Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Gardaí are probing whether the vigilante gang who attacked security guards at a repossessed Co Roscommon farmhouse at the weekend had been given the go-ahead by local criminals.

It is now being probed if the vigilantes’ involvement in the attack was “sanctioned” by a number of crime groups operating in the area who are heavily involved in cattle smuggling.

“Dissidents from the North and Dublin are suspected of involvement. They reached a deal with local crime groups allowing for them to carry out the attacks on their turf,” one source said.

The ‘local’ criminals include a CAB target who is originally from Sligo, as well as a notorious crime family operating in north Roscommon.

Let me take a wild guess, the Indo? Am I right?

I do laugh at the reported sophisticated level of planning that went into this attack.

The evidence? They blocked a small road with 2 silage bales. :rolleyes:

Had to be MI6, that is just genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭Suckler

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I think the bank should have been pragmatic here ie jump on the chance to work with the offer of €1000 at least per month. That means €1000 every month and multiples of that in productive months ie spring/summer. If the family have no notion of paying that either, well the bank are no worse off a few months down the line. Even putting them out on a fine day in July has way better optics than putting them out in winter two weeks before Christmas.

Yeah give the lad that's giving two fingers to debts for the best part of twenty years ANOTHER break. This time he'll definitely pay the month every month....
    And repossessing will bring in not one euro for the bank. This isn't some house in Blanchardstown or Glasnevin where people will queue to snap it up. No one will buy this. The house will go to wreck and ruin and the land will be a wasteland.

Repossessing it won't bring in any money (did that need to be said) but selling it on will. Repossessing it was the first step. The house is small and could be demolished easily if it doesn't sell or interest the buyer. There looks to be substantial sheds at the back and farmland is still in demand. I doubt selling it will be an issue, locals will have a short memory if they fancy a piece of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

No one will buy this. The house will go to wreck and ruin and the land will be a wasteland.

I've thought long and hard about typing this but I'm going to go ahead and type it anyway.

I couldn't give a fcuk about yer man, or his house or land. I have zero sympathy for him. So what if it's Christmas week. He had 14 years to start paying and he didn't bother his hole. He owes money left, right and centre. And if he doesn't pay his mortgage, I have to pay his mortgage. And so does every other person who gets up and goes to work to pay their mortgage.

Yes, the banks fcuked up. But that doesn't give everyone else free reign to act the bollix and saddle us all with their debts.

I have sympathy for anybody struggling to make ends meet and pay a mortgage, but this cute hooooooor, nah. I couldn't give a sh1te that he's out on the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

and the land will be a wasteland.

No it won't, wait till the auction is on

Were any of the five portfolios of land Anthony McGann owns bought from repos ?

Anthony McGann is the sole owner of five portfolios of land in Co Roscommon against which judgment orders have been registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

BattleCorp wrote:
    I have sympathy for anybody struggling to make ends meet and pay a mortgage, but this cute hooooooor, nah. I couldn't give a sh1te that he's out on the side of the road.

You haven't been following the story then. He's back in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

RossieMan wrote: »

What I read was that his siblings were back in the house. But if he's back in the house, he's in breach of a court order. So another eviction is in the offing.

To be honest, if I was him I wouldn't feel safe in that house either. I don't imagine the security guards who got a hiding would be inclined to leave things be. Especially if they have links to the UV????? or whatever organisation people here claim that they belong to. Maybe not this week or next. But at some point in time I'd expect him to get a visit.

They'd be the type to hold grudges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Suckler wrote: »
    Yeah give the lad that's giving two fingers to debts for the best part of twenty years ANOTHER break. This time he'll definitely pay the month every month....

Repossessing it won't bring in any money (did that need to be said) but selling it on will. Repossessing it was the first step. The house is small and could be demolished easily if it doesn't sell or interest the buyer. There looks to be substantial sheds at the back and farmland is still in demand. I doubt selling it will be an issue, locals will have a short memory if they fancy a piece of it.

There are 5 land portfolios, it's really only the one with the farmhouse that would be particularly toxic and no one would buy. The rest would be split and sold in lots.

Everything has a buyer at the right price

BattleCorp wrote: »
    So another eviction is in the offing.

I don't see many tenders for it, do you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,518 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

RossieMan wrote: »

He'll get hoofed out again once this has quietened down. It's happened before with evictions.

Anyone watch any of ammm, ahhhh, Anne Kavanaghs videos on ah Facebook? So many poor farmers are victims of banks! Does she not understand the deal when one borrows money, it’s got to be paid back with interest. Same goes for business people charging VAT. It HAS to be paid over to the Revenue. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

If the banks and whoever was hired to take possession of this place following a court order had done the job properly there would be no fuss. This isnt some 1880 eviction with a family heading for Queenstown and New York.
    The sums of money involved, including massive tax debts, show this. Those of us who pay large tax sums every year will have little sympathy for tax dodgers. What were Revenue doing to try and get their due? I'm not worried about KBC. If they follow poor lending practices thats their lookout.
    Also Fitzmaurice TD has quietened down a bit when he got the full story about the monies due.
    He was elected on a turf cutting vote. People are barred from cutting turf on bogs that no British landlord stopped them from using. Of course we must do what Europe tells us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Dail to discuss amendment to bill with regard to having security firms licensed when dealing with court orders and evictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Imo things are hardly ever as straightforward as they seem. I was speaking to a farmer I know yesterday. His attitude to this was, effing banks, you can't live with them, you can't live without them. He was saying that he goes into the bank for a loan (regularly), machine broke down, unexpected winter fodder etc. Bank will only give him the small loan he needs, that he can't do without at that moment, provided he will take a bigger loan to develop. That's how banks make their money, by upselling. He needs the loan so is between a rock and a hard place. Therefore it would seem to me that banks are part of the problem with regard to farmers' debts.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Dail to discuss amendment to bill with regard to having security firms licensed when dealing with court orders and evictions.

