Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

aido79 wrote: »
    I think we'll agree to disagree. There's enough off topic nonsense in this thread without adding to it.

Peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I see more attacks and protests at KBC. I really dispair that this sort of nonsense is emerging. I'd seriously like to see these idiots have to defend their actions to a panel of mortgage payers and tax payers. I hope they're are charged.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

From reading an article in todays Sunday Times I see the bleeding knuckle heroes are now threatening bank and receiver employees at home now. What a pack of low life thugs. Heroes of the republic my ass just a pack of thugs horny to get their violence fix.

From the same report they said that 3 KBC branches have now been attacked. The headquarters, Dundrum and Swords. So some scumbag doesn't bother to pay his debts and these cvnts think they have free reign to endanger people lives and livelihoods.

I present the deluded and violent drooling class!

boombang wrote: »
    I see more attacks and protests at KBC. I really dispair that this sort of nonsense is emerging. I'd seriously like to see these idiots have to defend their actions to a panel of mortgage payers and tax payers. I hope they're are charged.

Who did it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,468 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Who did it ?

Do you need names before you are willning to condemn them?

Do you agree that their actions are idiotic and put jobs and even lives at risk?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Who did it ?

Let me guess, those KBC buildings spontaneously combusted?

It was the shame of being involved in the "heinous" eviction of Anthony "It's not my round" McGann that caused them to act out a self immolation ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

justshane wrote: »
    I wasn't there so not going to make any claims but as a local I know that a lot of rumours are circulating that the evicters repeatedly came out with anti Irish abuse. I doubt it and it is probably bs but it's definitely creating tension true or not.

You admit being aware it's only a rumour, and you think it's probably bs, and you're aware it's creating tension even it's it's true or not, AND THEN YOU PUT IT UP ON THE INTERNET ANYWAY!

Jesus fcuking Christ have you no cop on at all? You are part of the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Who did it ?

BIG MONEY in an effort to undermine the true heroes of the republic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The question has been asked many many times. Surely the is some thread etiquette about avoiding groundhog day situations?

You remind me of the great jack line in the film, you can’t handle the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

You can say that again with knobs on!

A perfunctory Google search reveals a website belonging to a Strokestown person of that name who positions his business as a "boutique web design, public relations and reputation management firm".

There is also a Facebook page belonging to The Democrat newspaper run by Mr Corcoran and his "business partner" described as a "practising solicitor" called Phelim O'Neill. Whoever puts that page together is no great shakes as a Web designer. Several videos of interviews show a distinct lack of editing skills and on more than one occasion, they can't even align the windows the right way up! You have to tilt your head at right angles to watch. I suspect the professional web-design consultancies of the capital are not quaking in their shoes in anticipation of losing much business :)

Incidentally, I wonder is his "partner" the same Phelim O'Neill from Strokestown who is acting as a solicitor for the McGann family whose repossessed farmhouse is at the centre of the recent disturbances. I think we should be told.

We are unlikely to be told by the other "Citizen Journalist" whose breathtaking reports from the front lines appear to be getting such a following on social media, the self-styled "Irish mammy" Anna Kavanagh.

As well as being head-bangingly inarticulate (ever few words are punctuated with "em em") she doesn't seem to have much clue about police procedures or the legal process. She doesn't seem to know the difference between being arrested and "helping Gardai with their enquiries" , for instance. Many people don't, to be fair, but one would expect somebody reporting on the investigation of alleged crimes at least to have a clue.

This whole affair reeks of fake outrage and pathetic attempts at media manipulation. Fake news par excellence!

This is these clowns getting their 15 minutes of fame and when will Strokestowns get it again and will be remembered as clowns.

Some of you are laughably self-important.

I asked 'who did it' since the poster I asked the question of said...
    I really dispair that this sort of nonsense is emerging. I'd seriously like to see these idiots...

Sounds like a movement, or a nascent trend at very least. If not, fine, no harm done.

It seems that the question can't even be posed unless the action has been condemned first. On the degenerate assumption that if you don't say you're against it, you must be for it.

And if you ask who did it, it must be because you disagree with the person you're asking. Pompous lunacy, parading as debate.

Making inane stupid remarks about spontaneous combustion trivialises a serious act of criminality, and a risk to jobs and life.

You'd want to look at yourselves.

FFS Lefty Bicek you are aware this is After Hours so flippant remarks and attempts at humour are expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

boombang wrote: »

Let’s be honest none of the perpetrators have a mortgage.

They are probably living in a council house and don’t have to worry about mortgages or rent.

Great little country.

gandalf wrote: »
    FFS Lefty Bicek you are aware this is After Hours so flippant remarks and attempts at humour are expected.

