunate however it is likely that the drop is only a temporary blip and sf will grow again.

not at all, anything ffg will do to try and smear sf won't ultimately work. the incident last week is nothing to do with sf and i believe deep down most people know this. as i said, individual party members may have their own views on the issue but they simply speak for themselves and not the party so therefore their particular views cannot be used against the party.

When I see this in a post, I just ignore it. Pathetic, childish and not worthy of a response. Just letting you know as it’s the season of goodwill.

You might not like that the ordinary tax payers see through The Shinners.

Sure everyone is out of step except your good self.

Because the fires in KBC lit themselves and it's all hysteria. I'm sure the Shinners have a plausible explanation and the rest of us are out of kilter..

"Fire? sure that's only the poor aul homeless trying to keep warm."

I think you are being a bit optimistic saying they will be descending on the Dail. The few of them left will be descending on the dole office if the polls are anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Mr Corcoran would be new enough to the newspaper game, he and one or 2 others started the paper in the last 6 months or so. He never struck me as the brightest spark to be honest, and I don't know if he'd be clever or brave enough to resist any pressure from the Garda.

You can say that again with knobs on!

A perfunctory Google search reveals a website belonging to a Strokestown person of that name who positions his business as a "boutique web design, public relations and reputation management firm".

There is also a Facebook page belonging to The Democrat newspaper run by Mr Corcoran and his "business partner" described as a "practising solicitor" called Phelim O'Neill. Whoever puts that page together is no great shakes as a Web designer. Several videos of interviews show a distinct lack of editing skills and on more than one occasion, they can't even align the windows the right way up! You have to tilt your head at right angles to watch. I suspect the professional web-design consultancies of the capital are not quaking in their shoes in anticipation of losing much business :)

Incidentally, I wonder is his "partner" the same Phelim O'Neill from Strokestown who is acting as a solicitor for the McGann family whose repossessed farmhouse is at the centre of the recent disturbances. I think we should be told.

We are unlikely to be told by the other "Citizen Journalist" whose breathtaking reports from the front lines appear to be getting such a following on social media, the self-styled "Irish mammy" Anna Kavanagh.

As well as being head-bangingly inarticulate (ever few words are punctuated with "em em") she doesn't seem to have much clue about police procedures or the legal process. She doesn't seem to know the difference between being arrested and "helping Gardai with their enquiries" , for instance. Many people don't, to be fair, but one would expect somebody reporting on the investigation of alleged crimes at least to have a clue.

This whole affair reeks of fake outrage and pathetic attempts at media manipulation. Fake news par excellence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

You can say that again with knobs on!

A perfunctory Google search reveals a website belonging to a Strokestown person of that name who positions his business as a "boutique web design, public relations and reputation management firm".

There is also a Facebook page belonging to The Democrat newspaper run by Mr Corcoran and his "business partner" described as a "practising solicitor" called Phelim O'Neill. Whoever puts that page together is no great shakes as a Web designer. Several videos of interviews show a distinct lack of editing skills and on more than one occasion, they can't even align the windows the right way up! You have to tilt your head at right angles to watch. I suspect the professional web-design consultancies of the capital are not quaking in their shoes in anticipation of losing much business :)

Incidentally, I wonder is his "partner" the same Phelim O'Neill from Strokestown who is acting as a solicitor for the McGann family whose repossessed farmhouse is at the centre of the recent disturbances. I think we should be told.

We are unlikely to be told by the other "Citizen Journalist" whose breathtaking reports from the front lines appear to be getting such a following on social media, the self-styled "Irish mammy" Anna Kavanagh.

As well as being head-bangingly inarticulate (ever few words are punctuated with "em em") she doesn't seem to have much clue about police procedures or the legal process. She doesn't seem to know the difference between being arrested and "helping Gardai with their enquiries" , for instance. Many people don't, to be fair, but one would expect somebody reporting on the investigation of alleged crimes at least to have a clue.

This whole affair reeks of fake outrage and pathetic attempts at media manipulation. Fake news par excellence!

You realise you are using a trump parlance to further your opinion? Without having the slightest idea who you are, that makes you a knobhead. I'm sure if we were further acquainted my opinion would denigrate further.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

You realise you are using a trump parlance to further your opinion? Without having the slightest idea who you are, that makes you a knobhead. I'm sure if we were further acquainted my opinion would denigrate further.

how obtuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

mynamejeff wrote: »
    how obtuse

I'm not fat!