Hahaha it's going to be made practically impossible to do evictions. IV no doubt that security men wearing ID badges would be plastered all over social media and maybe even have their family paid a visit at home.

I'd love to be a fly on the wall the next time any farmer from Roscommon goes to the bank to look for a loan! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Edgware wrote: »
    If the banks and whoever was hired to take possession of this place following a court order had done the job properly there would be no fuss. This isnt some 1880 eviction with a family heading for Queenstown and New York.
    The sums of money involved, including massive tax debts, show this. Those of us who pay large tax sums every year will have little sympathy for tax dodgers. What were Revenue doing to try and get their due? I'm not worried about KBC. If they follow poor lending practices thats their lookout.
    Also Fitzmaurice TD has quietened down a bit when he got the full story about the monies due.
    He was elected on a turf cutting vote. People are barred from cutting turf on bogs that no British landlord stopped them from using. Of course we must do what Europe tells us.

I think in ten or 15 years time, the children living in that area will have the same contempt for the people that destroyed their natural heritage that I have for the people that leveled national monuments in the 60s in the name of progress in my area

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

bubblypop wrote: »
    Who's the pensioner?
    Do keep up !

The Retired Garda of course .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

All aboard the Sinn Fein bandwagon. Thankfully some party is against the use of masked men with weapons attacking people and taking the law into their own hands

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

mikeym wrote: »
    A United Ireland is a bit expensive for the tax payer at the moment.
    Banks are Blooming Expensive for Irish Taxpayers .

Anyone watch any of ammm, ahhhh, Anne Kavanaghs videos on ah Facebook? So many poor farmers are victims of banks! Does she not understand the deal when one borrows money, it’s got to be paid back with interest. Same goes for business people charging VAT. It HAS to be paid over to the Revenue. Simples.

Why don't you ask her on Facebook?

She will hardly find your question here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭FredFunk

Boggles wrote: »
    Why don't you ask her on Facebook?

She will hardly find your question here.

And risk being threatened by the mob? no chance. FB is a no go territory for anybody with common sense and willing to read all the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Imo things are hardly ever as straightforward as they seem. I was speaking to a farmer I know yesterday. His attitude to this was, effing banks, you can't live with them, you can't live without them. He was saying that he goes into the bank for a loan (regularly), machine broke down, unexpected winter fodder etc. Bank will only give him the small loan he needs, that he can't do without at that moment, provided he will take a bigger loan to develop. That's how banks make their money, by upselling. He needs the loan so is between a rock and a hard place. Therefore it would seem to me that banks are part of the problem with regard to farmers' debts.

Doubt that tbh. Banks give loans based on repayment capacity. Smaller unsecured loans have higher interest rates, larger secured loans have lower interest rates. If they think you won't be able to manage it they won't give it to you simple as that

You do know what will happen if the things you suggest above were implemented? There would quite frankly be no retail banking whatsoever. None.

Make all loans non-recourse? Remind us how expensive credit card debt is, and how you'd think that would be fine for a mortgage. It's clowns like you that are putting out ill thought out, stupid and populist ideas that will only lead to ruin.

How expensive is banking when you include the cost of the bailouts?
    If they arent punished or made lend responsibly it increased the number of evictions needed - but the banks will always have the law on their side

How expensive is banking when you include the cost of the bailouts?
    If they arent punished or made lend responsibly it increased the number of evictions needed - but the banks will always have the law on their side

AIB have a tax liability of 3 billion, which they don't have to pay back for 30 years. Should someone lose some teeth?

I imagine all the people on her foaming at the mouth at a liability of 400k just dropped dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,518 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

AIB have a tax liability of 3 billion, which they don't have to pay back for 30 years. Should someone lose some teeth?

I imagine all the people on her foaming at the mouth at a liability of 400k just dropped dead.

Couldnt care less. This isn't a thread about AIB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Correct. Its just about the small debtor.

But but but.
    Would you ever **** off. He's had over a decade to pay money and hasn't

You'd imagine you'd be more upset at 3 decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

But but but.

You'd imagine you'd be more upset at 3 decades.

The whataboutery really knows no bounds.

Sure what about those feckin' priests Joe, awful altogether...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

These poor pensioners need our help, I’ve set up a gofundme page for them:

www.gofundme.com/dougalsbarbadosholiday

Please give what you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,966 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Correct. Its just about the small debtor.

Small?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭Suckler

AIB have a tax liability of 3 billion, which they don't have to pay back for 30 years.

But but but....