;)Indeed :D

Let’s be honest none of the perpetrators have a mortgage.

They are probably living in a council house and don’t have to worry about mortgages or rent.

Great little country.

Or they are in arrears like McGann with no intention of paying back. Probably see this whole "movement" as an opportunity to get out of their commitments.

It's not a good fight.

This Strokestown story is hugely damaging to them.

As was aligning themselves with the Greeks, Erica Fleming, Margaret Cash etc.

When will they ever learn?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Mary Lou picked the wrong week to bugger off on holiday to Palestine (wasn't the Dail in session last week and all?), her personal rating as well as the partys are on the decline in the latest poll

It is the words of Mary Lou and her comrades which fosters the attitude that leads to the arson attacks on KBC bank branches and the violence of last Sunday.

Hopefully people are beginning to see through the thin veil thrown over those chancers. Unfortunately, it probably won't last.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

aido79 wrote: »
    Personally I couldn't care less if the company employed ex ISIS guys to carry out the eviction.

The mind boggles at this type of comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,778 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

blanch152 wrote: »
    It is the words of Mary Lou and her comrades which fosters the attitude that leads to the arson attacks on KBC bank branches and the violence of last Sunday.

Hopefully people are beginning to see through the thin veil thrown over those chancers. Unfortunately, it probably won't last.
    erm has MLMCD said anything about strokestown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

It doesn't matter what Mary Lou and Pearse are saying about Strokestown anymore because politics is very simple - once you start explaining or defending, the damage is already done. Pearse was nailed by Leo in the Dail and Mary Lou is keeeping quiet in the hope that the story goes away over Xmas. This week has been yet another disastrous one for Sinn Fein. They already have their core vote but if they want to make any inroads on the FFG vote, they need to smarten up. They continue to appear a scary proposition in government.

Their vote cap is so locked in now and yet they are somehow performing well below it.

What should Leo/FG do next?

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Stay quiet and watch the balaclava line reverberate through the news print and radio talk shows during the holiday.

Their smug TDs will be smiling all thru Xmas.

Clever.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭facehugger99

gandalf wrote: »
    From reading an article in todays Sunday Times I see the bleeding knuckle heroes are now threatening bank and receiver employees at home now. What a pack of low life thugs. Heroes of the republic my ass just a pack of thugs horny to get their violence fix.

From the same report they said that 3 KBC branches have now been attacked. The headquarters, Dundrum and Swords. So some scumbag doesn't bother to pay his debts and these cvnts think they have free reign to endanger people lives and livelihoods.

I present the deluded and violent drooling class!

The Guards really need to crack down on these knuckle-draggers. In fact the full weight of the State needs to be brought to bear.

Hopefully the recent opinion polls will embolden FG to act too. People are getting sick and tired of these fcuking freeloaders throwing tantrums when they don't get what they want.

The Guards really need to crack down on these knuckle-draggers. In fact the full weight of the State needs to be brought to bear.

Hopefully the recent opinion polls will embolden FG to act too. People are getting sick and tired of these fcuking freeloaders throwing tantrums when they don't get what they want.

Sinn Féin tried to play it clever, they put Eoin o Broin in charge of housing to try and really make gains on FF and FG.

Eoin is Blackrock college educated, 6 grand a year.

And all he bleats on about is the rich and the banks rabble rabble.

Perfect champagne socialist so he is.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Watching a report from strokesTown on the evening news, protest today seems to have drawn weirdo's from across the country but especially connemara for some reason?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,778 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

still unsure, were any of the mcganns in that eviction video?

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Watching a report from strokesTown on the evening news, protest today seems to have drawn weirdo's from across the country but especially connemara for some reason?

Open to correction, but I believe Padraig A’Tailliura O Conghaile from Glor na Tuaithe (Rural Voice), is from Rossaveal.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,031 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

What should Leo/FG do next?

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Stay quiet and watch the balaclava line reverberate through the news print and radio talk shows during the holiday.

Their smug TDs will be smiling all thru Xmas.

Clever.

hardly. fg have gone from disaster to disaster since coming back into power. housing crisis. health crisis. everything else crisis. people will remember that more then some ineffective comment from someone who really should have remained outside of politics.

the gardai are already doing their job. it takes time to investigate crimes however.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,271 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

hardly. fg have gone from disaster to disaster since coming back into power. housing crisis. health crisis. everything else crisis. people will remember that more then some ineffective comment from someone who really should have remained outside of politics.

the gardai are already doing their job. it takes time to investigate crimes however.

I have no doubt that these 2 crises would exist no matter who was in power.

Yes, even SF and AAA/PBP.

There's been a health crisis for about 20 years now.

I did not realise there was a Capital letter crisis?